Opinion Commentary & Media VI

• Thread starter Thread starter BoomerRoo

Historically clubs aren't this bad and their members so desperate to understand why they keep saying we're on the right track, though.
i agree sone level of info into how they are addressing the performance would be nice but I’m not sure expecting a complete rundown on performance measures is appropriate either. BAs biggest issue in that email is he chose and poorly explained a very niche part of it with little explanation around the environment.

I’d sooner him talk about the key areas identified and what remedies are underway including milestones. I don’t need a kpi to tell me we are playing shit. I’d like to know the plan to fix it. Eg we’ve appointed S&C staff we expect their work to start showing dividends by x date then at that point we address KPIs to see if that work is translating to fitness improvements.

I think an email is a terrible way to explain it, like I said bring him to the club show him the work. That’s more instructive than a complicated email

Not gonna lie I learned more about our 'KPIs' they've constantly referred to in public from the leaked email than I've learned through all of my interactions, and the club's interactions with the fans and public. Unfortunately that knowledge only made me more alarmed.
I'm a bit that way myself. But I have to assume the people who called this review are thinking the same thing and acting on it. Until its obvious they aren't.

The s**t show has already been caused and not by Sonja.
Yeah I've said across multiple threads that we judge her on her deeds from 8 weeks back onward. Guess 'caused a shit show' should read 'added less fuel to this shit show's fire'.

On a more pragmatic, self-interest level, I'd be wanting to be 100% sure my house was in order and this guy has no inside info about said house before publicly shaming him.

i agree sone level of info into how they are addressing the performance would be nice but I’m not sure expecting a complete rundown on performance measures is appropriate either. BAs biggest issue in that email is he chose and poorly explained a very niche part of it with little explanation around the environment.

I’d sooner him talk about the key areas identified and what remedies are underway including milestones. I don’t need a kpi to tell me we are playing s**t. I’d like to know the plan to fix it. Eg we’ve appointed S&C staff we expect their work to start showing dividends by x date then at that point we address KPIs to see if that work is translating to fitness improvements.

I think an email is a terrible way to explain it, like I said bring him to the club show him the work. That’s more instructive than a complicated email
Yeah I agree with that

Historically clubs aren't this bad and their members so desperate to understand why they keep saying we're on the right track, though.
We wouldn't be holding this review if we thought we were on the right track would we?

We're not customers or clients. We are members. Its different.

That's one thing that shits me about this neo-liberal, "everything is a market" religious bullshit that's been shoved down our throats for the last 30+ years. We aren't buying a service, we're contributing our resources to something we love to keep it going. We have to operate in a commercial world but it isn't the same thing and something important gets lost when we think it is.
Completely disagree. Call us internal customers/members/clients whatever. At the end of the day the club is a product that we consume. How the club delivers the product determines if the club survives or not. SH calling AK a coward could drive him away from the club. It could be enough for him to say, right I'm done with this club why should I waste my time when they give me no joy. Everyone has different reasons why they chose to support the club.

And if you want to look at is a purely as a football club that is just members, then the president, who is hired by the members, calling a member a coward in public should result in her being sacked.

Completely disagree. Call us internal customers/members/clients whatever. At the end of the day the club is a product that we consume. How the club delivers the product determines if the club survives or not. SH calling AK a coward could drive him away from the club. It could be enough for him to say, right I'm done with this club why should I waste my time when they give me no joy. Everyone has different reasons why they chose to support the club.

And if you want to look at is a purely as a football club that is just members, then the president, who is hired by the members, calling a member a coward in public should result in her being sacked.
I disagree she should be sacked.

No, but even since the reviews announcement we've vaguely heard of these positively trending KPIs.
I would think that whilst the review is on they’d probably be even more quiet, as not to prejudice any findings. The review is key in my opinion get that right anc we have a chance

Yeah I've said across multiple threads that we judge her on her deeds from 8 weeks back onward. Guess 'caused a s**t show' should read 'added less fuel to this s**t show's fire'.

On a more pragmatic, self-interest level, I'd be wanting to be 100% sure my house was in order and this guy has no inside info about said house before publicly shaming him.
Here's the way i see it. This stuff has been released after she signed off on the review into the footy department. Its clear that she and the board as a whole is taking action to fix a problem. The release of these emails to the public, then the media, undermines their position and the legitimacy of that review.

Furthermore the call for her head so soon into the job is a personal attack on her, especially if as it appears, he couldn't be bothered contacting her with his issues first. Other people approach her all the time. She shouldn't have to go crawling to this guy after he showed her so little respect. If its me and my mates and something like this happened we might punch on over it. Its that disrespectful. And there seems to be political manouvering attached to it. Which means she needs to stand her ground robustly.

If we weren't reviewing the footy department, which is a clear admission that things aren't good, then this fella's situation would be different. But we are so this comes across to me as an attempt to undermine things while we are trying to get them back on track.

Here's the way i see it. This stuff has been released after she signed off on the review into the footy department. Its clear that she and the board as a whole is taking action to fix a problem. The release of these emails to the public, then the media, undermines their position and the legitimacy of that review.

Furthermore the call for her head so soon into the job is a personal attack on her, especially if as it appears, he couldn't be bothered contacting her with his issues first. Other people approach her all the time. She shouldn't have to go crawling to this guy after he showed her so little respect. If its me and my mates and something like this happened we might punch on over it. Its that disrespectful. And there seems to be political manouvering attached to it. Which means she needs to stand her ground robustly.

If we weren't reviewing the footy department, which is a clear admission that things aren't good, then this fella's situation would be different. But we are so this comes across to me as an attempt to undermine things while we are trying to get them back on track.
After spending my youth not taking the high road and being all combative, I humbly disagree Ferbs 👍

No, but even since the reviews announcement we've vaguely heard of these positively trending KPIs.
From Noble yeah. Considering he is in the firing line that's understandable. Doesn't mean the rest of the club admin agrees. And Noble may feel under pressure to coach to KPIs instead of coaching a footy team. He's inexperienced enough that may be the issue. The outcome of this review may be "Keep everyone and get a better mentor than Roos cos that is the problem."

Its easy to lose track of the big picture cos you're stuck on the details and if everything has gone to shit and everyone is looking at the details to see why then maybe we need someone to look at the forest, not the individual trees.

After spending my youth not taking the high road and being all combative, I humbly disagree Ferbs 👍
I can respect that.

But I think sometimes you need to take the gloves off and go hard. I like to look at situations and assign my opinion on them a probability. Its not perfect but it helps with countering biases. I am over 50% certain this is the result of people who want to get on the board, and not necessarily for good reasons. And in that situation I don't think a big tent approach will solve the problem because the motivations of the "other side" are that division and trouble are their best chance to grab some power. (I could be wrong but there is this funny smell about all this and in these situations people with agendas use legitimate grievances as ammunition without any desire to solve those legit grievances on their merits.)

My support of people like Sonja or Amarfios is conditional tho.

There is that risk but there's no way that Sonja or the club could leave it unchallenged.

I quite like it.

She's basically chastising a naughty kid, which is exactly how he's behaved. He's chucked his toys out of the cot and is screaming.
As a foundation Vice Presidents member in 2000, foundation Match Committee member in 2005 and a foundation Shinboners club member in 2009 I think he should be ejected from the club.
Not for his opinions etc but the fact that he has leaked it to the media along with the personal email addresses of coterie members and club staff.
Financially supporting the club does not give you the right to complain to the media. It does not give you the right to bring up financial support up when discussing issues. That is blackmail. All members contribute what they can. Just because someone can afford more is irrelevant.
Coterie members have access to the club management and can bring their concerns directly and do not need to feed the anti north media frenzy.

As a foundation Vice Presidents member in 2000, foundation Match Committee member in 2005 and a foundation Shinboners club member in 2009 I think he should be ejected from the club.
Not for his opinions etc but the fact that he has leaked it to the media along with the personal email addresses of coterie members and club staff.
Financially supporting the club does not give you the right to complain to the media. It does not give you the right to bring up financial support up when discussing issues. That is blackmail. All members contribute what they can. Just because someone can afford more is irrelevant.
Coterie members have access to the club management and can bring their concerns directly and do not need to feed the anti north media frenzy.
Is this fact? Can anyone actually say he cc'd in the media? There's conflicting reports on this.

"old mate" clearly stated why he see's it as an investment. he invest money to get satisfaction in following a winning football club. THE SAME AS ALL OF US. * me, you just want to shoot this guy down with out listening to a word he saying.

GROW UP PEOPLE.
The issue is not with the opinions but putting it out ( along with private emails and email addresses) to a public forum - the media
Doesn’t matter how much money he gives should be ejected from the club.
FWIW I don’t disagree with everything he says but as a high level long term coterie member he has abused his privilege and should go

I'd have no problem if Sonja and Ben A put this turkey's head on a spike out the front of Arden St as an example of what happens to traitors.

Is this fact? Can anyone actually say he cc'd in the media? There's conflicting reports on this.
He has said someone else did but then went and did an interview. He sent the original email with everyone’s address on it so is directly responsible for the private emails sent to him from BA being leaked

But he didn't put the emails addresses out in public. From reading the emails the club first sent out the email address to the group. If Adrian was able to cc everyone in then they weren't BCC'd in. So it seems safe to presume emails to the group, reveling email address, aren't a new thing.

So it needs to be determined who leaked it to the media before we go kicking this guy out of the club.

Is there any talk of a group getting together to make a credible challenge for the board?

If not, nothing will happen. Nothing can happen.

But he didn't put the emails addresses out in public. From reading the emails the club first sent out the email address to the group. If Adrian was able to cc everyone in then they weren't BCC'd in. So it seems safe to presume emails to the group, reveling email address, aren't a new thing.

So it needs to be determined who leaked it to the media before we go kicking this guy out of the club.
Everyone in the coterie has access to all coterie email addresses. Names are listed in the yearbook. Regarding the email exchange being made public either he is being untruthful or the media is as he has done interviews and the original report named him as the source. If someone else leaked it why did he do the interviews? Could easily have said they were private emails for the coterie group and club only and should not have been published. Contacted the addresses of the emails apologised that they had been leaked and asked the club to investigate.

That's not true. I can't see anywhere that has named him as the source of the leak.

What was originally stated by Sam Edmonds was that Hood was cc'd into the emails, so everyone saying he was gutless for not approaching her is wrong.

'X is obviously a very passionate supporter of the NMFC and understandably is disappointed with how we've fared this year, as we all are. That's why we've engaged Geoff Walsh to commence a review - we are determined to ensure we're on the right path.

I understand X was disappointed with his email exchange with Ben. While I don't think it was ideal to share that exchange with the media, Ben's comments reflect our internal performance measurements and underscore our commitment to rebuilding this team and laying the foundation for sustained success in the future.

I welcome all constructive criticism of the club and will give X a call this week to hear his grievances.'

Something to that effect would've caused less of a s**t show.
I didn't like Sonja's response saying gutless.

Adrian is an attention seeking flog who thinks the world owns him cause he donated a few bucks but there is no proof that he is gutless.