News Coronavirus Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Gasometer

And while we’re on it. Saw The Dubliners in Dublin in 2013 (I think).
Was their second last ever live show.
Magnificent.
Pogues at the palace in about 1990 was unreal. Shane MacGowan made it thru about 3 songs and as many bottles, fell over, was dragged off stage and came back on about 5 minutes later with a belly arm full of something fast.

Two songs and another bottle later he fell over and passed out in the corner.

**** the band were good tho.

Quality musos.

And it's the only mosh pit I've ever had to retire early from after copping too much of a beating.

Not suggesting you’re wrong , what happens to uni’s and their fragile 20 plus year experimentS? These include live animals . Just curious, or the data centres which are the brains of all uni’s and require attention ?
I don't think lock down is as bad as it sounds. Essential services continue. The borders close, schools close, most shops close, public transport shuts down and many jobs. But the essentials - hospitals, police, supermarkets, I even think bottleshops will stay open.

Closing schools is not as easy as it sounds. On balance of probability, closing schools will lead to many more hours of unpaid childcare performed by grandparents. Which is not a problem in itself, but it does mean that this more vulnerable section of the community may be placed in greater danger of the virus.

All of the evidence so far points to children being in very little danger from covid-19, whereas their grandparents are in the highest risk sector. One of the aims of the Federal and State Governments approach is to spread the "curve" of the disease over a longer flatter period of infections so as to reduce the call on hospital intensive care units as much as possible.

Hence closing schools and potentially seeing an upsurge in a section of those people who might be most expected to be sickest and therefore in most need of ICU care, is not a decision to be taking lightly.

If I had to choose, I would prefer to see more younger people getting an apparently easy for them to overcome illness than I would older more vulnerable and likely to die older people get it.

An interesting situation from a personal point of view. About 18 months ago after a flight to Queensland I ended up with a DVT. Yesterday I had an appointment with a Haematology specialist from the Cabrini Haematology and Oncology Centre, to review an ultrasound of the affected area completed last week. Her secretary rang me yesterday to change our appointment to a tele-consultation, to be conducted around the same time yesterday.

She never got a chance to ring me until 6.30 tonight because they have so much work to prepare for an expected influx of immune deficient cancer patients. She also told me that they are converting a number of wards at Cabrini into the equivalent of ICU units, in expectation of a high level of demand over the coming days and weeks.

It just places where people will gather together and spread the virus that is chopped out.

Closing schools is not as easy as it sounds. On balance of probability, closing schools will lead to many more hours of unpaid childcare performed by grandparents. Which is not a problem in itself, but it does mean that this more vulnerable section of the community may be placed in greater danger of the virus.

All of the evidence so far points to children being in very little danger from covid-19, whereas their grandparents are in the highest risk sector. One of the aims of the Federal and State Governments approach is to spread the "curve" of the disease over a longer flatter period of infections so as to reduce the call on hospital intensive care units as much as possible.

Hence closing schools and potentially seeing an upsurge in a section of those people who might be most expected to be sickest and therefore in most need of ICU care, is not a decision to be taking lightly.

If I had to choose, I would prefer to see more younger people getting an apparently easy for them to overcome illness than I would older more vulnerable and likely to die older people get it.

An interesting situation from a personal point of view. About 18 months ago after a flight to Queensland I ended up with a DVT. Yesterday I had an appointment with a Haematology specialist from the Cabrini Haematology and Oncology Centre, to review an ultrasound of the affected area completed last week. Her secretary rang me yesterday to change our appointment to a tele-consultation, to be conducted around the same time yesterday.

She never got a chance to ring me until 6.30 tonight because they have so much work to prepare for an expected influx of immune deficient cancer patients. She also told me that they are converting a number of wards at Cabrini into the equivalent of ICU units, in expectation of a high level of demand over the coming days and weeks.
If school closures coincide with general work closures it will work better.

There will (should) be plans in place to support the families of essential services.

They would give a bit of notice before total lockdown

If it does happen, reckon they will call it starting Friday not Wednesday to give people notice

What industry at you in Tas? Asking as I'm currently on a project involving autopsies and molecular diagnostics.

On SM-G965F using BigFooty.com mobile app

I'm in the industry of Internet knowitall. :stern look

Bean counter, just read up on a lot of stuff that interests me, happy for experts to correct me if I am wrong.

Pogues at the palace in about 1990 was unreal. Shane MacGowan made it thru about 3 songs and as many bottles, fell over, was dragged off stage and came back on about 5 minutes later with a belly arm full of something fast.

Two songs and another bottle later he fell over and passed out in the corner.

fu** the band were good tho.

Quality musos.

And it's the only mosh pit I've ever had to retire early from after copping too much of a beating.
Good times.

I have seen plenty of music in plenty of places, but i don't think anything beat the Melbourne music scene in the early 90s.

Some places might seem better, eg London, but it was so spread out and hard to keep track of. Melbourne had tight street press and radio and all the shows were within 15kms - city, st kilda, fitzroy, richmond, and the best bands in the world coming to play.

- Largest employer in the country to guarantee paid leave for casual staff.
- Absorbing huge penalty rate surges at 0% cost base increases to meet demand
- Keeping up with historical demand with 0% cost base increase.
- Pre empting government actions by generating 5,000+ jobs to help curb the unemployment crisis.
- Created segregated time period for the elderly and disabled to shop outside of demand surges.

"systematic RORTING of worker"!

This ladies and gentleman, is someone that has no experience outside of a text book.

They rorted the **** out of their workers. But I've been in Woolies twice in the last week and the prices seemed a little higher today. The drought milk that doesn't go to farmers was 20c higher.

Most other stuff was usual price.

Good times.

I have seen plenty of music in plenty of places, but i don't think anything beat the Melbourne music scene in the early 90s.

Some places might seem better, eg London, but it was so spread out and hard to keep track of. Melbourne had tight street press and radio and all the shows were within 15kms - city, st kilda, fitzroy, richmond, and the best bands in the world coming to play.

Yeah. Those were the days my friend.

Kim Salmon would play for free on Monday nights in my local pub and brought some amazing musos along for the jam sessions.

You do realise Gaso Jr and 99,000 other Vic kids have 2 weeks school holidays starting in 10 days...

Trump is NOT an immunologist/virologist/microbiologist!!!

He takes recommendations from experts just like every other politician, but don't let that little matter get in the way of your political opportunism.

The level of sincerity from you lot on this issue, serves to highlight how little there is between you & the type of person found in western politics.

At what point did you start defending the worst failures of the state.

They seem to be saving the tests for celebrities and politicians. Granted politicians are at a higher risk being out in the community but there are only 631 state and 227 federal politicians - 858 from a population of 25 million. If that ratio translated to confirmed cases, there'd be just one politician infected for every 29,000 Australians yet we already have at least three (?) politicians testing positive out of just 450 confirmed cases.

Politicians would be a pretty high risk category, lot of travel, lot of meetings with a lot of people who have traveled, handshakes out the whazoo, an ingrained culture of ignoring the advice they give to us plebians.

That said I also guarantee that the 'rules' are being ignored when it comes to the testing of celebrities and politicians etc.

Mate the Sydney Siege, the bushfires, the 2008 financial crisis, and the waging wars overseas that have lasted over a decade and still going, and there's probably, even more I can list, wasn't that long ago.

The country's been through some shit, it hasn't been all roses and rainbows here every year.

Most people experience that stuff from their lounge room.

It's time to get serious. In Perth today to health care workers have proven positive. Both after returning some weeks back from overseas.
One works in an aged care home and the other in the birthing suite of a private hospital.
A nursing home is now in lockdown and multiple mum's have been sent home with their newborn babies to isolate and pray for the best.
This is bloody real. Shit the bloody boarders, lock the damn country down and everyone suck it up for a few weeks.

Still though, had pretty big impact on the largest city - Sydney, months of choking smoke.

Wonder what that will do to their chances of surviving this shit. My lungs ... I've probably had the equivalent of 1000 durries during the fire season.

The good thing is the dry cough I had months ago is gone.

Rumours of it happening over the past week but several universities in Australia have been told to cease human to human research and seek alternatives (could be short or long term). Which basically means online interviews or questionnaires :drunk:

I assume places like AIS may have to resort to canning VO2max/peak testing and replacing it with good old fashioned beep/yo yo tests at an oval or indoor courts.

Apparently up to the discretion for each department and only recommendations but that's 4 universities in 3 states (that I know of - what's Deakin doing The acurate one ). I expect others to follow suit as word spreads. Very interested to see the knock-on effect this has for research - there are those partially through studies; those that have received grants/scholarships...

It's all well and good to say delay it but it may not be feasible with many moving parts. If it gets worse recruitment may become harder in the short term (already a big issue in Australia). I look forward to legitimate Journals having fluff papers - watered-down sections until this is cleared up.

If it's happening here it'll be happening in other countries too.

Just looking at the stats, Germany seems to be handling things better than others. Germany has nearly twice as many cases as USA. However, they have only 20 deaths and 1 critical. USA has 93 deaths and 12 critical. France has less cases than Germany but has 148 deaths and 400 critical! Australia seem to tracking fairly well on that score so far.