News Coaching changes

So Carr #yepconfirmed gawnnn.
Good luck mate.

3 assistants in 3 years. Lel
Yeah, I thought this would be our first year with a settled coaching staff. So far we have already lost one or two fitness staff and Carr. I am hoping for no more raids.

I think it's great. Port's influence is spreading throughout the SANFL.

Any news on who might coach the Magpies?

So would that be a decent pay cut to go from an AFL assistant who I suspect is on $120k-$150k (unless you are someone special or the likes of WCE who probably paid Walsh $100k-$200k over the market value when there was no footy department spending cap) to a head SANFL salary.

Mark Clayton did a good job with the Academy this year.

Isn't Bryan Beinke meant to be a good coach? Surely deserves better than Glenelg. ;)

Good luck, Josh. Sure gonna need it. And then some.

BTW, make sure you LOCK THE SHIT out of your office.

Disgruntled Roosters have form making statements on desks to the senior coach...

If that rumour is true, is it because he's disgruntled with Port for demoting him, or he just feels he needs a change?

Might be he wants his own side and to develop his own game plan rather than teach Ken's game plan.

Might be that the Magpies job, coupled with Power commitments, is just too many hours each week for a bloke with a young family.

So would that be a decent pay cut to go from an AFL assistant who I suspect is on $120k-$150k (unless you are someone special or the likes of WCE who probably paid Walsh $100k-$200k over the market value when there was no footy department spending cap) to a head SANFL salary.
Thought the same thing - SANFL coach would be on around $85,000 as a guess.

Can't blame him for wanting to branch out and take on a head coaching role for himself.

Only guessing but I reckon a competitive bugger like him would be better suited in an environment where there isn't a conflict between development and results.

Perhaps North has some 'benefits' to add to the salary.
While playing in the bush years ago, after a match the coach would drive home with a 'goodies box' on the back seat - side of lamb, vegies, booze etc compliments of the local farmers.

North Adelaide has a very diverse demographic. He could get free medical check ups from one end and free car parts from the other. ;)

Had to read that twice. Free medical check up in one end and car parts in the other didn't seem right. :D

Jarman said he Carr was also asked to coach the Magpies but did not want the job.

That is a shame.

Carr made the right decision if true, I'd rather have Gotch (who unfortunately re-signed with South) or Clayton as Maggies coach next year.

Forty or so senior players retire from the AFL every year and surely there would be a few who would be suitable assistants - especially those from clubs with a recent winning culture (Hawks, Cats).

News Coaching changes