Crowd behaviour at Essendon games

My new match day apparel ...

incidente-entre-contador-una-persona-disfrazada-durante-etapa-del-tour-1311368829188.jpg

I remember the North Grog squad lining up next to the Bombers grog squad after the game right near the locker room and the police quickly intervened all while the North guys were chanting "we don't need no drugs, we don't need no drugs..." I reckon it was the whatver it tacos game because I was wearing a sombrero as were a few of my mates. That could have escalated pretty quickly. You live by the sword, you die by the sword and if you give it out, you need to be ready to get it back as many of us Essendon supporters are finding out.

Yep, remember the game well. I'm not in any Grog Squad, but I do remember us taking great glee in that win, there also being the singing of "The Huns Are Going Bust".

But jeez, folks wearing sombreros to a game kind of indicates they are up for it. Classic stuff of wanting to dish it out, so really needing to be able to cop it back. Tensions were running really high at that time too.

Me, I recognise the cyclical nature of football and keep my mouth shut.
I will never forget a Hawthorn game where Buddy wasn't playing about 4 or 5 years ago and we got an absolute hiding. I will never forget the arrogant Hawthorn supporters who started singing the song at quarter time. That and some of the comments actually got to me. I have actually never been angry at the footy before or since but that game has stuck with me and is probably another reason why I dislike Hawthorn the most out of the other clubs. That said, I know plenty of good people who support the hawks.

Hahaha. Hawks supporters. Last year in that game when when Hodge belted Spitta I yelled out immediately afterwards "You're too old and you're too slow Hodge, you have to go the knuckle"

A Hawthorn supporter in front of me turned round, and thinking she was being whip smart, goes "Yeah, and he's got two flags too!"

To which I, and a few North supporters, shot back: "Actually, he's got three". She conferred with her bloke who agreed he did have three.

That's all general fun and games at the footy though.

Yep. Agree with all that but am more hopeful about the 12. The Not guilty nuffies are the reason why we are a laughing stock. Heads up their derierres. I also honestly hope that no one is stupid enough to take a #standbyhird sign, I really do.

You just know that some will though.

Also, surely Hird won't front will he?

Kind of proves my point this post. The "big rich club that can lord it over others" thing is clearly central to many Essendon fans identity in supporting the club.

And it is this being threatened that - as we see here - provokes the biggest reaction.

You're going to have to come up with new material though. We're not the cash strapped Kangas anymore.

In fact, these kind of responses show just how out of touch with footy reality so many Bomber fans are.

Nah not really. We haven't won a final in over a decade dude. I'm under no illusions as to how shit we've been, irrespective of the saga.

It's just taking the piss. And as many will attack essendon on this front (and it will never end, believe that), you will always be the cash strapped shinboners.

It evokes a reaction. You're right. That's the point.

Nah not really. We haven't won a final in over a decade dude. I'm under no illusions as to how shit we've been, irrespective of the saga.

It's just taking the piss. And as many will attack essendon on this front (and it will never end, believe that), you will always be the cash strapped shinboners.

It used to. Now, and I struggle to kind of believe it myself, we're actually not.

That said, the Bombers will be back sooner or later, and it will be those who genuinely hung tough now who will deserve the glory.

The cash strapped shinboners who said no to filthy gambling lucre? That makes sense.

Who the glory be is Melbourne to speak? quit being irrelevant and win a few games (as apposed to tanking) and then we'll talk.
Irrelevant? We're not a bottom four club anymore; you are.

As for tanking, that was so long ago that both the coach and president responsible at that time aren't even alive anymore. Let it go mate, it's history.

Enjoy your little march to the G next week, I'm sure it will be a hoot :D

but you'll only ever be a Melbourne supporter.

the only thing that is worse than being universally hated is being completely irrelevant.
Completely irrelevant is Watson, Heppel and co.

We'll actually be at the game.

So much passion for nothing. If only this passion was directed to more important matters. The club made a mistake it got punished and it's moving on. I'd suggest you lot do too. Reading about what Carlton fans copped, well I was overseas for 4 years during their salary cap dramas. I might've said a few jokes on here a few years ago about it but that's where it ended. Ppl who are making this their life need to wake up. Go to the footy, release some steam but don't cross the line. No supporter deserves it.
They have not moved on, the players are still in denial and are appealing.

Funny you bring up the Port fans. Essendon have over 50,000 members during the club's lowest ebb and there will be a big crowd at the home opener. Port fans ran from their club during their lowest point and nearly saw the club fold. That's not standing up to the board, that's fair weather support.
Strong suggestions regarding membership being tanked by rich benefactors ensuring the figures look good to suggest the morale is still high.
Forget memberships, lucky they don't do supporter counts coz EFC would come up short.

Strong suggestions regarding membership being tanked by rich benefactors ensuring the figures look good to suggest the morale is still high.
Forget memberships, lucky they don't do supporter counts coz EFC would come up short.
The turnstyles don't lie. Last year Essendon was the fourth highest attended AFL club despite our poor form on the park (Hawthorn only just nudged us out for third spot by an average of around 300 people per game). You can't just make crap up about benefactors to suit your flimsy point of view. It just makes you look silly! Happy for you to bag us about things that are factually correct such as our shitness around the sups saga etc but it is a fact that we are a strongly supported club and our supporters are staunch and are standing by the club. Deal with it.

That comes from the EFC inner sanctum.
So the EFC inner sanctum are passing on information about artificially inflating membership numbers to keep up morale to members of the public. Can you pass on where this information was passed and any other evidence that what you say is true please or was it passed on to you specifically? Can you also name who was passing this info on by any chance. Or are you just making stuff up?

There are people who are involved who would have liked to have seen a different approach to things and are at heart still EFC but are disillusioned.
I won't be sharing details.
Because you are making it up. You have very clearly suggested that benefactors are buying memberships yet you can't provide anymore details. I am going to put it down to you being a bullshit artist.

Don't know if you expect to offer name , place and exact quote coz that was never going to happen.
To be honest I don't think it is such a ground breaking discovery, expect that many clubs fudge figures for visual purposes.
I stated day or two back that I would want EFC fans in the trenches with me due to there loyalty but I still believe what I have been told.

Crowd behaviour at Essendon games