Mega Thread Coronavirus & the AFL - Stage 4 Restrictions in Place in Vic - Part 3

This is part Three.

Part One can be found here -

Part Two can be found here -

Part 4 can be found here:

Australian stats page:

Last edited by a moderator:
If WA listened to the numb sets from Victoria we would have stacked in as many os travellers as possible into quarantine and hired bargain basement security to watch them Victorian premier style.However nobody in WA takes advise from big footy posters so no chance of a victoria type covid-19 occurance in WA.
Who was guarding the hotel where the guy kept doing a runner and using public transport?

WA should really have 0 cases by now like SA and Tasmania both do.
well Perth is a destination point of travel for all of Asia. No surprise peeps are getting off boats and planes with COVID19. Adelaide and Hobart on the other hand are geographically not checkpoint for trade

Now your are being silly with your ..... is there a word like Nationalistic, but referring to states, Bullshit.

Who was guarding the hotel where the guy kept doing a runner and using public transport?

I believe it was also a private security company (might be wrong).

Think the issue is not hiring a private contractor - the issue is proper vetting and ensuring compliance. The inquiry will reveal more but there must be serious failings if multiple people meant to be guarding the quarantine hotels contracted COVID.

I believe it was also a private security company (might be wrong).

Think the issue is not hiring a private contractor - the issue is proper vetting and ensuring compliance. The inquiry will reveal more but there must be serious failings if multiple people meant to be guarding the quarantine hotels contracted COVID.
From memory I don't think there was any security, he just walked out the door and eventually the hotel staff called the cops in.

It might be but I know during the early days the WA government - and every other government - was making it up as they went along. It was haphazard and rushed. I think since then there has been zero issues with security breaches or infection of staff. Hence the government successfully petitioning the Federal government to limit overseas arrivals - each quarantine hotel is a special situation that needs lots of preparation and planning.

WA should really have 0 cases by now like SA and Tasmania both do.
Geez you’re painful. They’re all overseas and interstate returned travellers currently in hotel quarantine.

WA hasn’t has a community case for over 11 weeks (2 weeks Longer than Tassie)

WA may end like Victoria if they aren't careful.
View attachment 909831
These numbers could indicate a new trend in WA, the numbers may not look like much at present, but remember that Victoria had a similar trend early on before things got out of control.
You’ve been trying to push this barrow for months and it’s embarrassing. Every single one of those cases is a returned traveller, there’s not a single case of community transmission and hasn’t been for a long time. Stop trying to wish it on WA because of some petty rivalry. It only reflects on you.

Brisbane is a geographical checkpoint for trade even more so than Perth, yet despite this.

WA - 19 active cases
QLD - 2 active cases

The excuse you're using doesn't cut it unfortunately, otherwise QLD wouldn't have a measly 2 active cases in their state.

Geez you’re painful. They’re all overseas and interstate returned travellers currently in hotel quarantine.

WA hasn’t has a community case for over 11 weeks (2 weeks Longer than Tassie)

WA should be in the same boat as SA and Tasmania, states which have 0 active cases.

You’ve been trying to push this barrow for months and it’s embarrassing. Every single one of those cases is a returned traveller, there’s not a single case of community transmission and hasn’t been for a long time. Stop trying to wish it on WA because of some petty rivalry. It only reflects on you.

If this is true then why do Queensland only have 2 active cases?
Brisbane are more relevant than Perth when it comes to being a geographical checkpoint.

Well i'm in Victoria , and I've never had a Covid Case in my house ever....

amidoingitright?

It was so obvious 🙄 community transmission was still apparent. And it was we are going to the pub again, stadiums will be full, open your borders..pretty sad really. So close but so far away.
Good luck victorians. Hopefully nsw is watching.

On the bright side we are going to have 2 games a week in perth. Only 50% attendance but imagine being able to go to 2 games on a weekend.
Done it often. Was fun. Might have even gone to 3 some weekends but that was when football was more watchable which was not any time recent.

I had a quick browse of what teams half the league clubs still have to play, just to get a feel for the task at hand for the group of people working on the rest of the fixture. Seriously do not envy them. When they do announce the next section of rounds they probably going to have to also announce a different way of looking at this season format. The old home and away format has to be wiped from mind this season due to too many challenges to even get close to that happening for all clubs. They need to aim for some other format which they set one condition in place already. Everyone plays each other once is primary aim and second aim should simply be, because you cannot give clubs home games as such, you got to try to make as many neutral games as possible to be even and secondly as close as possibly to same amount of away games. The number of games each club gets as a real home game, really has to be thrown out the door as it going to be too hard to achieve. All you can do is minimise the disadvantages.

Normally you aim to give every club 11 home games. That is going to be impossible to achieve this season, the aim has to be something else. Probably based on the same amount of neutral venue games, rather than whether home or away. Whatever they do it, they going to have to sell the concept to fans to understand the rest of what is coming.

If you were the CEO of a Victorian club would you rather play a Home game in Melbourne and make no money or play a "home" game interstate and make money?

Honestly hardly anyone cares in Victoria there are other things to worry about. Just play the ****ing games wherever.
It might mean in 6 weeks or so if things calm down here some players might return home for a bit, well so be it there will be others to replace them.

If you were the CEO of a Victorian club would you rather play a Home game in Melbourne and make no money or play a "home" game interstate and make money?
There are no real home games at this point. Just games, mostly on the road. As nobody can plan what is even possible 7 weeks ahead the concept of home and away has to be wiped as an idea. Try to give all 18 clubs as much chance as possible to have same chance of not losing heaps of money. Neutral games is going to be the majority this season.

Hopefully Victoria can get this under control quickly, what is happening in the US is scary, they now have more active cases than the entire population of South Australia.

Brisbane is a geographical checkpoint for trade even more so than Perth, yet despite this.

WA - 19 active cases
QLD - 2 active cases

The excuse you're using doesn't cut it unfortunately, otherwise QLD wouldn't have a measly 2 active cases in their state.
Holy crow mate, it is not a competition you know. Playing footy and sticking it to supporters is fine but not corona virus numb nuts. This is way too serious to turn it into State against state crap.

The guy was repeatedly posting WA active cases back when we had that container ship arrive, harping on about how all these active cases meant we were ahead of Victoria per capita, therefore WA hosting a hub was rubbish, it's a filthy infestation etc etc even when people pointed out to him every single case was in quarantine and we did not have any community transmission.

Look how quiet he is now about the WA vs Victoria comparisons.

So, have Victorians taken the new restrictions on board?
In particular have the 20-30 year olds changed their behaviour?

It’s all well and good to impose restrictions and fine people when you find them, but until the people start doing the right thing on their own volition: stay at home as much as possible, wear a mask when you go out, Keep your distance, this is going to get a lot lot worse.

WA - 19 active cases
QLD - 2 active cases

WA should be in the same boat as SA and Tasmania, states which have 0 active cases.

If this is true then why do Queensland only have 2 active cases?
Brisbane are more relevant than Perth when it comes to being a geographical checkpoint.

Lel .I explain slow for simple folk with nothing better to do.
Airplane come in sky land at airport in Perth.Passengers go to lock em up hotel get covid-19 test.Test results say 10 passenger from flight from Dubai got covid-19 .11 passenger from flight from Doha got covid-19 ...
Victorian not understand that WA gateway entry to Australia for many country but West not surprised by ignorance on east

Got a feeling Victoria will be clean in time but it will spread like wildfire in the other states,right now the calm before the storm............

Roles will be reversed,Victorians in pubs drinking some beers,while the other states feel the effects.

Then interstaters will sneak into Victoria and away we go again.

The advantage WA has is it’s huge size and small population,Victoria is tiny in comparison but with a large population all hugging the metropolitan area.

lol humans.

Gees I miss just walking down Punt Road and into a pub.

Simple things in life are often the best.

Covid 19 will be replaced by suicide watch 20 if this keeps up.