List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade/Draft Thread - 2025 Edition

Quick links
Players out of Contract 2025 (12)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Tom Cole (28/5/97) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) in May 2022
  • Rhett Bazzo (17/10/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in September 2022
  • Jayden Hunt (3/4/95) - Signed a 3 year contract (2023-25) in October 2022
  • Callum Jamieson (31/7/00) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in March 2023
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • Jack Petruccelle (12/4/99) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R) Loch Rawlinson (1/6/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024
  • (R) Jacob Newton (20/3/06/) - Automatic 6 month contract (2025) when drafted in May 2025

Provisional 2025 Draft order

I think the opposite runs true. His manager is a complete campaigner. If he's not willing to sign a 4+2 contract that has clauses to be a 1 club player on great money with his injury history then he doesn't deserve to be captain.

Would you give an extra 250-400kk to Allen a year over an extra 2 years if it meant losing Harley or not getting Warner?

Clarke is very good at being ruthless in contract negotiations, the club could do with it. No player is bigger than the club, ever. To build and develop a team to challenge for a flag if Allen chases too much then you let him go. Duggan is the sort of guy you want as captain during a development period. Guys like Baker who bleeds blue and gold but comes from 3 premierships in 4 years along with Graham is who hard as nails and an absolute champion trainer (and a really top bloke off field too) will do imo.

I know the club well and am happy to let Allen walk if he wants too much. All things considered he's very, very borderline whether he makes it to our next opportunity to challenge as it is.

Yeah that's fair, I might have missed the 4+2 thing, if that's what's being offered then yeah, he can take it or leave it but I'm sure the rest of the players who want the side to get better wouldn't begrudge the club not offering any more.

I probably got swept up in the posts (and probably a few comments from mates/on other sites) saying just offer him 2 years so he walks and we reap the high pick we'll get. Wouldn't want us to play that game, but as you say sounds like we've made him a fair offer and anymore than 4 + 2* with clauses would be irresponsible.

Wes is the son of Wes Walley Snr, who showed a lot of promise as a colts player for Subiaco more than 20 years ago.

So the father who would've copped it growing up thought to bring his son in to the fold.

Sydney's gotta bid on the son and hope the Eagles rescind the match.

I think the opposite runs true. His manager is a complete campaigner. If he's not willing to sign a 4+2 contract that has clauses to be a 1 club player on great money with his injury history then he doesn't deserve to be captain.

Would you give an extra 250-400kk to Allen a year over an extra 2 years if it meant losing Harley or not getting Warner?

Clarke is very good at being ruthless in contract negotiations, the club could do with it. No player is bigger than the club, ever. To build and develop a team to challenge for a flag if Allen chases too much then you let him go. Duggan is the sort of guy you want as captain during a development period. Guys like Baker who bleeds blue and gold but comes from 3 premierships in 4 years along with Graham is who hard as nails and an absolute champion trainer (and a really top bloke off field too) will do imo.

I know the club well and am happy to let Allen walk if he wants too much. All things considered he's very, very borderline whether he makes it to our next opportunity to challenge as it is.
Yep. My two cents worth... If he wants to go, let him go. But as a captain, it would be good if he recommitted early.

If Oscar was a regular player, it would be understandable to prolong his negotiations, but as a captain trying to build club culture, it becomes an issue. How effectively can Oscar influence the young players to be part of the build for the future when there are questions over whether he will hang around himself?

Flip it around.

What precedent is Oscar setting by trying to get maximum value and prioritising himself over the club and all our young players seeing their captain publicly non-committal and courting other clubs?

If anything, Oscar is setting a really poor example by having such high demands. Duggan's contract negotiations were slightly protracted, but he ended up taking 4 years (on v good money).

Oscar needs to be careful. He could easily become persona non-grata in the eyes of supporters, and lose some esteem among his team mates.

I agree with Cornes. I just don't see how Brisbane could possibly fit Allen into their cap. They are going to have trouble enough keeping the team they have got together without being able to afford high priced players from other clubs.

Lots of quality players who will be offered much more money than they are currently on when their current contract expires and Brisbane will have to come in with an offer in the same ballpark. I think the idiots at The West are just buying the crap Allen's manager is selling them hook, line and sinker.
We don't write in salary gap % increases in to our player contracts. This gets lost in a lot of reporting.

Daniher retired a year early, so we moved some other players money forward in to this years salary cap, to give us extra salary cap in the future.

We have the maximum number of rookies allowed, and rookie salaries are not counted in the salary cap.

Some of our players have taken long term contracts on lesser money. Hipwood is reportedly on $600k per. And some of our older players have come off higher contracts and signed new contracts on lesser money. And we don't have anyone on $1m contracts.

We don't write in salary gap % increases in to our player contracts. This gets lost in a lot of reporting.

Daniher retired a year early, so we moved some other players money forward in to this years salary cap, to give us extra salary cap in the future.

We have the maximum number of rookies allowed, and rookie salaries are not counted in the salary cap.

Some of our players have taken long term contracts on lesser money. Hipwood is reportedly on $600k per. And some of our older players have come off higher contracts and signed new contracts on lesser money. And we don't have anyone on $1m contracts.
Is Hipwood on 600K meant to be a bargain? lol

So, why can’t Clarke be that ruthless at trading? Or simply has less feel for value when it comes to draft picks?

Could also mean some players unintentionally leave. As long as he signs up Harley to a mega deal, i will be happy. But club has been guilty of rewarding contracts when they weren’t warranted and not trading players out - all in name of culture and ended up in deep hole we are in.

After 2018, club should have been a little more ruthless and trade out 1 or 2 to re-focus everyone (sheedy theory). Instead it was essentially pension for many.

Duggan didn't exactly leave a whole lot on the table either.

Clubs enquired about him when he was an RFA in 2022(?) and were told it was have to be a deal of around 800K over 6 years to turn his head. Clubs were somewhat surprised at the price that Duggan had put on himself.

Yep bring Allan in on twice the money as anyone else and a 75 year contract. I am sure all those players will be happy with their sacrifice to line Oscar’s wallet.

Clubs enquired about him when he was an RFA in 2022(?) and were told it was have to be a deal of around 800K over 6 years to turn his head. Clubs were somewhat surprised at the price that Duggan had put on himself.

God there is nothing wrong seeing what you can get. Have you lot never negotiated your salary?

So, why can’t Clarke be that ruthless at trading? Or simply has less feel for value when it comes to draft picks?

Could also mean some players unintentionally leave. As long as he signs up Harley to a mega deal, i will be happy. But club has been guilty of rewarding contracts when they weren’t warranted and not trading players out - all in name of culture and ended up in deep hole we are in.

After 2018, club should have been a little more ruthless and trade out 1 or 2 to re-focus everyone (sheedy theory). Instead it was essentially pension for many.

Contracts are done over extended periods of time. Trading can be moment to moment and a lot of the time it's about knowing when to speak, when to shut up and when to pack up walk away. He's not an in the moment negotiator, particularly in person. Clarke has to sign off on every contract and he still has multiple people who are his boss.

So what you're saying is, the club expected us to get Baker and it was up to Clarke to make it happen one way or another.

That does make sense with the sequence of events and McQualter also being our coach and seeing how highly he values Baker (rightfully so as it turns out).

I’m guessing with this but that sounds like someone who’s not particularly interested in leaving and will only do so if he gets way overs

A bit like a tradie asked to quote a job he’d rather not do so puts in a silly price that likely means he doesn’t get it but makes out like a bandit if he does

So hypothetically speaking, not saying I want this, if the following happen we could have a Richmond-like draft hand:
Finish bottom 2-3: Get pick 2 or 3
Allen leaves via FA: Get pick 3 or 4
Harley doesn't extend contract by end of year: Name your price (obvs subject to what picks other clubs can get hands on)
We win only 4-5 games (Yeo missing a fair bit of footy, TB gone, Harley second yr blues/not as fit, lets say Guv misses a bit which is very plausibly). Possibly compo pick....
We also have Hawks' 1st

Clubs have been sniffing with Oscar's manager since the start of last year. It's why it was so imperative to lock Jake up as quickly as we did.
Jake looked better earlier in the season playing closer to goals in Oscar’s absence anyway, where he could use the combination of his strength and fitness to get set shots on goal inside 50m.

Oscar came back and he got pushed out to CHF because Oscar’s not mobile enough to play that role. CHF is a ****ing hard role to play and it took away from where Jake was doing his best work.

Oscar’s one of my favourites but I’ve got no problem with him leaving if it gives us currency to utilise top picks on genuine CBA midfield prospects.

The arguments that he is unlikely to be here for the next tilt at glory apply equally to Baker and you’d hope that your current co-captain is bringing elite leadership/training standards in the same fashion as baker. If these things are equal at this stage Id have preferred to have Allen/langford on the list than Baker/pick 4-5 this year with our backlog of small defenders.

Baker also wasn’t bleeding blue and gold too heavily at trade time when he was willing to sign with Richmond for two years unless we paid out the arse with our draft hand.

Graham also might want to stop giving cut lunches to 20 year old kids in internal trials if he wants to maintain that good bloke tag. Seen this sort of thing plenty around footy clubs and it’s awfully convenient that it’s never leadership or developed bigger boys that these guys want to punch. I’m really hoping we see that aggression at the CBA this year in protecting Harley.

They have the Daniher money that they're no longer spending. Neale will come off his big deal, but more than anything its just cap increases.

Same as with Fred/Warner - cap increase lets clubs have an extra million dollar player than what they currently have. Cap increases are huge over the next few years.

All clubs are swimming in money.
They do have Daniher money and Zorko would be playing for less but not all clubs are swimming in it. It was a reason the Blues had to let Owies, while they could afford him it’s the players they have coming out of contract this year and next they had to budget for.

Lions have Ashcroft and Fletcher coming off his rookie contracts and signed Rayner and Cameron that wouldve cost decent coin.

I don’t think Brissy are getting the take less money to stay like a Geelong either.

Not giving the uptick in contracts to reflect the salary cap increase is funny because Cal reported it was an Eagles thing which Vozzo took to Essendon but now nearly every club is saying they do it.

That’s the issue with AFL, clubs just reshuffle money to front ended or back ended to fit them in. That’s why I agree with Kornes and contracts should be public.

So hypothetically speaking, not saying I want this, if the following happen we could have a Richmond-like draft hand:
Finish bottom 2-3: Get pick 2 or 3
Allen leaves via FA: Get pick 3 or 4
Harley doesn't extend contract by end of year: Name your price (obvs subject to what picks other clubs can get hands on)
We win only 4-5 games (Yeo missing a fair bit of footy, TB gone, Harley second yr blues/not as fit, lets say Guv misses a bit which is very plausibly). Possibly compo pick....
We also have Hawks' 1st
Yep there is a world where our draft hand would make Richmond’s draft hand look average. We could have 5-6 ‘top 10’ picks this year. Might not be the draft to have them in and they will likely blow out with academy and father sons.

Pick 2*- ours
Pick 3*- Oscar compo
Pick 5*- Essendon pick (Harley)
Pick 7/10*- Demons pick (Harley trade)
Pick 7/10*- Suns/Power/Pies pick (Bundle of Hawks1 and our 2nd round pick)

Would mean losing Oscar and Harley and would make the Baker trade more of a head scratcher but if results go our way or don’t go our way in other situations we could have a draft hand that would have the draft mafia in here very happy.

Flip it around.

What precedent is Oscar setting by trying to get maximum value and prioritising himself over the club and all our young players seeing their captain publicly non-committal and courting other clubs?

If anything, Oscar is setting a really poor example by having such high demands. Duggan's contract negotiations were slightly protracted, but he ended up taking 4 years (on v good money).

Oscar needs to be careful. He could easily become persona non-grata in the eyes of supporters, and lose some esteem among his team mates.
The man is allowed to look after himself and his family. The gap is clearly decent atm so he can let it play out and even try and play himself into 2023 form and get the contract he think he deserves at the club he wants to stay at.

The whole player has to be fully loyal to the club but the club can be ruthless with players is crazy in this day and age. We have seen what happened with Treloar, Grundy ect.

It sounds like he will take the ‘stay’ money and not expecting us to match the ‘go’ money.

Our list team is in a good situation where they can also let it play out with band 1 the worst case situation.

Yep there is a world where our draft hand would make Richmond’s draft hand look average. We could have 5-6 ‘top 10’ picks this year. Might not be the draft to have them in and they will likely blow out with academy and father sons.

Pick 2*- ours
Pick 3*- Oscar compo

Would mean losing Oscar and Harley and would make the Baker trade more of a head scratcher but if results go our way or don’t go our way in other situations we could have a draft hand that would have the draft mafia in here very happy.
We haven't played 1 real game yet.

It's going to be a long year🥺

Pick 2*- ours
Pick 3*- Oscar compo

I can't see it going this way.

We will fight to sign Harley to the end. Even if we get less that we would this year. Plus I don't think it works out that way anyway. I think Harley is in for a tricky year on the back of his interrupted pre-season, and will be worth more next year if he puts together a solid pre season could see him explode.

I think we will improve more than people think, 6-8 wins isn't outside the realm of possibility. North, Tigers, Saints could all finish below us. If we finish 15th than any compo for Oscar will be pick 5, not 3.

We send Oscar pick and Hawks fist (17) to Swans for Warner. AReid plays 2nd ruck this year with the view of taking over from Oscar as CHF. next year.

OUT: Oscar Allen, Hawks F1
IN: Chad Warner

Baker/Graham trade makes much more sense in this scenario.

We haven't played 1 real game yet.

It's going to be a long year🥺
Haha it could be if you don’t like the speculation of trades ect.

The question was asked and this a contract and trade thread. Also it’s the position our list and contracts are in that our list will be one of the most speculated about. (Oscar, Harley and Warner are big names). It feels like a fork the road off-season and who knows which way it will go.

I can't see it going this way.

We will fight to sign Harley to the end. Even if we get less that we would this year. Plus I don't think it works out that way anyway. I think Harley is in for a tricky year on the back of his interrupted pre-season, and will be worth more next year if he puts together a solid pre season could see him explode.

I think we will improve more than people think, 6-8 wins isn't outside the realm of possibility. North, Tigers, Saints could all finish below us. If we finish 15th than any compo for Oscar will be pick 5, not 3.

We send Oscar pick and Hawks fist (17) to Swans for Warner. AReid plays 2nd ruck this year with the view of taking over from Oscar as CHF. next year.

OUT: Oscar Allen, Hawks F1
IN: Chad Warner

Baker/Graham trade makes much more sense in this scenario.
Yeah, this imo would be the best case scenario and just as likely as any other. I have no idea how the season and offseason will play out but all possibilities are on the table.

I have no doubt from what Pyke has said they did the Baker trade thinking it could help land more big fish.

It’s been said Warner told WA clubs he will be back playing there in 2026 and if Warner was the one to tell Simmo he wants in to play with Harley and if Freo didn’t move the Murphy Reid pick into 2026 and we were very keen apparently on the Hawks 2026 you’d think it’s all adding up to we thought we were in the box seat but only our list team and coaches would know that.

Also he wouldn’t be the first player to change his mind and maybe that’s why Freo didn’t move the pick.

Haha it could be if you don’t like the speculation of trades ect.

The question was asked and this a contract and trade thread. Also it’s the position our list and contracts are in that our list will be one of the most speculated about. (Oscar, Harley and Warner are big names). It feels like a fork the road off-season and who knows which way it will go.
True but very pessimistic.

Can't see us getting that great a haul, not when we are chasing Warner or others, and we sold out on pick 3 last year so can't see a draft strategy being the sole focus.

True but very pessimistic.

Can't see us getting that great a haul, not when we are chasing Warner or others, and we sold out on pick 3 last year so can't see a draft strategy being the sole focus.
Yeah not the ideal situation and it could play out. Not sure we would be keen to trade Harley as an OOC player or in Tassie compromised drafts.