List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade Thread - 2025 Edition Vol 3

Quick Links

List Changes - 2025
In:
  • Brandon Starcevich arrives at West Coast in a three team deal
  • Tylar Young (Richmond) arrived at West Coast in exchange for Pick 38.
  • Deven Robertson (Brisbane) has agreed to join West Coast and will be signed on to the rookie list after being delisted by Brisbane
Out:
  • Oscar Allen joins Brisbane as a FA - West Coast receive Pick 2 as compensation
  • Liam Ryan and a 2027 R3 pick has been traded to St Kilda for a 2026 R2 pick
  • Campbell Chesser has been traded to Carlton for Pick 41
  • Jayden Hunt announces retirement
  • Jack Petruccelle, Callum Jamieson and Loch Rawlinson not offered new contracts
  • Coen Livingstone joins the list of players not offered a new contract

Players Out of Contract - 2025 (0)
  • Jamie Cripps and Malakai Champion seem to have been offered new contracts despite there being no official announcement. Means that all players out of contract for 2025 have been given new contracts despite or removed from the playing list

2025 Draft Order

Current Draft Picks:
Round 1: 1, 2, 13
Round 2: 34, 41
Round 3: 53, 58 (These picks are in excess of available list spots so will be forfeited if we don’t consolidate our 2025 picks up the order or trade some for future picks)

List Spots Available (39 of 48):
• Main list (33 of 38) - 5* (in: Starcevich, Young out: Allen, Ryan, Chesser, Hunt, Petruccelle, Jamieson)
• Cat A rookie list (5 of 8) - 3* (in: Robertson (pending), out: Rawlinson)
• Cat B rookie list (1 of 2) - 2 (out: Livingstone)

* Based on Dewar being upgraded after the maximum 3 years on the rookie list. Hutchinson may also have been upgraded but this isn’t confirmed - if it is we will have 4 main and 4 rookie list spots open

* Matthew Clarke has stated we have 5 main list spots

Matt Clarke wraps up the trade period - 6PR

We've been pretty ruthless in letting Barrass, Allen and Ryan go, cutting Petrucelle, plus Witherden, Rotham, Trew, Jones etc the year before. There's a definite issue that we have a lot of unknown kids that we don't want to cut just yet. On the flipside, we could be a little more ruthless and retire Cripps, delist Cole, but unless there's a clear cut better option, I'm not sure what the benefit would be.
Yep. Especially in a draft that is seriously lacking depth.

Bank some high picks where the talent is, and save some players for list turnover next year (and who knows, 1 or 2 may surprise)

We have 3x R1 picks, a F/S and at least 2, possibly 3 NGA players of draftable quality. Plus two best 23 players traded in and another borderline best 23 player we’ve committed to signing on as a DFA

That’s 9-10 players added to a list containing 23 players who have spent 4 years or less on an AFL list

We’ve retired, delisted or traded 9 of the 44 players that started 2024 on our list - that’s a 20% turnover

List spots might appear tight but it’s no tighter than recent years and mainly due to us being in the relatively unique position for us of having multiple R1 picks and multiple NGA and F/S options

Players who were coming out of contract this year and extended were Dewar, Kelly, Bazzo, Cole and we think Cripps and Champion. Livingstone’s future remains uncertain

Given that another list spot would be filled by a late draft pick, a rookie draft pick or a DFA, I’m comfortable that we’ve extended that group.

It does seem unbelievable that we have had the worst individual season and worst run over the last 4 seasons any club has had in a long time. And our WAFL team is rubbish. Yet we are debating and struggling to find list spots. Maybe we need to be a bit more ruthless and cut our losses with non - performers a bit quicker. Don't let a small loss run on and become a big loss.
As you turn the list over more you're drafting youngsters on minimum year contracts(is it 2) so you cant move them
You're also trying to attract experienced talent who most likely are coming here on a 1 year deal so makes it tricky

Part of me likes Davis, seems like real goer and someone that can turn himself into a solid role player in a decent side. That said his kicking and speed tend to worry me to the point where I don’t think he’ll be a wingmen at AFL level.

He’s a solid build and at 191cm I wonder if we can turn him into a tagger/defensive midfielder like a Hutch/Graham.

Part of me likes Davis, seems like real goer and someone that can turn himself into a solid role player in a decent side. That said his kicking and speed tend to worry me to the point where I don’t think he’ll be a wingmen at AFL level.

He’s a solid build and at 191cm I wonder if we can turn him into a tagger/defensive midfielder like a Hutch/Graham.
My mate likens Davis to an Embley type and I tend to agree.

Chesser takes harder options, even in a year where Chesser’s kicking was below his standard (adjusting to the pace of the level?), his threat and retention ratings were better than Johnsons.

Johnson is not very good, although I would prefer him to pick 41 🤣
Johnson has been the length of Flemington straight better than Chesser, surely this can’t actually be a discussion.

Whispers that Duncan is trying to get his mate Guthrie over to play a season or 2 like Hodge.
I would love a fit Guthrie for a couple of seasons but hes played 10 games since 2022. Not a good stat at all.

"The 33-year-old has only played 10 games since lifting the 2022 premiership cup, dealing with significant Achilles, foot and quad injuries."

Whispers that Duncan is trying to get his mate Guthrie over to play a season or 2 like Hodge.
Main issue is that one of them was Luke Hodge and the other is a crocked Cam Guthrie.

WAFL maybe?

Embley was very inconsistent for the 1st few years of his career, really only came into his own after maybe 5 years.
Yeah not picking on any posters in particular but I hate that some form views on players after a tiny handful of games. 50 games is the magical mark I reckon, or a few seasons in the beagles. If they still look average by then, delist them.

What worries you about his speed? He seems very quick to make the right decision and hasn't had too many opportunities to go for a run. I reckon he's fine in that regard

I strongly disagree and really rate Davis.
I like him too and can see him making it but i just don’t see him being an AFL quality winger. I like his work rate and his ability to get the ball. He also shows that he’s got a bit of Iq. That said like I’ve mentioned I don’t think he will get any faster and his ball drops so horrid that his kicking will hardly improve. There’s no shame in being a Jack Graham or Mark Hutchings. Harley/Hewett/Mccarthy/Duursma need a defensive mid to complement them.

Endurance is probably the number one stat for a winger. He has that in spades. Then you look at speed and IQ. I think he is quick enough for the wing and definitely has a decent footy IQ.

Wing is probably the hardest position on the ground and one of our big weaknesses. Sure Davis may be a bust there but I like his attributes to give him a decent chance there. And being a pretty decent overhead marker as well adds a lot too.

Geelong should consider delisting Dangerfield

Guthrie would make as much sense as Tom Mitchell

Which isn’t much

Good player but not anymore