macca23

Adelaide Crows
Crows Training update 8/1/2003

Finally got out of bed early enough to go to Crows' training session at 9 am this morning.

It started exactly on 9 00 a m and began with a warm up lap, although one would imagine they may well have done a fair bit of warming-up inside.

They trained for the next 75 minutes almost non-stop, doing various skill exercises. Interestingly enough Brett Burton spent some of this time away from the main pack practising goal-shooting with Darren Jarman. Hmmmmm. For the last 10 to 15 minutes of the session they broke up into 2 groups - KPP's and others. While the bigs finished with goal-kicking practice, the others used half the oval to practice moving the ball up and down the ground repeatedly, either by hand or by foot. It was excellent to watch as the skill level was high and the ball was moving at great speed. Sadly, a competitive scratch match wasn't on the agenda for the day.

As the whole session basically involved skills, running and ball movement, the smaller players obviously stood out more than the taller players. There were some real stand-outs for the session apart from the regulars such as Bode, Edwards, Ladhams etc. I can see why there are wraps on Reilly - he was the stand-out of the whole session. Nice size, super quick, balanced and very good disposal with either foot or by hand - great skills. James Begley trained dashingly and I liked what I saw there - taller than I had remembered too. Jason Schubak wasn't too far behind this pair either. Others who caught the eye were Shirley, Gallagher and Torney while Rutten was the best of the big men. The lemon of the session was Ian Perrie whose kicking was a disgrace - rarely if ever hit the intended target.

Standing alongside them, both Rutten and Hentshel are big boys, both physically equipped to play at AFL level this year if given the opportunity. Matthew Smith, although tall and reasonably solid, is still developing and I doubt that he will play AFL this year.

Those who didn't train with the main group were Carey, Burns, Bickley, Stevens, Massie, Bock and one other I couldn't identify - possibly one of the rookies. Did not see Scott Welsh at all which was a bit of a worry. This smaller group did modified running and kicking the ball to each other, all under supervision.

I had to chuckle when Carey came out to train with the smaller group on the side. What a chick magnet!! When the 20 or so women (out of about a crowd of 200) watching training spotted the King, they abandoned watching the main group instantly and flocked to where he was passing the ball back and forth with Bickley!! :D Some of the guys followed shortly after that as did the Channel 10 cameraman. Carey ended up with quite a large crowd watching him not train!! :)

He looks awseome!! I had the good fortune to talk to him, and asked him how the hammy was. He told me that it is 100% but that his training program is 1 day on and 1 day off, and today was his day off - he was just having a couple of kicks with Bicks. Nice to see that he was still there on his day off.

Bickley's left leg is very wasted from the break etc. Looks about half the size of his right from the knee down. He's got a lot of work ahead of him to get back to where we'd like him to be. I'm not so sure that he will be there for round 1, although there is still some time to go.

Nothing very much wrong with Burns though. He was moving okay and doesn't look too bothered by his corky.

The session was very polished and professionally organized. It's very obvious that the Crows intend to start with a rush as they did last year, as they are well advanced with their running and ball work at this stage.

Fantastic insight Macca...I hope to get to Adelaide for a training session before the 28th Jan when i go back to work

Burton is interesting, maybe players are rotating thru DJ or maybe he requested the 1 on 1. Hope hes not leg weary or injured:(

Is it too late to delist Perrie and lock in a rookie:confused:

Great on Carey ( 100%)
Sad on Bickley - the new lad (s) will get thier chance by the sounds of it

Thanks for the update Macca as it makes for a great read when we are starved of footy in the off-season:)

Burton should be training with the midfielders as he should be playing further up the ground, although I suppose fitness will never really be a problem with him.

So Macca, if Reilly gets a run in the Wizard Cup (or whatever it is now), what do you think his chances are of keeping a spot for the real stuff? If Bickley is out early, then there is another position available. However, there is going to be good competition for spots with the likes of Gallagher, Doughty & Mattner.

Sounds like both Hentschel & Rutten should be blooded this year when the opportunity is right. Both are very exciting prospects. Surely it is Perrie who should be doing the extra kicking sessions with Jars, because if he doesn't improve his skills, he won't (shouldn't) get a game.

Top post macca.

You went into heaps of detail, which is much appreciated. Were you taking notes or something? ;)

Good to hear that Carey is in tip-top shape. That is such great news, and I'm sure the thought of him so motivated brings excitement to all Crows supporters. Can you feel the butterflies already?

Not so good with Bicks, but thats only to be expected with what he had to go through. But I'm not totally worried with him, b/c he's one tough cookie and will work hard to get back up to his former condition.

Again, good work macca.

Burton was an interesting one, because he was having his goal-kicking practice while the others were doing other skill drills. When they finished with the exercise of running the ball up and down half the oval, Burton participated in that too, but as a leading FF, and shooting for goal once he got the ball. He certainly wasn't injured. My guess is that Carey would have been at FF in the final exercise if it was a day on for him but the fact that Burton had 1 on 1 goal-kicking practise also suggests that he will be used close to goal at times.

As for Perrie - yes, it is too late to delist and promote a rookie, unless he gets a long-term injury. He actually looks super super fit and as hard as nails, but his kicking without any pressure was diabolical. He's a worry. The ball was actually spinning like a drop punt - he just has no idea of accuracy or length of kick.

Reilly looked superb - a real eye-catcher. I was standing about 5 metres from John Reid who barely took his eyes off of him. If he continues to train like this they would have to give him a game in the Wizard cup and the rest would be up to him after that. Pace to burn and beautiful ball skills. Schubak would be making them think about a Wizard cup spot for him too. Similarly James Begley. If Bickley isn't available for round 1 - and it will be a credit to him if he is - there are heaps of candidates for his spot.

I would be very surprised if Rutten and Hentschel don't both make their debut this year, as opportunity presents itself. I think they are ready both physically and ability wise.

Great post macca23!!! Thanks for keeping us up to date.

Very happy with the news of the young fellas showing their flair. I have been saying for some time that Bicks is doubtful for round 1 and as such have selected Reilly to make his debut in the other post. I always liked what I saw from Schuback. He is a real goer. Begley was / is a promising player that cannot show his talent on consistent basis due to mainly shoulder injuries.

So for round 1 I would thik that both Rutten (FB) and Reilly will make their debut.

As for Perrie, I always liked his work ethic and his determination and guts but unfortunately his skills let him down time and time again. It a shame that such a hard worker and well built man is not made to be a footballer.:(

P.S. Just one thing. Have you got some physic powers so you can see a full year into the future??????;) :)

Originally posted by Stiffy_18

Have you got some physic powers so you can see a full year into the future??????;) :)

A full year into the future?? That'll be January 2004 - 4 months after we have won the 2003 flag. 4 months after Carey has kicked 78 goals for the year. 4 months after we have discovered future stars in Reilly, Schubak, Hentschel and Rutten.

Nup, sorry. The crystal ball will only go as far as December 2003!!! :D

Originally posted by macca23
A full year into the future?? That'll be January 2004 - 4 months after we have won the 2003 flag. 4 months after Carey has kicked 78 goals for the year. 4 months after we have discovered future stars in Reilly, Schubak, Hentschel and Rutten.

Nup, sorry. The crystal ball will only go as far as December 2003!!! :D

Your topic says 8/1/2004 ;) :D

Originally posted by ok.crows
For the Wizard Cup -

Hentschel - FF
Burton - HFF
Reilly & Schuback - wings
Rutten - FB

maybe?

All of the above should get game time at some stage pre-season.

I don't expect Carey to play full games in the pre-season comp, and I'm not expecting Welsh to be there either at this stage. I think that Burns will play in a forward pocket with Carey, Burton and Hentschel rotating in the other two FF line positions.

Schubak could get flank time anywhere from a forward pocket to a back pocket. Reilly will definitely get a chance on a wing.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
And where does Carey play??????:confused:

For the Wizard Cup?

Either - left right off, or
forward pocket.

Keep him out of harms way. The only need for assessment of Carey in the Wiz Cup is to see if he is match fit & confident. A couple of quarters here & there would achieve that, IMO.

Well the current injury status is:

Mark Bickley Leg Infection Restricted Program
Scott Welsh Groin Restricted Program
Daniel Schell Groin Restricted Program
Kris Massie Chronic Fatigue (mild) Restricted Program
Mark Stevens Back Restricted Program
Nathan Bock Knee Restricted Program
Ronnie Burns Corked Thigh Restricted Program
Wayne Carey Hamstring Restricted Program

Of these, I can't see Bickley, Welsh & Massie being rushed in for the Wizer Cup. I expect Stevo, Carey & Ronnie will play, but with limited game time (but they do need to get used to playing together). So a line-up for the 1st Wizer could be:

B: Bassett, Rutten, Hart
HB: Torney McGregor, Stiffy
C: Gallagher, Riccuito, Reilly
HF: Burton, Stevens, Ladhams
F: Burns, Carey, Bode
R: Biglands, Stenglein, Edwards
I (from): Clarke, Hentschel, Smart, McLeod, Goodwin, Doughty, Mattner

I reckon rotate a few of the experienced players through the bench (ie. gun midfielders & some of the older players such as Smart & Hart). Need to look at Stinger & Edwards in (attacking) midfield roles, rotate the youngsters through the wings, try Torney & Rutten down back, & Carey & Burns up forward. Hentschel should give both Stevo & Carey a bit of a rest. The key is I think to try out the new players who look like they may break through in 2003 & try out existing players in new roles.

Originally posted by crowsfan
Top post macca.

You went into heaps of detail, which is much appreciated. Were you taking notes or something? ;)

Good to hear that Carey is in tip-top shape. That is such great news, and I'm sure the thought of him so motivated brings excitement to all Crows supporters. Can you feel the butterflies already?

Macca23?? It must have been hard to takes notes of the training session with one hand on your pen and the other one on your you know what!!! Fair Dinkum you Crows supporters must be really bored to drive all the way to West Lakes to watch your heroes run around at 9am. Did you get butterflies speaking to the great man who will help you win the 2003 flag (sic). How can one player create so much hysteria, after all he is just a dirty womaniser, who should be trying to keep out of the moonlight. Or is that when he does his best work?

You should have stopped in at Alberton to watch the real deal.

Originally posted by tredders16

The real deal?

A. Why would anyone want to stop at Alberton?
B. From what I saw on the news tonight, all the power boys are doing is running up hills, carrying medicine balls above their heads. They havent even got the football's out yet! hardly exciting stuff.

Jerome

2004?

Great Scott Macca! You'd better send the De Lorean back to Ultratune.

Top post mate.

Jerome

Macca23?? It must have been hard to takes notes of the training session with one hand on your pen and the other one on your you know what!!! Fair Dinkum you Crows supporters must be really bored to drive all the way to West Lakes to watch your heroes run around at 9am. Did you get butterflies speaking to the great man who will help you win the 2003 flag (sic). How can one player create so much hysteria, after all he is just a dirty womaniser, who should be trying to keep out of the moonlight. Or is that when he does his best work?

I guess it goes to show just how strong our supporter base is. Don't reckon it's boredom that drove macca and the other hundred or so people there, and it seems like when some people attack others, like you have, its b/c you are jealously that you can't say the same thing about your club. It's easy to take swipes isn't it?

Carey has created so much hysteria b/c a lot of people believe he is one of the greatest players to have played the game. His off-field life isn't why there is so much hysteria and it's got nothing to do with how he plays the game. Again, you seem to be jealous that you can't say you've got Carey at your club. You are good at dishing out intentionally harmful but pathetically ineffective comments, I'll give you that.

Maybe we'd go to Alberton if we were truly bored. I'm sure all Crows supporters have better and more interesting things to do than watching you lot.

Sorry tredders, I didn't take notes, and I didn't have my hand on my you know what. Going by your post the latter is obviously compulsory at Alberton.

If a Port supporter went and watched training that would be loyalty wouldn't it? :rolleyes: Funny how it becomes a relief for boredom for anyone else. Carey is actually a good guy to talk to, and although this might surprise you, was recruited for his football ability, as are all footballers. Once we get into player's morals all is not white in more ways than one at Alberton either.

The fact that you are surprised at one player creating so much hysteria as you put it would suggest that you have been living in a broom closet for the past 12 years or so - he only happens to be the most influential player in the last 15 years.

As for stopping in at Alberton to see the real deal, have you re-appointed the womanizing, ****roach ridden chicken shop owning, crap used car owning ex-coach that you used to have. That WAS the real deal!! Makes Carey look like an amateur. :rolleyes:

Go get a life!!

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Well the current injury status is:

Mark Bickley Leg Infection Restricted Program
Scott Welsh Groin Restricted Program
Daniel Schell Groin Restricted Program
Kris Massie Chronic Fatigue (mild) Restricted Program
Mark Stevens Back Restricted Program
Nathan Bock Knee Restricted Program
Ronnie Burns Corked Thigh Restricted Program
Wayne Carey Hamstring Restricted Program

Geez, I really am a fan of Daniel Schell aren't I?? He was the one I didn't recognize and thought might be a rookie. :D Just wishful thinking I guess!! :)

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
I can't see Bickley, Welsh & Massie being rushed in for the Wizer Cup. I expect Stevo, Carey & Ronnie will play, but with limited game time (but they do need to get used to playing together). So a line-up for the 1st Wizer could be:

B: Bassett, Rutten, Hart
HB: Torney McGregor, Stiffy
C: Gallagher, Riccuito, Reilly
HF: Burton, Stevens, Ladhams
F: Burns, Carey, Bode
R: Biglands, Stenglein, Edwards
I (from): Clarke, Hentschel, Smart, McLeod, Goodwin, Doughty, Mattner

I reckon rotate a few of the experienced players through the bench (ie. gun midfielders & some of the older players such as Smart & Hart). Need to look at Stinger & Edwards in (attacking) midfield roles, rotate the youngsters through the wings, try Torney & Rutten down back, & Carey & Burns up forward. Hentschel should give both Stevo & Carey a bit of a rest. The key is I think to try out the new players who look like they may break through in 2003 & try out existing players in new roles.

I think you're right on the money there Kane, and that they will rotate a few of the experienced players through the bench. On top of those you have listed for the interchange, they will definitely want to play Begley as well, as he was really impressive today.

Macca23, top stuff.

Very similar to the Tiser article except well thought out, far more in depth and a good read! Thought about giving up your day job? ;)

http://www.theadvertiser.news.com.au/common/story_page/0,5936,5815240%5E21544,00.html

My take on the Burton thing is that he will play full forward when Carey is unavailable, which I would say could be as much as a quarter of the year if things are going well and more if not. Burton seemed to lose kicking confidence towards the end of last year so this may explain the extra sessions with jars. As someone rightly pointed out, with Burton fitness is unlikely to be an issue.

As for tredders16, why would you waste your first and only post on Macca23, who clearly is a loyal follower of our club.

Drag your sorry ass over to the pitiful powder board tool!

Originally posted by macca23
I think you're right on the money there Kane, and that they will rotate a few of the experienced players through the bench. On top of those you have listed for the interchange, they will definitely want to play Begley as well, as he was really impressive today.
Yeah, they will probably look at Begley & Shuback at some stage during the Wizer. We should have a shootout for spots on the wings between the young guns. Who would you be putting your money on for starting to come the real season? Tough choice I reckon (ie. no one would have picked Dogga this time last year).