Crisis meeting - Hun reports

• Thread starter Thread starter gokangas

By which time enormous damage could be done to our image, membership and brand as an organization.

I don't see it like that.

IMO it breaks down something like:
Crisis meeting = fix it, you've got what you've got, we should be better fix it.

Backing in public = showing united front, but hain pubically disclosed we've had a crisis meeting. Backing the coach because he's still the coach and if we weren't backing him we'd be sacking him.

If we see more losses like the ones we've had Brad's f***ed. I doubt he'd see the year out.

The best possible outcome = whatever it is clicks and we go undefeated from here to the flag.

Middle of the road outcome = we continue to lose and Brad gets sacked, we focus on kids with a caretaker from the midpoint of the year.

Worst outcome = we middle, no more horrible losses, some OK wins mid table nothingness and we waste mid season picks to get no where

The first one ain't happening.
The last one is a believable outcome.
IMHO the middle one is the most likely. Whatever it is we're trying to pull off we're not equipped to do. We're not fit enough disciplined enough, or confident enough. This doesn't even factor the unevenness of our structure.

I think a course of action has been set off where it's going to be nigh on impossible for Brad to see out the year. Our plan was completely undone in the pre-season. So middling from where we are is going to be incredibly difficult.

The bottom line is that as a club North doesn’t have the luxury (for lack of a better word) of being down the bottom of the ladder too long. If history is anything to go by it will put us in a very vulnerable and precarious position because we don’t have a large enough supporter base to buffer the downturn in attendances, revenue and media speculation over our future.

As a result, I’m of the opinion that the board will act to turn things around sooner than later.

(Or at least one can only hope).

Well he's not going to be sacked in two weeks and anyone who says so has been taking some of those opiods we've just been talking about.

(As an aside: opiods, immigration and WW2 - this has been one hell of a thread.)

If we lose by 100+ to Port and 10 goals to Carlton can you see him still being here by the end of May?

I'm not saying we will but its pretty hard to get a read on the team atm.

If we lose by 100+ to Port and 10 goals to Carlton can you see him still being here by the end of May?

This part I completely agree with. We’re more consistently bad at the minute than good but it’s like you never know what’s going to happen with this team.

Realistically I see 50+ on the Port game, and falling just short on the Carlton game that steals a win.

A big loss coupled with being outcoached by Bolton of all people is enough to ask if we can even bother with him after the bye. because our draw only gets more difficult as the year goes on.

I really can't see us having any more than 4-8 wins.

I only posted on this thread as I think the wrong entities are being targeted over the performance shambles.

I don't know more than the average supporter about The Huddle, other than what I thought was common knowledge about it being essentially separate from club operations and being largely funded by the Scanlon Foundation (I believe there is an element of government co-funding).

The real issue is that we have a well-funded football department and the members of that department have collectively failed on a large scale. There is no disputing that we have been the victim of poor recruiting in the past, but I would suggest that this has little impact on our present situation, as we have a capable list (though the 50-100 games cohort is a horror story). So, a cross for the recruiters but the past can't be changed.

What can be changed is the inability to benefit from the real strengths of our players, with a seemingly disproportionate focus on making them all similar cogs in a machine. Unfortunately, the machine has been ill-conceived and poorly constructed so even if the cogs all modified their own behaviour, we're not going to be successful.

This falls squarely on the coach, and his merry band of long-term assistants. We heralded the recruitment of Leigh Tudor, but there is now a few years of empirical data that suggests he's either no good or he's unable to have any influence on performance. Gavin Brown was a good footballer, but really, WTF has he achieved since he's been there? (I give Rhyce Shaw a tick, though, as I also subscribe to the view that the backline has been very good since round 1, in the circumstances - I suspect he would select some different players, too ...)

The coach is clearly the problem, as he consistently makes poor choices both at the selection table, with positional allocation, and more than everything, with a putrid, ineffective game style, totally unsuited to 2019, and abysmal player development. After a decade (I like Grogg's references to round 225), he's had more than enough time to show he learns from previous errors, but has failed. Comprehensively.

The solution is to manage a dignified exit for Brad - allow him to fall on his sword and retain respect of the football world by acknowledging he is no longer the man for the job and therefore a mutual contract release has been agreed.

Really great summary. (But let’s not wait too long....)

It was their decision to extend his contract just over 18 months ago. You're asking people to admit their made a horrible mistake, and that's one of the hardest things for anyone to do, even in circumstances that are inconsequential, which this one is most certainly not.

If it happens, the first step will be a review of the footy department. Sit tight, folks, he's here for a while yet.

At the end of 2018 it didn't look like a mistake and no one would have blamed them. Circumstances change. There is a full on outcry about this. Get sold on finals cos of a 4th game in Hobart then this shit? The board are gonna have to do some heavy lifting to get themselves out of shit I think.

Dunno about that, mate. The whole Tassie thing is pretty ******* insidious as well, and that comes from the board. I'm still not entirely comfortable obviously with the fourth game itself, but also how it was announced shortly after getting the fans and members to dig into their own pockets to donate to the club. It would be pretty easy to take the cynical view regarding the timing of those two things.

But the doco that came out the week before ... I mean if nothing else that proves they're on the level doesn't it?

At the end of 2018 it didn't look like a mistake and no one would have blamed them. Circumstances change. There is a full on outcry about this. Get sold on finals cos of a 4th game in Hobart then this shit? The board are gonna have to do some heavy lifting to get themselves out of shit I think.

They will put notice of the next board election in fine print on page 67 of the Oodnadatta Gazette, then declare all over the club website a month later that the encumbent was triumphantly re-elected unopposed and thereby has the full support of the members.

Some long bows there.

The existence of the Huddle is neither here nor there and I didn't mention it, fwiw my take is that it was a necessary move to fulfill Scanlon's checklist for opening up the purse strings.

As for my point, yes I think a reasonable sample size of people moving to this country suggesting (to me) that on-field success and general branding has far more effect on pulling in neutrals than a self-applied tag of do-gooding.

I take it you're aware the people who attend games from the Huddle including those canvassed from the uni's are almost all exclusively on free tickets then. To my knowledge there is little to no churn from these promotional game attendees into club memberships.

When I was a kid footy clubs would go to schools at times and give out free tickets to kids. They would engage with the kids and that was how long term relationships were sposed to be built. That was in Hobart tho and it was the TFL. But the point remains the same. Its the sort of thing the club should be getting the Huddle to do. Its not the volunteers and the like that should be targeted but the people the Huddle is helping.

Richmond 2016 started 1-6, coach was under pressure, finished 13th. Richmond 2017 - flag.

Collingwood 2017, coach says they have to make finals, start 2-6, club reviews footy department. 2018 - grand final.

It's what all clubs will do for the next ten years.

They will put notice of the next board election in fine print on page 67 of the Oodnadatta Gazette, then declare all over the club website a month later that the encumbent was triumphantly re-elected unopposed and thereby has the full support of the members.

If the members want representation on the board the person needs to be selected prior to the end of the season.

Then there needs to be a fair amount of meet and greet type politicking done at home games to get names and contact details of people supporting the nominee.

Then they'd need to contact for proxies.

They install board members, the only way around it will be to be a pure face of the people.

Or of course, oust the entire board.

The real question is, could it be money spent on better projects?

My take is yes, but there is serious push back from those who have professionally latched on to the club to facilitate their careers & politics. I wonder if Scanlon holds some contract written in the blood of board members?

I'd rather spend it to employ retired North champions like Boomer to go around holding clinics at primary schools and handing out junior memberships to non aligned kids.

I was just typing about this. I'm kind of stunned it doesn't still happen. I was coaching jrs in Northern NSW over a decade ago (in 2007) and we had North Players turn up and hand out stickers, lollies and the rest. All of those kids were already aligned to other clubs but at least the coach was happy. (ish. I was a bit sus on the whole GC thing as many of us were.)

And I just read about Harvey's Heros going too. Not happy. I thought that was cos he wanted to go coach Nth H'bg. not cos the club moved him on.

Richmond 2016 started 1-6, coach was under pressure, finished 13th. Richmond 2017 - flag.

Collingwood 2017, coach says they have to make finals, start 2-6, club reviews footy department. 2018 - grand final.

I sent them a letter saying we needed one before the Good Friday game.

Its bloody obvious.

Is it too much wishful thinking to hope that there was a performance clause inserted into Brad's latest contract? If you win <10 games in 2019, you don't get 2020. Someone please tell me they have done this.

Are you honestly comparing the Tiges and Magpies lists to ours?...

It's very early on, but St. Kilda have gone down the exact same path and are so far having a lot of success.

Okay.

That photo too....

Buckley isn't even looking at Scotts. That look ... if I was in the mafia and someone looked near me like that I'd be worried.

We'd want to get some good wins between now and the Tiges game and maybe work out how to play properly as well.

We might even be done with him if we lose the next two.
I might be more simples, I thought;

"Bloody hell, we're bringing in Mourinho!"

On SM-G965F using BigFooty.com mobile app

I understand that in Australia today, all large organisations are expected to toe the PC line, and North are no different.

The Gay Pride Round, the Indigenous Round, the Immigrant Round (or whatever they call these farces) are annoyances I have to put up with to enjoy top-level football.

Why are you so scared m9

Grow a little bit and stop being such a ****wit.

This thread has been derailed by denigrating *********, when the actual issue is the fact that we are a poorly run establishment and are playing like shit on field.

It’s got nothing to do with the fact that as individuals there is equality and we are all made of ****ing atoms and we all breathe, shit and bleed.

Don’t address that you can’t handle adversity in cultural difference to your ****ed up idealistic bubble you choose to live in.

**** me someone who criticises indigenous, multicultural and gay pride round - lock your doors bud cos the world has caught up and gone and passed you by