Quick Links

List Changes - 2025
In:
  • Brandon Starcevich arrives at West Coast in a three team deal
  • Tylar Young (Richmond) arrived at West Coast in exchange for Pick 38.
  • Deven Robertson (Brisbane) has agreed to join West Coast and will be signed on to the rookie list after being delisted by Brisbane
Out:
  • Oscar Allen joins Brisbane as a FA - West Coast receive Pick 2 as compensation
  • Liam Ryan and a 2027 R3 pick has been traded to St Kilda for a 2026 R2 pick
  • Campbell Chesser has been traded to Carlton for Pick 41
  • Jayden Hunt announces retirement
  • Jack Petruccelle, Callum Jamieson and Loch Rawlinson not offered new contracts
  • Coen Livingstone joins the list of players not offered a new contract

Players Out of Contract - 2025 (0)
  • Jamie Cripps and Malakai Champion seem to have been offered new contracts despite there being no official announcement. Means that all players out of contract for 2025 have been given new contracts despite or removed from the playing list

2025 Draft Order

Current Draft Picks:
Round 1: 1, 2, 13
Round 2: 34, 41
Round 3: 53, 58 (These picks are in excess of available list spots so will be forfeited if we don’t consolidate our 2025 picks up the order or trade some for future picks)

List Spots Available (39 of 48):
• Main list (33 of 38) - 5* (in: Starcevich, Young out: Allen, Ryan, Chesser, Hunt, Petruccelle, Jamieson)
• Cat A rookie list (5 of 8) - 3* (in: Robertson (pending), out: Rawlinson)
• Cat B rookie list (1 of 2) - 2 (out: Livingstone)

* Based on Dewar being upgraded after the maximum 3 years on the rookie list. Hutchinson may also have been upgraded but this isn’t confirmed - if it is we will have 4 main and 4 rookie list spots open

* Matthew Clarke has stated we have 5 main list spots

Matt Clarke wraps up the trade period - 6PR

THis has been a crap trade period. Dont pretend otherwise

We still have no ruck and are stuck with Deven Robertson a delisted player as our midfield saviour all while losing Liam Ryan and Campbell Chesser unexpectedly too

Shocker
Sad Baby GIF

We still have no ruck and are stuck with Deven Robertson a delisted player as our midfield saviour all while losing Liam Ryan and Campbell Chesser unexpectedly too

Shocker
We'll have CDT. The greatest ruckman since Tony Olango.

How does it work with the NGA's? My understanding is if somebody else drafts them before pick 40 then thats it and they are gone. But if the bid comes after pick 40 we have the option to match it with a pick in the same round. Is that right?

Seen this on FB.

"With the Essendon Board now being involved on agreeing to a Merrett Trade here is a scenario that get Hawthorn and Essendon what they want, with a 3rd club also benefiting..

Essendon get: Pick 1 (WC), Henry Hustwaite and 2026 second round pick (Haw)
Hawthorn Get: Zach Merrett
West Coast Get: Picks 5 & 6 (Ess) and Pick 9 (Haw)

Essendon get a young gun mid plus Pick 1, Hawthorn get their man and West Coast load up on 3 first (as well as holding their Pick 2 still) which they can use to get in experience or get young draftees before Tassie come in

Who says no?"

Are we trading 1 for 5 6 9?
Essendon don't just say no, they throw you out of the room for suggesting it. Ridiculous proposal, clearly designed by a clueless hawthorn fan.

Find me a ruck willing to move over west to play for the worst team in the league that’s not either just as crap as what we’ve got, ancient, or going to cost an arm and leg
Oh yeah and who were we going to get Petracca or Oliver? Fiorini or Flanders? Don’t like our chances. No realistic midfielders up for trade without giving up a lot. Hopefully we do Young on Monday then wait for pick 1 and 2. Looking forward to seeing who we grab at 1 and 2.

How does it work with the NGA's? My understanding is if somebody else drafts them before pick 40 then thats it and they are gone. But if the bid comes after pick 40 we have the option to match it with a pick in the same round. Is that right?

That’s the old rules. Was changed prior to last years draft that bids can be matched at any point in the draft, which is how Essendon were able to match a bid on Kako

To match now a club needs sufficient points and a list spot. Bids from pick 37 onwards only need to be matched with a clubs next pick and points are irrelevant

Find me a ruck willing to move over west to play for the worst team in the league that’s not either just as crap as what we’ve got, ancient, or going to cost an arm and leg
Thats not the bar necessarily. Bar is to find someone better then Flynn/B.Williams. Many options but we choose to give 900k to a small defender who we have ample of.

Cost an arm and a leg is no issue but we spent the arm and spent the leg on a guy we didnt need

That’s the old rules. Was changed prior to last years draft that bids can be matched at any point in the draft, which is how Essendon were able to match a bid on Kako

To match now a club needs sufficient points and a list spot. Bids from pick 37 onwards only need to be matched with a clubs next pick and points are irrelevant
So does that mean we are in a quandry as to whether we are going to need these late picks we have for purposes of points or not?

Oh yeah and who were we going to get Petracca or Oliver? Fiorini or Flanders? Don’t like our chances. No realistic midfielders up for trade without giving up a lot. Hopefully we do Young on Monday then wait for pick 1 and 2. Looking forward to seeing who we grab at 1 and 2.
Plenty out there who would take Starcevichs 900k per year deal and be a better fit.

You think say Erasmus was staying at Dockers if we gave the arm and a leg

Starcevich the deal he is on is more ludicrous then if we just gave that money to Davies/Erasmus so we should have just done that

You want us to give that money to vastly inferior footballers?

Plenty out there who would take Starcevichs 900k per year deal and be a better fit.

You think say Erasmus was staying at Dockers if we gave the arm and a leg

Maybe Davies but why would they leave to the 1 win team. I reckon we have done ok. Need to see who we draft to have a better chance to evaluate the whole draft and trade period.

Long time lurker, finally got some time to sign up and do some posting.

The melts are incredible, some over value Ryan and Chesser greatly. I don't think there has been any issues with Clarke, he turned Liam Ryan who really is one hamstring away from hanging up the boots not to mention is lazy and has no defensiveness to his game, into a future second pick which is exactly what he is worth.

Chesser, who everyone has bagged out for years netted us a second round pick, which is exactly what he is worth. I actually think we got overs, I would have handed over a third round pick. He couldn't dominate WAFL, and the small sample size we got this year didn't excite me. He will benefit from having guys like Cripps and Walsh dishing him the ball, so time will tell if he will make it in the AFL BUT NO TEAM is dishing out a decent pick for someone who can't stay fit and has really shown nothing at the big time.

Ruckman.... so tell me what Ruckman wants to come to Perth / play for us? None.... So what do you want Clarke to do?

Jack Steele.... doesn't want to come to Perth and I am glad because by round 8 I would hate coming onto big footy and reading everyone's whinging about how slow he is and how we wasted a an early second round pick.

No good midfielders want to come and play for the wooden spooners. We go to the draft, nail our picks and start winning a couple of games. Start building the winning culture, then we may woo some big names with cash and facilities.

I'd be interested to find out the name of one poster who thinks Clarke is the greatest list manager of all time, never mind one for every melter.

So now who ever said he's the best of all time?

No-one. And out of interest who do you think is BTW?

And when would we even know? 10 minutes after every trade? Or 10 years later when the true result is known?

The constant negativity and auto default.....wasnt good enough...could do better.....now we cant trade for pick x and a pick swap later we can.

Its a 1st world problem...........

Shocker

So which a grade mid is going to want to come over here and win 4 games next year?

Name them.

It isn't going to happen. I'm comfortable they are doing everything possible and knocking on every door to try and lure players but realistically we aren't a destination club.

The addition of Robertson I'm confident will help harley.
Starcevich will help massively also
We've gotten rid of some dead wood and players like Ryan are front runners.

We need to focus on getting back to what we've done best and develop our own a grade mids by hitting the draft.

The melts are incredible, some over value Ryan and Chesser greatly. I don't think there has been any issues with Clarke, he turned Liam Ryan who really is one hamstring away from hanging up the boots not to mention is lazy and has no defensiveness to his game, into a future second pick which is exactly what he is worth.

Chesser, who everyone has bagged out for years netted us a second round pick, which is exactly what he is worth. I actually think we got overs, I would have handed over a third round pick. He couldn't dominate WAFL, and the small sample size we got this year didn't excite me. He will benefit from having guys like Cripps and Walsh dishing him the ball, so time will tell if he will make it in the AFL BUT NO TEAM is dishing out a decent pick for someone who can't stay fit and has really shown nothing at the big time.

Ruckman.... so tell me what Ruckman wants to come to Perth / play for us? None.... So what do you want Clarke to do?

Jack Steele.... doesn't want to come to Perth and I am glad because by round 8 I would hate coming onto big footy and reading everyone's whinging about how slow he is and how we wasted a an early second round pick.

No good midfielders want to come and play for the wooden spooners. We go to the draft, nail our picks and start winning a couple of games. Start building the winning culture, then we may woo some big names with cash and facilities.
Stop being sensible this is a bed wetter and melt friendly zone.

I heard Goldie is looking to play on👀

So which a grade mid is going to want to come over here and win 4 games next year?

Name them.

It isn't going to happen. I'm comfortable they are doing everything possible and knocking on every door to try and lure players but realistically we aren't a destination club.

The addition of Robertson I'm confident will help harley.
Starcevich will help massively also
We've gotten rid of some dead wood and players like Ryan are front runners.

We need to focus on getting back to what we've done best and develop our own a grade mids by hitting the draft.
He named Travis Boak a week or so ago, so there's your answer.......

Great intro post to bigfooty

Thats not the bar necessarily. Bar is to find someone better then Flynn/B.Williams. Many options but we choose to give 900k to a small defender who we have ample of.

Cost an arm and a leg is no issue but we spent the arm and spent the leg on a guy we didnt need
Our salary cap is largely irrelevant. We have heaps of room pick 22 might end up being somewhat irrelevant too as we might not pick anyone outside the first round. So potentially appart from overpaying GC instead of Brisbane not much would have changed. Which Ruck in these "many options" wanted to come to us?

Starcevich might be best in that he may free us up to move Baker or McCarthy out of the backline and free them up for midfield or forward line defensive pressure. Thats just 2 best 23 players who could benefit from him being in the team.

The lockdown tandem of Hough and Starcevich could be pretty great. Or Hough could go midfield as a hard tag on a hybrid like the Cameron job in 24.

Chesser and Ryan wanted to leave. A disgruntled Ryan and a 'gone for free through the draft' chesser dont exactly help us much do they?

Are we? Has this been confirmed by the club or just your opinion.

Surely, if the chance presents to take 3 top 10s and pick 13. We would just delist a player (e.g. Barnett)
Basically list spots and available talent.
For sure Barnett would be 1 of the first out if we needed a list spot.
We are guessing mostly but 3 picks in the 1st round in 1, 2, 13 but it will come down to final list spots and who we decide to move to a rookie spot if there is a desired player that we want.

Cripps/Barnett could most likely end up on rookie contracts or if we definitely rate someone very highly Barnett could be paid out and delisted.
If this happens it will be who are the KP/talls left as rucks for backup and WAFL and if Livingstone can be that player?

If this goes down that 1 of Barnett/Livingstone are gone then we would need to draft another KP player to cover.
This is where S Ainsworth would come into the draft calculations as a late pick up or rookie and keep the other player in Barnett/Livingstone as a backup option in the ruck and WAFL imo.

Shocker
Happy Cracking Up GIF by Regal

Are we? Has this been confirmed by the club or just your opinion.

Surely, if the chance presents to take 3 top 10s and pick 13. We would just delist a player (e.g. Barnett)
We'll have to do that before the draft.
I'd delist Barnett either way, and consider taking him in the rookie draft if there's still a spot available.
My preference would be to delist Owies as well lol.