Consolidated Taylor Walker thread

Re: Afc Website.......walker Not The Answer

Contrary to popular belief, Walker is not dominating at Norwood each week. He is getting on average 10-12 disposals a week and grabbing 5-6 marks a week. Good for a youngster but he is not dominating. Get some perspective.

I remember seeing Pavlich in 1999 when he was at the Eagles and he the year before he went to Freo and he actually dominated games at CHF.

Lets not rush this and then destroy the kid in the process.

Look at Tom Hawkins, geelong are being very careful with him even though he could play AFL at the moment-he's a freakin monster! Numerous players have commented, when questioned, that he's up to it but they've got to do whats best for him in the long run. He will tear the competition in half in about 2 years time by the way, it will be frightening-lets hope the next big two are Hawkins and Walker hey?! ;) Don't tell me it's because Geelong are a better team either, because they could play him ahead of Lonergan or others.

All I ask is for people to think before they post. If something is obvious to us then its sure going to be obvious to those inside the club!

Cannot play with a foot injury

Contrary to popular belief, Walker is not dominating at Norwood each week. He is getting on average 10-12 disposals a week and grabbing 5-6 marks a week. Good for a youngster but he is not dominating. Get some perspective.

I remember seeing Pavlich in 1999 when he was at the Eagles and he the year before he went to Freo and he actually dominated games at CHF.

Lets not rush this and then destroy the kid in the process.

What stats do you expect from a key forward:confused: Check his goal tally i reckon. Dunno how many disposals Modra averaged?

My only concern by not playing these youngsters is that by the end of the year we will have the following players without an AFL debut:

Walker, Dangerfield, Kite, Cook, Gallman & Armstrong. Add Otten & Jackie to that list and thats 2 league games amongst 8 players. All the talk on this forum is that we will change over another 7 or so players. That means if we don't blood any of these youngsters within the next 6 weeks we will go into Round 1 of 2009 with more than a third of our list without any AFL experience.

Is that something to be worried about?

Cannot play with a foot injury
I wondered who would be the first to point this out, almost put in a comment explaining it but thought people would understand. I am aware of this, however i am talking about the whole season-his injury is not the reason why he hasn't been playing in 2008.

Form:confused:

It's not his age.

Lonergan, Gamble both in better form prior to Hawkins injury.

fletcher is the most overrated footballer of the last 25 years.

Didn't realise you were related to Shane Woewodin!

Anyway, on Walker coming in... love to see it happen but gotta trust the club to know more about player development than me. They are concerning me with their very conservative style though.

My biggest concern right now is lack of players presenting down the field. Its been this way ALL year. No one has lead up the ground consistently to offer the guys breaking the HB line a target. I'm still not convinced its not an instruction. So often at HB guys like sideways or to the boundry line rather than lifting their eyes and looking to the centre or for the longer lead from further up the ground. It makes us look abysmal at times. Especially in the wet yesterday.. wtf were we kicking short to contests on a bad day!

If its NOT a gameplan instruction to play that way.. maybe walker can offer us something as by all reports to loves to lead.

Re: Walker Now!!!

Too right SC, just leave the bloke alone all you fanboys-get out of it! Don't know if I agree on Sellar though, i see your point with Sellar and SANFL but what he's showing is pretty ordinary, he needs to lift. Personally I'm undecided, there are +ves and -ves each way.

Heres my thoughts from yet another Taylor Walker thread-why are there so many? :confused: Get it together mods

Mate, the hype is getting out of control.

The hype is only going to get worse until Neil Craig shows some real leadership and says Walker will not be selected until next year or he selects someone who can take the attention away from him. He has to select an Andy Otten or a James Sellar or someone who can remove that saviour tag he appears to be labelled with.

My only concern by not playing these youngsters is that by the end of the year we will have the following players without an AFL debut:

Walker, Dangerfield, Kite, Cook, Gallman & Armstrong. Add Otten & Jackie to that list and thats 2 league games amongst 8 players. All the talk on this forum is that we will change over another 7 or so players. That means if we don't blood any of these youngsters within the next 6 weeks we will go into Round 1 of 2009 with more than a third of our list without any AFL experience.

Is that something to be worried about?

Please explain how does getting 5 or so games into these blokes make a difference - it doesn't. They will get their chance thru the pre-season cup and then stay in - they will also hit the wall during the year (ala Mackay and Griffen this year) and that is what you have to manage.

No club, repeat no club, sitting half a game outside the top 8 with 6 weeks to go would be playing a stck of youngsters before years end. They would be making the most of the opportunity to make the 8 and would mean not playing every youngster on your books. Reality check please!

I am going to agree with Craig and the AFC. Now is not the time to go with Walker and Dangerfield - our season is not yet over. If in 3 weeks, we have no chance of making the 8 then yes blood the two youngsters for the last couple of games but not now when we still have the possibility of making the 8. Yes, we have lost 5 in a row but only the game against Geelong was a disaster and who haven't they whipped in the last 7 weeks! Neither kid is our saviour and the pressure on these kids would be enormous at this point in time.
Oh how wonderful, joyful, marvellous, we're a chance for the 8! And should we get there, it's party time everyone because Craigy and co have reached their goals! Forget long term; let's just put all our resources into making the finals and making up the numbers while doing so…! Are we a chance for the premiership? No. If we made the finals would we be making up the numbers? Of course so. If I had the choice between missing the 8 but getting a month to six games of footballer into the likes of Mackay, Otten, Walker, Petrenko OR making the 8, crashing out in the first week and investing no time into the youth, I know what option I’d take.

I had this EXACT same argument last year. There were pleads for the Crows to put off rebuilding until we were out of the finals equation. So we didn’t play any of the kids, instead opting to try and make the 8. Well we made the 8 and look what happened, crashed out first week and nothing to show for not playing the kids. I do not want the same thing to happen again, and yet I am 110% confident that it will, such is the philosophy of Craig.

Please explain how does getting 5 or so games into these blokes make a difference - it doesn't. They will get their chance thru the pre-season cup and then stay in - they will also hit the wall during the year (ala Mackay and Griffen this year) and that is what you have to manage.

No club, repeat no club, sitting half a game outside the top 8 with 6 weeks to go would be playing a stck of youngsters before years end. They would be making the most of the opportunity to make the 8 and would mean not playing every youngster on your books. Reality check please!

Mo need to answer. Drummonds post above says it all.

The hype is only going to get worse until Neil Craig shows some real leadership and says Walker will not be selected until next year or he selects someone who can take the attention away from him. He has to select an Andy Otten or a James Sellar or someone who can remove that saviour tag he appears to be labelled with.

They tried last week with an article pumping up Petrenko and how close to upgrade he was (which he may or may not be)...seemed like good timing for a club trying to show it was promoting its youth?

Déjà View all over again from this time last year – the same argument regarding fighting for a spot in the 8 compared to playing the kids.

Oh how wonderful, joyful, marvellous, we're a chance for the 8! And should we get there, it's party time everyone because Craigy and co have reached their goals! Forget long term; let's just put all our resources into making the finals and making up the numbers while doing so…! Are we a chance for the premiership? No. If we made the finals would we be making up the numbers? Of course so. If I had the choice between missing the 8 but getting a month to six games of footballer into the likes of Mackay, Otten, Walker, Petrenko OR making the 8, crashing out in the first week and investing no time into the youth, I know what option I’d take.

I had this EXACT same argument last year. There were pleads for the Crows to put off rebuilding until we were out of the finals equation. So we didn’t play any of the kids, instead opting to try and make the 8. Well we made the 8 and look what happened, crashed out first week and nothing to show for not playing the kids. I do not want the same thing to happen again, and yet I am 110% confident that it will, such is the philosophy of Craig.

I'm not saying its party time by making the 8 but by playing finals in Melbourne, you would be exposing the Tippetts, the Mackays, the Vinces, the Douglass, to the pressure of finals footy, something you just can't replicate in a minor round game and they would be the better for it next year for all experience it provides. One finals game is a stack of minor round games experience but no, lets get some of our other youngsters in and waste the opportunity!

Déjà View all over again from this time last year – the same argument regarding fighting for a spot in the 8 compared to playing the kids.

Just wondering whether the same supporters will still be backing Craig to do the same thing if nothing has changed over the next 3 years?

Gotta say i am for youth this time (the right ones who are capable and have a level of form...Walker, Mackay, Otten) as well as making sure Gill and Campbell get every opportunity.

The only ones I'd consider playing ahead of time is Gallman and/or Kite given our potential lack of experience in the vital medium-tall defender slots next year.

It really is. As I was posting that I thought back to this time last year; it’s identical. Hopefully they’ve learnt and realised making the 8 is not the be all and end all and getting games and looking to the future is the answer. What concerns me is the amount of promises Craig seems to be breaking. Wasn’t the sole objective of this year meant to be rebuilding and retooling our side? Yes we’ve got games into some youngsters, Mackay and Tippett being the best examples, but we haven’t really gone forwards as much as we should and could have. We’re starting to become more focused on the short term goals, such as making the finals, than looking long term. This year was meant to be about rebuilding, getting games into youngsters, playing attacking football and placing no limitations on the youngsters. Obviously with our forward line falling down once again he deserves a little leeway in regards to attacking football, but not on the other issues.

I don’t know why we are having this argument, anyone who has watched us play over the last month or so know we are not making the finals. We have no forward line and at the moment the forward line delivery is not adequate to kick a winning score, even if we had a few forward who could finish.

We have to win 4 out of our next 6 games and with Sydney, St Kilda and the 3rd placed Western Bulldogs in that group of teams – finals are just a dream.

I agree that headline is a shocker, I hope this were not a direct quote. I know Craigy is trying to keep a lid on it, but could be more positive.

Early in the season Neil craig said he needs to be consistant, and Taylor has delivered on this. Now Craigy is saying he needs to work on other things. This seems like a get out clause for Craigys stubberness.

Even if on debut he didnt kick any goals, but perhaps took a couple of strong marks, ala Moran, I think it would give Walker confidence. And may also get the crows fired up and get out of this 5 game loosing streak.

With Burton and Porps out, and Mcleod struggling the crows need to find some mo-jo. Walker would provide this, even if he didnt kick a bag of goals.

I truly think this is a problem with the crows.

2 examples:

1) At the start of the season there was a real vibe about the club, with a revamped list over summer. The inclusion of some new blood in Sellar, Jacky, Moran, Symes, Mckay and Tippet. The young revamped crows were playing some great football. But now with only the later playing consitantly the crows are looking stale again. I am not saying all these youngsters should all be playing now. But there was a different midset from the coach which showed in the playing group. I think Jacky was added for extra spark, although his AFL debut was premature I was more than happy to see him given a few AFL games.

However I am more dumbfounded that Walker is not given the same opportunity for these reasons a) similar age b) Walker far better SANFL form c) Walker lifetime of Footy, Jacky new to game d) Walker used to playing against men from time at Broken hill, and now 2/3 of SANFL Season. Jacky handfull of SANFL games. 4) Proven big game performer with 7 goal Broken Hill grand final and big bags of goals in SANFL and mo-jo to burn. 5) Although both lightly framed I would say Walker would have the more AFL ready body.

2) I would Imagine that Walker could be for us what Dale Thomas is for Collingwood. Altough playing different roles Thomas as a running half forward flanker and Walker as a Forward Pocket/Duel Full Forward. They would be similar in terms of the passion and flair they bring to the game. Both born to play footy, and love the big stage. Both are young players with a cult following who give fans and teammates a lift. From memory Dale Thomas played round one after drafting and had an instant impact. Why cant Craig be open minded like Malthouse and give Walker a few games and see what happens. After all I thought the game plan for season 2008 was to be more attacking and have a bit more fun.

I'm not saying its party time by making the 8 but by playing finals in Melbourne, you would be exposing the Tippetts, the Mackays, the Vinces, the Douglass, to the pressure of finals footy, something you just can't replicate in a minor round game and they would be the better for it next year for all experience it provides. One finals game is a stack of minor round games experience but no, lets get some of our other youngsters in and waste the opportunity!
Hi Gary Ayres…

But yes, that side of the argument was always bound to come up. Not a bad argument but it has some flaws. Douglas played a final in his first year, and yet the next year he was in and out of the side and looked uncomfortable playing at AFL level. It is looking doubting that Mackay plays again this year, and I can pretty much guarantee you that come crunch time he won’t be playing. If he’s not playing now, why would he be playing when there is more to lose? It wouldn’t surprise me to see Tippett dropped soon but one finals game won’t make automatically make him a champion the next year.

And how are we even going to make the finals? We’ve lost 5 games on the trot but things can change quickly so that wouldn’t be so bad. But why are we losing games? Because we have no forward line and it’s only going to get worse with Burton out for the year and Porplyzia out for another 2-3 weeks. I’d rather take the gamble and get some games into the youngsters rather than throw everything into making the finals, refusing to look long term just so two or three youngsters can play 80 odd minutes of finals footy.

Each to their own but I disagree.

disagree. you've not even seen 25 years worth of footy to start with. good average player at best.

We can both agree that he humiliated Tippett and played exceptionally on him.

he beat him. big deal. the kid was in his 10th game of footy.

woo hoo. good to see you lower your standards so far.

Consolidated Taylor Walker thread