Collignwood Classics - TARRANT

Wow Tazza kicked 7 Goals:eek: Must of Actually kicked straight

One of the great afternoons.

Watched the game compeltely sauced with a mate who had come over from America. We were out drinking at like 9am, his flight arrived at 7am or so, so we went to the pub and then the footy - in summary I was absolutely ****ed come game time, what a game tooo! Go Pies! more of this in 09 plz!

Lovely way to end the weekend, thanks MarsII.
Ahhh the memories.

That Tarrant mark against Melbourne is one of the most under-rated marks of all time. It was a ripper and never gets talked about or shown when discussing the best marks...probably because 2 weeks after it Moorcroft took his mark.

Agree Moocroft made his mark look better becuase he jumped backwards so there was no one under him when he was on his way down.

Taz's mark was better and harder pack mark > single midget over midget mark.

BTW still miss Taz taking regular hangers in our forward line pity he tried to become something hes not. ie, turning from a fast leading forward who jumps at the footy to a trying to outbody his opponents and protect the drop of the ball mark on chest forward.

OMG, this is why i loved Tarrant. I don't care what anyone says, Taz was a gun!!!!!!!!

BTW great vid, love the song choice...
I was never a Massive Taz fan those I loved his Hangers but god his Kicking was okay at the best of times and When he kicked you would close your eyes and hope he kicked it right

Tarrant was the closest thing to Buddy before Buddy arrived!

He was a star! Tall and athletic, had the perfect speed/endurance combo, vertical leap etc. Kicking was suspect but was one of the most exciting players to watch week in week out, particularly when on song.

His "demise" was purely the fault of our midfield. Besides Bucks, nobody could hit the side of a barn from 10m.

I still remember the games where MM would have to point out that our midfield "murdered" and "butchered" our full-forward in Taz with atrocious, second-rate delivery when he burnt off his opponents over and over again, just to watch them drop 5-10m in front, over his head or on his head.

As someone else pointed out, why did we try to change his power running game into a more traditional "out muscle your opponent, protect the drop of the ball and chest mark game?"

Also, Taz was not an umpy's favourite and was constantly dealt a rough deal by them on a weekly basis.

Would be great to get him back via a 3rd or 4th rnd draft pick exchange ala Trent Croad and then go on to win a flag! :D

Wow... I forgot how good Taz really was.... what ever happened to that Taz? the last 2-3yrs he was at Collingwood he changed his game. Do you think its Mick's fault for playing him up the ground more instead of a Fev type full forward?

Really underrated team that year looking back at the way we played and attacked the contests.

Licca, Freeborn, Burns, Holland and Betheras all hit the contests at 100% and they seemed to go through the guts more then too.

Something we lack is the physical onballers hopefully Beams, Mcarthy and Blight develope into the aggressors in our team.

Wow... I forgot how good Taz really was.... what ever happened to that Taz? the last 2-3yrs he was at Collingwood he changed his game. Do you think its Mick's fault for playing him up the ground more instead of a Fev type full forward?

Its Micks fualt for trying to turn him into a body on body forward instead of the Lead up forward he was so good at.

Terry Danihers dismisal from the club ruined Taz he was never the same after that, remember MM saying how Taz put on x amount of muscle on his legs to make his body on body contests better in preseason 04 which imo was the start of Taz' downfall they tried to turn him into a stay at home FF.

Its Micks fualt for trying to turn him into a body on body forward instead of the Lead up forward he was so good at.

Terry Danihers dismisal from the club ruined Taz he was never the same after that, remember MM saying how Taz put on x amount of muscle on his legs to make his body on body contests better in preseason 04 which imo was the start of Taz' downfall they tried to turn him into a stay at home FF.
Hang on.

Is this the same Malthouse that constantly defended tarrant not kicking goals by explaining he isnt our FF no matter what the team sheet says. MM used tarrant the way he uses Cloke now and went as far as to name him on the wing in his last season to shut people up.

It was Daniher that "taught" Tarrant how to use his bosy in marking contests and possibly sreated his downfall. Not everything is MM faults FFS

Hang on.

Is this the same Malthouse that constantly defended tarrant not kicking goals by explaining he isnt our FF no matter what the team sheet says. MM used tarrant the way he uses Cloke now and went as far as to name him on the wing in his last season to shut people up.

It was Daniher that "taught" Tarrant how to use his bosy in marking contests and possibly sreated his downfall. Not everything is MM faults FFS

Wanna tissue did I offend your precious MM?

He was in articles STATING what i said MM wanted him to be played deeper, he may have moved him back at the end but that was after 2 - 3 seasons of changing Taz' natural game.

I like MM as a coach in general but he has done some weird things over the course of the last 10 years.

J.Cloke at CHF in the GF , Walker over Mckee 03 GF despite him never playing in ruck against the leagues best, Constant use of boundary slow movement football to congested forward line, Not addressing the ruck division after years of mediocrity there, not addressing our midfiled after years of being mediocre...

Wanna tissue did I offend your precious MM?

He was in articles STATING what i said MM wanted him to be played deeper, he may have moved him back at the end but that was after 2 - 3 seasons of changing Taz' natural game.

I like MM as a coach in general but he has done some weird things over the course of the last 10 years.

J.Cloke at CHF in the GF , Walker over Mckee 03 GF despite him never playing in ruck against the leagues best, Constant use of boundary slow movement football to congested forward line, Not addressing the ruck division after years of mediocrity there, not addressing our midfiled after years of being mediocre...
So you couldnt actually return fire so you attack like an idiot.

Well done mate

Collignwood Classics - TARRANT