List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade Thread - 2025 Edition Vol 3

Quick Links

List Changes - 2025
In:
  • Brandon Starcevich arrives at West Coast in a three team deal
  • Tylar Young (Richmond) arrived at West Coast in exchange for Pick 38.
  • Deven Robertson (Brisbane) has agreed to join West Coast and will be signed on to the rookie list after being delisted by Brisbane
Out:
  • Oscar Allen joins Brisbane as a FA - West Coast receive Pick 2 as compensation
  • Liam Ryan and a 2027 R3 pick has been traded to St Kilda for a 2026 R2 pick
  • Campbell Chesser has been traded to Carlton for Pick 41
  • Jayden Hunt announces retirement
  • Jack Petruccelle, Callum Jamieson and Loch Rawlinson not offered new contracts
  • Coen Livingstone joins the list of players not offered a new contract

Players Out of Contract - 2025 (0)
  • Jamie Cripps and Malakai Champion seem to have been offered new contracts despite there being no official announcement. Means that all players out of contract for 2025 have been given new contracts despite or removed from the playing list

2025 Draft Order

Current Draft Picks:
Round 1: 1, 2, 13
Round 2: 34, 41
Round 3: 53, 58 (These picks are in excess of available list spots so will be forfeited if we don’t consolidate our 2025 picks up the order or trade some for future picks)

List Spots Available (39 of 48):
• Main list (33 of 38) - 5* (in: Starcevich, Young out: Allen, Ryan, Chesser, Hunt, Petruccelle, Jamieson)
• Cat A rookie list (5 of 8) - 3* (in: Robertson (pending), out: Rawlinson)
• Cat B rookie list (1 of 2) - 2 (out: Livingstone)

* Based on Dewar being upgraded after the maximum 3 years on the rookie list. Hutchinson may also have been upgraded but this isn’t confirmed - if it is we will have 4 main and 4 rookie list spots open

* Matthew Clarke has stated we have 5 main list spots

Matt Clarke wraps up the trade period - 6PR

"Believe all women and demonise all men" is problematic. We'll stop on that. Time to move on.
No one has done that here and the fact you feel that is the case shows a fair whack of insecurity and ignorance. He deserves everything that’s come to him and more, and any and all AFLW players are well within their rights to make their voices heard if he is signed to an AFL club, or even a club at state level.

I actually like Hustwaite and reckon he'd be a handy aquisition for us, but agree he's doing absolutely nothing to sweeten the deal for Essendon and the Hawks can eat a bag of peens.
They also subbed him off super early (like half time) in the two most recent AFL matches he’s played. It’s pretty obvious that Mitchell doesn’t like him as a player, and it pretty much wrecks a player’s value if the long-term senior coach thinks he sucks.

I edited the post because Jesus Christ no, and we’re moving on.

How about those…Essendon Bombers…hey?

Anyone got any opinions on the Liam Baker or Tim Kelly trade we can burn a few pages with?

Has there been any more intel on players high on our list of priorities for the extra rookie spot?
Clohesy/McRae/Berry/Blamires etc.?

Seeing on reddit we’ve offered 3 years to Ted Clohessy…. Geelong boy?

Anything official on this ?
Watched a bit of Clohesy in his draft year, was strong as an Ox. Great core strength, really stick his tackles and always did good things with the footy. He just wasn't the prolific, but seems like he's really evolved.

Would love Ah Chee on our Wing/HFF. We better swoop in the unlikely event of him going to the psd happens
Middle ground between Brisbane's and Adelaide's offers appears to be approximately pick 22. If we wanted to go there, we'd be able to do it pretty easily, I imagine.

So Hawthorn have spent weeks/months grooming a player into asking for a trade. Then get to trade week, don’t make a serious offer first up forcing the negotiations into the final day whilst also trading away their most valuable trading chip

I’ve seen this movie before

Becoming quite the bunch of campaigners at the trade table. You do wonder if player managers might start to baulk at advising their players to look at moving to Hawthorn - especially when they’ve developed a habit of being rather indiscreet in their pursuit which has created problems for the player (Compare how Brisbane went about chasing Allen to Hawthorn’s approach)

I really do hope Essendon hold firm and refuse to trade Merrett as Hawthorn failing to get the deal done would likely harm their reputation. And what they’ve put up isn’t a particularly enticing offer

I also like that a player under contract won’t get his way, especially when it’s a whiny little flog like Merrett