List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade/Draft Thread - 2025 Edition

Quick links
Players out of Contract 2025 (12)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Tom Cole (28/5/97) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) in May 2022
  • Rhett Bazzo (17/10/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in September 2022
  • Jayden Hunt (3/4/95) - Signed a 3 year contract (2023-25) in October 2022
  • Callum Jamieson (31/7/00) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in March 2023
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • Jack Petruccelle (12/4/99) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R) Loch Rawlinson (1/6/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024
  • (R) Jacob Newton (20/3/06/) - Automatic 6 month contract (2025) when drafted in May 2025

Provisional 2025 Draft order

Baker wasnt worth 14 though, he was worth a late 1st which shouldve fallen in the 20s this year.

Bolton was worth roughly pick 10+14(simplified), the hawks 1st+ a 2026 f1 is still way more than Freo paid for Bolton
Baker wasn't worth pick 14 though, he was worth a late 1st.
Agree but 2 things happened here, WC committed to Baker probably a year out for the late 1st round that you mention, WC couldn't get a buyer with what they were proposing so when Hawks did what the did with their 1st round pick WC split 3 for 12 & 14.
These deals are done months in advance and when WC & Richmond decided they would use 14 for Baker, the handshake was done for Richmond not to take B Allan before them imo.
Same commitment will be for C Warner, remember he almost came home a couple of years ago. Sydney will get 2 mid 1st round picks for Warner, Sydney signed heaps of their players on this year knowing that Warner contract wasn't in their 2025 plans, besides what the outside noise is. Brother Corey will be the steak knives, maybe a future 3rd or 4th round pick.

Some people on here are arguing that first round draft picks don't really matter. And that is not true at all. Not that any club will have anything near a 100% strike rate of success with them. The real strike rate is probably 60% as an average. But that doesn't make it true that first rounders don't matter.

And if you trade out multiple first rounders for a player then you either need to trade a player out to get some picks back in the following few years or you are putting real pressure on your footy department to nail every first rounder coming in the next few years and not make any mistakes. They need to hit 100% for the next few years so you are not selling the future to prop up the present.

And that is a big part of the story of our demise.

In 2016 we drafted Venables with our first rounder and in 2017 it was Brander. Both were busts.

Then in 2018 we split our first rounder and got Xaviour O'Neil and BW, and that at the moment is on the way to being a total bust.

Then we traded out of the first two rounds of two consecutive drafts in the Kelly trade.

Then we refused to consider trading any players out to get some picks back.

So there was enormous pressure on the footy department at that point to pull a rabbit out of a hat for the next several years in a row to compensate for Kelly trade and multiple first round busts on either side of it. And instead we got Chesser and Ginbey.
The Venables bust wasn't overly predictable. Otherwise tend to agree. The Kelly trade didn't hurt us really. The players we missed access to haven't exactly set the world on fire. I would also suggest that Ginbey Hewett and Chesser could all be great if healthy and played in the right position. This year may prove me wrong but I have optimism that all 3 will play well this year.

If Allen were to leave this year I’d rather use two early firsts on Rodriguez, sharp or Greeves.

When combined with Reid and hopefully Hewett we’ve got a really strong midfield just missing a ruck.
Ginbey and Allan as strong HBFs rotating through and really good KPPs in JWill, archer and Shanahan and some promising upside in hall, dewar, hutch, long.

If swans don’t accept hawks r1 and our 2026 R1 we just take Curtin and set our spine.

Now we’re looking to just top up gaps and can have another crack at Chad in two years as a FA when we’re targeting a flag.

Most importantly we’re hoping swaddling lasts to a R2 pick for us.

If Reid is a certainty to go home we could do worse than broker a trade with Richmond next year and take Rodriguez and sharp with theirs and norths picks and broker a trade for Warner with our R1 and take Curtin with hawks R1.
If Oscar leaves I think we’re going to have 3 top 10 picks but more than likely he stays. Still seems to be a bit of noise about a big offer from Brisbane but not sure how they could fit him into the cap. My early preferences would be:

3-Sharp/Rodriguez/Duursma
13-Curtin/Greeves/Onley
21-Hibbins-Hargreaves/Lindsay/Swadling
31-Walley/Banfield/Evans
49-Walley/Banfield/Evans

The picks at 13 and 21 are reasonably interchangeable this early but these would be the players I hope we’re after at our assumed picks.

The Venables bust wasn't overly predictable. Otherwise tend to agree. The Kelly trade didn't hurt us really. The players we missed access to haven't exactly set the world on fire. I would also suggest that Ginbey Hewett and Chesser could all be great if healthy and played in the right position. This year may prove me wrong but I have optimism that all 3 will play well this year.
Given we're talking about trading a couple of high 1st round picks for a guy taken 12 picks after one of those that were traded that's not 100% accurate.

Personally I'd be taking Hutchinson and Dewar out of that list, adding Cole. HJ maybe move for a token pick if nothing is shown.

Hutch and Dewar have almost shown enough already to see they're going to be good.
Hutch is also technically a 5th year player. Not a lot of wiggle room for waiting.

If Oscar leaves I think we’re going to have 3 top 10 picks but more than likely he stays. Still seems to be a bit of noise about a big offer from Brisbane but not sure how they could fit him into the cap. My early preferences would be:

3-Sharp/Rodriguez/Duursma
13-Curtin/Greeves/Onley
21-Hibbins-Hargreaves/Lindsay/Swadling
31-Walley/Banfield/Evans
49-Walley/Banfield/Evans

The picks at 13 and 21 are reasonably interchangeable this early but these would be the players I hope we’re after at our assumed picks.
like it
3- Rodriguez/Sharp
13- Curtin/Duursma
21- Lindsay/Cumming/Barker
31/49- Banfield/Walley/Evans
I have gone more midfield inside/outside ball users and elite HB/WING types with Lindsay/Cumming/Barker over Greeves/Onley as they are big inside contested beasts a lot like we just drafted in last couple of years, already well over 190.
Curtin/Duursma the best KDEF out of these 2 for me.

We’ve generated extra first rounders in two of the last three drafts, and an extra first rounder next year.

I think the club has shown they value first round draft picks, if not early first rounders.
My point is that you need to think long and hard before trading out first rounders for players over 26 or trading out multiple first rounders for any player if you are not planning to trade some players of your own out for picks in the near future to compensate.

Because if you do that and your footy department doesn't overperform relative to the averages with it's drafting in the near future, or even worse if it underperforms, then you can end up with a 5 - 6 year period where you got very little out of the draft. And if that happens then you will inevitably have a 5 - 8 year period out of the 8 with some it spent in the bottom 4.

Yes....so did I.
We traded the pick that became Jeremy Sharp as part of the Kelly trade.
Warner was taken 12 picks after that.
It got pretty messy with lots of secondary trades. As far as I can tell this was the final outcome. Lost access to Warner but I would suggest unlikely we would have picked him anyway. I think it's basically pretty even in the end. Kelly for Sharpe and everything else balances mostly? Bazzo could be great and it helped us get him so not the worst ever trade.

To Geelong from West Coast Eagles
1) Pick 16, 2019 Cooper Stephens
2) Pick 24, 2019 Jeremy Sharpe
3) Pick 38, 2019 this pick is gone in matches after trade to GC but would have been after Chad Warner
4) Pick 18, 2020 Ryan Angwin to GWS after trade
From Geelong to West Coast Eagles
1) Tim Kelly
2) Pick 49, 2019 – West Coast Eagles selected Callum Jamieson
3) Pick 60, 2020 – West Coast Eagles traded it to Sydney with pick 34, 2020 and Tom Hickey. In exchange, WCE received from Sydney:
(i) Pick 52, 2020 – West Coast Eagles nselected Luke Edwards
(ii) Pick 57, 2020 – West Coast Eagles selected Isiah Winder
(iii) Port Adelaide 2nd Round pick, 2021 (37) – West Coast Eagles selected Rhett Bazzo
(iv) Sydney 3rd Round pick, 2021 (52 – eventually 49) – West Coast Eagles on-traded to Carlton for Sam Petrevski-Seton
#NB: Essendon also featured in the deals as follows:

Essendon received:
Pick 33, 2019 from WCE (ended as pick 38 Nick Bryan)
Pick 57, 2019 from Geelong
Essendon gave:
Pick 37, 2019 to Geelong
Pick 52, 2019 to WCE Ben Johnson?

It got pretty messy with lots of secondary trades. As far as I can tell this was the final outcome. Lost access to Warner but I would suggest unlikely we would have picked him anyway. I think it's basically pretty even in the end. Kelly for Sharpe and everything else balances mostly? Bazzo could be great and it helped us get him so not the worst ever trade.

To Geelong from West Coast Eagles
1) Pick 16, 2019 Cooper Stephens
2) Pick 24, 2019 Jeremy Sharpe
3) Pick 38, 2019 this pick is gone in matches after trade to GC but would have been after Chad Warner
4) Pick 18, 2020 Ryan Angwin to GWS after trade
From Geelong to West Coast Eagles
1) Tim Kelly
2) Pick 49, 2019 – West Coast Eagles selected Callum Jamieson
3) Pick 60, 2020 – West Coast Eagles traded it to Sydney with pick 34, 2020 and Tom Hickey. In exchange, WCE received from Sydney:
(i) Pick 52, 2020 – West Coast Eagles nselected Luke Edwards
(ii) Pick 57, 2020 – West Coast Eagles selected Isiah Winder
(iii) Port Adelaide 2nd Round pick, 2021 (37) – West Coast Eagles selected Rhett Bazzo
(iv) Sydney 3rd Round pick, 2021 (52 – eventually 49) – West Coast Eagles on-traded to Carlton for Sam Petrevski-Seton
#NB: Essendon also featured in the deals as follows:

Essendon received:
Pick 33, 2019 from WCE (ended as pick 38 Nick Bryan)
Pick 57, 2019 from Geelong
Essendon gave:
Pick 37, 2019 to Geelong
Pick 52, 2019 to WCE Ben Johnson?
The problem with this is that it completely ignores that we might not have used those picks on the same players that the other teams did.
For example we could have taken Georgiades (or I guess our mate Deven) instead of Stephens.
We might have taken Sharpe, but we could also have taken someone like Warner or Rivers with this pick.
You can't just say that we didn't miss out on anyone because the teams that ended up with our picks muffed a few of them.

Baker wasn't worth pick 14 though, he was worth a late 1st.
Agree but 2 things happened here, WC committed to Baker probably a year out for the late 1st round that you mention, WC couldn't get a buyer with what they were proposing so when Hawks did what the did with their 1st round pick WC split 3 for 12 & 14.
These deals are done months in advance and when WC & Richmond decided they would use 14 for Baker, the handshake was done for Richmond not to take B Allan before them imo.
Same commitment will be for C Warner, remember he almost came home a couple of years ago. Sydney will get 2 mid 1st round picks for Warner, Sydney signed heaps of their players on this year knowing that Warner contract wasn't in their 2025 plans, besides what the outside noise is. Brother Corey will be the steak knives, maybe a future 3rd or 4th round pick.
Yes we will be committing to him if he chooses us, but we dont have to tell Sydney what draft capital we are offering 11 months out.
Swans know we have picks, and we know we have picks.
It can be done closer to the time IF Warner nominates us. If he wants to come to the Eagles itll get done, it doesnt have to be whatever the Swans want either, theyll take a fair price.

Idk why youre responding to me saying that the Swans will get 2 mid 1st round picks, thats what ive been saying. Ive been saying whats fair is a single top 5 pick, which is roughly the same value as 2 mid 1st round picks. I think we will pay an extra mid 1st rounder on top, meaning the hawks 1st plus our 2026 1st

Hutch is also technically a 5th year player. Not a lot of wiggle room for waiting.
Hes also a rookie, and hasnt had the exposure to the talent pathways most of the other rookies/draftees have had. Hutch should get probably 1 more year on top of what he's got as a minimum to bring him to the end of 2026 unless he REALLY flops in 2025

Lol wut?

Very promising young player and seems a mentor amongst the new kids. Got a direct mention in Allan's presser.
I haven't seen that much from him yet but it's more Cole I was referring to. Of the youngsters, he's the one I worry about a bit but no doubt has talent.

^ Edit - I was getting Rawlinson and HJ mixed up.

Whether we like it or not Chad is worth 2 early/mid firsts at a starting point. If a small utility like baker is worth 14 then a goal kicking mid capable of winning a brownlow will be expensive af. Similar to Baker, there is a link of nepotism between the clubs which means it'd be highly unlikely that we are ruthless
We got bent over for Baker, and now your ok with us getting bent over again ? We are in the better position and we need to take advantage of it or be prepared to walk away. If we give up x2 top 10 picks for Warner and anyone is ok with it then they are just as insane as the people who sign off on it.

I have no say in the matter brother, I've spent way too much time melting over that ******* clarke and what he paid for baker

Hes also a rookie, and hasnt had the exposure to the talent pathways most of the other rookies/draftees have had. Hutch should get probably 1 more year on top of what he's got as a minimum to bring him to the end of 2026 unless he REALLY flops in 2025
Agreed, there's still a few more at the bottom of the barrel to go before we get to the hard decisions.

The problem with this is that it completely ignores that we might not have used those picks on the same players that the other teams did.
For example we could have taken Georgiades (or I guess our mate Deven) instead of Stephens.
We might have taken Sharpe, but we could also have taken someone like Warner or Rivers with this pick.
You can't just say that we didn't miss out on anyone because the teams that ended up with our picks muffed a few of them.
Yea absolutely. We could have also picked a series of potatoes who played 3 games and never got a touch. 2019/2020 look like not the best drafts in total and we traded for a known quantity. I'm not saying we didn't pay overs but we didn't actually lose as much as many seem to be suggesting. If it comes out we were keen on Warner for example then that changes things but hard to say we would have picked him in place of some of the other absolute lemons in the draft.

Hutchinson isn’t in the discussion for delisting IMO. The delists should consider themselves very lucky if they are extended, whilst the considerations from top to bottom would want to have decent seasons.
DelistConsider if deep cut
CrippsBrockman
PetruccelleHunt
SheedDewar
RawlinsonChesser
JamiesonBazzo
LivingstoneCole

Hutchinson isn’t in the discussion for delisting IMO. The delists should consider themselves very lucky if they are extended, whilst the considerations from top to bottom would want to have decent seasons.
DelistConsider if deep cut
CrippsBrockman
PetruccelleHunt
SheedDewar
RawlinsonChesser
JamiesonBazzo
LivingstoneCole
Livingstone needs more time. He's a ruckman. Needs 3 more years minimum probably before we see his potential. I wouldn't be cutting Dewar/Chess or Bazzo unless bringing in some serious talent. I have a suspicion Cole is in for a big year.

Yes we will be committing to him if he chooses us, but we dont have to tell Sydney what draft capital we are offering 11 months out.
Swans know we have picks, and we know we have picks.
It can be done closer to the time IF Warner nominates us. If he wants to come to the Eagles itll get done, it doesnt have to be whatever the Swans want either, theyll take a fair price.

Idk why youre responding to me saying that the Swans will get 2 mid 1st round picks, thats what ive been saying. Ive been saying whats fair is a single top 5 pick, which is roughly the same value as 2 mid 1st round picks. I think we will pay an extra mid 1st rounder on top, meaning the hawks 1st plus our 2026 1st
all good, just general discussion of what I think will happen.
There are only 2 options here imo, Warner signs long term with Sydney or he signs long term with WC.
Hawks 1st, WC F1st or WC need to buy a mid 1st round from GC if Sydney want it in 2025 draft.
He is not going to another state or to FRE as just like SYD, FRE have their salary cap full with current and 2025 contracts to fulfil.
Just stating that like Baker, Warner deal for a trade has been discussed between all parties, WC/WARNER/Warner's manager/SYD for at least this year. He is probably a been offered preliminary around $1.2m/year contract 8+ years by WC/front ended as WC just cleared Gaff/Barras/Darling salary at the top end.
None of Sydney or Freo are paying that imo.

Livingstone needs more time. He's a ruckman. Needs 3 more years minimum probably before we see his potential. I wouldn't be cutting Dewar/Chess or Bazzo unless bringing in some serious talent. I have a suspicion Cole is in for a big year.
He’s a forward that chops out in the ruck. The chance of him going past our line of tall forwards that can ruck to actually crack an AFL game is almost zero. The only thing that may save him is being a Cat B rookie and not taking someone else’s spot. Hunt and Brockman are the only two from the second column that I’d happily delist.

I haven't seen that much from him yet but it's more Cole I was referring to. Of the youngsters, he's the one I worry about a bit but no doubt has talent.
I wouldn't be worrying about HJ. For a late pick in his first year I thought he showed a lot.

Calm, picks off hard kicks, great communicator on-field. Ticks a heap of boxes. Also comes across as very coachable.