Collingwood's draw 2007

• Thread starter Thread starter H2F

bzparkes said:
You should see our draw, 1 game at the MCG during the H&A season. Pathetic really. Same thing happened to Adelaide this year too I believe.

What would you prefer, to play some of your home matches at the 'G' like other clubs who play out of the Dome do or keep your 11 home matches at Subi? As has been stated numerous times in this thread if you can't fill the 'G' play it at the Dome. Interstate clubs cannot fill the 'G' unless it's a Grand Final.

The AFL claimed a few years ago that Collingwood got a free ride because they finished near the top. Those reasons have now been exposed as totally bogus. The AFL need to clarify why they do the draw the way they do and make the whole process more transparent.

eddiesmith said:
You idiots are clueless

The MCC doesnt want 15 Hawthorn games, they want 15 Collingwood games. Your club has no bargaining power especially when you take 4 home games to Tassie, how the hell do you expect to get a decent amount of MCG games if you give up 4 home games? You want 12 MCG games then dont sell em to Tassie

The most any Victorian clubs travels to play an away game against 1 of the 6 Interstate clubs is 5, so our 1 less game makes our draw the easiest ever? What about the Bulldogs 3 trips? That not worth criticising? What about the fact they play 8 of their last 9 at their home ground? But if the Pies have that draw the place goes into meltdown.

You have 7 home games in Melbourne, you get them at the MCG, good luck to you, but the other Victorian clubs dont want to play you at the MCG, why bother opening a 100,000 seat stadium for a club that wont get more than 50,000 to the game so they play it at the Dome.

4 Victorian clubs want 11 home games at the MCG, thats 44 games, the MCG hosts 46 games. Hawthorn send 4 interstate so that opens up some room for Essendon to play Carlton, Tigers and Pies. Then Carlton want their home games against those 3 teams so no room for the Hawks to get away games, then the Tigers lose some so that all teams can atleast play on the MCG during the season.

We get 15 because our 11 home games plus Melbourne (MCG tenant), Carlton, Essendon and Richmond want home games at the MCG because we will pack out the Dome in minutes otherwise against those 4 teams.

Hawthorn wont pack the Dome so they play their home games at the Dome against the Hawks

What eddie said.

coasting said:
The AFL claimed a few years ago that Collingwood got a free ride because they finished near the top. Those reasons have now been exposed as totally bogus. The AFL need to clarify why they do the draw the way they do and make the whole process more transparent.

Can you please find a quote, with a link, to state that. I believe that is rubbish, considering Collingwood have only made the top 6 twice in the last 15 years.

I like bagging Collingwood as much as anyone else, but part of the solution to the MCG finals debacle was for Collingwood to play more games there.
Nothing to whine about, move on. :)

Collingwood - 9 Home matches at MCG
- 2 Home matches at Telstra Dome

- 4 Away matches (Perth, Adelaide, Sydney, Brisbane)
- 6 Away matches MCG
- 1 Away match Telstra Dome

Faults with Draw:
1. Perhaps Collingwood could play 5 Interstate matches rather than 4 (like some other teams do)
2. Other Melbourne Clubs keep requesting to play Collingwood at the MCG in their 'wish list' to AFL (this includes Hawthorn), hence Collingwood finish up with a higher number of overall MCG games.

Don't blame Collingwood, blame economics (encouraging clubs to request Collingwood MCG games) & the AFL for following economic reality.
Collingwood played 13 H & A at the MCG last year & averaged 63,378 attendance. $$ thru the gate speaks.

In fact, if the AFL asked Hawthorn & Adelaide if they would agree to shift their away Telstra Dome games v Collingwood to the MCG, we know what the answer would be....an emphatic yes! Leaving Collingwood with 17 games at the MCG.

The answer for all other Melbourne teams is simple - "get your people thru the gate" & you don't 'need' or you are not as dependant on Collingwood MCG games anymore, hence Collingwoods number of MCG games will drop. The solution is in your hands (so to speak).

CyberKev said:

Have you been watching Hawthron again? Puts me to sleep too.

CyberKev said:
Given Collingwood's marked history of mismanagement and underperformance, the hyposcrisy of this comment reverberates...

14>8, GF appearances in every single decade we've been in the league, and we've never had a club vote to merge with us. aside from the Hawks brief blip in the 70's and 80's, they have a terrible history

CyberKev said:
Collingwood is a crowd puller, but this is ONLY due to them being on the happy end of a fortunate accident of history, nothing more and nothing less.

Actually its because our supporters are loyal, fertile and heterosexual. What's your excuse?

CyberKev said:
Even allowing for this lucky advantage, the club remains a long-term underperformer. Which only goes to prove that fortune and fame are not always hard-earned and that, as the old adage goes, money can't buy love (or, in Collingwood's case, genuine success either).

Actually the Hawks bought their success in the 80's and haven't been sighted since football became about managing and developing talent rather than buying it ready made from interstate or having it handed to you by the zone system.

When it was a level playing field, we couldn't be matched. All this footy socialism has curbed us. You should be grateful.

CyberKev said:
As to whinging about Collingwood's draw, I can't understand why people genuinely give a rat's.

Same reason for your rant I guess: obsession.

CyberKev said:
Its questionnable as to how easy it is anyway (particularly some five months out from the season); although the way the club's heading you'd think they could do with an easier run at it, and at the end of the day you know that the club is a big show at ****ing it up anyway.

If you really want to **** us up, then give us your president and your coach: that'd ruin anyone's chances.

CyberKev said:
So its all good for the large anti-Collingwood brigade.

The Magpies will inevitably fall well short and the masses can make the moment sweeter by exulting about how this failure occurred despite the club having a softer draw.

Well you'd better get some sweet exultation as an anti-Pie, because you're not gonna get it as a Hawk next year. You could start your own fanclub: the anti-Pies, second biggest club in Australia. that has to be better than following Hawthorn.

Hodge2Franklin said:
How can you possibly justify 15 MCG games and Hawthorn 8 unless your a biased fool?
Pretty simple really

Hawks home games, 7 MCG & 4 tassie
Pies Home games, 9 MCG & 2 TD

so on this front hawthorn actually are ahead, ie they get all 11 home games at the venues they want, pies have 2 home games at TD which is not preferred.

Hawks away games at the MCG = 1
Pies away games at the MCG = 6

because we draw the biggest crowds so clubs want to play us at the G

hope that explains it for you

Hodge2Franklin said:
The AFL has decided to give the Pies 15/46 games at the MCG next year.

Yep that's one in three games at the G involves Collingwood.

Theres two teams to every game, so its 15/92.

Theres ten Victorian teams, of which Collingwood finished highest on the ladder last year and drew the biggest crowds.
Two have a home ground at Telstra Dome
One has a home ground at the cattery.
One has moved home games to Brisbane
One has moved home games to Launceston
One has moved home games to the Gold Coast
One has moved home games to Darwin

All teams want to play against us for monetary reasons.

RetiredWombat said:
Faults with Draw:
1. Perhaps Collingwood could play 5 Interstate matches rather than 4 (like some other teams do)

Perhaps, but blame that on Carlton and Richmond who demand to be treated as blockbuster clubs and want to play us twice a year, and put us at the top of their wishlists.

cooperjai said:
I like Collingwoods draw.

Getting a free ride every year means they will always be a 2nd rate team, never taking the extra step because they haven't had to toughen up for road trips like "interstate" teams.

Collingwood are guaranteed to make up the numbers for the finals, but thats all they will be doing.:p

What happened in 2002 then?

We only played 4 interstate games and still did the business interstate when it mattered.

The reason money spinning clubs like Collingwood and St Kilda are given the 'big time' draws is because they make money for the AFL.

It's plain and simple.

When your club makes the AFL the same kind of money, you will have the right to a cracker draw, too.

RetiredWombat said:
Faults with Draw:

Or we could play 3 like the Bulldogs :) Reality is 1 game is all people are whingeing about, its hilarious and we dont even have the least number of Interstate away games :D

RetiredWombat said:
2. Other Melbourne Clubs keep requesting to play Collingwood at the MCG in their 'wish list' to AFL (this includes Hawthorn), hence Collingwood finish up with a higher number of overall MCG games.

Don't blame Collingwood, blame economics (encouraging clubs to request Collingwood MCG games) & the AFL for following economic reality.
Collingwood played 13 H & A at the MCG last year & averaged 63,378 attendance. $$ thru the gate speaks.

In fact, if the AFL asked Hawthorn & Adelaide if they would agree to shift their away Telstra Dome games v Collingwood to the MCG, we know what the answer would be....an emphatic yes! Leaving Collingwood with 17 games at the MCG.

That would be great, but the AFL wouldnt accept

RetiredWombat said:
The answer for all other Melbourne teams is simple - "get your people thru the gate" & you don't 'need' or you are not as dependant on Collingwood MCG games anymore, hence Collingwoods number of MCG games will drop. The solution is in your hands (so to speak).

Actually its not, we have a long term contract for a minimum of 14 games a year at the MCG :thumbsu:

evertonfc said:
The reason money spinning clubs like Collingwood and St Kilda are given the 'big time' draws is because they make money for the AFL.

It's plain and simple.

When your club makes the AFL the same kind of money, you will have the right to a cracker draw, too.
Exactly, St Kilda is a perfect example of how it can change

I do have 1 question for everyone, when Carlton, Essendon and Richmond were top 4 clubs and we were on the bottom did everyone whinge about our super draw and playing them twice? I doubt it :)

evertonfc said:
The reason money spinning clubs like Collingwood and St Kilda are given the 'big time' draws is because they make money for the AFL..

Difference between the two clubs of course is that we've been a money spinner since forever and StKilda's crowd drawing abilities are more fleeeting.

They have been so poor in the past they've had to relocate home games to Tassie.

MarkT said:
Why would Collingwood play home games at TD? Doesn’t make sense.
Collingwood v Hawthorn, could draw 60+ if at the G and both teams fairing well, last year the similar game drew 57. Reckon both clubs would prefer to play it at the G

Collingwood v Adelaide, reckon the pies would like to get a home ground advantage. Reckon Adelaide would rather have more exposure on the G.

so hard to work out why these wouldn't be played at the G.

Fair enough that the dogs want to play us at TD, as it is their home ground
same would go for the aints, cats at skilled etc.

Timmy from Thomastown said:
Difference between the two clubs of course is that we've been a money spinner since forever and StKilda's crowd drawing abilities are more fleeeting.

They have been so poor in the past they've had to relocate home games to Tassie.

Not so much about being poor in the past, it was more to create an surplus capital arrangment - which is now in the bank.

But yes, St Kilda's capacity to draw crowds has been a largely recent phenomenon, and as eddiesmith points out, they're an example of how to turn things around.

Archie Fraser pointed out yesterday that it's important the club breaks the 40,000 membership barrier in 2007 and begins to chase down Collingwood's off-field position, and at least, for the moment, entrench ourselves as the #2 club in Melbourne.

It will take some time to reach Collingwood - we're aware of that and realise it will take a lot of hard work, and turning our bandwagon mass (which, sadly, remains too flimsy with it's financial support) into paid up members.

824,000 people attended Collingwood matches at the MCG at an average of 63,378 per match.

Truetiger said:
Richmond have about the same. Melbourne and Richmond were the first to move to the MCG. So surely they should play more games at the g then anyone else.
Rubbish - get the hell off our ground

Truetiger said:
Richmond have about the same. Melbourne and Richmond were the first to move to the MCG. So surely they should play more games at the g then anyone else.

Melbourne choose to sell on of their MCG games so why should they get more ?

jlc