Mega Thread Coronavirus & the AFL - Stage 4 Restrictions in Place in Vic - Part 3

This is part Three.

Part One can be found here -

Part Two can be found here -

Part 4 can be found here:

Australian stats page:

Last edited by a moderator:
Les comes from WA, it’s true. The numbers of extremists came from an ASIS report.
I haven’t heard of letter drops anywhere else but Melbourne.
I haven’t seen as much hatred directed at any other premier as has been directed at Dan Andrews. That seems to have been primarily from Victorians.

Really, the major difference in outcomes (so far) has been that WA was fortunate enough to get rid of community transmission before opening up. Elimination works. Suppression doesn’t.

...and yet, as I said earlier the three of the biggest contributors to this thread come from WA. If you’ve eradicated the virus over there, I’m not sure why you’re so obsessed with the “Melbourne Virus” as one inter state journalist called it yesterday.

Mostly you. You react emotionally and protectively to the perceived slight on your beloved state, even if that wasn’t written or intended.
You have a weird obsession against the state and it’s people. I live in Victoria but I consider myself a proud West Australian. I just don’t subscribe to the notion that the people of Victoria have taken this less seriously than the people of WA. I know heaps of people in both states and there has been no clear difference in thought or behaviour.

Maybe you need to re-read your posts before hitting reply rather than others getting it wrong.

Haha you have been so vocal on WA being better and taking it more seriously. I get annoyed because you constantly suggest people in Victoria have brought this on themselves when the vast majority have done nothing different to the vast majority of WA/SA/QLD.

It's really only a small "culturally diverse" subsection of Melbourne found primarily in the North and Western suburbs that hasn't done the right thing. The vast majority of the population undoubtedly (East and South) has abided by social distancing rules.

Les comes from WA, it’s true. The numbers of extremists came from an ASIS report.
I haven’t heard of letter drops anywhere else but Melbourne.
I haven’t seen as much hatred directed at any other premier as has been directed at Dan Andrews. That seems to have been primarily from Victorians.

Really, the major difference in outcomes (so far) has been that WA was fortunate enough to get rid of community transmission before opening up. Elimination works. Suppression doesn’t.

Facts are if andrews didnt **** up the hotels it wouldn't have gotten out.

They have confirmed the genetic makeup now is entirely different from months ago indicating all current cases are from os.

If this rubbish about ongoing community transmission was true there would still be genetics to link them.

Yep the running of the hotels in Victoria was a massive fu** up. Massive.

The taking in of large numbers of returned Australian residents and ex pats without accountability and regulation was the major **** up and then using bargain basement security without follow up checks and balances.
WA via McGowan said that shit won't stand in WA and was ridiculed for it in some quarters.Anyway after a meeting with the PM yesterday os returnee numbers have been halved and they will be paying for their own quarantine from next week.The PM will take credit for the changes but it was McGowan who pushed for the changes and made a stand on the issue.

The taking in of large numbers of returned Australian residents and ex pats without accountability and regulation was the major fu** up and then using bargain basement security without follow up checks and balances.
WA via McGowan said that sh*t won't stand in WA and was ridiculed for it in some quarters.Anyway after a meeting with the PM yesterday os returnee numbers have been halved and they will be paying for their own quarantine from next week.The PM will take credit for the changes but it was McGowan who pushed for the changes and made a stand on the issue.

....Andrews called for a break on International arrivals first into Victoria (because of the stuff up), then Gladys restricted the amount that would go into NSW to a sustainable amount.

But yes it was McGowan’s idea 😉

....Andrews called for a break on International arrivals first into Victoria (because of the stuff up), then Gladys restricted the amount that would go into NSW to a sustainable amount.

But yes it was McGowan’s idea 😉

Yep.They did not have the vision to see the bigger issue and try and slow down the amount of os arrivals into Australia they just tried to pass the problem on to other states.
Different mentality ,smaller minds lack of vision compared to WA.

...and yet, as I said earlier the three of the biggest contributors to this thread come from WA. If you’ve eradicated the virus over there, I’m not sure why you’re so obsessed with the “Melbourne Virus” as one inter state journalist called it yesterday.

Was it a WA journo?

I want footy back. I loved going to Melbourne to watch footy. I look forward to seeing footy between Victorian teams in Perth. I’d like the virus to be eliminated everywhere in Australia.
I think elimination is the only strategy that works and suppression just leaves you open to a series of spikes and risks of contagion.

No. I was asking. It’s a pretty ordinary comment for a a journalist.
I wasn’t projecting. You were.

I’m not the one that assumed “interstate journalist” meant WA Journalist....

If you were interested in the comment or the journalist you could’ve asked who it was rather than associating a state with it.

I’m not the one that assumed “interstate journalist” meant WA Journalist....

If you were interested in the comment or the journalist you could’ve asked who it was rather than associating a state with it.

I didn’t assume. You are correct. I could have asked which state. Which state? Who was it?

Hopefully Victoria can get this under control quickly, what is happening in the US is scary, they now have more active cases than the entire population of South Australia.
Bloody Nora! Check out the new cases for yesterday!

A57077CB-7D92-43A5-91FC-4FAEC11F0572.png 93E4FF54-6B86-4E30-A7D7-1A771DB34E78.png

is it hard work being this dumb?
NSW currently has over 450 cases in quarantine.
If WA counted active cases the same as NSW there would be zero cases in WA

Explain why WA have more active cases than Queensland do, since no one else has given an explanation for it so far.

216 (unconfirmed)

Probably expected with the current trends, will be in the 100’s & 200’s until we get past the incubation period for the first postcode lockdown
I reckon that’s a pretty good result, after 288 the day before.
Hospitalisations only increased by 5.

WA eradicated the virus.. yeah ok.

20200711_145814.jpg
SA and Tasmania are the only states to have succeeded in eradicating the virus.