giantroo
Bleeding Blue and White
- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- North Melbourne
- Other Teams
- Arsenal, Chicago Bulls
California now in full lockdown

Soccer Notice Image
FA Cup Semi-Finals ⚽ 2026 FIFA Series A - Socceroos friendlies ⚽ Europa - Rd of 16 ⚽ The Matildas x 2026 Womens Asia Cup ⚽ Conference League - KNOCKOUTS! ⚽ Conference League - Rd of 16 ⚽ Socceroos Internat'l Friendlies ⚽ Champs League - League Phase ⚽
Fantasy Footy Notice Image Round 5
SuperCoach Rd 5 SC Talk - Trade Talk - Capt/VC ,//, AFL Fantasy Rd 5 AFF Talk - AF Trades - Capt/VC
Less than two months after the coronavirus became a public health emergency in Australia we are dangerously short of the reagent needed to carry out tests for the killer virus.Any idea what is preventing this?
Hi mate, I'm an industrial chemist, so can probably explain this.
Metho is ~95% ethanol in water and some stuff that prevents you from drinking it. Aloe Vera gel might not be soluble in ethanol, so best to just use water and then moisturize.
below is a WHO guide for a basic hand sanitizer formulation.
Hydrogen peroxide is like your pool sanitizer, it preserves the mixture.
Glycerol is used in hand cream to stop your skin from going all dry, so just rub moisturizer afterwards.
Use cold boiled water if you can.
I've always rated your posting OF, so I hope this doesn't come across wrong.The situation evolves hour to hour day to day.
Honestly have no idea how the AFL sat in a room and made the decision to continue with round 1.
It was dodgy when they made the call and as it's evolving its now going to break regulations as set out today.
The sheer arrogance is astounding.
It’s perhaps not the right time, but I would dearly love to see what kind of musical number Mr. G can come with in the face of the coronavirus.
View attachment 843397
Having the footy on arguably provides people with some relief from the new reality.I've always rated your posting OF, so I hope this doesn't come across wrong.
But the AFL spent days coming to the decision, to the point where they delayed their own press conference by several hours ensuring they got it right.
It seems clear from some of the media that the govt actually encouraged them to begin playing.
I get that you don't like the decision but I think it's a bit rough to call it arrogant or dodgy.
I tried to buy some metho today but it's sold out! Everyone getting ready to drown their sorrows or, make hand sanitizer.Hi mate, I'm an industrial chemist, so can probably explain this.
Metho is ~95% ethanol in water and some stuff that prevents you from drinking it. Aloe Vera gel might not be soluble in ethanol, so best to just use water and then moisturize.
below is a WHO guide for a basic hand sanitizer formulation.
Hydrogen peroxide is like your pool sanitizer, it preserves the mixture.
Glycerol is used in hand cream to stop your skin from going all dry, so just rub moisturizer afterwards.
Use cold boiled water if you can.
I tried to buy some metho today but it's sold out! Everyone getting ready to drown their sorrows or, make hand sanitizer.
So, I've got a couple of bottles of cheap vodka downstairs, and as it's only 37%, when I put it in the freezer, it mostly freezes up (as opposed to the 50% stuff which does not freeze). Am I safe to assume that the non frozen liquid is mostly ethanol and therefore good for hand cleanser?
I don't like cheap vodka so this at least puts it to good use.
It’s perhaps not the right time, but I would dearly love to see what kind of musical number Mr. G can come with in the face of the coronavirus.
View attachment 843397

You're right, I haven't tested this so it's just my assumption. I've been testing things in my lab and am trying to find some way to thicken the mixture, any ideas?Greetings, I am not critical of anything you have stated, it's good advice, however I have recommended home made aloe vera gel & ethanol formulations as the following MSDS for Aloe Vera Gel (~ 99.5%) informs that it is miscible at 50:50 v/v for ethanol:
70% ethanol extracts (200ml) of powdered aloe vera (20g) exhibited good zone inhibition results for both gram negative and positive bacteria:
I reasonably assume that ~65-70% methylated spirits solution would exhibit good miscibility with aloe vera gels.
H2O2 is okay, but of course as you would know as an experienced chemist, it breaks down when exposed to heat and light, so the layperson should put thought in to how it is stored.
For the non chem folks, you can obtain ~ %65-70 methylated spirits by diluting each 100 mls of methylated spirits with 25-30 mls of water.
Thanks Snake - I know it's only 37% when its in solution in the vodka bottle. But, when I freeze the bottle, is it mostly the WATER that freezes and the remaining liquid ethanol? If so, then the ethanol would be much higher than 37%?No good mate, and a novice will have a bastard of a time purifying it at home.
Try around for methylated spirits or isopropyl alcohol. It's out there.
If you can't find any then you can use bleach for surfaces and soap for your hands.
And I quote:
So not as dire as it seems (yet).
Looks as though it hasn’t started to spread person to person as violently as it could.
I think we can all feel your pain.Reckon that was my last Friday arvo at the pub for a while![]()
There's 151 proof alcohol that's around 75%.I tried to buy some metho today but it's sold out! Everyone getting ready to drown their sorrows or, make hand sanitizer.
So, I've got a couple of bottles of cheap vodka downstairs, and as it's only 37%, when I put it in the freezer, it mostly freezes up (as opposed to the 50% stuff which does not freeze). Am I safe to assume that the non frozen liquid is mostly ethanol and therefore good for hand cleanser?
I don't like cheap vodka so this at least puts it to good use.