News Coronavirus Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Gasometer

Yeah if that National Cabinet makes a decision, they'll implement it (der!)

Morrison and Dutton can just decide to announce something and there's no obligation on Vic or NSW to apply it.

In the 1918/19 pandemic WA and Tasmania actually threatened to withdraw from the federation, and did actually withdraw from some federal elements to protect their populations.

(Sorry for using my journalistic training and political experience to add useful and interesting information here btw.)

Mate, we tend to want to secede every couple of years, I don’t think disasters have much to do with it :P

The hoarding and panic buying has been a disgrace and something we should be ashamed of.

Being a sole carer for an 85 year old and being immunocompromised myself, something as simple as having hand sanitiser becomes very important at times like now.

She's got a rasping cough this morning. The glands are up in my throat. GP appointment via phone this arvo.

Fair to say I'm as worried as fu**.

Hope you get better soon mate 👍

Did you just call Snake_Baker remarkable?

Wubonic Plague tearing down walls and mending fences. Beautiful to see.
You think the Germans have a remarkable sense of humor?

Maybe all these times I've thought you're being funny you're actually deadly serious.

With a sense of humor (or lack there of) similar to Tefs.

I got drunk with some great German girls in Beirut many moons ago.

They were denying that German is a harsh sounding language so I said to one: "Look me in the eyes and say in German 'I will love you until the stars fall down from the sky'"

a) She laughed because it was such a cheesy attempt
b) She only got halfway through before her friends burst into laughter and said, yes, it does sounds like you're demanding to see his papers at a checkpoint
c) It did work

The Germans are great fun and can be very funny. The whole "Germans are humourless" is just Pommy propaganda from the war.

Yuk. I’m actually thinking about going full carnivore
Actually I reckon you could last a long time on meat with just spuds and onions on the side!
Stock the freezer with meat, stock the pantry with the other two and fill the fridge with beer.
Happy days!

Or even better try vegetarian. I went to coles and the entire meat section was empty. You know what wasn't...Beyond Burger. Frozen veg...empty. Frozen vegetarian meats = full.

Proof that all you murders will perish while the animal lovers among us will prosper.

If push comes to shove I'm sure the vegetarian fed other other white meat will fill the gap.....

Wow, look at all the rationalist independent thinkers spouting straight up political bullshit aimed at furthering the new Cold War.

Out of the 6 people 80+ in NSW to contract the virus, 3 have died.

Interesting stats, but to be fair, people aged 80+ are much more likely to die from any viral disease, so it is hard to analyze.

They were denying that German is a harsh sounding language so I said to one: "Look me in the eyes and say in German 'I will love you until the stars fall down from the sky'"

b) She only got halfway through before her friends burst into laughter and said, yes, it does sounds like you're demanding to see his papers at a checkpoint
c) It did work

The Germans are great fun and can be very funny. The whole "Germans are humourless" is just Pommy propaganda from the war.
Company I used to work for had a German office so dealt and drank with plenty of them. I've also worked for a German multinational. The whole "Germans are humourless" is pretty much spot on.

With a sense of humor (or lack there of) similar to Tefs.
I'm sure there's a monty python sketch I can fit in here; o, there is.

The hoarding and panic buying has been a disgrace and something we should be ashamed of.

Being a sole carer for an 85 year old and being immunocompromised myself, something as simple as having hand sanitiser becomes very important at times like now.

She's got a rasping cough this morning. The glands are up in my throat. GP appointment via phone this arvo.

Fair to say I'm as worried as fu**.

All the very best Grogg. Hopefully though it is one of the usual viral suspects running around now - not that there is anything much good about those either

My only worry with most of the state/fed health medical officers around the country, is that they don't have a whole heap of experience with infectious disease mitigation.

I'm listening more closely to what the WHO is saying in regards to this, especially those battle hardened experts that have managed the Ebola, H1N1 outbreaks etc.

Hopefully though and I am confident that they are listening to the best epidemiologists around the country. I was a little concerned though on hearing the criticism from Adjunct Professor Bill Bowtell on Q & A on Monday night, that the Government was moving too slowly. Bill Bowtell is no dill.

Nah. It’s just seemed to have worked wonderfully for Jordan Peterson

Poor old Jordan. You'd have to be an A-grade deadshit to have fallen for his stuff.

How far do these measures have to go before some of us begin to wonder if there is an alternative agenda behind some of it?

Banning gatherings, telling people to stay home, giving police the right to arrest people for walking around...

Call me old-fashioned but aren't some of these things straight-up totalitarian?

c) It did work

My mum is German. I used to tell her at a German birth the baby always comes out with a doctorate with a blue ribbon around it firmly gripped in one hand and a mortar board hat 😂

Two weeks ago we had 30 confirmed infections and now we have 450 odd. That's a fifteenfold increase in two weeks. That is exactly the sort of trajectory that Italy was on early days. What makes you think it would be any different in Australia if we don't make a significant intervention?

It is different, deaths in particular. We have also had the infection for an additional 3 weeks.

Interesting stats, but to be fair, people aged 80+ are much more likely to die from any viral disease, so it is hard to analyze.
And who's to say all of those were over 100, where a downgrade on the thermostat in the bingo room could have done it just as easy.

c) It did work

Company I used to work for had a German office so dealt and drank with plenty of them. I've also worked for a German multinational. The whole "Germans are humourless" is pretty much spot on.

See now I'm having my world views challenged and I'm confused. On the evidence of some drunk girls in Beirut JeanLucGoddard claims that all Germans are very funny, yet on the evidence of a German Office he used to deal with Kangatime says that all Germans are humourless. My grandad, who fought in WWII but to the best of my knowledge never actually encountered any real Germans, said that they were all inbred and had a tendency towards incest.
Until such time as I have a more definitive and reliable source to reference I guess I'll have to continue to base my opinions of Germans on re-runs of "Hogan's Heroes."

I wouldn’t say they’re humourless. They’ve got a different sense of humour to anglo, celtic and Southern European population. Same with the Russians.