List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade Thread - 2025 Edition Vol 3

Quick Links

List Changes - 2025
In:
  • Brandon Starcevich arrives at West Coast in a three team deal
  • Tylar Young (Richmond) arrived at West Coast in exchange for Pick 38.
  • Deven Robertson (Brisbane) has agreed to join West Coast and will be signed on to the rookie list after being delisted by Brisbane
Out:
  • Oscar Allen joins Brisbane as a FA - West Coast receive Pick 2 as compensation
  • Liam Ryan and a 2027 R3 pick has been traded to St Kilda for a 2026 R2 pick
  • Campbell Chesser has been traded to Carlton for Pick 41
  • Jayden Hunt announces retirement
  • Jack Petruccelle, Callum Jamieson and Loch Rawlinson not offered new contracts
  • Coen Livingstone joins the list of players not offered a new contract

Players Out of Contract - 2025 (0)
  • Jamie Cripps and Malakai Champion seem to have been offered new contracts despite there being no official announcement. Means that all players out of contract for 2025 have been given new contracts despite or removed from the playing list

2025 Draft Order

Current Draft Picks:
Round 1: 1, 2, 13
Round 2: 34, 41
Round 3: 53, 58 (These picks are in excess of available list spots so will be forfeited if we don’t consolidate our 2025 picks up the order or trade some for future picks)

List Spots Available (39 of 48):
• Main list (33 of 38) - 5* (in: Starcevich, Young out: Allen, Ryan, Chesser, Hunt, Petruccelle, Jamieson)
• Cat A rookie list (5 of 8) - 3* (in: Robertson (pending), out: Rawlinson)
• Cat B rookie list (1 of 2) - 2 (out: Livingstone)

* Based on Dewar being upgraded after the maximum 3 years on the rookie list. Hutchinson may also have been upgraded but this isn’t confirmed - if it is we will have 4 main and 4 rookie list spots open

* Matthew Clarke has stated we have 5 main list spots

Matt Clarke wraps up the trade period - 6PR

The club (WC) did well to keep quiet with #2 on the table.

Fair point.

I guess no point giving him a back hander on the way out the door.

Geoff Walsh, then Collingwood Footy Manager, of Sharrod Wellingham once his trade to West Coast was confirmed...

"His record is one of a handy player who hasn't the scaled the heights in terms of best-and-fairest results," Walsh said.

"In terms of his consistency, he probably hasn't got there yet.

"Will he ever get there? I don't know."

:moustache:

I mean the optics aren’t great, and he’s not blameless - but what part of what he said isn’t true?

The old regime clearly loved him. The new less so, hence being guided out the door.

The inference is even if the club didn’t leak the story as some people have tried to tell me, he feels they definitely didn’t try and protect him from it. The opposite. There’s a bit of bitterness from that.

The other parts though are objectively true. We are in a hole off the field, he wasn’t really encouraged to stick around and the other club offered more $$$.

He’s a modern, sensitive dude and it speaks to his human vulnerabilies.

Um Oscar - ‘not having your back’ isn’t overpaying you with where our list is at based on your one good year & injury history. Look, it’s great for him another club in a very different situation are happy to fork out as potential icing on the cake.

I actually always thought he was a guy (having listened to his club pod spots for some years) that blurred confidence and arrogance pretty regularly. Like at the end of the day you were a captain, loved the club and wanted to stay but we didn’t think you were worth the price tag (which you weren’t). Sooking and making it sound personal in a media spot shows a lack of class, but for Oscar is par for the course. Me, me, me type of mindset masquerading as a leader more to be the top dog than to actually inspire is my hunch.

Hoping Brisbane’s flag run dries up and he catches our rise when his career winds up. That last part is less about him in particular - I’m not huge on many other clubs at the best of times.

Sure, there have been other past players I’ve been warmer on enjoying success when they move. I guess from what we can glean about players from the outside as supporters - some personalities will endear themselves to us more than others for various reasons. I hope he stinks it up tbf - all aboard the ShanaHANDS train toot toot

Oscar was the most boring captain the club ever had, every time he spoke I felt like head butting a wall, glad he feels wanted somewhere but maybe if he didn’t get injured every time he farted, he would’ve been wanted here on the ridiculous deal he wanted despite not deserving that said deal.

Wish him the best at Brisbane but he can stop with the poor me act, bloke was meeting with clubs well before we prioritised pick 2 over him.

Also didnt he meet with the Lions LAST year ? thats before he even met with Smitch.
That's also before any of the stuff happened this year.

Sure, it's his right to do that as a FA but I'm not sure he can claim he was unsupported when he was shopping himself around well before anything was public.

Oscar would've been nuts not to take the offer. More money, longer contract. At that point he became too expensive and risky for West Coast to match to compete - pick 2 coming in made it a no brainer from the club'a POV.

I don't think anyone needs to be bitter about it - with the exception of the Mitchell meeting. On a parallel I found it interesting that the Stracevich welcome video seemed to show him meeting the senior leaders for the first time - seemilngly everything prior was done through his agent (or at least that's the perception they are maintaining). That's the lesson from Oscar's departure for other players here.

Oscar would've been nuts not to take the offer. More money, longer contract. At that point he became too expensive and risky for West Coast to match to compete - pick 2 coming in made it a no brainer from the club'a POV.

I don't think anyone needs to be bitter about it - with the exception of the Mitchell meeting. On a parallel I found it interesting that the Stracevich welcome video seemed to show him meeting the senior leaders for the first time - seemilngly everything prior was done through his agent (or at least that's the perception they are maintaining). That's the lesson from Oscar's departure for other players here.

Yeah but why stay captain until the end and then as soon as you land where you’ve wanted to go claim that people in the club didn’t have your back anymore? Need to air that? Lacks class

So where did you get the idea sharp doesn't cover the ground well? Considering he play on ball the whole time, watching him at sanfl level he had no issues.
I was going to say he’s still finishing his 20m sprint from a week ago but turns out he didn’t even test at the combine.

There are plenty of slow pure inside mids who look good at state league level but don’t translate to AFL. Look at the long list of fringe or recycled guys we are looking at as top ups. And plenty still on lists but not damaging enough or able to keep up in the seniors. The absolute best (Rowell/Green etc) great but plenty more Hobbs/Phillips. Keeping in mind this is a weak draft without the absolute top end talent and the trend towards more dynamic and versatile types.

Below copied from ESPN re Sharp

The draft's most polarising prospect

There have been few more polarising prospects to come through the pathways in recent years than Dyson Sharp.

Some clubs have the SA captain right in that top echelon of talent after winning the Larke Medal at the championships, averaging 27 disposals and 1.3 goals as his state went undefeated. It's his combination of leadership, character and elite contested ball-winning that clubs love, but his detractions mean there's a wide range in which clubs would take the midfielder.

Sharp's athletic profile is concerning for clubs and he wasn't able to allay those fears this weekend after not testing at the combine. He has great strength through the hips but it's his speed and transition running outside of the contest that has other clubs overlooking him in top 10 discussions.

Despite producing one of the best junior careers in recent memory, there's a chance that Sharp slides past West Coast, Richmond and Essendon at the top of the board and into the next rung of clubs.

Given the shallower nature of 2025's crop compared to the past two seasons, it's difficult to see Sharp sliding too far. But he may become a needs-based decision with West Coast and GWS two such clubs looking for depth through the midfield.

Fans think players should take unders and be loyal to the club no matter what because they are fans. Nothing Allen said is controversial and people shouldn't have any ill feeling towards him. It's a business and this is a rare case where it might work out for both in the long run. But I'm sure Allen is a touch disappointed and would have preferred to stay.

I mean the optics aren’t great, and he’s not blameless - but what part of what he said isn’t true?

The old regime clearly loved him. The new less so, hence being guided out the door.

The inference is even if the club didn’t leak the story as some people have tried to tell me, he feels they definitely didn’t try and protect him from it. The opposite. There’s a bit of bitterness from that.

The other parts though are objectively true. We are in a hole off the field, he wasn’t really encouraged to stick around and the other club offered more $$$.

He’s a modern, sensitive dude and it speaks to his human vulnerabilies.

That's beside the point. Why say much of anything. Just mouth a few platitudes and move along with your sacks of cash.

Reeks of a bloke who was born with a silver spoon so far up his clacker he just can't fathom anyone not prioritising Oscar's needs and wants.

Phillips officially delisted along with Geordie Payne and Darcy Tucker.

Will Phillips has been cut.

Throw him on the 'well he's a breathing midfielder and they have extra spots' pile.

As a side, I know we cry about old mate Chess bailing but at least he wasn't Pick 3! Yikes.

COVID affected, but this might be the worst AFL draft ever

A lot of players flopped from that.
Trading picks out of that draft for Tim Kelly not the worst move in hindsight.

Phillips officially delisted along with Geordie Payne and Darcy Tucker.

The first round of the 2020 draft makes for grim reading.

1 - Jamarra Ugle-Hagan - fail (so far, pending new club)
2 - Riley Thilthorpe - pass
3 - Will Phillips - fail
4 - Logan McDonald - pass (pending injury recovery)
5 - Braeden Campbell - pass
6 - Denver Grainger-Barras - fail
7 - Elijah Hollands - borderline
8 - Nik Cox - fail
9 - Archie Perkins - borderline
10 - Zach Reid - fail
11 - Luke Pedlar - fail
12 - Tanner Bruhn - borderline (pending ahem legal proceedings)
13 - Tom Powell - pass
14 - Heath Chapman - pass
15 - Conor Stone - fail
16 - Lachlan Jones - pass
17 - Ollie Henry - pass
18 - Ryan Angwin - borderline
19 - Fin Macrae - fail
20 - Max Holmes - pass (and possibly the best so far)
21 - Jake Bowey - pass
22 - Bailey Laurie - fail
23 - Reef McInnes - borderline
24 - Blake Coleman - fail
25 - Brayden Cook - fail
26 - Matthew Allison - fail

I was generous with some of the passes if they have proven to be somewhat serviceable even if on the fringe. COVID pretty much made that year an inexact science.

Get Clohesy & Phillips. Nuff said.

Quite amazing how many young inside mids are being delisted this year though. Phillips, Hobbs, Dev, Schoenberg, Fin Macrae, George Stevens (promised a rookie spot though).

One thing I've noticed is none of these blokes are particularly quick or have many more facets to their game than pure inside mid. Two of these were taken inside the top 10, and some thereabouts too.

Remind anyone of Sharp?

See Ya Do Not Want GIF by reactionseditor

Why would he give up all that money? Gaff, Sheed, Nic Nat, Shuey etc all stuck around far after they were clearly cooked. Sheed was still on our list this year for crying out loud. West Coast truly panicked when they gave Yeo three extra years after playing a handful of good games.

I really respect the players with honest self reflection who are sensible enough to realise the game has passed them by and to go out on a high note with pride.

Even Gaff was still saying in his last year that he wanted to play on. Sometimes someone has to tap these guys on the shoulder and be like nah mate you're done.

But seeing as Yeo is contracted for 2027, even if he plays 0 games this year I wouldn't be at all surprised if he sticks around. Money and fame are a hell of a drug and hard to give up.
Leave early? Only with a negotiated payout.

I don’t care how ‘honourable’ you think you are, I double-dare you to walk away from a million dollar-bucks.

Particularly as a sports person with a limited earning life.

Simply.Not.Happening.

Jack Petruccelle is available as a DFA, any chance?

Not sure who is bitter, all I know are delighted.

What happened to Will Phillips?

POSITION: Inside Midfielder

DRAFT ANALYSIS: "Phillips is arguably the best pure midfielder available in this year's pool; a clean, tough, and complete ball winner who remains ultra-consistent." - Michael Alvaro

Must have got North Melbourned...