List Mgmt. Contracts. Trades. Draft. Other Assorted Crap. 2020 Edition

Plus the Swans desperately need points for Campbell and Goulden. Can’t see them giving away a shitload of them for a journeyman backup ruck.

If the deal involved our picks 49 and 54 they equate to 507 points. Pick 22 is 845 points.

Hickey valued at the difference of 338 points is pick 46.

Would be ok if we wanted to offload Hickey as we dont need or want him. But we do.

Vardy instead of Hickey looks better.

If Alir Alir goes to Port the Swans will be getting even shorter on ruck / kp backs.

If Freo are picking up the tab for part of his pay packet WC could get good value mid out of Connor Blakely.
🤮🤮🤮🤮🤮🤮🤮

If the deal involved our picks 49 and 54 they equate to 507 points. Pick 22 is 845 points.

Would be ok if we wqnted to offload Hickey as we dont need or want him. But we do.

Vardy is worth nothing of value .

Hickey could be packaged up to a club with academy players like your former trade . Hickey + X X late picks equals good value for a club who would lose an earlier pick anyway .

Vardy as a back up on the list another year I would be ok with as long as Williams gets first shot if natanui isn't available.

Hickey + picks 49 and 54 for Swans 22 and 56.

Eagles future 2nd to Gold Coast for pick 24 and 33.? Reported clubs very reluctant to trade future picks this year, so let us take advantage. (again :$ :$ )

We go drafting with picks 22, 24, 30, 33 and 56.

Or we combine two picks to get into the 1st.

If a club decides to back-end a player's salary (e.g. Treloar) how can they expect the next club to effectively subsidise the club of origin's previous contract?
Surely they should have to cough up the balance underpaid and possibly even at the point of trade as a lump sum, or the outstanding amount over the duration of the unfulfilled contract.

I suppose that could open a can of worms for front-ended contracts though.
However as this is done to fit players into future caps, maybe that is just a risk of this process?

Would be ok if we wanted to offload Hickey as we dont need or want him. But we do.

No way anyone is doing that deal for Vardy after his 2019 and 2020 seasons.

If we can trade Vardy for anything better than pick 60 we should do it and keep hickey. If we can't then I reckon we should trade Hickey. He's very handy on our list but we just need the draft currency so badly. List spots are dime a dozen for us given the huge amounts of potential outs we have on our list.

Potential Outs:
Schofield
Jetta
Hutchings
Vardy
Watson
Treacy
Ah Chee
Brayshaw
reid
Oneill
Rioli
Venables

Very convenient year for list sizes to be reduced for us TBH as we have a lot of players not deserving of a spot. Hopefully the weird draft leaves some talent with later picks floating around and we go deep or find some handy DLA's in the list squeeze.

Edit: removed foley, thanks for pointing out my oversight.

If we can trade Vardy for anything better than pick 60 we should do it and keep hickey. If we can't then I reckon we should trade Hickey. He's very handy on our list but we just need the draft currency so badly. List spots are dime a dozen for us given the huge amounts of potential outs we have on our list.

Potential Outs:
Schofield
Jetta
Hutchings
Vardy
Watson
Treacy
Ah Chee
Brayshaw
Foley
reid
Oneill
Rioli
Venables

Very convenient year for list sizes to be reduced for us TBH as we have a lot of players not deserving of a spot. Hopefully the weird draft leaves some talent with later picks floating around and we go deep or find some handy DLA's in the list squeeze.

Foley signed an extension at the same time as Petch and XON

If a club decides to back-end a player's salary (e.g. Treloar) how can they expect the next club to effectively subsidise the club of origin's previous contract?
Surely they should have to cough up the balance underpaid and possibly even at the point of trade as a lump sum, or the outstanding amount over the duration of the unfulfilled contract.

I suppose that could open a can of worms for front-ended contracts though.
However as this is done to fit players into future caps, maybe that is just a risk of this process?

Good question. Contracts and salaries in the AFL don't mean much.

Look at Jon Patton. One year left on a reportedly sizeable contract at GWS, traded to Hawthorn for peanuts and is contracted for 2-3 years there. What obligation do they have to pay the balance of his previous deal? Obviously if you are owed $1m for a year then you wouldn't expect to sign elsewhere for any less than $1m total over however many years, but it's not transparent. For someone like him who has had a couple of ACLs maybe it's worth earning $700k over two years than $800k over one knowing you are going to be on a list longer with access to medical facilities etc.

I think paying part salaries is just a mechanism to encourage clubs to take players. Like Josh Jenkins to Geelong last year. Adelaide had cap space (and you have to spend it) so figured paying $200k for a guy not there was better than paying $700k for a guy playing SANFL. Jenkins gets his money, Geelong get a player they can fit into the cap, Adelaide take a small hit.

I think Jettas playing days are done. Retire and be with your kids mate.

I think Hutch is probably done also.

Both have been great servants - but clubs have to be ruthless about playing lists (especially when they are about to be downsized) - if (for various reasons) neither of these players were viewed as B22 in a cut-throat final - then their papers are stamped.

They have both had multiple seasons of injury issues - with those injuries recurrences (rather than impact injuries etc). Sadly it is time for both to move on - I think they have a bit left to offer on-field, but firstly they need to be consistently on the field - and secondly the coaching staff need to view them as B22 or at minimum B25 to justify their retention (and I'm not sure they see them as that).

I heard Josh keen to play with his Brother Tim Kelly this year at Eagles

Tim reportedly upset at Josh calling him "my Brutha"

If it’s between Hutchings and Jetta because ainsworth already delisted then I’m taking Jetta. Hutchings is an honest player but he’ll be 30 and no standout traits.

But fu** me, we better not keep Ainsworth ahead of them both

Ainsworth much younger than both of them, was selected more often than both of them this year and was picked for a final ahead of them.

You’re setting yourself up to be pissed off.

Adam Simpson on TABradio saying we will be Reasonably active and have a couple of targets. Langdon and ? Cox?
Hopefully players with more pedigree than the two above. Granted we dont have much capital to work with and Langdon fills a need. Be interesting to see what if anyone else we have in our sights based on those comments.

Ainsworth much younger than both of them, was selected more often than both of them this year and was picked for a final ahead of them.

You’re setting yourself up to be pissed off.

Hutchings in the final was understandable but not Jetta. it was the wrong decision pre game and even worse post game.

Ainsworth goes against everything this club has preached about skills since Simpson took charge and I guess the good thing is he doesn’t get the ball enough to stuff it up too often.

Praying to the footy gods he doesn’t get the McInnes good bloke 8 year career

I think Hutch is probably done also.

Both have been great servants - but clubs have to be ruthless about playing lists (especially when they are about to be downsized) - if (for various reasons) neither of these players were viewed as B22 in a cut-throat final - then their papers are stamped.

They have both had multiple seasons of injury issues - with those injuries recurrences (rather than impact injuries etc). Sadly it is time for both to move on - I think they have a bit left to offer on-field, but firstly they need to be consistently on the field - and secondly the coaching staff need to view them as B22 or at minimum B25 to justify their retention (and I'm not sure they see them as that).

Agreed.

Both good players but father time and injury has slowed them down physically and IMO mentally in Jetta's case. He seems to be cruising along picking up the pay cheque.

Hickeys trade value (luckily) is actually more than his talent is worth

He is an adequate AFL first ruck who is unfortunately caught behind a star

he’s better than Preuss who is in the same position - but Hickey has proven form

i hope we don’t do a straight swap for someone like Langdon -although the talent would be equivalent - the trade strengths aren’t

hickeys worth about pick 35-40

though I reckon we will get closer to early 20s for him

West article not facts but speculation ....JK and Hurn out in 2022 , Eagles big bid on Paddy Cripps . Could be a good idea as we may not lose picks as Cripps will be a RFA .
The article based on S Silvagni' s opinion should Carlton have another average season ( no finals ) again ....seems to think Cripps to WCE is a good chance .
Sounds good what could possibly go wrong in the meantime we need to find another Dean Kemp and another wingman like P Matera !!