List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade/Draft Thread - 2025 Edition

Quick links
Players out of Contract 2025 (12)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Tom Cole (28/5/97) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) in May 2022
  • Rhett Bazzo (17/10/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in September 2022
  • Jayden Hunt (3/4/95) - Signed a 3 year contract (2023-25) in October 2022
  • Callum Jamieson (31/7/00) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in March 2023
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • Jack Petruccelle (12/4/99) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R) Loch Rawlinson (1/6/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024
  • (R) Jacob Newton (20/3/06/) - Automatic 6 month contract (2025) when drafted in May 2025

Provisional 2025 Draft order

Gathering with Free Agency their are only 5 additional spots up for grabs in an 71 player draft order. Its a way of moving up the pecking order effectively.

1743518217751.png

Some teams may choose not to exercise that right if given the choice. Hence, only 4 clubs were compensated from a maximum of 5 allocations last season?

Hmm I just had a look at the 2017 Draft again, it did seem West Coast got a bit of a steal getting Oscar at pick 21 at the time. But maybe some will call it an underacheivement?

Interested to see what if we did a review of that draft Top 26 right now considering Eagles had picks : 13, 21 and 26 in that draft. Would this be fair in terms of rank?
1. Andy Brayshaw
2. Xerri
3. Dylan Moore
4. Sam Taylor
5. Darcy Fogarty
6. Rayner
7. Tom de Koning
8. Tim Kelly
9. Gryan Miers
10. LDU
11. Aaron Naughton
12. Cerra
13. Jack Higgins
14. Noah Balta
15. James Worpel
16. Ed Richards
17. Bayley Fritsch
18. Brent Daniels
19. Tom McCartin
20. Liam Ryan
21. Hunter Clark
22.Kane Farrell
23. Oscar Allen
24. Wil Powell
25. Charlie Ballard
26. Charlie Spargo

Eagles got: Brander (13), Oscar Allen (21) and Liam Ryan (26).

Hindsight is great but Eagles could have got local Sam Taylor, Dylan Moore, Xerri , Tom de Koning . TdK is having a great year but the others above him have performed on the big stage on a more consistent basis since drafted. TdK could easily be the top of that crop though by end of his career. Tim Kelly also another one that wasn't picked up locally at the time but eventually ended up at the Eagles but at a significant cost at the draft hand.

Id say they slightly underachieved with that draft haul. What do we think? Reassessing that draft, that now looks like a pretty decent draft with Id say the top 15 players being match winners on a regular basis.
Are you trolling?!? Allen’s had a few bad games lately, and some injury problems but otherwise he’s been a very good player in a team that’s been hopelessly uncompetitive for many years, characterised by relatively low forward 50 entry numbers coupled with poor delivery to the forward 50. Prior to that, he had Darling and Kennedy commanding a lot of the forward entries. To suggest he should’ve been drafted below all of those players is hysterical.

We realise the club’s a mess and has made a litany of administration, list management, trading and drafting errors. We can do without opposition supporters coming in here and taking the p#ss. Especially GWS supporters whose club has achieved SFA.

West coast are too focused on being the "nice guys" and doing the right thing in the OA and HR situation
Honestly, both of them are absolute liabilities right now
It is quite clear that we don't want to upset Harley, in a damned if you do and damned if you don't situation where tough love would be scrutinised and be seen as the reason for him leaving, and alternatively if we're too careful to not hurt his feelings, we will be criticised as being too soft. And he leaves anyway.

Regarding the OA situation, I agree this is next level. It's one thing for Chad Warner to meet with DP whilst here on a mid season break, but another for a coach to fly over in Round 3 and meet with our captain. I feel the relationship is broken now, and we have no choice but to let him go, provided we get the right compensation. I agree his position is untenable and letting him remain captain will be seen as weak.

Hmm I just had a look at the 2017 Draft again, it did seem West Coast got a bit of a steal getting Oscar at pick 21 at the time. But maybe some will call it an underacheivement?

Interested to see what if we did a review of that draft Top 26 right now considering Eagles had picks : 13, 21 and 26 in that draft. Would this be fair in terms of rank?
1. Andy Brayshaw
2. Xerri
3. Dylan Moore
4. Sam Taylor
5. Darcy Fogarty
6. Rayner
7. Tom de Koning
8. Tim Kelly
9. Gryan Miers
10. LDU
11. Aaron Naughton
12. Cerra
13. Jack Higgins
14. Noah Balta
15. James Worpel
16. Ed Richards
17. Bayley Fritsch
18. Brent Daniels
19. Tom McCartin
20. Liam Ryan
21. Hunter Clark
22.Kane Farrell
23. Oscar Allen
24. Wil Powell
25. Charlie Ballard
26. Charlie Spargo

Hindsight is great but Eagles could have got local Sam Taylor, Dylan Moore, Xerri , Tom de Koning . TdK is having a great year but the others above him have performed on the big stage on a more consistent basis since drafted. TdK could easily be the top of that crop though by end of his career. Tim Kelly also another one that wasn't picked up locally at the time but eventually ended up at the Eagles but at a significant cost at the draft hand.

Id say they slightly underachieved with that draft haul. What do we think? Reassessing that draft, that now looks like a pretty decent draft with Id say the top 15 players being match winners on a regular basis.
Awful rankings lmao.
Very rough on Allen, he would still be around the top 10 there.
Fogarty hugely overrated by you

Awful rankings lmao.
Very rough on Allen, he would still be around the top 10 there.
Fogarty hugely overrated by you
Fogarty 167 goals from 105 games vs O Allen 142 from 96 games

Not much in between the two, time will tell who had the better career as both are midway through their careers.

That is a heavy compensation for West Coast.

I do realise two teams exercised their rights to the Restricted Free Agency last season.

Bit surprised why more teams in the past haven't exercised it in the past?

Last year when Perryman left GWS:

GWS Had picks 18 and 19

When Josh Battle left the Saints:

Saints had picks 8 and 10 (Pick 9 was a matched bid by Gold Coast for a local product)

If Eagles get picks 1 and 2, doubt AFL would give priority assistance.
Are you new?
The roos got pick 3 for Ben McKay of all people a couple years ago lmao.

This is not new and has been abused far more than anything the Eagles can do.
Pick 2 for Allen is FAR more reasonable than pick 3 for mckay

Fogarty 167 goals from 105 games vs O Allen 142 from 96 games

Not much in between the two, time will tell who had the better career as both are midway through their careers.
Ask 18 teams who they'd rather from Allen vs fogarty and youll get at least 16 of them picking Allen - the 2 sa teams might prefer fogarty as the local boy.

Looking at career stats is just dumb. Allen was behind JK and Darling 2 of the best KPFs of the last 15 years for most of his career, and has been in a worse performing side

Are you new?

If what I am reading of the draft order /compensation is right, there would be little incentive for the Eagles to finish above 16th on the ladder this season.

If the Big O decides to walk away as a RFA:

Eagles Finish last, they will get picks 1 and 2

Eagles finish 2nd last, they will get picks 2 and 3

at the time of writing.

RFA only works Im assuming if there is a matchmaker on the other side as well. Someone like Petruccelle who also is a RFA, would be of no interest to any oppo clubs if he decided to walk away.

West coast are too focused on being the "nice guys" and doing the right thing in the OA and HR situation
Honestly, both of them are absolute liabilities right now
It is quite clear that we don't want to upset Harley, in a damned if you do and damned if you don't situation where tough love would be scrutinised and be seen as the reason for him leaving, and alternatively if we're too careful to not hurt his feelings, we will be criticised as being too soft. And he leaves anyway.

Regarding the OA situation, I agree this is next level. It's one thing for Chad Warner to meet with DP whilst here on a mid season break, but another for a coach to fly over in Round 3 and meet with our captain. I feel the relationship is broken now, and we have no choice but to let him go, provided we get the right compensation. I agree his position is untenable and letting him remain captain will be seen as weak.
We don't know if this is the case. We just arent making it clear to the public what's going on.

How do we know rhat the club isn't tough with Harley? Maybe we weren't last year but we haven't heard anything at all since mini came in.

If what I am reading of the draft order /compensation is right, there would be little incentive for the Eagles to finish above 16th on the ladder this season.

at the time of writing.

RFA only works Im assuming if there is a matchmaker on the other side as well. Someone like Petruccelle who also is a RFA, would be of no interest to any oppo clubs if he decided to walk away.
If you are suggesting the Eagles would tank for picks then **** off.

That's just how free agency has worked since it came in, it hasn't changed.
Buddy famously got unders for the hawks- frawley, McKay, and perryman are notable ones who got their clubs overs.

f you are suggesting the Eagles would tank for picks then **** off.

That's just how free agency has worked since it came in, it hasn't changed.
Buddy famously got unders for the hawks- frawley, McKay, and perryman are notable ones who got their clubs overs.
Do you honestly right now believe the Eagles can make the Top 8 with their current list?

If not, do you think they can win even over 5.5 games this season? Im not sure what 6-7 games won this season , if it would be of any benefit long-term.

We dont like to bring it up but if you had a Buddy/Roughhead or Rowell/Anderson controlling the team for the next decade, would it make an Eagle fan any less sadder to suffer just a bit of short term pain for long term gain?

Willem Duursma:

Do you honestly right now believe the Eagles can make the Top 8 with their current list?

If not, do you think they can win even over 5.5 games this season? Im not sure what 6-7 games won this season , if it would be of any benefit long-term.

We dont like to bring it up but if you had a Buddy/Roughhead or Rowell/Anderson controlling the team for the next decade, would it make an Eagle fan any less sadder to suffer just a bit of short term pain for long term gain?

Willem Duursma:

Unfortunately the Duursmas haven't exactly proven themselves to be open to life outside of Victoria.

That may change if Reid stays though.

at the time of writing.

Seriously what are you trying to discuss.

The basic fact is our ladder position determines what we get for Oscar....

Willem Duursma:

Why are you in this thread? Seriously I'm not sure I get what you are trying convey.

Your not saying anything new here. We know we are in deep trouble and the tassie draft period is 1 draft away.

Get to the point

1. Andy Brayshaw
2. Xerri
3. Dylan Moore
4. Sam Taylor
5. Darcy Fogarty
6. Rayner
7. Tom de Koning
8. Tim Kelly
9. Gryan Miers
10. LDU
11. Aaron Naughton
12. Cerra
13. Jack Higgins
14. Noah Balta
15. James Worpel
16. Ed Richards
17. Bayley Fritsch
18. Brent Daniels
19. Tom McCartin
20. Liam Ryan
21. Hunter Clark
22.Kane Farrell
23. Oscar Allen
24. Wil Powell
25. Charlie Ballard
26. Charlie Spargo
I'd rank them...

1. Sam Taylor
2. Tristan Xerri
3. Dylan Moore
4. Ed Richards
5. Andrew Brayshaw
6. Tom De Koning
7. Charlie Ballard
8. Luke Davies-Uniacke
9. Gryan Miers
10. Tom McCartin
11. Brent Daniels
12. Oscar Allen
13. Darcy Fogarty
14. Aaron Naughton
15. Cam Rayner
16. James Worpel
17. Liam Ryan
18. Wil Powell
19. Adam Cerra
20. Tim Kelly
21. Bayley Fritsch
22. Kane Farrell
23. Jack Higgins
24. Noah Balta* (extenuating circumstances)
25. Charlie Spargo
26. Hunter Clark

All subjective, of course! :)

Willem Duursma:

No idea what you're suggesting here if you arent suggesting we tank.

We know the list isn't great, we have a lot of kids who are some time away from holding their own and we need a few more good ones anyway.

We don't need you to tell us that

IMHO, there's no doubt Allen's manager is being a campaigner and leaking this shit to the media as a way of turning up the heat on negotiations. But as a player, you don't even take a meeting with an opposition coach 3 games into the season unless you are one foot out the door. And if that's your mindset so early in the season, what does that say about your preseason and preparation?
If his manager leaked it he should be sacked because what it’s done is heap scrutiny and pressure on Oscar

Hawks first pick (via Carlton projected for me to be a Top 8 pick since the Blues are playing garbage footy at the moment), and one of and Hawks 1st pick in the 2026 draft/Hawks first selection in the 2nd round 2025 (which is in the high 20s) to get the deal done for the Big O ? Thats the probably the one missing piece for the Hawks that true full forward position. Mabior Chol is a bit hit and miss. If you can get two beasts in that forward line to help their crumbers and small forwards in : Dylan Moore, The Wizard Watson and Ginnivan, its a fairly scary attack.

With Gunston and Breust probably unlikely to go again in 2026, do feel like the Hawks are chasing that missing jigsaw piece, in a very strong team all over the board. Hence, why Mitchell who is very astute at getting what he wants -players at the top of their game still eg D'Ambrosio, Barrass, Josh Battle, Mabior Chol

Im sure most Eagles fans could accept that and for the ones that would refuse that, they are highly hopeful that Oscar will turn it around.
Mate before you come in here like Nostradamus maybe check, I dunno any article anywhere, to establish that Oscar is a free agent and it’s not about what we take at trade table

1. Andy Brayshaw
2. Xerri
3. Dylan Moore
4. Sam Taylor
5. Darcy Fogarty
6. Rayner
7. Tom de Koning
8. Tim Kelly
9. Gryan Miers
10. LDU
11. Aaron Naughton
12. Cerra
13. Jack Higgins
14. Noah Balta
15. James Worpel
16. Ed Richards
17. Bayley Fritsch
18. Brent Daniels
19. Tom McCartin
20. Liam Ryan
21. Hunter Clark
22.Kane Farrell
23. Oscar Allen
24. Wil Powell
25. Charlie Ballard
26. Charlie Spargo

Mate do you even watch football. What are you doing on our thread?
You’ve got Moore ahead of the best defender in the comp and who plays for your team!
Rayner at 6 is laughable
Allen at 23 is even worse. And behind Kane Farrell!
And there’s a few others

Mate do you even watch football. What are you doing on our thread?
You’ve got Moore ahead of the best defender in the comp and who plays for your team!
Rayner at 6 is laughable
Allen at 23 is even worse. And behind Kane Farrell!
And there’s a few others
I Watched every game of the 2024 season.

I am regularly on the Punting Board on BigFooty.

Are you new?

Except we are not North, the AFL is still the AFL.

Are you trolling?!? Allen’s had a few bad games lately, and some injury problems but otherwise he’s been a very good player in a team that’s been hopelessly uncompetitive for many years, characterised by relatively low forward 50 entry numbers coupled with poor delivery to the forward 50. Prior to that, he had Darling and Kennedy commanding a lot of the forward entries. To suggest he should’ve been drafted below all of those players is hysterical.

We realise the club’s a mess and has made a litany of administration, list management, trading and drafting errors. We can do without opposition supporters coming in here and taking the p#ss. Especially GWS supporters whose club has achieved SFA.
Yep. I remember in maybe 2022 the media commentary suggested Allen was the only gun, and untradeable, young player on our list. Same year Essendon offered him the captaincy if he defected. He’s out of form now but he has been a shining light in previous dark years.