List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade/Draft Thread - 2025 Edition

Quick links
Players out of Contract 2025 (12)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Tom Cole (28/5/97) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) in May 2022
  • Rhett Bazzo (17/10/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in September 2022
  • Jayden Hunt (3/4/95) - Signed a 3 year contract (2023-25) in October 2022
  • Callum Jamieson (31/7/00) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in March 2023
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • Jack Petruccelle (12/4/99) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R) Loch Rawlinson (1/6/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024
  • (R) Jacob Newton (20/3/06/) - Automatic 6 month contract (2025) when drafted in May 2025

Provisional 2025 Draft order

I agree, but I also think there's a knock on effect of allowing too many players to dictate their own terms. The hallmark of the latter Simpson years is how many comfortable players we had. According the geniuses in the media who are never wrong we paid McGovern, Gaff, Kelly etc. squillions of dollars each. Adelaide showed interest in Yeo and we immediately signed him up for 3 years. I love Yeo but he's 32 and played 10-12-5-10-20 games the last 5 years and no one is surprised he is injured this year. Without knowing the value of the contract it's hard to make a case that is a good long term decision.

If Allen wants to go to a better team or for above market value then let him walk. It would be disappointing but he's given 8 years service and knows where are right now and what the likely trajectory is. He's young enough to play in a flag at WC but no one is under the illusion that is going to be next year.

We aren’t privy to the negotiations so it’s hard to who is or isn’t dictating terms but from media reports it has sounded like our initial offer(s) were relatively modest. Like 3 to 4 years modest which, if accurate, I understand why Allen would be chasing something better

Now if we’ve upped that to 6 years as suggested by WCE_phil then that’s fair and, subject to the monetary value, something I’d like to think he’d accept

Pushing for more years means straying into let him walk territory like we did with Barrass

As for Yeo, I think we needed to take the chance despite his durability issues - it’s obvious how big the void is in our midfield with him missing and he’s the most natural mentor for Harley. We had the cap and list space to carry him and had he gone to Adelaide as a FA the compensation would have likely only been band 3(a pick in the 20’s). But The ankle and knee injury was unfortunate but was really just bad luck rather than bad management

I thought that Hunt would be pretty safe from delisting at the end of this year but now I’m not so sure. Been one of the biggest disappointments so far especially for a senior player. If it’s say a choice between him & Chesser I’d def be going Chesser who from what I saw when we played the way we want would be a good addition.

I don’t think it’s a choice. Delist both and move on.

Agree with Reid, Hewett, Hall, Gross, Allan may end up a mid in 3 years or wing.

Sharp/Rodriguez are both balanced mids with good skills inside and out and capable of the type you suggest.
I also believe we should be taking the best mid at our 1st pick and let the group of young talent fight out who is the best.
If another mid appears in the 1st round I would be open to using future picks or several other assets to get a pick suitable to draft another list need mid.

The thing is we are desperately short in 2 years with Yeo and Kelly finished, that's why Warner is the best option at this stage as his age profile fits our needs and list needs.
You cant just keep drafting kids and not adding to them through trade imo, the biggest hole is in the 21-24yo mids who are ready to play now imo.
Not up to us, if we cant warner then we cant get him.
Find depth elsewhere and keep drafting. The hole will still exist in the list
This is why Ward appears an ideal get for his age profile, quality inside outside balance, 22 and 40+ games, comes in and plays straight away as our 3rd or 4th mid.
He would probably be a priority over drafting another mid in this years draft as we can draft another in a few years.
Just because he would be good for us doesn't mean he would want to come. Highly unlikely

Not up to us, if we cant warner then we cant get him.
Find depth elsewhere and keep drafting. The hole will still exist in the list

Just because he would be good for us doesn't mean he would want to come. Highly unlikely
I think old mate is leaning pretty heavily on the rumour that we were into ward (and Mckenzie, and MacDonald) in the event that Hawks put players on the table for pick 1 in 2023.

I personally don't understand the link and think it's quite a reach, but it's creative I guess.

That's a long list of out of contract players end '25.
I'm sure it's been covered endlessly on here, but if anyone can be bothered, who will go end of '25? Sheed, Cripps, Petrol, Bazzo?, Chesser?, Hunt? I don't know enough about the talls.

Also thoughts on Brockman, he's got the special spark, had problems etc, will he work his way into the squad and be a stayer? We have Dewar already and Champion coming up - if Brockman can be consistent, really helps our depth/flexibility and 'the special spark crew' led by Ryan.

We aren’t privy to the negotiations so it’s hard to who is or isn’t dictating terms but from media reports it has sounded like our initial offer(s) were relatively modest. Like 3 to 4 years modest which, if accurate, I understand why Allen would be chasing something better

Now if we’ve upped that to 6 years as suggested by WCE_phil then that’s fair and, subject to the monetary value, something I’d like to think he’d accept

Pushing for more years means straying into let him walk territory like we did with Barrass

As for Yeo, I think we needed to take the chance despite his durability issues - it’s obvious how big the void is in our midfield with him missing and he’s the most natural mentor for Harley. We had the cap and list space to carry him and had he gone to Adelaide as a FA the compensation would have likely only been band 3(a pick in the 20’s). But The ankle and knee injury was unfortunate but was really just bad luck rather than bad management

3-4 years is definitely below market value for contract length. I understand not wanting to offer him a ridiculous long term deal given he missed all of 2022 and half of 2024 but he is also a co-captain. I would be happy with 5 or 6 years. Gov had a career year at 32, while Darling fell out of the side for the first time in his career (more a function of position of need rather than form and durability) and while Gaff managed 5 games he was a shadow is his best for the last couple of years and would have been out of the side earlier if we had a better run with injuries and a coach with balls. Projecting beyond 30 is always a risk and you can't dump contracts like you can in other sports.

The whole point of having a salary capped comp is to equalise talent throughout the league. Band 1 tier free agents shouldn't be so easily able to move from bottom 4 teams to contenders but the system is what it is so we have to work within that framework. I just don't want to see the club scared into overpaying for every player that might leave.

The acid test for the current admin will be Tim Kelly. Out of contract and he's not going anywhere. If he's had a massive change of heart and suddenly wants to play for Freo and they actually want to bring him in then he would be coming in right down the pecking order. He's been OK for us but realistically on the open market he would be a band 3/4 tier free agent if he had FA status.

I think old mate is leaning pretty heavily on the rumour that we were into ward (and Mckenzie, and MacDonald) in the event that Hawks put players on the table for pick 1 in 2023.

I personally don't understand the link and think it's quite a reach, but it's creative I guess.

I was listening to Triple M footy one random Sunday a couple years ago..must've been the year we were bombing out to get Reid and the crew were playing a game of Tell me something I don't already know and Stevie J said he heard Hawthorn were going after Liam Ryan for perhaps the Hawks first (Which the Hawks used on Watson)

Now THAT would've been interesting.

3-4 years is definitely below market value for contract length. I understand not wanting to offer him a ridiculous long term deal given he missed all of 2022 and half of 2024 but he is also a co-captain. I would be happy with 5 or 6 years. Gov had a career year at 32, while Darling fell out of the side for the first time in his career (more a function of position of need rather than form and durability) and while Gaff managed 5 games he was a shadow is his best for the last couple of years and would have been out of the side earlier if we had a better run with injuries and a coach with balls. Projecting beyond 30 is always a risk and you can't dump contracts like you can in other sports.

The whole point of having a salary capped comp is to equalise talent throughout the league. Band 1 tier free agents shouldn't be so easily able to move from bottom 4 teams to contenders but the system is what it is so we have to work within that framework. I just don't want to see the club scared into overpaying for every player that might leave.

The acid test for the current admin will be Tim Kelly. Out of contract and he's not going anywhere. If he's had a massive change of heart and suddenly wants to play for Freo and they actually want to bring him in then he would be coming in right down the pecking order. He's been OK for us but realistically on the open market he would be a band 3/4 tier free agent if he had FA status.

Would Freo even want him though? Remember that night during trade period last year about Kelly being an open to a trade but then that was quickly shut down by his management like the next night. I wouldn't have been surprised if that was floated out there by his management to see how interested the Dockers were since Kelly's group are getting pissy about not being extended.

I remember the Hawks being keen on Flyin' Ryan but I highly doubt pick 5 was ever on the table for a 27 year old that just played a 3 game season.

Yeah, I can't remember at what stage in the season it was, maybe at the midway point but I definitely remember Stevie J saying the Hawks were into Ryan

Would Freo even want him though? Remember that night during trade period last year about Kelly being an open to a trade but then that was quickly shut down by his management like the next night. I wouldn't have been surprised if that was floated out there by his management to see how interested the Dockers were since Kelly's group are getting pissy about not being extended.

I doubt it. They had Aish, Fyfe, Brodie all playing in the WAFL on the weekend. Better off persisting with the young core they have than bringing in a guy that will be 32 next year.

Shanahan has a lot of the traits to his game that Josh Kennedy had.
Reads the ball well in flight and he leads accordingly, has very sticky fingers and marks the ball at the high point in a contested marking situation and is an - elite kick at goals.

Agree that he could also be a quality KPD, but IMO you don't waste such an accurate kicking KPF with elite goal conversion in the backline.

See above his conversion rate is elite.

Kids already well built and I would expect that give him another two seasons in an AFL system, and he is going to be a seriously big unit.

Archers accuracy, or lack thereof, has not just been a glitch in his first two games, it's a defect in his game and it's a concerning one for a KPF.

Kicking actions can be improved somewhat, however they are hard too correct because as players get tired then concentration and skills are the first things that drop off and revert to old muscle memory habits.

I am more than happy for us to trial Archer as a KPF, but, ultimately I think his best position will be as a KPD.

The fly in the ointment with that line of thinking, could be an unforeseen bonus.
No one knows how he will develop as a genuine ruck option and should he come on as a genuine ruck option, then his superior athletic ability and ground ball skills, for a player his height, would make his a very good ruck asset.

Side note unrelated to Shanahan but just on a WA KPP to track:

Cody Curtin is going to be an intriguing watch this season, he has grown considerably over the off season he now is 200 cm and 98 kg.
Now thats a serious lump of a lad and his bulk is going to allow him to dominate and rag doll, a lot of his Colts and 2025 draft Cohort at the Championships.

It was obvious in the latter part of the 2024 Colts season that he had more than just KPD skills, when in two games he played as a KPF for Claremont and kicked a bag of 6 goals in each game.

So it should not surprise that in the Colts practice game over the weekend, for Claremont he played as a KPF and bagged 8 goals.

He is why I am indifferent to us signing O Allan, because if we get band 1 compensation for Allan's defection then Curtin would be a more than handy replacement and have a better age profile for our rebuild.
The bonus with drafting Cody is that he can play either end.

Plus I will admit that I do hold the romantic notion, that if we drafted Cody that we also at some point in time entice Daniel to return home to WA.
Daniel's footskills and intercept marking are elite, I watched and tracked him closely at both Scotch and Claremont and I think he has been badly coached at Adelaide and this has stifled his progress.
He should be played as an attacking HBF that uses his elite footskills to move the ball quickly and efficiently into the forward line.
In time he might transition onto a wing and attack from there with his elite footskills but for now let him nail down an attacking HBF role.

Bit of a long rambling post - apologies - its a bit disjoint.

I've barely seen Shanahan other than his draft highlights, and the bits we saw from the intraclub (still looked good there).

Rewatching the Brisbane game and it becomes pretty clear that AReid is a forward with some kicking issues that need to be sorted out. His leading patterns are smart, he knows when to engage his opponent and he just looks very comfortable as a CHF forward.

Just a couple of minutes in to the first quarter and you can see he's a forward.

3 contests. First was when he was able to lose Andrews heading back to goal and Andrews got confused as to whether to follow Reid or push up. Second is he engaged Andrews and halved a contest in our F50 and the last was a contest with I Lester where he held competed against Big O, halved it and spoiled it to Oscar for Oscar's goal.

I haven't seen him as a defender, but based on what I've seen he looks like a natural forward.

I was listening to Triple M footy one random Sunday a couple years ago..must've been the year we were bombing out to get Reid and the crew were playing a game of Tell me something I don't already know and Stevie J said he heard Hawthorn were going after Liam Ryan for perhaps the Hawks first (Which the Hawks used on Watson)

Now THAT would've been interesting.
I think that was the year we got Brockman.

There was definite interest, and I think it might have been reciprocal. Ryan went to melbourne for his hamstring issue and was seen at the Hawthorn v North game, and was seen hanging out with Brockman while he was still a Hawks player.

totally agree with your comments

I think old mate is looking around the other clubs to see who would suit us in the midfield and who is gettable for the right price.
Someone who is not just drafting another kid and hope it works out.
We need to get a bit more creative than just drafting.
Open too input about players, but they have so far been very underwhelming.

Waterman was getting double teamed last year and he used his tank up the ground and back working his backside off and would end up with lead up and set shot i50.

Yesterday, Allen was just calling for it deep, hoping for a sexy contested grab and was rarely leading and if he did it was to the wrong spot. Then there’s things he can control like defensive effort and all I saw him do was hunch over and point each time the ball left the area. I hope he turns it around for his and our seasons sake, but the way he’s playing, we should cash in. We can always spin it that he was being unreasonable at the negotiation table. Only want those who want to be here etc

Harry Edwards position could be up for grabs in which case I’d consider going Allen down back and see if Shanahan, Williams or Reid can make FF theirs.
It’s pretty harsh to judge Allen on yesterday… I think If waterman played Allen wouldn’t of and I wouldn’t be surprised if he misses this week either… he was limping before the game with tape on his knee then never recovered from his early leap in the second quarter…

It looked He injured his back and shoulder and couldn’t get his hands above his head and did a short fitness test when they came back after halftime to see if he got subbed…

Cody Curtin turning into a sort after KPP foward helps us heaps push some kids down the draft order
Cody is looking a much better prospect than his brother
200cm forward/ defender who does both generally well, he is very quick and has good tank
But most importantly has a lot of mongrel in his game is not afraid of contact
If we can draft him we are set for key position stocks for next ten years

I thought that Hunt would be pretty safe from delisting at the end of this year but now I’m not so sure. Been one of the biggest disappointments so far especially for a senior player. If it’s say a choice between him & Chesser I’d def be going Chesser who from what I saw when we played the way we want would be a good addition.
Hunt was always filler. Has been okay for a couple of seasons because we're so shit. But green shoots are coming and he'll be delisted this year or next. Chesser is injured. Came down with a bout of incompetence. But I don't mind him playing in the WAFL and learning his chops.

Shanahan has a lot of the traits to his game that Josh Kennedy had.
Reads the ball well in flight and he leads accordingly, has very sticky fingers and marks the ball at the high point in a contested marking situation and is an - elite kick at goals.

Agree that he could also be a quality KPD, but IMO you don't waste such an accurate kicking KPF with elite goal conversion in the backline.

See above his conversion rate is elite.

Kids already well built and I would expect that give him another two seasons in an AFL system, and he is going to be a seriously big unit.

Archers accuracy, or lack thereof, has not just been a glitch in his first two games, it's a defect in his game and it's a concerning one for a KPF.

Kicking actions can be improved somewhat, however they are hard too correct because as players get tired then concentration and skills are the first things that drop off and revert to old muscle memory habits.

I am more than happy for us to trial Archer as a KPF, but, ultimately I think his best position will be as a KPD.

The fly in the ointment with that line of thinking, could be an unforeseen bonus.
No one knows how he will develop as a genuine ruck option and should he come on as a genuine ruck option, then his superior athletic ability and ground ball skills, for a player his height, would make his a very good ruck asset.

Side note unrelated to Shanahan but just on a WA KPP to track:

Cody Curtin is going to be an intriguing watch this season, he has grown considerably over the off season he now is 200 cm and 98 kg.
Now thats a serious lump of a lad and his bulk is going to allow him to dominate and rag doll, a lot of his Colts and 2025 draft Cohort at the Championships.

It was obvious in the latter part of the 2024 Colts season that he had more than just KPD skills, when in two games he played as a KPF for Claremont and kicked a bag of 6 goals in each game.

So it should not surprise that in the Colts practice game over the weekend, for Claremont he played as a KPF and bagged 8 goals.

He is why I am indifferent to us signing O Allan, because if we get band 1 compensation for Allan's defection then Curtin would be a more than handy replacement and have a better age profile for our rebuild.
The bonus with drafting Cody is that he can play either end.

Plus I will admit that I do hold the romantic notion, that if we drafted Cody that we also at some point in time entice Daniel to return home to WA.
Daniel's footskills and intercept marking are elite, I watched and tracked him closely at both Scotch and Claremont and I think he has been badly coached at Adelaide and this has stifled his progress.
He should be played as an attacking HBF that uses his elite footskills to move the ball quickly and efficiently into the forward line.
In time he might transition onto a wing and attack from there with his elite footskills but for now let him nail down an attacking HBF role.

Bit of a long rambling post - apologies - its a bit disjoint.
I have too agree with your comments on A Reid and Shanahan, the accuracy of Archer seems to be a problem and those athletic traits will make him a serious KDEF option.
Shanahan just looks a natural KFWD with his marking and goal kicking ability.

If Archer turns out to be a very good ruckman, bonus!

C Curtin probably falls into our list of players that we want KDEF, but he might scream through 2025 and be a KFWD by the end and that's something we don't really want.

I totally agree with D Curtin analysis, he looks totally unfamiliar with his game day role and looks like he is being played everywhere to find a spot for him.
Keep that up and if we don't have a KDEF option progress by mid next year, offer him a contract to come home and be part of a KDEF duo with A Reid.

Hunt was always filler. Has been okay for a couple of seasons because we're so shit. But green shoots are coming and he'll be delisted this year or next. Chesser is injured. Came down with a bout of incompetence. But I don't mind him playing in the WAFL and learning his chops.
Hunt isn't going anywhere until someone takes his spot, would at least get a 1 year extension, reliable, durable and not our best or worst player.
Chesser on the other hand is done, injured again and hasn't progressed as much as the opportunity he has been given.

Kicked 5 for Bombers in the VFL from 5 kicks.
Actually kicked 14 goals in his last three games , think he might have kicked 7.3 in the Colts then played league same day and kicked 5.0 .
Don't think I'm making this up either though confused .
Would have been tired after that day .

That's a long list of out of contract players end '25.
I'm sure it's been covered endlessly on here, but if anyone can be bothered, who will go end of '25? Sheed, Cripps, Petrol, Bazzo?, Chesser?, Hunt? I don't know enough about the talls.

Also thoughts on Brockman, he's got the special spark, had problems etc, will he work his way into the squad and be a stayer? We have Dewar already and Champion coming up - if Brockman can be consistent, really helps our depth/flexibility and 'the special spark crew' led by Ryan.
If we get Warner and draft 2 mids and 3 NGA/FS we will need 6 list spots minimum.

Jamieson - delist
Chesser - delist/trade
Livingstone - if shows enough keep on list, if not he might be casualty of needing list spots for other NGA players
Sheed - retire
Rawlinson- delist
Petch - trade
Cripps - probably earns another 1 year contract
Kelly - has earnt another 1 year contract
Hutch - has earnt another contract
Hunt - earnt a 1 year contract
Bazzo- short term contract 1-2 years
Brock - 1 year contract
Cole - 2-3 year contract
Brockman - 2 year contract
Dewar - probably performing the best performing - 3 year contract

Depending if we get a decent ruck like D Cameron, if so we can pay out Flynn and delist and keep BW.

Depending on Brocks development, if he gets a contract and Bazzo's development from his injuries there may be another list spot if we only extend 1 of them.
This will open another list spot to target/trade in another midfielder in the 21-24yo bracket or draft another player.

If we get Warner and draft 2 mids and 3 NGA/FS we will need 6 list spots minimum.

Jamieson - delist
Chesser - delist/trade
Livingstone - if shows enough keep on list, if not he might be casualty of needing list spots for other NGA players
Sheed - retire
Rawlinson- delist
Petch - trade
Cripps - probably earns another 1 year contract
Kelly - has earnt another 1 year contract
Hutch - has earnt another contract
Hunt - earnt a 1 year contract
Bazzo- short term contract 1-2 years
Brock - 1 year contract
Cole - 2-3 year contract
Brockman - 2 year contract
Dewar - probably performing the best performing - 3 year contract

Depending if we get a decent ruck like D Cameron, if so we can pay out Flynn and delist and keep BW.

Depending on Brocks development, if he gets a contract and Bazzo's development from his injuries there may be another list spot if we only extend 1 of them.
This will open another list spot to target/trade in another midfielder in the 21-24yo bracket or draft another player.
Thanks for that! Chesser - unless he comes good during the season? Unlike Petch, who has had ample years and games to show consistency.

I believe Petch was discussed with the Darling trade to NM but he wanted to stay.
They would take him as he is a RFA and we would probably get a pick in the 40's for him.

Chesser unfortunately hasn't shown enough and injuries have been a big thing.
I would chase another player around the same age who s on the edge of best 22 in a really good side and OOC.