macca23

Adelaide Crows
It looks very much as if the Ins and Outs will be as follows going by the learned BF posters and the uneducated copycat Michaelangelo Rucci (whose bias towards Port makes Eddie look like a Collingwood hater)

Ins: Begley, Doughty

Out: Smart, Gallagher

A likely line-up could be

B: Hart, Bassett, Begley
HB: Johnc ock, McGregor, Torney
C: Goodwin, Bickley, Doughty
HF: Edwards, Perrie, Ladhams
F: Riccuito, Carey, Burns
R: Clarke, Stenglein, McLeod
I: Biglands, Bode, Mattner, Massie

Your thoughts??

Macca,
I reckon thats probably the best side we can muster up, under the circumstances. Bit concerned about a lack of big men down back McGregor on Tarrant i'm comfortable with, but Hart, Bassett and Begley Vs Rocca, Fraser and Malloy..well we give away some size there.

If one of our defenders is having a bad night then I guess we have to run Biglands or Perrie down back.

Being a night game, hopefully the ball will be at ground level more often giving our defenders the chance to run off.

Makes you realise how important Smarty really is.

Still reckon we are winners tho'!! :D

Originally posted by Delivery Man
Macca,
I reckon thats probably the best side we can muster up, under the circumstances. Bit concerned about a lack of big men down back McGregor on Tarrant i'm comfortable with, but Hart, Bassett and Begley Vs Rocca, Fraser and Malloy..well we give away some size there.

If one of our defenders is having a bad night then I guess we have to run Biglands or Perrie down back.

Being a night game, hopefully the ball will be at ground level more often giving our defenders the chance to run off.

Makes you realise how important Smarty really is.

Still reckon we are winners tho'!! :D

I have said before that Smart is one of the hardest players to replace. As for match ups my money is on the following:

Hart Vs Tarrant
McGregor Vs Rocca
Bassett Vs Molloy

If Fraser starts on the ground I expect:

Bassett Vs Fraser
Torney Vs Molloy

After listening to Trevor Jaques (Spelling????) today on 5AA, I am confident that Goodwin will play. So I agree with macca23 that Begley and Doughty will come in for Smart and Gallagher.

It will be a tough match but I think we can win it. Let me rephrase that: WE MUST WIN or our record after a month of footy would just about be 1-3 as I cannot see us winning at the GABBA with Smart, Stevens, Welsh and Burton missing from our line up.:(

Originally posted by macca23
It looks very much as if the Ins and Outs will be as follows going by the learned BF posters and the uneducated copycat Michaelangelo Rucci (whose bias towards Port makes Eddie look like a Collingwood hater)

Ins: Begley, Doughty

Out: Smart, Gallagher

A likely line-up could be

B: Hart, Bassett, Begley
HB: Johnc ock, McGregor, Torney
C: Goodwin, Bickley, Doughty
HF: Edwards, Perrie, Ladhams
F: Riccuito, Carey, Burns
R: Clarke, Stenglein, McLeod
I: Biglands, Bode, Mattner, Massie

Your thoughts??
The right 22 IMO. However, with Roo's form I would start him in the guts. With Stinger picking up Bucks, I would have Bicks playing close attention to Burns. I would then having him changing off a HB flank with Goodwin (which would lessen Goody's load as he will not be 100%. This would release Stiffy to change on the ball.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
I have said before that Smart is one of the hardest players to replace. As for match ups my money is on the following:

Hart Vs Tarrant
McGregor Vs Rocca
Bassett Vs Molloy

If Fraser starts on the ground I expect:

Bassett Vs Fraser
Torney Vs Molloy

Agree with McGregor v Rocca & Bassett v Molloy. How about Begley v Tarrant (as he is more a leading type forward), which would leave Hart to take Fraser or a mid/small, which he is so good at doing?

Re: Re: Crows v Collingwood

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
The right 22 IMO. However, with Roo's form I would start him in the guts. With Stinger picking up Bucks, I would have Bicks playing close attention to Burns. I would then having him changing off a HB flank with Goodwin (which would lessen Goody's load as he will not be 100%. This would release Stiffy to change on the ball.

Nothing wrong with any of the above Kane and it may well be as you have it. On reflection, Roo will probably start in the middle after last week's game. Stinger will pick up Buckley as you said.
Then who is the other player in the square at the start? McLeod, Goody or Bickley. A lot of options isn't there?

Re: Re: Re: Crows v Collingwood

Nothing wrong with any of the above Kane and it may well be as you have it. On reflection, Roo will probably start in the middle after last week's game. Stinger will pick up Buckley as you said.
Then who is the other player in the square at the start? McLeod, Goody or Bickley. A lot of options isn't there?

I would start McLeod on the wing as you can bet your bottom dollar that Licuria will get him as he has done some very good jobs on macca in the past. Apart from being a good tagger Licuria is also a ball winner. I would back Macca against Licuria but I think you can sort of limit Licuria's ability to get a lot of ball if he isn't started in centre. On the other hand macca can pick up a truckloads of touches as an outside player who will use his silky skills to give collingwoods defenders no chance against our forwards.

My 3 for the centre square would be Ricciuto, Bickley and Stenglein if Buckley starts in the centre. If not then I would start Edwards or Bode instead of him.

I love this midfield depth.:D
Golden Rule: You can NEVER EVER have too many midfielders.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Crows v Collingwood

I would start McLeod on the wing as you can bet your bottom dollar that Licuria will get him as he has done some very good jobs on macca in the past.

When Macca is being heavily tagged, the best way to get the most out of Macca is to isolate the two players because Macca doesn't get beaten very often on a purely one on one basis.

Not a bad suggestion, Stiffy, not bad at all. ;)

How about Begley v Tarrant (as he is more a leading type forward),

That might well be the case. Its just that I haven't seen a lot of Begley and I am not sure if he can play tall.

I just have this funny feeling that Hart will get Tarrant and Belgey will play the sort of role that Hart has played up until now, create a lot of run out of defence at every oportunity.

The more I think about it the more I believe that a lot of the time the ball will be at ground level which will make Collingwood a bit too top heavy in attack, especially since its a night game.

It becoming somewhat of a cliche but if we win the midfield, which I don't see any reason why we shouldn't, we should come away with 4 points.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Crows v Collingwood

When Macca is being heavily tagged, the best way to get the most out of Macca is to isolate the two players because Macca doesn't get beaten very often on a purely one on one basis.

Or if you play macca off a half back flank if you want him to create some run or in the forward line to provide some spark.:D

What are the odds of Ronnie kicking 3 on the weekend??????:D

That might well be the case. Its just that I haven't seen a lot of Begley and I am not sure if he can play tall.

I just have this funny feeling that Hart will get Tarrant and Belgey will play the sort of role that Hart has played up until now, create a lot of run out of defence at every oportunity.

The more I think about it the more I believe that a lot of the time the ball will be at ground level which will make Collingwood a bit too top heavy in attack, especially since its a night game.

It becoming somewhat of a cliche but if we win the midfield, which I don't see any reason why we shouldn't, we should come away with 4 points.
According to my Sturt mate at work, Begley is capable of playing on talls. His strength not height is the main concern, which makes him agood matchup for Tarrant. I would prefer the experienced Hart to play the creative role & the guy who picks up the small/tall. Yeah, I'm glad its a night game too.

How about McLeod on Buckley at Half Back when Bucks goes forward - what a dual.

I agree that Scott Burns needs to be looked after. I think Torney would also be a good match up if he can be spared from defence

Will Johncok get the job on Didak or will he start on the wing?

They will only be missing Lockyer whereas we will have four out.

So should be a very close game.

Ladhams needs a good game to after a couple of quiet ones.

McGreogor will defintely get Rocca
Hart on Tarrant
Bassett on Molloy if he plays as he has been poor.
I would send Biglands to Fraser as he should manage him no worries.

Originally posted by Jars458
McGreogor will defintely get Rocca
Hart on Tarrant
Bassett on Molloy if he plays as he has been poor.
I would send Biglands to Fraser as he should manage him no worries.

Thats what I was thinking but can Clarke ruck for majority of the night??????

I think Ladhams will have to start on HF flank. I would prefer John**** to play a free running role like he has done a last couple of weeks. Stiffy is not really a stopping defender. He just likes to attack the ball hard and then pump it forward. I think Torney will get Didak and I wouldn't mind seeing Mattner taking on Burns;)

Agree with McGregor v Rocca & Bassett v Molloy. How about Begley v Tarrant (as he is more a leading type forward), which would leave Hart to take Fraser or a mid/small, which he is so good at doing?

Tarrant in my mind looms as the big threat to our backlines & i just don't think Begley would have the match fitness to go with him,

Hart on Tarrant,
MacGregor on Fraser,
Bassett on Rocca,
Doughty on Molloy,

i don't mean to be the odd one out again but i just can't see why we have to make any unforced changes at this stage & would give Gallagher one more week in the starting 22,

Originally posted by noddy
Doughty on Molloy,

UUUUUHHHHHHHHHH:eek: !!!!!! Noddy I hope you are kidding. Thats a mismatch if ever I saw one. Pies would exploit this and would be licking their chops if this match up occurs. Molloy is too tall and too strong for Doughty.

Tarrant in my mind looms as the big threat to our backlines & i just don't think Begley would have the match fitness to go with him,

Hart on Tarrant,
MacGregor on Fraser,
Bassett on Rocca,
Doughty on Molloy,

i don't mean to be the odd one out again but i just can't see why we have to make any unforced changes at this stage & would give Gallagher one more week in the starting 22,
Begley has been playing full back for Sturt & of the Pies forwards Tarrant would be his best matchup IMO. ie. Better off playing him on a leading type forward that a bigger or body-type player. Otherwise we could look to someone like Massie. Dogga would be too small for Molloy & I think the Hound would be the perfect matchup for the D9. Also, I believe Dogga has been playing mainly as a midfielder not a key defender, so we should play him where he is best suited.

UUUUUHHHHHHHHHH:eek: !!!!!! Noddy I hope you are kidding. Thats a mismatch if ever I saw one. Pies would exploit this and would be licking their chops if this match up occurs. Molloy is too tall and too strong for Doughty.

Ooops, said i was the odd one out, :o

Doughty is over 6' & has a solid build & i think he could exploit Molloy for pace & Doughty has played at hb before,

Begley has been playing full back for Sturt & of the Pies forwards Tarrant would be his best matchup IMO. ie. Better off playing him on a leading type forward that a bigger or body-type player. Otherwise we could look to someone like Massie. Dogga would be too small for Molloy & I think the Hound would be the perfect matchup for the D9. Also, I believe Dogga has been playing mainly as a midfielder not a key defender, so we should play him where he is best suited.

Granted he has played fb for Sturt but the guy has only played 2 games all year including the pre-season & i just think he would not be match fit enough to take on someone like Tarrant first up,

but like previously i stand to be corrected once again,:)

my tippings not going very well either, & don't say "i wonder why"

Ooops, said i was the odd one out, :o

Doughty is over 6' & has a solid build & i think he could exploit Molloy for pace & Doughty has played at hb before,

According afl.com.au :

Doughty 179 cm / 76 kg
Molloy 189 cm / 98 kg

A huge mismatch IMHO but I am more than happy to be proven wrong.

According afl.com.au :

Doughty 179 cm / 76 kg
Molloy 189 cm / 98 kg

A huge mismatch IMHO but I am more than happy to be proven wrong.
Stiffy, can you get me the details for Tarrant, Begley & Massie too. :)

Originally posted by Jars458
Begley 189 and 83
Massie 188 and 87
Tarrant 193 and 89
Thanks Jars. I would go for either of these 2 then on Tarrant, which would release Hart to play on Fraser or a medium/small as required. Perhaps Massie given he has had more game time. He hasn't let us down lately, so perhaps time to give him a challenge.

Jars beat me to it. A number of us were saying how we should blood Massie to be Smarts "replacement" when Nige give the game away. I guess he has to start somewhere, and I would like to see how he goes against Tarrant but I am not very confident with this match up. Tarrant has been playing consistently great footy this year and as such will require a high quality defender which is why I think Hart will get the job. Hart has played well on Tarant in the past.