Congrats Pies

• Thread starter Thread starter Dry Rot

Good to see some gracious opposition supporters on here. A bit different from some of those on their own board who are referring to us as flukes, and already are looking forward to 6 months down the track when their "stars" will beat us "chokers" in finals. :rolleyes:

See how well Dogs and Pies fans can get along when we all agree that the Pies are a better side :D Only stirring! I think we both have alot of respect for each others teams because we play alot of close game of high quality and today was no exception.

I was concerned in the 2nd quarter thinking here we go again the dogs are coming back hard. In the past we would have probably allowed the dogs to continue on and win the game but to see us hold off their fight back and hit back hard was a great sign that we may have taken a step forward.

The dogs losing Morris was a huge loss and Johnson is clearly underdone, those two playing fully fit will lift them 5% easily. Good to get a win against a flag favourite in round 1 and look forward to next week. Carna Pies!!

Barry Who?

Great contest from the Dogs for about 30 minutes there... pies too good in thend!
thend? Everyone has shown great modesty and it's all been nice and your post has to wreck it. Anyhow you guys killed it. Harry O was everywhere and gee I love Swan. Still not sure how Thomas gets the big wraps though. So many blokes who are better and of course harder at it.

Too good on the day.

Nice to see some humility, wipe away the stereotypes that you mob are feral and just plain c***s.

Good luck in '10 guys.

gee thanks man, but i get the feeling you still said what you really thinking with last 3 words. hows that lid over there ? also if boyd didnt play today the pies would of won by 13 goals.;)

funny, that was my immediate thought too. But then I am an old cynical pr1ck......

Even so, that is still more politely worded than we would get from Carlscum or Ninthmond supporters.

Congratulations Pies, you were very good today. Harry O was brilliant, Didak and Swan worked hard - very good across the ground effort by your team. We did have some players out but still should not have played so badly (are you sure Minson is not on your payroll:o).

Thanks to those supporters who have shown a bit of humility and been gracious in winning - and for those who haven't just remember we beat Geelong Round 1 2007........

just for those who dont remember . The last time the pies won the flag. The tigers finished spooners;) what you said here is fantasy concerning your comparison to the cats, mine is fact.

Very impressive, particularly the way your boys stood firm when we came back in 2nd and 3rd quarters & then came back and hit us again. I've seen the Dogs run over many teams, but we met the immovable object there in Maxwell. O'Brien and Swan very good too.

Thanks Dry Rot & Ant, it's great to see some gracious opposition (as has been said). I'm really happy with the start to the year and i hope the boys can continue their against some other top sides. The dogs will be thereabouts again this year, and i hope that if its not us your able to overcome the saints, cats and hawks (because i like you better than them).

Good Luck, and well done pies ;)

thend? Everyone has shown great modesty and it's all been nice and your post has to wreck it. Anyhow you guys killed it. Harry O was everywhere and gee I love Swan. Still not sure how Thomas gets the big wraps though. So many blokes who are better and of course harder at it.

Suck it up bub :D

Thomas was still better then the majority of your mob today. I hate snide little remarks trying to be hidden in some praise. It makes you seem small and petty.

I was going to go back and post in a thread that i was in on the doggies board but they closed it. They were giving me crap for days about how much better they were then us all over the park. It was very satisfying seeing us wipe the floor with them.

Lots of very good signs, especially with Beams to come back in too. Great start!

As many others on this thread have stated or implied, nice to see some genuine classy comments, win or lose. You Dogs fans are mostly good people. (What was with Mr 350 mohawk in the crowd, though?)

You'll be better for the inclusions of a match-fit #6, and Dale Morris, later down the track. Looking forward to the next meeting, the last few have been high quality.

I dunno who the magpie posters are.... such manners and humility.

As for Footscray ( as MM called them in his press conference ), I think they run a pretty good ship and have a president who i much admire. They struggled long and hard since before I was born and they deserve a spot in the grand final this year....but I hope we're the team that takes the flag..

As many others on this thread have stated or implied, nice to see some genuine classy comments, win or lose. You Dogs fans are mostly good people. (What was with Mr 350 mohawk in the crowd, though?)

You'll be better for the inclusions of a match-fit #6, and Dale Morris, later down the track. Looking forward to the next meeting, the last few have been high quality.
mohawk 350 is this the bloke that the collingwood sterotype is based on.
The dogs would have just as many of these type of supporters just as any other club. and no the majority have not been classy, one called pies supporters *****, one bloke rubbished thomas, and all have cried out no morris, so what , still waiting for you guy that says you guys are the best and i cant see how anyone can beat you.

To be honest, I'll take yesterday's win on face value. We won because we played better yesterday.

Before I pump up our tyres too much I'd like to see how we go over the next 4-5 weeks on different grounds with different classes of opposition to see how well our structure and flexibility holds up.

Cheers to the Doggies fans on here - well played. I'd gladly have a Hahn, Murphy, Boyd or Gia on our team any day. Let's compare notes come Rd 12...

For the last coupe of years I have had a pre season bet with a bloke that the doggies will finish higher on the ladder after the home and away. Last year was sweet victory, but after taking so much money off him recently I decided not to place the bet this year.

Looks like I made a good decision.

I hate loosing games that we loose, rather than the other team winning, however yesterday we were well and truly outplayed. Winners all over the ground for the pies.

How good is Harry O!! and for the first time ever I can now see why you guys love Maxwell.

Well done, just the kick in the pants we needed I hope!

You need glasses mate. He always gives 100% and never stops trying.

Stop being brainwashed by the flogs on Bay 13.:thumbsd:

Great game from the pies, held their ground in the third quarter and won the ball when it mattered.. Harry O looks like he's going to be a gun in the backline for you guys this year.

Well done Pies and good luck for the rest of the season. If the Dogs can't go all the way I hope you guys do:thumbsu:.

Thanks Chef and Mike and Doggie style ( PS like ur signature) for ur generosity of spirit..not always easy in the circumstances!

Lots of Pie supporters share your sentiment re if we can't win, hope you do.

That's no doubt in part because we both have hard working honest clubs, who are way overdue for the utimate success, but possibly also the respect shown to each others' points of view in the pre and post game analyses by the great majority of BF posters.

Bring on clash two in ten weeks or whatever
icon7.gif

You need glasses mate. He always gives 100% and never stops trying.

Stop being brainwashed by the flogs on Bay 13.:thumbsd:
Mate I've played footy at a pretty high level and would suggest every bloke gives 100% and never stops trying. Just think that you have a fair amount of players that deserve more praise as I rate them much higher. If I'm wrong perhaps I'm over rating the other Collingwood players who I think are ahead of him on many fronts?

I think the point DThomas is trying to make, is that Daisy is one of if not the hardest/gutsy/courageous guys at the club, ALWAYS puts his head over the ball at any time required.

Never EVER has he backed away from a contest, and I know it probably wasn't intentional, but you coming on here and posting "you think there are other players better than him and of course harder at it", you're not going to get a good reaction.

There is a reason Nathan Buckley holds him in very high regards.

p.s. The balded part is what I think is getting on DThomas' nerves, and I don't blame him, completely uninformed comment.

He is easily one of our most maligned players. Probably only just behind Lethal and Johnson of the blokes who are regulars, but he certainly isn't openly praised that frequently by many Collingwood supporters. You're confusing his marketing allure, especially to the younger crowd, for praise for his game. It isn't the case.

The comment on his hardness is well and truly off the mark though. I've been one of his biggest criticisers in the past, but I've never needed to question his hardness at the pill.
Continually throws himself in without regard.

I think the point DThomas is trying to make, is that Daisy is one of if not the hardest/gutsy/courageous guys at the club, ALWAYS puts his head over the ball at any time required.

Never EVER has he backed away from a contest, and I know it probably wasn't intentional, but you coming on here and posting "you think there are other players better than him and of course harder at it", you're not going to get a good reaction.

There is a reason Nathan Buckley holds him in very high regards.

p.s. The balded part is what I think is getting on DThomas' nerves, and I don't blame him, completely uninformed comment.
Yep, thanks for the backing up Swanny36!:thumbsu:

I just hate that he is still called soft. That myth started in about 2007 and was untrue even back then, but because he has the long hair and takes speckies people assume that he is soft without actually watching him play. Go on Bay 13 and you'll see heaps of these idiots that don't know anything.

It just really pisses me off that people still say that.:thumbsd: