List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade/Draft Thread - 2025 Edition

Quick links
Players out of Contract 2025 (12)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Tom Cole (28/5/97) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) in May 2022
  • Rhett Bazzo (17/10/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in September 2022
  • Jayden Hunt (3/4/95) - Signed a 3 year contract (2023-25) in October 2022
  • Callum Jamieson (31/7/00) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in March 2023
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • Jack Petruccelle (12/4/99) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R) Loch Rawlinson (1/6/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024
  • (R) Jacob Newton (20/3/06/) - Automatic 6 month contract (2025) when drafted in May 2025

Provisional 2025 Draft order

I'm not opposed to name dropping all the clubs.

**** 'em.

🎶 So watch out, all you know alls, all you wise men, from the Adelaide Crows, Brisbane Lions, Carlton Blues, Collingwood Magpies, Essendon Bombers, Fremantle Dockers, Geelong Cats, Gold Coast Suns, Greater Western Sydney Giants, Hawthorn Hawks, Melbourne Demons, North Melbourne Kangaroos, Port Adelaide, Richmond Tigers, St Kilda Saints, Sydney Swans, Tasmanian Devils and Western Bulldogs. 🎶

We are wating for a KPD to announce themselves and for some of our young mids to get to that 22ish age where they can hold their own anyway, theres not a huge rush.
In 2 years, Archer will be in his 4th season and Shanahan in his 3rd, and we have JWil who will be big enough to fight any KPD.

Just saying we can actually still get Ward with what I suggested with a 2nd rounder.
Add Warner, Curtin x2, Ward, and a pick in the teens for a mid along with our NGA and f/s

Id be pretty content with our midfield, and we would have our backline+ kpf replacement fully covered
Several ways of going about it and nothing wrong with your thoughts.
I just have a different view on how to get there.

Never sell a KPF unless you have too or they are a surplus to your needs. That's why Allen stays and when someone is pushed out we trade them.

Filling our midfield before Tassie draft in 2027 is the most pressing issue along with a KDEF option to replace Gov.
Getting Warner, Ward and using our 1st pick this year on a high class mid should almost fill the midfield out.

3 of Barnett, Archer, Brock, Shanahan will be developed as KDEF options and most likely 2 make it and either Archer or Shanahan becomes a KFWD.

Not sure who will make it in KDEF out of those options but Barnett, Brock, Archer are all unproven at this point and Edwards is a shorter term option, we need to draft the best KDEF in C Curtin this year also to fill out our list in that area.
If some of Barnett or Brock don't progress or both by end 2026, that's when I would be going after D Curtin as our other KDEF option.

Edwards is a shorter term option
Someone needs to explain this to me. Harry is only 24 and played some really good footy last year.

Yet some people seem to think he's some kind of stopgap?

Sorry Petch, a new beacon has been lit.

Several ways of going about it and nothing wrong with your thoughts.
I just have a different view on how to get there.

Never sell a KPF unless you have too or they are a surplus to your needs. That's why Allen stays and when someone is pushed out we trade them.

Filling our midfield before Tassie draft in 2027 is the most pressing issue along with a KDEF option to replace Gov.
Getting Warner, Ward and using our 1st pick this year on a high class mid should almost fill the midfield out.
If we can get Warner + Sheldrick/Ward + a mid with a teens pick to add to Reid/Hewett/Gross/Allan/Hall/Hutch and even guys like Long/Brockman/etc could pinch hit, thats not a bad mix at all.
Yes theres a chance we dont get Rodriguez or whoever in the top 4, but Rodriguez could even slide a bit like Allan did as a WA kid and we get him in the teens anyway, all ive heard is hes closer to mid 1st round than a top pick 4 anyway.
3 of Barnett, Archer, Brock, Shanahan will be developed as KDEF options and most likely 2 make it and either Archer or Shanahan becomes a KFWD.
I think this is very optimistic, im sure theyll be ok KPDs eventually at least but none of these guys have shown they are worth a best 22 spot as a KPD just yet. 3 of them arent even KPDs, with Shanahan doing part of a pre-season and Barnett doing a few months even practicing the role.
If none of those guys work out as decent options then we are stuck. Edwards is fine, but ideally hes paired with someone better than himself. I wouldnt be confident if Edwards is out best KPD on the list, so drafting C.Curtin makes sense.

The club wants to be better now, if we dont want to sign Allen long term but also want to improve quickly, then getting a guy like Dan Curtin would help. Going into his 3rd season and he would fill a need
Not sure who will make it in KDEF out of those options but Barnett, Brock, Archer are all unproven at this point and Edwards is a shorter term option, we need to draft the best KDEF in C Curtin this year also to fill out our list in that area.
If some of Barnett or Brock don't progress or both by end 2026, that's when I would be going after D Curtin as our other KDEF option.
Sure we could wait another year, but Freo enter the picture again in 2026. He was a freo supporter IIRC.
Theyll have no picks to chase Curtin this year with Pickett at the least looking extremely likely.
Also gives Dan Curtin a year with Gov if we were to make him a KPD. Would bring some polish that we lack.

JUH to West Coast is terrible for both parties. Ignoring our KPF depth, our youngs list doesn’t an undisciplined young player off the rails that could potentially spoil otyer young kids. Reckon a team like Pies, Brissy or swans would suit him the most
Just lazy journalism with zero list analysis, not to mention there’s no way we’d take his baggage. He probably should move interstate though, for his own wellbeing, footy is a distant second. Swans would be the best landing sport for him.

Someone needs to explain this to me. Harry is only 24 and played some really good footy last year.

Yeah imo hes not a stopgap, im not sure im comfortable with the idea of him being the best KPD in the side though, which he will be once Gov retires.
I guess if you think of him as a guy who will only be there during the rebuild, and will be replaced by the time we are competing then calling him a stopgap might be fair.

Edwards turns 25 this year, this is the time to draft another full back option, in 4 years or so when the draftee is pushing to take the best 22 spot, Edwards will be turning 29/30 which would line up well

JUH to West Coast is terrible for both parties. Ignoring our KPF depth, our youngs list doesn’t an undisciplined young player off the rails that could potentially spoil otyer young kids. Reckon a team like Pies, Brissy or swans would suit him the most
Yeah it feels like he'd 100% go to Sydney and there will be feel good stories for years

Sent from my SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

I am glad to see him improve and he is looking to have a decent footy IQ and poise. I worry that he lacks pace.
He is tall but our tall look just ok on TV as the game has moved on, 2m is almost average for a tall these days.
A break out season for harry would be fantastic.

Conventional wisdom has been that a 3 tall/3 small forward line is most optimal. But with the recent increase in importance of small forwards and high half forwards pushing up the ground, a 2 tall/ 4 small split could be the new norm. If this is how Mini wants to set up it makes Oscar more expendable. Turning Oscar into Warner or a draftee like Sharp or Rodriguez could be a long term win.

yep

SEN WA Mornings

@SENWAMornings
·
2m

"Really keen to see Oscar Allen stay at
@WestCoastEagles
" -Gavin Bell

SEN WA Mornings

@SENWAMornings
·
1m

"We are in ongoing conversations with his management group and Harley. We will continue to work through that. Our goal is to have Harley re-sign."-Gavin Bell on Harley Reid

SEN WA Mornings

@SENWAMornings
·
43s

“He’s available for selection, had a lot of disruptions the poor bugger. He is quick, he has goal sense. A player we are certainly excited about.”
@WestCoastEagles
GM of Footy on Elijah Hewett.

Interesting the quote on re-signing Harley Reid. In the preview for his show on SEN Breakfast both Duff and Gossage were adamant that he is goneski.

Agenda Setters on 7.

They were talking about JUH and possible clubs that should go for him. Nick Riewoldt had the Eagles as one of 5. Reasoning, Eagles need to get aggressive and not just wait for clubs to get Oscar and Harley (can’t remember the exact words he said).

Isn’t that what going after Warner, Starcevich and Cameron is?

Korn asked him why not Saints as they need a forward. His reason was they need mids…….. haha. Comical

I can't watch Footy Classifieds now with McClure hosting so will give this show a crack.
Who came up with the name though?
Cringeworthy.

Interesting the quote on re-signing Harley Reid. In the preview for his show on SEN Breakfast both Duff and Gossage were adamant that he is goneski.
Duff and Goss say that in the interview or after?

Yeah not a great quote if you wanted a sign but not many, if any of that top 10 in that draft have re-signed yet? Most of those clubs GM would nearly say the same thing.

Seems like there is a rumour doing the rounds in the media atm. Xavier Ellis seemed to indicate something like that on his latest pod. Both him and Daniels had 60-40 for him to head back to Vic last week and X asked Rhino if he is changing that % this week.