List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade/Draft Thread - 2025 Edition

Quick links
Players out of Contract 2025 (12)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Tom Cole (28/5/97) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) in May 2022
  • Rhett Bazzo (17/10/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in September 2022
  • Jayden Hunt (3/4/95) - Signed a 3 year contract (2023-25) in October 2022
  • Callum Jamieson (31/7/00) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in March 2023
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • Jack Petruccelle (12/4/99) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R) Loch Rawlinson (1/6/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024
  • (R) Jacob Newton (20/3/06/) - Automatic 6 month contract (2025) when drafted in May 2025

Provisional 2025 Draft order

IMO Archer Reid but its 3 to 4 years away at the very least. Id like to take the same approach with Archer Reid that St Kilda did with Rowan Marshall

Cameron as 1st ruck, Reid as 2nd ruck for a few years and then by 24 years old Archer Reid is 1st ruck. It feels the way to go nowadays
this

Ryder had a ton of injuries though and he did welll before he reached 30. I think at 34 years old if Cameron is in forward pocket we aint crying too hard about it.

With regards to rucks finishing soon I dont know where that is from. Rucks over the age of 30 right now are

Todd Goldstein, Lachlan Keefe, Mason Cox, Rhys Stanley, Max Gawn, Tom Campbell, Toby Nankervis Jarrod Witts, Brodie Grundy, Oscar McInerney, Darcy Fort

Out of the above id like to think we can get Darcy Cameron to finish his career off like Rhys Stanley in that by the time he is 34 he is stll able to be first choice ruck but we have other options too

With someone like Cameron youd also frontload his deal in our situation. At present we got no one to pay so may as well pay Cameron. If we get him say 5 year 5.5 mill you would be best off going say 1.5/1.5/1.5 and then last 2 years at 500k each. Most of that salary coming from the loss of McGovern + Allen basically
almost entirely agree with everything you have mentioned regarding Cameron today except it would be a 4 year deal with a trigger for a 5th.

How long is a piece of string?

The club is in uncharted waters as far as onfield failure is concerned. We have a fairly young side, leaders are retiring/ looking to be traded and we're trying to teach everyone a new gameplan. Some players will flourish, some wont. It takes as long as it takes.

This is Year 1 of the rebuild. Hopefully excluding a handful of names already on the list, it's gonna look completely different by the time we are talking about finals again.
Now I know this is the first year of Mini in the rebuild but the rebuild clearly started earlier, I would say the 2022 draft with 4 players in the top 30 was a clear shift to a new list look.

Yeah could easily be 4 and not 5. It depends how much we want to give Cameron really
The thing is about A Reid, everyone raves about CDT in the draft and Jackson at FRE as the unicorn, but I see him as an athletic freak ruck prospect much in the taller mould of a Jackson.
He just needs to sort out his goal kicking and the world is at his feet.
We have drafted a ripper there.

Apparently we are interested in sean darcy and erasmus.

Kellys new contract is worth 1.6mill over two years as we have heaps of cap space and need to meet the mininum TPP requirements.

IF we were only able to offer 650-750 for our captain but yet we offer Kelly who has been rubbish 800 for each year...

EDIT: Oh just read it came from Suma... so yeah nah haha

Pick 19 and 31 need to be treated as pick 30 and 46 a little bit too. From Collingwoods perspective they hold more value as pick 19 and 31 can easily see them get a player bid on at pick 15 (McGuane) and a player bid on at pick 25 (McCarthy) onto the list which allows the picks to hold the natural value

If we did zero trades for example id take Wes Walley at pick 31 anyway so its just lost value...

I agree with all this.
The exception is Collingwood have another player Saxena around pick 40-50.
I wouldn't give 31 I would send Hawks 3rd, 48 which would net them 900 points which should be enough to cover all 3 with their points and would be asking for something back like a F3rd.
This way we get Cameron and we get a F3rd to do some trading with for another mature player.
Use 31 to drop down with some picks as I also don't think any of our players will get bid on until late 2nd round.
Could see someone like BRI/SYD needing plenty of points and working something out with future picks.
We take picks 1, 2, 14 and then Walley, Evans, Banfield with our picks left.
Sharp, Lindsay, Swadling/Rodriguez/Barker and then we maybe keen to look at a KPD later in the draft in the 3rd round like Stumpf.
This gives us much more flexibility to do as we want imo.
But the concept is all the same.
Thanks to Hawthorn emptying their 2025 bucket for Barrass, we currently have more picks than we have list spots (unless we apply a scorched-earth policy to the list), so we can bundle them up into higher picks, or trade for established players, or swap for points next year.

That all ties in well with a Cameron trade. I think there's a lot of scope for us to give Collingwood the points they want in this year's draft, and get back some picks/upgrades in next year's draft for our NGA and F/S intake. And we can still keep our first round picks.

Between reading phantom drafts and the feedback by those in the know on here, it really feels like slim pickings to have the #1 draft pick (and likely #2) this year.

Sharp rated much higher on here than elsewhere, with concerns his kicking and speed will really be exposed at AFL level. Lindsay is a half back flanker, not necessarily a role you want to spend a top 2 pick on. Greeves & Grlj shape as our only other options, but different posters on here have expressed concerns.

Duursma & CDT seem to have been all but ruled out on here.

Is it just a case of expectations being too high on these 18 year olds, with everyone too eager to find knocks on these kids? Or is the talent pool really thin this year?

Thanks to Hawthorn emptying their 2025 bucket for Barrass, we currently have more picks than we have list spots (unless we apply a scorched-earth policy to the list), so we can bundle them up into higher picks, or trade for established players, or swap for points next year.

That all ties in well with a Cameron trade. I think there's a lot of scope for us to give Collingwood the points they want in this year's draft, and get back some picks/upgrades in next year's draft for our NGA and F/S intake. And we can still keep our first round picks.
totally agree and I think its all tied to OA leaving as well, giving us pick 2 to upgrade the midfield and bring in another mature player of need with all the Barrass/Allen draft capital.

So Chesser should remain on the list because he’s been injured and hasn’t had the chance to prove himself……
Therefore he should just stay injured every year and we’ll never delist him?
🧐

maxresdefault.jpg

Now I know this is the first year of Mini in the rebuild but the rebuild clearly started earlier, I would say the 2022 draft with 4 players in the top 30 was a clear shift to a new list look.

it was a stark and dramatic departure from the 5 year period where we only drafted luke parkington and kurt mutimer

I think this is a bit optimistic.

Brisbane swapped pick 20 for picks 32, 42, 43, 45 last year. In 2025 points that's 757 out for 941 in.

Picks in the 30s and 40s are a dime a dozen. Collingwood's position should be that they can easily accumulate all the points they need without needing to trade Darcy Cameron, so in order to agree to the trade there needs to be something they can't easily get - i.e. one of our first round picks.

Phillips didnt show a whole lot last night, as full time mid....
I tried to watch him closely last night, he was working really hard defensively so very unheralded performance. I thought he acquitted himself quite well in there for that role.

Quite simply though if the deal is the below

Cameron signs on a 5 year 5.5 mill deal
Trade is pick 19 + 31 for Cameron and 54

What grade do you give such a move

Id give it a B- myself. A okay move but not thrilled with it either
How is a 30 year old ruck fixing anything? We are not contending..rebuild..with a 30 year old.

I tried to watch him closely last night, he was working really hard defensively so very unheralded performance. I thought he acquitted himself quite well in there for that role.

He wasn't awful, but didn't set the world on fire either. Solid without is probably the best description, depth.

16D, 4 tackles, 6 clearances (most on the ground behind Xerri and Richards) and 6 score involvements.

+1 awesome rundown HTB on Bont that disgracefully wasn't paid.

Probably cut him a bit of slack as he hasn't played a proper AFL game in yonks so potentially a bit rusty.

Unless it's a throwaway pick I wouldn't be fussed with getting him. Dev for free, providing he gets delisted, might be the simplest option, or giving Murdock a look via the SSP.

Can't get on board with idea about bringing Cameron in for a couple of years to shoulder the ruck load while A Reid serves as an understudy with a view to take over.

We're going to be eating shit sandwiches on the field while the young group develop and grow, so might as well stick with Flynn unless something free falls into our lap. Cameron would cost too much for what it's worth.

How is a 30 year old ruck fixing anything? We are not contending..rebuild..with a 30 year old.
It lets the midfielders grow more by having a competitive ruck. We need to learn how to play with a competent ruck in our midfield as opposed to just losing week in week out

If we keep going with the proposition where the opposition ruck is constantly rated as one of the best on ground week in week out we ain't winning a flag ... So lets teach the younger players what it's like to play with a competitive and competent ruck

Between reading phantom drafts and the feedback by those in the know on here, it really feels like slim pickings to have the #1 draft pick (and likely #2) this year.

Sharp rated much higher on here than elsewhere, with concerns his kicking and speed will really be exposed at AFL level. Lindsay is a half back flanker, not necessarily a role you want to spend a top 2 pick on. Greeves & Grlj shape as our only other options, but different posters on here have expressed concerns.

Duursma & CDT seem to have been all but ruled out on here.

Is it just a case of expectations being too high on these 18 year olds, with everyone too eager to find knocks on these kids? Or is the talent pool really thin this year?
I think the talent pool is slim. I think there's going to be a lot of duds this year. Not through bad drafting. I just don't think the talent is there. Someone might get a gem at 13 and someone might get a dud at 5. It will look obvious when it comes out in the wash, but in reality, it's anything but.

I for one am tired of watching us get belted in the ruck and centre week in week out and would like to see that change for next year.

Happy if that's through a trade for DC or through some other avenue, as long as I don't have to watch Flynn & Williams get slaughtered on a weekly basis