COVID-19 / Coronavirus

Maybe you should take this time to re evaluate your priorities.
Being angry at a country because because an illness has been traced back to it and you're going to miss out on watching some sport for a few months.
I mean people are dying and more will but yeah it's all about your footy. let's hate on an entire country because you can't watch footy.
Of course we can be angry at China. They let this virus go unreported for longer than they are saying and proceeded to travel the world spreading it. I work in a government agency that has been dealing with this for months now, and even after this all came out, Chinese visitors and students were still lying about where they had come from. They didn’t give a crap about what they were bringing in.

You can't condemn the whole population because of their authoritarian 'government', and the actions of some kids trying to escape the country when they see a chance.

Get angry at their Government, and the individuals you see taking the piss. But the whole country isn't behind the problem, they are people who just happen to have been born there and have no say in pretty much anything.

Then get angry at our Government almost as much. They made out like it was no biggie and didn't get their off their muppet asses till public understanding and perception forced their hand.

They were just as late swinging into action.

Even now they're under testing, and are still running out of test kits.

They haven't explained properly how many people are almost certainly infected by now, even though Infectious Disease experts can calculate it easily.

The net 'benefit' of all this is that the infected count remains quite low, which looks 'really good!' for ScoMo.

You can tell just how many other countries think this is a good idea too, by looking at their test numbers

And that’s not even the point. It’s the fact they covered it up for 2 months!

Could have been well contained by now.

Whictwo months are we talking about?

Western Countries knew about it in January, and it took almost two months for them to do absolutely anything as well.

If the cafe across the road from me closes and I cannot have my daily awesome latte I will feel sad.

I need an inner urban support group to get me through this. Suggestions?
I hear the doomsday preppers crew is very supportive and open to new members...or at least they would be if they were not all hiding in bunkers right now 🤷‍♂️

Mate, love you and your posting. But the fact is this could have been controlled if China announced it immediately.

they didn’t. Now the rest of the world will suffer.

Do you actually disagree with this?
Most of the world governments seem more worried about the financial fall out than the health of their citizens.
We could have closed boarders, others could have, no on did really.
You want to blame the Chinese for traveling when sick well we just had an Aussie with symptoms get tested in Brisbane then jump on a plane to Wellington before getting the results.
We just had the Treasurer if Australia get tested and continue to meet with people and conduct interviews face to face while waiting for results.

People do shit things, it's not just governments and it's not just China that is responsible for where we are now.

See above

Well, that looks like the season is done. Can't see it going ahead if he ends up testing positively

The AFL statement last week told all.

Basically the AFL pro system in big financial trouble. The AFL said If all 192 games are played the players will get paid in full. That implies if only round one is played then players get sweet FA. The major contributor to AFL finances, including clubs, is obviously the huge media rights money which is directly linked to the full 192 games being played.

The virus isn’t going away soon, but there’s going to be a lot of AFL players and officials earning way, way less than they thought. Pressure on mortgages, investments etc. It may not be very pretty.

And that’s not even the point. It’s the fact they covered it up for 2 months!

Could have been well contained by now.
How did they cover it up for 2 months. Patient 0 was tracked back to November 17th, it was well known what was happening in December. Around January 15 it was at peak in Wuhan and Australia should have closed all borders at that time and only allowed citizens to return.

We chose not to and now it's here in a big way, just like Iran and Italy the USA, UK and Australia are now going to see the handfull of cases/deaths jump double or more daily. One thing on our side is that the public and government seem to me taking some measures to limit the spread which even if it has 20% effectiveness could prevent our hospitals from overflowing and having unneeded deaths.

The AFL statement last week told all.

Basically the AFL pro system in big financial trouble. The AFL said If all 192 games are played the players will get paid in full. That implies if only round one is played then players get sweet FA. The major contributor to AFL finances, including clubs, is obviously the huge media rights money which is directly linked to the full 192 games being played.

The virus isn’t going away soon, but there’s going to be a lot of AFL players and officials earning way, way less than they thought. Pressure on mortgages, investments etc. It may not be very pretty.

I'm not really feeling for pro footy players and their struggles......they make a tonne more than most and they can go out and work a second job if footy is a no go.
Reckon you should feel more for the lady doing people's laundry, the kid working a restaurant job for tips while studying, and the uber driver covering shifts as a second job.
There's gonna be a heap of pain coming and the pro athlete is bottom of my worry chart.

Most of the world governments seem more worried about the financial fall out than the health of their citizens.
You want to blame the Chinese for traveling when sick well we just had an Aussie with symptoms get tested in Brisbane then jump on a plane to Wellington before getting the results.
We just had the Treasurer if Australia get tested and continue to meet with people and conduct interviews face to face while waiting for results.

People do shit things, it's not just governments and it's not just China that is responsible for where we are now.

See above

And the Walter Duranty award goes to...

Was anything I wrote wrong?
I'm not applauding communism, I'm pointing out that capitalist governments and citizens haven't really been dealing with this any better.

I might work at a Govt agency that might be making all essential staff work from home...too bad we have such shitty NBN...but it sort of means if you are not essential you have to still come in to work and get Captain Trips.

See above

Correct and closing the boarders is exactly what I wanted to happen some time ago.

Maybe you should take this time to re evaluate your priorities.
Being angry at a country because because an illness has been traced back to it and you're going to miss out on watching some sport for a few months.
I mean people are dying and more will but yeah it's all about your footy. let's hate on an entire country because you can't watch footy.

China is a bit of a common denominator in these cases though, if I'm not mistaken 4 of the last 6 major viruses have originated from that country.

You have to understand people will have some anger directed that way, especially now we pretty much just have to live to work for the foreseeable future in this instance.

China is a bit of a common denominator in these cases though, if I'm not mistaken 4 of the last 6 major viruses have originated from that country.

You have to understand people will have some anger directed that way, especially now we pretty much just have to live to work for the foreseeable future in this instance.
Well not sure which ones you are talking about specifically

We've had a couple come out of China over the last 25 years with SARS and the last big Avian flu and now covid19

Swine flu was mexico, MERS in the Middle east.

The common theme is viruses transmitted from animals to humans and usually originating in areas that are more rural with less health care.

The fact they don't seem to start in Western countries leads to a lot of stereotypes and racial profiling with these sorts of pandemics.

Blaming China for the AFL season being in jeopardy is heading towards blaming Chinese people, which can become blaming anyone who looks Asian.

We've seen it at the Royal Children's Hospital in Melbourne where parents refused treatment from Doctors they thought looked Chinese or pointed out staff members and demanded to know if that specific person had been tested and was safe to be at work.

It doesn't take long for that anger to become fear and racism and people need to think about why they are thinking about it the way they are.

Correct and closing the boarders is exactly what I wanted to happen some time ago.
One of our country's greatest advantage over others not utilised. We are an island and that has kept many types of agricultural disease from our shores, why we didn't take advantage of this leg up steams me up.

The thing to be angry about with the PRC is they let wet markets open again. After SARS they were (allegedly) closed, but the rules were lessened over the decade. Two new viral illnesses that have sprung directly from the wet markets mixing wild animals, domestic animals and people. SARS was the vanguard and sadly it was ignored and so we have Covid-19

Flu is more domestic in it's taste and it only needs the intimate combination of humans, pigs and chooks, which will always be an environment to generate new strains.

The initial response of the PRC was slow and it wasn't until late January that they got into gear with a very vigorous response which helped stem the spread of the disease. Irrespective of the nature of your government it always takes a while to push the big red disaster (?panic)button and get things moving.

Well not sure which ones you are talking about specifically

We've had a couple come out of China over the last 25 years with SARS and the last big Avian flu and now covid19

Swine flu was mexico, MERS in the Middle east.

The common theme is viruses transmitted from animals to humans and usually originating in areas that are more rural with less health care.

The fact they don't seem to start in Western countries leads to a lot of stereotypes and racial profiling with these sorts of pandemics.

Blaming China for the AFL season being in jeopardy is heading towards blaming Chinese people, which can become blaming anyone who looks Asian.

We've seen it at the Royal Children's Hospital in Melbourne where parents refused treatment from Doctors they thought looked Chinese or pointed out staff members and demanded to know if that specific person had been tested and was safe to be at work.

It doesn't take long for that anger to become fear and racism and people need to think about why they are thinking about it the way they are.
I worked in the Food Manufacturing industry for 20 years in Quality Assurance / Food Safety roles and I used to get exhausted dealing with all of the multitude of requirements from government regulators / customers / standard bodies regarding meeting their standards of hygiene / testing / QA systems / etc.

But what got me the most is the customer who was purchasing product from our company and making us meet their high standards was at the same time purchasing cheap products from China. I always used to ask the question to them whether they held their Chinese suppliers to the same standards they were holding us and looking at the current outbreak of covid-19 and the unsanitary conditions it originated from in that wet market I think we have an answer.....

End of the day I don't see something like Covid-19 occurring in a country like Australia/Germany/USA etc because as imperfect as our governments may be they are by and large (relatively) free of corruption and we can trust that our officials actually have our best interests at heart.

This is not having a crack at Chinese people but end of the day the Chinese government will need to take a level of responsibility for this worldwide disaster (both in allowing it to happen in the first place and their delayed reaction once it did).

COVID-19 / Coronavirus