List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade/Draft Thread - 2025 Edition

Quick links
Players out of Contract 2025 (12)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Tom Cole (28/5/97) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) in May 2022
  • Rhett Bazzo (17/10/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in September 2022
  • Jayden Hunt (3/4/95) - Signed a 3 year contract (2023-25) in October 2022
  • Callum Jamieson (31/7/00) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in March 2023
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • Jack Petruccelle (12/4/99) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R) Loch Rawlinson (1/6/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024
  • (R) Jacob Newton (20/3/06/) - Automatic 6 month contract (2025) when drafted in May 2025

Provisional 2025 Draft order

He's a butcher and that's a problem. When Yeo is fit, he can provide it. Graham sometimes. I wouldn't mind a Matt Crouch or a SPP on a short term retirement fund contract. But if we're going to go young, let's try to get it right. I'd rather try Dev Robbo who will be cheaper, and I suspect better. If he doesn't cut it, no loss. Also wouldn't mind Hobbs to play that Redden type role. Not sure if he's cheap or not. I just don't want any part of a possession monkey unless they are elite decision makers and accurate with foot. And those guys either cost, or they're probably at the top of the draft.
Don't mind the M Crouch option UFA and probably got 2 years left in him.
D Robertson would be a cheap option, in and under mid with good skills, 4th round pick or F4th and 2 years would be realistic on bottom end $ as he isn't getting a contract with BRI.
For a 4th rounder which I think we offered last year would be reasonable.
Would win a Sandover in the WAFL if wasn't any good.
Would be similar to C Hall type with better athletic profile and better skills.

Will Phillips as an alternate to Sheldrick perhaps as per the links a few weeks ago

Tbh id prefer Phillips as he does the defensive stuff better
As some have said Sheldrick foot skills are not great.
It really comes down to do we want a player for 3 years that can help our next gen develop and possibility of having a decent career in the midfield and what is available.
W Phillips the smaller inside mid, high pressure and tackling mid.
D Robertson the bit bigger stronger inside mid with good skills and tackle pressure.

It really comes down to do we want a player for 3 years that can help our next gen develop and possibility of having a decent career in the midfield and what is available.
D Robertson the bit bigger stronger inside mid with good skills and tackle pressure.
Dev is a bit closer to what we have in Graham, but has a bit more ball winning ability.
Phillips is your classic extractor who runs hard both ways.

Phillips is the type we really lack, I feel like Phillips would last in our best 22 longer than DevRob would.
If weve got the aggressive big bodied mids already in Reid/Hewett/Allan we have less of a need for a bigger body like Dev imo

No thanks. Would rather play the kids and get some games/experience into them. Not going to learn sitting on the sidelines.

What if we went all in on this years draft, would something like this be at all realistic or looked at favourably here:

1. Let Oscar leave via FA, get pick 2
2. Trade our hawks 1st(13) + 19 for ports 1st rounder(currently pick 4 - moves to 5 after Oscar compo) with GCS(along with the promise not to bid on Uwland/Patterson). GCS gain some points and we dont bid on their academy kids.
3. Take offers for pick 1(CDT). Hope Richmond is keen and trade pick 1 + 5 for 3 + 4 + Blight
4. Trade Sydney our f1 +hawks 2nd(31) + hawks 3rd rounder with Sydney for 6 + Syd f2(and promise not to bid on their kids).
5. Trade a future pick for Will Phillips, swans f2/our f3 whatever it doesnt matter.
6. Leaves us with picks 2, 3, 5, 6 and then later picks for the academy kids

7. Pick 2 draft Duursma as an all-round smooth mover who can play midfield and I think will play midfield
8. Pick 3 bid on Annable(we had no deals with the Lions), when they match we draft Lindsay a classy user off half back
9. Pick 5 draft Rodriguez
10. Pick 6 draft Curtin
11. Take Walley, Evans and Banfield by matching bids, dont worry about points to match we can just go into a points deficit, worry about it next year. Hopefully one of them ends up as a rookie

I know people dont like Duursma so much but he will still likely be best available.
If we need to add to our side of any of those trades then have other future picks, use them all if we have to. Add guys like Johnston and Long as possible assets for trade too.

8 players added - 7 draftees + Phillips. Hopefully at least one of the NGA kids makes it to the rookie list.
Need to remove 10 as we have McCarthy and Newton now.
Delist/retire/gone: Petch, Jamo, Gov(retire), Allen, Barnett(let go early), Cripps, Sheed, Cole(FA hopefully), Rawlinson, and im gonna put Newton here unfortunately for him. If any survive due to players leaving via trade then keep Newton first.
Chesser and Hunt get 1 year deals.

Make Archer our full time ruckman of the future.
Phillips and Hall fight for that hard ball winning accumulator role.
Lindsay takes half back.
Adding Blight and Curtin covers KPP stocks after losing Allen, Jamo, barnett(delist early), and assuming Gov retires.
Midfield high end talent of Harley, Hewett, Rodriguez and Duursma sounds like plenty to me.

Next year just make sure we can get our NGAs and f/s kids, basically no other draft presence

Hypothetical best 22 thats a bit too young to be realistic for next year but itd be nice:
FB: Hough Edwards Baker
HB: Lindsay Brock Ginbey
C: B.Allan W.Phillips Rodriguez
HF: Duursma JWilliams Graham
FF: Brockman Waterman Ryan
R: Flynn Reid Hewett
Int: A.Reid Duggan Kelly Yeo
Sub: whoever

Chesser, Hunt, Bazzo, Owies, Hall, Hutchinson, Maric, McCarthy, Dewar, Long, BWilliams, Blight and Gross are the notable guys I left out. Good depth. Wafl squad starting to look a lot stronger

Yep, Sheldrick is the one imo. OOC and finding the ball atm. Getting a run at it in the AFL but see if he holds that spot when Mill, Gulden and Florent to come back.

The 3 ideal candidates for us on a buy low but ready to play are
Blight
Sheldrick
The ruck is the hard one but Liam Reidy could be the best non afl ruck atm
I reckon the horse has bolted on this one in terms of opportunity. Think if he keeps playing like he is.
Florent isn’t an inside mid but even if he were he’s been dropped now
And Mills I feel might find himself down back again herein
Reckon going forward their mids are Gulden, Warner, Heeney, Sheldrick and a bit of Mills (but also with Gulden spending time on wing)

Nothing really besides he is likely not ask for a trade at the end of this year but unknown after that. Vibes stuff kept Warner at the Swans too.

What if we went all in on this years draft, would something like this be at all realistic or looked at favourably here:

1. Let Oscar leave via FA, get pick 2
2. Trade our hawks 1st(13) + 19 for ports 1st rounder(currently pick 4 - moves to 5 after Oscar compo) with GCS(along with the promise not to bid on Uwland/Patterson). GCS gain some points and we dont bid on their academy kids.
3. Take offers for pick 1(CDT). Hope Richmond is keen and trade pick 1 + 5 for 3 + 4 + Blight
4. Trade Sydney our f1 +hawks 2nd(31) + hawks 3rd rounder with Sydney for 6 + Syd f2(and promise not to bid on their kids).
5. Trade a future pick for Will Phillips, swans f2/our f3 whatever it doesnt matter.
6. Leaves us with picks 2, 3, 5, 6 and then later picks for the academy kids

7. Pick 2 draft Duursma as an all-round smooth mover who can play midfield and I think will play midfield
8. Pick 3 bid on Annable(we had no deals with the Lions), when they match we draft Lindsay a classy user off half back
9. Pick 5 draft Rodriguez
10. Pick 6 draft Curtin
11. Take Walley, Evans and Banfield by matching bids, dont worry about points to match we can just go into a points deficit, worry about it next year. Hopefully one of them ends up as a rookie

I know people dont like Duursma so much but he will still likely be best available.
If we need to add to our side of any of those trades then have other future picks, use them all if we have to. Add guys like Johnston and Long as possible assets for trade too.

8 players added - 7 draftees + Phillips. Hopefully at least one of the NGA kids makes it to the rookie list.
Need to remove 10 as we have McCarthy and Newton now.
Delist/retire/gone: Petch, Jamo, Gov(retire), Allen, Barnett(let go early), Cripps, Sheed, Cole(FA hopefully), Rawlinson, and im gonna put Newton here unfortunately for him. If any survive due to players leaving via trade then keep Newton first.
Chesser and Hunt get 1 year deals.

Make Archer our full time ruckman of the future.
Phillips and Hall fight for that hard ball winning accumulator role.
Lindsay takes half back.
Adding Blight and Curtin covers KPP stocks after losing Allen, Jamo, barnett(delist early), and assuming Gov retires.
Midfield high end talent of Harley, Hewett, Rodriguez and Duursma sounds like plenty to me.

Next year just make sure we can get our NGAs and f/s kids, basically no other draft presence

Hypothetical best 22 thats a bit too young to be realistic for next year but itd be nice:
FB: Hough Edwards Baker
HB: Lindsay Brock Ginbey
C: B.Allan W.Phillips Rodriguez
HF: Duursma JWilliams Graham
FF: Brockman Waterman Ryan
R: Flynn Reid Hewett
Int: A.Reid Duggan Kelly Yeo
Sub: whoever

Chesser, Hunt, Bazzo, Owies, Hall, Hutchinson, Maric, McCarthy, Dewar, Long, BWilliams, Blight and Gross are the notable guys I left out. Good depth. Wafl squad starting to look a lot stronger

I know every year people say things like, "this is a super draft" and "this draft is weak". This draft seems weak, but we'll never really know until 3 or 4 years. When you look back to previous years and identify the week drafts, they're not pretty. That's why too many picks in 1 draft is risky.

I wouldn't be trading an F1 to get into this draft when we could have up to 4 top 12 picks anyway - R1, OA compo, Hawks R1, Port vis GC R1.

I mentioned 6 kids who were in the gun. If we add Duursma it's 7. After all, everyone has him top 3, some even #1.

Sharp
Fred
Greeves
Grjl
Lindsay
CDT
Duursma

Grjl and Lindsay are both outsiders. You'd only ever take one of them. Cuts it down to 6. Harley is a bull. Despite some people saying Hewett will be a bull, I'm not convinced. I think he's closer to balanced. What's better than one bull? Two bulls. Harley and Sharp.

So if one of Lindsay or Grjl misses (because they're the same player), two more have to miss. And don't get me wrong, having twin exhausts running lines off half back would be handy. That other player would be Greeves. His disposal isn't as good. Could be a Fyfe/Cripps type, but we can't take everyone.

So if we had 4 top 12 picks, Sharp, Fred, Lindsay, Duursma.

Once the champs happen, we'll have a clearer idea as to how they rank at that particular time. I'm tipping Sharp and Fred sit in the top 5 (both are outside the top 10 in some phantom drafts atm). Duursma stays top 5. Grjl and Lindsay to slide to the 7-15 bracket. Clubs are wise to outsiders.

Nothing really besides he is likely not ask for a trade at the end of this year but unknown after that. Vibes stuff kept Warner at the Swans too.

I think there's a few keys to Harley staying:

1. He builds a bond with Hewey/Ginbey types and thinks these guys are good enough to build to a flag with. Two elite young mids in this draft will also help.
2. He meets a local girl
3. The club is solid off and on the field.

I think we're already seeing the transition to Harley, Hewett, and Ginbey being the core and leaders of this team.

I think there's a few keys to Harley staying:

1. He builds a bond with Hewey/Ginbey types and thinks these guys are good enough to build to a flag with. Two elite young mids in this draft will also help.
2. He meets a local girl
3. The club is solid off and on the field.

I think we're already seeing the transition to Harley, Hewett, and Ginbey being the core and leaders of this team.
Agreed, the Clay Hall article about the young group bonding and taking the club forward was good. Did see Johnston’s Insta post where all the young blokes appeared to go out for dinner with to welcome McCarthy as well last week.

Minis relationship with Harley would go a long way too.

I know every year people say things like, "this is a super draft" and "this draft is weak". This draft seems weak, but we'll never really know until 3 or 4 years. When you look back to previous years and identify the week drafts, they're not pretty. That's why too many picks in 1 draft is risky.

I wouldn't be trading an F1 to get into this draft when we could have up to 4 top 12 picks anyway - R1, OA compo, Hawks R1, Port vis GC R1.
Yeah maybe going the f1 too is a bit much, but its the only way to fill all the list holes we have in 1 swoop, and its not like we wouldnt have a decent draft presence next year anyway with guys like Kehn and McGlade chances at being first round picks.
I mentioned 6 kids who were in the gun. If we add Duursma it's 7. After all, everyone has him top 3, some even #1.

Sharp
Fred
Greeves
Grjl
Lindsay
CDT
Duursma

Grjl and Lindsay are both outsiders. You'd only ever take one of them. Cuts it down to 6. Harley is a bull. Despite some people saying Hewett will be a bull, I'm not convinced. I think he's closer to balanced. What's better than one bull? Two bulls. Harley and Sharp.

So if one of Lindsay or Grjl misses (because they're the same player), two more have to miss. And don't get me wrong, having twin exhausts running lines off half back would be handy. That other player would be Greeves. His disposal isn't as good. Could be a Fyfe/Cripps type, but we can't take everyone.

So if we had 4 top 12 picks, Sharp, Fred, Lindsay, Duursma.
If we had 4 top 12 picks after losing Gov and Allen I think we have to take a tall, just for list balance. We have so many NGA kids, the ones likely to be drafted are all smalls too.
Imo the only toss up from the guys I picked is the Sharp vs Rodriguez one, transition/class vs inside work. I lean Rodriguez then trade for an inside player or just hope Hall comes on more.
Once the champs happen, we'll have a clearer idea as to how they rank at that particular time. I'm tipping Sharp and Fred sit in the top 5 (both are outside the top 10 in some phantom drafts atm). Duursma stays top 5. Grjl and Lindsay to slide to the 7-15 bracket. Clubs are wise to outsiders.
:thumbsupemoji:

Thank goodness Darcy Cameron wants to stay at Collingwood. He would have been a huge mistake if WCE paid anymore than a 4th round pick & im sure Collingwood would have wanted more.
If you watched the WAFL game on the weekend Barnett & livingstone showed a bit. Maybe they wont make it too AFL level but they are in the age bracket for our future.
By the time Cameron gets to the eagles next year he will be close to 31 a BIG Nah for me

I feel like we have the Bulls in Hewitt & Reid

f325b50bd54ef7e4dd2cabf276bd3d00.jpg

Why is Willem duursma not mentioned more as a possibility for our first pick?
If it's because he's a duursma that's crazy. Sure Zane hasn't measured up as yet (still early days) & might be a bit flighty, but since when does that mean anything? If you took the best 30 mids in the game atm there'd be a lot who have a brother who never even got near the AFL. And in any case Xavier duursma isn't bad for a pick 18, and plays with intensity.
From the very limited vision I've watched & read, it seems W.duursma's upside is at least as high as the others being mentioned, & the risks are probably no worse than others.
He has size, agility & keeps getting the footy & hitting the scoreboard does he not?
Willem has the size, ability and the athleticism to play across 3 lines. Back, Mid and Forward.
Do Sharp and Lindsay have those skills, if not now you know why people are strong on Willem Duursma

Willem has the size, ability and the athleticism to play across 3 lines. Back, Mid and Forward.
Do Sharp and Lindsay have those skills, if not now you know why people are strong on Willem Duursma
That's great, but he typically doesn't suit a side that doesn't have a strong midfield. You can't just plonk these guys into shit teams. Shit teams should go for mids and KPF's first.

There are certain boxes you want draftees to check before being sold on them. For Willem it was demonstrating that he can go in the guts and be a contested player in the midfield, and not just a flanker/utility.

He started the year very well. He had 36D and bunch of clearances and a goal in his first CTL game. Since then he has cooled off.

I’d say he still has enough legitimate question marks to come with a buyer beware tag, but all the pieces are there to be a potential number 1 pick if he can put it together as a midfielder at the championships.

If he doesn’t do that, then he has high bust potential potential and limited scope at AFL level (see Zane Duursma).

"There's been a huge shift".

No, there really hasn't. Literally nothing has changed.

WC didn't trade pick 1 and then didn't pass on Harley Reid at the draft. Two strikes, Sam McClure.

Harley didn't sook it up when he got here and didn't request a trade at the end of last year. After an interrupted pre-season his form has been building week to week. He's now #1 for clearances, #2 for contested possessions, #2 for inside 50s and is averaging 17 touches and a goal a game. Not bad for a guy who doesn't train properly and is more interested in giving away frees and arguing with the crowd.

The media are just running out of opinion angles to dress up as news.

There are certain boxes you want draftees to check before being sold on them. For Willem it was demonstrating that he can go in the guts and be a contested player in the midfield, and not just a flanker/utility.

He started the year very well. He had 36D and bunch of clearances and a goal in his first CTL game. Since then he has cooled off.

I’d say he still has enough legitimate question marks to come with a buyer beware tag, but all the pieces are there to be a potential number 1 pick if he can put it together as a midfielder at the championships.

If he doesn’t do that, then he has high bust potential potential and limited scope at AFL level (see Zane Duursma).
He's not a flanker/utility. He can play CHB or CHF as well as midfield if need be. We need to be looking for the next Gov.
Filling our squad with mids and flashy small players without defensive skills isn't going to do anything for our rebuild.