Cox Plate

I like Haradasun. He'll meet every horse he faced in the Turnbull Stakes (set weights and penalties) a little better at weight for age and he drew a bad gate that day, which left him 3 and 4 wide the trip. I'd like to see him draw a nice gate for Saturday before completely locking him in. With a nice gate he can possie up just off the speed and run out a strong last 600 with a wall of horses coming at him late. He has been set for this.

Gallops at MV from 6.30 tomorrow...I'll be there
Marasco,W World,M Cape & Lloyd's pair
Gold Edition also a confirmed worker

Brekkie on the lawn from 6,anyone else a starter?

Surely Harada must draw a barrier eventually?

seth

I like Haradasun. He'll meet every horse he faced in the Turnbull Stakes (set weights and penalties) a little better at weight for age and he drew a bad gate that day, which left him 3 and 4 wide the trip. I'd like to see him draw a nice gate for Saturday before completely locking him in. With a nice gate he can possie up just off the speed and run out a strong last 600 with a wall of horses coming at him late. He has been set for this.

I think Haradasun will place as he has done all campaign. Miss Finland has his measure and I think she will win the plate.

I think the danger is Marasco. I don't like him over this distance and although very disappointing this campaign I just have a feeling he has something up his sleeve and may be the testing material.

I don't like El Segundo - very inconsistent. Devil Moon will be around the mark and Niconero will run an honest race.

Miss Finland
Marasco
Haradasun
Devil Moon
Niconero

P.S The way I am tipping them I would take that analysis with a grain of salt.

The field should be restricted to 8 runners and 1 emergency in this race, cull the rest. CP should be invite only.

missfinland
haradasun
efficient
marasco
elsegundo
devil moon
eskimo queen
toss up last spot divine madonna and zipping, make the other the emergency.

Absolute no other runners, they'll only get in the way.

By the way, guess who's missus booked seats for phantom this saturday afternoon, starting 2pm. Only realised it last thursday what she'd done. Unbelievable.

The field should be restricted to 8 runners and 1 emergency in this race, cull the rest. CP should be invite only.

missfinland
haradasun
efficient
marasco
elsegundo
devil moon
eskimo queen

By the way, guess who's missus booked seats for phantom this saturday afternoon, starting 2pm. Only realised it last thursday what she'd done. Unbelievable.

So who's she going with Deej?

seth

I can't get out of it cause we're going with good friends of ours and they've booked dinner afterwards too. I can't believe i'll be in a theatre whilst the cox plate is being run. Spare a thought for me when they're rounding the turn with whips cracking I'll be listening to the phaaaaaaaaan-tom of the op-er-a is there....inside my mind.......(is that how it goes? fd if i know):o

Good article on Lad Of The Manor

http://www.racingandsports.com.au/racing/rsNewsArt.asp?NID=114550

Trainer deciding on the mile race or the cox plate both on the same day,

Interesting to note,

Hes won back to back Feehan stakes at the valley
Won the waterdord crystal mile also at the valley
Ran an unlucky 5th in his first cox plate attempt then backed up and won the Mckinnon
9th last year when badly injured
track rider reports the horse is flying

:)

missfinland
haradasun
efficient
marasco
elsegundo
devil moon
eskimo queen

I agree. The Triple Crown race series in the US have small fields with only the best runners in the country and we find out who the best of the best are.

I also heard that Takeover Target and Natural Destiny were going to do a match race since they are stuck in QLD. Think it was dependent upon sponsors but would love to see some of these types of races here in Australia.

HEAD TO HEAD: A match race between sprint stars Takeover Target and Natural Destiny has been booked in for November 10 at Coffs Harbour.

Takeover Target and Natural Destiny have been unable to travel to Melbourne for the spring carnival due to the equine influenza outbreak in NSW. But trainers Joe Janiak and Gordon Yorke met this week with Coffs Harbour Racing Club secretary Russ Atkinson and agreed on terms for the match race at next month's TAB meeting which it is hoped will be open to the public.

"We are looking at having the race over 1200 metres under handicap conditions," Yorke said yesterday. "Ideally we would race for $300,000 with $225,000 to the winner and $75,000 for second. We've already got an anonymous sponsor pledge $100,000 and we'd be looking for the TAB to kick in something."

Racing NSW is prepared to ratify the running of the match race. "The most important things to organise are the conditions under which the race is conducted and whether there a wagering incentive involved," spokesman Brian Judd said. "Given that there is already a meeting programmed to be held at Coffs Harbour on November 10 that seems the ideal day to have the match race."

Janiak and Yorke had hoped to be in Melbourne for the feature sprints of the spring and after having their horses vaccinated against EI were even prepared to charter a flight south from Coffs Harbour. However, they were not granted Department of Primary Industries approval from Victoria.

"At least this match race will give us and the public the chance to see these good horses go around again," Yorke said.

missfinland
haradasun
efficient
marasco
elsegundo
devil moon
eskimo queen

Do not agree with your final 8.

Efficient would not get a run under your rules, would struggle to win a Horsham maidan at present
Marasco hardly deserves a spot, cant even get a strong 2000.
Eskimo Queen also doesn't deserve a spot. Whats her WFA record?

Lad of The Manor however is a multiple group 1,2 and 3 WFA winner :)

EQ has just turned 4,her last 2 are the only WFA runs she could have had?
Marasco was 2nd in Aust Cup,the best WFA race in the Autumn (2000M)
Yes he was horrible last start but at least he's won an open GP2.

LOTM must get a run before Lloyd's 2,neither have even got near winning a G2 WFA race.

seth

Surely you have a discrete earpiece on that mobile of yours?

seth
Mate it only gets FM radio. I'm stuffed.

Ron I reckon LOTM would be the only horse to push for selection out of those left in the field. You're probably right actually, he should be in.

Mate it only gets FM radio. I'm stuffed.

Ron I reckon LOTM would be the only horse to push for selection out of those left in the field. You're probably right actually, he should be in.

mate,I'd be loading up on a massive breakfast and not waiting til race time to dispose of it.get a mate to relay it while you sit there and destroy the phantom toilets before interval.

I can't get out of it cause we're going with good friends of ours and they've booked dinner afterwards too. I can't believe i'll be in a theatre whilst the cox plate is being run. Spare a thought for me when they're rounding the turn with whips cracking I'll be listening to the phaaaaaaaaan-tom of the op-er-a is there....inside my mind.......(is that how it goes? fd if i know):o

Geez, your missus would want to put out for you when you get home to reward you for that sacrifice.;)

Tough race to pick. El Segundo for mine. Zipping is the value runner. I love Divine Madonna, but the distance + the weight, I can't have it

missfinland
haradasun
efficient
marasco
elsegundo
devil moon
eskimo queen

Agree. Not necessarily with your final field but with the idea. Realistic winning chances only and bugger the rest. The Cox plate should not have horses at 20-1 or worse.

I'm all for the idea as well and 8 horses sounds about the right mix. As somebody who had their largest bet ever on Filante to win in 97 only to get rolled by Dane Ripper @ 50/1 or thereabouts I can only wish they make it retrospective as well :D

What is going on with He's Something being nominated, would start 1000/1 if he got a run

Being a Harness Racing enthusiast, by far the most talked about race in that code is the Miracle Mile because there are limited spots and only the very best get invited amd although some of the final field decisions by the selection committee are mind boggling it all adds to the theatre of the race with trainers lobbying their horses for a start. BTW, they recently increased the field size for the MM from 6 to 8 and that has made the race a worse spectacle if anything so more isn't exactly better.

The full draw:
1 El Segundo 7
2 Lad of the Manor 9
3 Niconero 10
4 Marasco 11
5 Zipping 12
6 Haradasun 4
7 Efficient 5
8 Wonderful World 6
9 Magic Cape 13
10 Divine Madonna 2
11 Miss Finland 1
12 Devil Moon 3
13 Eskimo Queen 8

On a side note Pompeii Ruler would have these for breakfast.
Sure would mate. I reckon Devil Moon will win for Kav. Call it karma for last week!!

Hows my spring going. Had a long range bet on the CC, CP and MC.

CC- Took Maldivian - Scratched
CP- Took Pompeii Ruler - Out for spring
MC- Took Maybe Better - Pulled up sore and in doubt.

Not having much luck this spring!!

missfinland
haradasun
efficient
marasco
elsegundo
devil moon
eskimo queen

Dunno why everyone is bagging u for missing the Cox Plate for the Phantom of the Opera. I'm gonna bag u for actually going to Phantom of the Opera, Cox Plate or not.
I would rather go thru divorce proceedings.