Quick links

Harley Reid extends to 2028

List Changes - 2025
  • Oscar Allen advises intention to explore Free Agency
  • Jayden Hunt announces retirement
  • Jack Petruccelle, Callum Jamieson and Loch Rawlinson not offered new contracts
  • Liam Ryan has requested a trade to St Kilda but is contracted for 2026
  • Campbell Chesser (uncontracted) has requested a trade to Carlton
  • List would be 37 (31 main, 4 rookie, 2 Cat B)

Players out of Contract 2025 (5)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024

Provisional 2025 Draft order

Key Offseason Dates
Fri Oct 3 - Fri Oct 10: 2025 Free Agency Period
Mon Oct 6 - Wed Oct 15: 2025 AFL Trade Period
Wed Nov 19 - Thu Nov 20: 2025 AFL Draft

I reckon Chad Warner is back on the table.

WCE OUT: Pick 1, BWilliams, Owies (both with salary)
WCE IN: Warner x 2, Ladhams

CARL OUT: Curnow
CARL IN: Pick 1, Williams, Owies

SYD OUT: Warner x 2
SYD. IN: Curnow

Happy to keep pick 1 and trade Owies

WTF would we try to help facilitate the Curnow trade?
Just let Chad sit there for 2 years, we'll get him for cheaper then and hopefully have improved by then as well.
We are in no rush to burn draft capital for Chad right now.
Let alone gifting Carlton even more high end picks.
It’s clear that the club were prepared to pay pick 1 to get Chad next year rather than wait until free agency. Like it or not, they will still do it if Chad is open to it, the Swans want Curnow enough and Carlton realise they aren’t winning a flag with this list.

Sydney are not just going to roll over and hand over Chad for a single high end pick that they don't even get.
They'll want 1 and 2.

If it was a solo trade just for Chad warner who is contracted they would be wanting at least 2 first rounders minimum.
And Carlton are not going to let Curnow walk for anything less than 2 first rounders either.

Sydney are not just going to roll over and hand over Chad for a single high end pick that they don't even get.
They'll want 1 and 2.

If it was a solo trade just for Chad warner who is contracted they would be wanting at least 2 first rounders minimum.
And Carlton are not going to let Curnow walk for anything less than 2 first rounders either.
In no world is Chad worth pick 1 and 2. If Swans want Curnow, they are going to have to deal and boy do they need him. Pyke et al will see it as an opportunity. I’ve just asked the Blues board what they want for Curnow. Watch this space could be reasonable, could be hilarious.

They'll want 1 and 2.

1 and 2??? In the immortal words of Bender_ they can go f**k a goat if they think they'll get 1 & 2 for him

In no world is Chad worth pick 1 and 2. If Swans want Curnow, they are going to have to deal and boy do they need him. Pyke et al will see it as an opportunity. I’ve just asked the Blues board what they want for Curnow. Watch this space could be reasonable, could be hilarious.
I would take Warner for pick 1 or 2 everyday of the week.
Keep our other picks and/or trade up for another high end pick.
Draft Sharp, Cumming and then a KPD project.
Ladhams as part of the deal would be an interesting prospect to fill a gap for 3 years, he is better than BW.

“For pick one, we'd probably toss in the TDK compo pick as well as Charlie. For pick 2, you'd probably get Charlie straight up... maybe a second round coming with pick 2.”

Fairly measured response from a Blues poster, unders for them if anything.

Whole thing with the Gatorade derailed 2019 for us.

Reading and listening to what has come out since, it was how the club handled that first which started the wedge between groups in the club, than the COVID hubs blew the team apart.

The '19 final series was the beginning of the downfall

It makes some sense for Carlton to trade Curnow. He’ll be 29 years old next year, and has had a poor year. If Carlton offload him, surely they’d have the cash to keep TDK, who’s 27 next year.

But even if Carlton trade Curnow I doubt Warner returns. He was out of contract and had the option to come here and chose to stay on a Sydney. I doubt whether his thoughts have changed drastically so soon.

It makes some sense for Carlton to trade Curnow. He’ll be 29 years old next year, and has had a poor year. If Carlton offload him, surely they’d have the cash to keep TDK, who’s 27 next year.

But even if Carlton trade Curnow I doubt Warner returns. He was out of contract and had the option to come here and chose to stay on a Sydney. I doubt whether his thoughts have changed drastically so soon.
Why the hell does everyone want Warner so badly? He's a worse version of Tim Kelly (& that worked out so well last time😆)

TDK is out the door mate.

What do you think Curnow is worth? They have a tight cap, losing their ruck and FF and replacing them with a ruck/FWD with contract paid. Owies actually SOMEHOW played decent footy for them the year he left, 60 goals over his last two years.
Don't see how their cap is tight TBH.
Already losing TDK and Silvagni.

He's contracted so Carlton will want extra's.
I reckon Carlton would want two picks in the top 10 TBH.

Rioli, albeit younger went for 6 and 23.
Shai Bolton went for something like 10 and 11
and they're both flankers, pockets.

Don't see how their cap is tight TBH.
Already losing TDK and Silvagni.

He's contracted so Carlton will want extra's.
I reckon Carlton would want two picks in the top 10 TBH.

Rioli, albeit younger went for 6 and 23.
Shai Bolton went for something like 10 and 11
and they're both flankers, pockets.
TDK wasn’t on the money he was going to get and SOS I don’t think was costing much. Curnow is 29 next year reckon 2 x top 10s is a bit much? If he was 25 then absolutely you’re right.

Not sure we can include GCS for logical trades but Bolton was 25 and entering absolute prime of his career.

TDK wasn’t on the money he was going to get and SOS I don’t think was costing much. Curnow is 29 next year reckon 2 x top 10s is a bit much? If he was 25 then absolutely you’re right.

Not sure we can include GCS for logical trades but Bolton was 25 and entering absolute prime of his career.
A trade only happens if Curnow pushes for it, but Sydney would have to get creative, their pick 9 probably isn’t useful to Carlton considering a Dean bid will be threatened before that.

Could see Sydney trading for Port’s first from Gold Coast and then sending 6, Oliver Florent and Branden Campbell, both players have been linked with Carlton or a F1 etc. it’ll get done some way if Curnow makes it clear he wants out.

a "B grader" mid that doesn't defend has shoddy skills & who will be 27 when we sign him.
"B" grader.
Put the crack pipe down mate.

His last 3 finishes in the best and fairest
2022 - 2nd
2023 - 5th
2024 3rd and AA.

He would be our best midfielder by so far it wouldn't be funny.

He's only 24.

Nah, we don't need him.

Two top ten picks might be slightly overs, but he's contracted.
Sydney will have to pay overs.

You always pay more for key position players, especially goal kickers.

I'd give pick 1 or 2 for Warner in a hearbeat.