List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade Thread - 2025 Edition Vol 3

Quick Links

List Changes - 2025
In:
  • Brandon Starcevich arrives at West Coast in a three team deal
  • Tylar Young (Richmond) arrived at West Coast in exchange for Pick 38.
  • Deven Robertson (Brisbane) has agreed to join West Coast and will be signed on to the rookie list after being delisted by Brisbane
Out:
  • Oscar Allen joins Brisbane as a FA - West Coast receive Pick 2 as compensation
  • Liam Ryan and a 2027 R3 pick has been traded to St Kilda for a 2026 R2 pick
  • Campbell Chesser has been traded to Carlton for Pick 41
  • Jayden Hunt announces retirement
  • Jack Petruccelle, Callum Jamieson and Loch Rawlinson not offered new contracts
  • Coen Livingstone joins the list of players not offered a new contract

Players Out of Contract - 2025 (0)
  • Jamie Cripps and Malakai Champion seem to have been offered new contracts despite there being no official announcement. Means that all players out of contract for 2025 have been given new contracts despite or removed from the playing list

2025 Draft Order

Current Draft Picks:
Round 1: 1, 2, 13
Round 2: 34, 41
Round 3: 53, 58 (These picks are in excess of available list spots so will be forfeited if we don’t consolidate our 2025 picks up the order or trade some for future picks)

List Spots Available (39 of 48):
• Main list (33 of 38) - 5* (in: Starcevich, Young out: Allen, Ryan, Chesser, Hunt, Petruccelle, Jamieson)
• Cat A rookie list (5 of 8) - 3* (in: Robertson (pending), out: Rawlinson)
• Cat B rookie list (1 of 2) - 2 (out: Livingstone)

* Based on Dewar being upgraded after the maximum 3 years on the rookie list. Hutchinson may also have been upgraded but this isn’t confirmed - if it is we will have 4 main and 4 rookie list spots open

* Matthew Clarke has stated we have 5 main list spots

Matt Clarke wraps up the trade period - 6PR

I feel like 5 and 9 for 2 and 13 is much more up Matt Clarke's alley than us getting 5 and 6

I hope we just keep 1, 2 and 13. And 13 should be the only one we look to flip
Let’s hope he sticks to what he said publicly.

Try and get 21 out of them too but worst case settle on 2,13 for 5,6 and hit the draft with 1,5,6.

Still think it’s better for us to trade the “matching” picks for F2s if possible.

Tarryn Thomas shouldn’t be invited anywhere near this football club, there couldn’t be an easier decision to make than passing on this bloke.

I suspect 17 other clubs will arrive at that conclusion pretty quickly too (maybe 16 as the Saints were sniffing around him like the scumbags they are).

Wtf what happened. I thought essedon said Zach is staying. Then Hawks stumped up a predictable offer and dons are open????

Surely when they said they were not keen they could have seen that predictable offer

Tarryn Thomas shouldn’t be invited anywhere near this football club, there couldn’t be an easier decision to make than passing on this bloke.

I suspect 17 other clubs will arrive at that conclusion pretty quickly too (maybe 16 as the Saints were sniffing around him like the scumbags they are).
Geelong may sniff also, but it’s because they are the good guys who get the best out of the worst. Or something like that.

Let’s hope he sticks to what he said publicly.

Try and get 21 out of them too but worst case settle on 2,13 for 5,6 and hit the draft with 1,5,6.

Still think it’s better for us to trade the “matching” picks for F2s if possible.

Keep 13

2, 34 for 5 and 6.

Points difference = pick 25.

They are trading into the top tranche of the draft, not shuffling a few spots in the teens.

Hit the draft with 1, 5, 6, 13, then 41 and 52 are backups for bids.

I would take it if i was Essendon given the ill will between the club and Merrett.

And they probably will, but the AFL needs a club to stand up and say you players don't get to decide all. Everyone will cry the mental health card if a player doesn't get what he wants, but don't sign long contracts if you can't see out your part of it.

Why? Ugle Hagen is getting another free ride in. Screwed the Bulldogs and they get nothing for him

I would make the Hawks sell the farm and then some for their shady dealings this year. And I dont mean speaking to players. Im talking about deliberately leaking the chats to the media to cause friction at the target club. Merrett and Allen the case in point. Only way the media found out about both of these was from Mitchell or the hawks leaking it.
I could be wrong but i reckon Essendon will stretch this out to the final hour of trade week to squeeze every bit of juice out of the lemon that they can. but they will end up taking whatever the final offer is from Hawthorn by the time that final hour rolls around.

Almost a certainty. The AFL will have already told both clubs that they will announce the deal as well as the Curnow one with in the last hour.
It's just all theatre.

That would mean we are reaching.

The Dons want CDT then they will pay for him. Or Melbourne will, possibly Richmond.
I don’t think they are a reach at all. Clearly I’d rather send back as little as possible but if it came to it and 2,13 becomes Sharp and Cumming then sign me up.

Why? Ugle Hagen is getting another free ride in. Screwed the Bulldogs and they get nothing for him

Thomas trialled with Port Melbourne and Swan Districts this year and both turned him down, speaks volumes for mine.

Swans turned him down because of the backlash from their AFLW players.

Because, after multiple indiscretions and many instances of club arranged training, counselling and education, he continued to threaten and harass women and was stood down for ultimately showing no remorse or making any effort to change his dogshit behaviour.

Go win an ammos footy B+F mate, have a kick on the weekend, nobody is saying you can’t play footy anymore, but your untapped potential isn’t grounds for an AFL career when your behaviour is not that of a professional. Not swayed by the second chance argument when the bloke is on about his 15th chance.

So he's actually a different person with a different circumstance.

Attempt at a side

B: Rory Lobb - James Sicily - Noah Balta
HB: Dayne Zorko - Steven May - Brayden Maynard
C: Jordan De Goey - Jason Horne Francis - Jake Stringer
HF: Jack Ginnivan - Taylor Walker - Toby Greene
FF: Tom Papley - Tom Lynch - Nick Watson
R: Mason Cox - Clayton Oliver - Bailey Smith
JHF out, Rankine in.

Swans turned him down because of the backlash from their AFLW players.

They still turned him down Migs, anywhere Thomas goes he's going to keep getting the same scrutiny due to his long history