Cricketers you have met

• Thread starter Thread starter aflcliche

bumped into graeme smith at the crown in 2006 during aus vs sa odi series. He didn't look 2 happy and was twice my size, so didn't say hello.

Met Max Walker on September 9, 1983 at the Mandurang Cricket Oval when he conducted a junior coaching clinic. The dads who organised it for us rewarded Max with some bottles of grog from the nearby One Tree Hill Pub. Max then autographed for us all afterwards. Got him to sign my copy of his book "Tangles".

I saw Alan Hurst at Kennington Primary School in 1997 when he worked there as a teacher.

Was introduced to Dave Gilbert when I travelled to the SCG to visit the NSWCA cricket book library.

I met Hauritz when I was out at the Port Office in Brisbane 2005. I said hello (quite drunkenly) he looked at me and looked back towards the bar. For some reason I said "Damian Martyn is really shit" - no idea why...he then told me to f off...i laughed

From then on I have never liked him..actually before then I never liked him...

I met Hauritz when I was out at the Port Office in Brisbane 2005. I said hello (quite drunkenly) he looked at me and looked back towards the bar. For some reason I said "Damian Martyn is really shit" - no idea why...he then told me to f off...i laughed

From then on I have never liked him..actually before then I never liked him...

From all reports, Hauritz is an absolute ******** to fans.

Played Cricket against Boon, Ponting, Troy Cooley, Shannon Tubb, Richard Soule. With Bailey, Doherty, Kremerskothen, Griffith, Nathan Wegman, Shaun Young and pretty much anyone else who came through NTCA in the late 90s.

Bowled to some of the Pakistan and Tasmanian players in the 90s (net bowling), and spent some time with Wasim Akram (who was unbelievably quick off two steps whilst wearing a long sleeve shirt and tie).

Did coaching courses with Dean Jones and Merv Hughes at various times, also a bloke I'd never heard of, who's now our national coach. Met Terry Jenner and Dennis Lillee at an elite junior clinic - Lillee was impressed with my knowledge (less so with my talent), whilst Jenner was like a walking encyclopedia on bowling.

Ravi Ratnayake (One of my dad's mate at high school), Cameron White (Ikea), Lasith Malinga (supermarket in Sri Lanka), David Hussey (sat next to him at the footy), Shane Warne, Adam Gilchrist (Fed Square), Ricky Ponting, Michael Clarke and others at fan days. Guess I'm pretty lucky.

Saw Mitch Johnson in Adelaide before his match for Wa earlier in the season - at least that was the reason. They were supposed to be playing but for some reason he and two friends were at Globalize buying clothes. Very tall and has very broad shoulders but was happy to take photos with fans

Met Michael Kasprowicz and a few of the other Qld players at the Hip-E Club a few years ago. Kaspa is a top bloke, ended up chatting to him for a fair bit of the night about cricket and rugby (his brother Simon was playing Super 14 with NSW at the time). He even bought me and a mate a round of drinks, we did shout him a couple of times before that though.

Also met Merv Hughes and Paul Rieffel at Lords in 2001 when they were leading an Ashes tour group. Merv was a bit of a knob to be honest but Reiffel was a nice bloke.

Got some coaching tips from Kim Hughes and Terry Alderman when I was playing juniors for Subi Floreat. They were playing quite a bit of club cricket for Subi Floreat at the time, as they were banned from representing WA and Australia due to participating in the South African rebel tour, and they'd sometimes come down to training early to give us kids a few tips.

I have met Luke Butterworth, Xavier Doherty, Merv Hughes, Mitchell Starc, Stuart Clark and Doug Bollinger.

And about 7 years ago I received a personally signed bat from Ricky Ponting and a video from him. Made my day:D

Last tuesday i met Hussey Harris Prior Broad and Finn at the casino in Adelaide. Didnt have much to do with the poms but Hussey and Harris were both really good blokes. Harris bought me a drink:)

From all reports, Hauritz is an absolute ******** to fans.

I have the exact opposite opinion of Hauritz to be honest. Met him in Birmingham after the test there in '09. Really nice guy. Met North, Haddin, Brett Lee and Phil Hughes that week too. To say Brett Lee was a tool would be an understatement.

Met quite a few West Indies and Victorian players during a washed out tour match in 1992-93 in Bendigo. Watched the West Indies guys practise indoors, then played pool with some Victorian players at a pub that night.

WI: Met Richie Richardson and Brian Lara. Both very polite and friendly. Saw Dessie Haynes driving out of the place - great guy.

Vic: Played pool with Dean Jones, and although his reputation isn't too flash was perfectly friendly. Darren Lehmann seemed full of himself, Warne was happy to have a chat.

As a kid met pretty much the whole NZ team that was out here for that 02/03 ODI series after they beat us in an ODI at the Adelaide Oval and were back in the Hilton lobby bar afterwards.

Really top, top guys. Vettori in particular.

Haven't meet any players but I have heard that Brett Lee is a top bloke and Symonds and Hayden are w***ers. Anyone meet them?

I went to school with Michael Di Venuto that played for Australia in the ODI's briefly and had a stellar career with Tasmania and played County cricket with Durham.
He was a good guy, had a brother that played senior football for Sandy Bay in the TFL back then. They were a very sporting family and his mum was one of my teachers back then.

Scott Hookey, played for NSW and Tasmania, I'm 99% sure was putting one through one of the young female teachers at our school, I certainly remember meeting him.
Met Warne, Brett Lee and Matthew Hayden briefly out the front of my house here late one afternoon when I was unclogging the drains after a Test Match involving New Zealand was ended when an enormous storm hit Bellerive (and all of Hobart). They were heading to a bar just near my home.

Met Ponting up at York Park about 13 years ago when Hobart was playing North Launceston up there. Seemed like an obnoxious prick at the time.

used to work for a quite well known nursery in melbourne........delivered a van load of plants to shane warnes place in brighton......amazing set up around his pool was a good bloke too helped me unload the plants and gave me a stubby from his outside bar

I've seen quite a few around the traps over the years. 2 of my favs are...

1. Sitting in Southbank foodcourt when the last Ashes series was on and 1 by 1 over the space of 30mins the majority of the Aussie team came down the escalators looking around for a bite to eat.

2. Saw Asad Rauf doing some shopping in Hobart a couple of years ago. As he walked past I said hello and asked for an autograph, he gave me the strangest look, but still obliged.

Haven't meet any players but I have heard that Brett Lee is a top bloke and Symonds and Hayden are w***ers. Anyone meet them?

Don't know about Symo but Haydos is a bit of a w***er. Just has a massive ego. Treats serving staff like absolute scum, doesn't mind using foul language in front of them. Bad temper.

Met Shaun Marsh many times, grew up in the same area. Haven't seen him sober very often, normally drunk as.