Crows V Dockers

Sorry Leigh, but dropping Bassett is madness. He's just too good in defence. I don't see how he's in competition with Mattner either as Bassett is KP and Mattner is a running type.

Re: Re: Re: Crows V Dockers

Originally posted by Kenny_01
Jones should be on Carey and Hayden on Bode. Wouldn't Johncock be a better option on Medhurst or Farmer than Smart and Hart?

Jones/Carey and Hayden/Bode, okay then. Like I said, with Carey just being there, that might open up opportunities for others to slip through un-noticed.

I'm unsure of who'd be the best match-ups. Perhaps Johncock (nice vb trick) on Medhurst then Smart back on Carr and then Hart on Farmer.

I have always liked Farmer but hopefully we'll keep him quiet - I'd like to see John**** play up the ground a bit, that's the main reasoning.

EDIT: Okay Dave, I will edit it bit.

Check this out - http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/articles/2003/03/16/1047749663673.html - I can take Bickley out now.

I had a look at our first 6 matches and they all look winable

Vs Fremantle @ AAMI Stadium
VS St. Kilda @ Telstra Dome
Vs Sydney @ SCG
Vs West Coast @ AAMI Stadium
Vs Port Adelaide @ AAMI Stadium
VS Kangaroos @ Telstra Dome

And then in round 7 a rematch of the Wizard Cup final Vs Collingwood @ AAMI Stadium

First 6 games are all very winable with the showdown appearing to be the toughest;)

Originally posted by Stiffy_18

Vs Sydney @ SCG

And then in round 7 a rematch of the Wizard Cup final Vs Collingwood @ AAMI Stadium

First 6 games are all very winable with the showdown appearing to be the toughest;)

Don't you mean the first 7 look winnable Stiffy?? :D

I would be disappointed if we didn't win the first 4 even though 2 are on the road. Port are always tough, as are the Kangaroos and the McGuires.

But they are all winnable. :)

Vs Sydney @ SCG

Yes, all winnable. But to use a well worn football cliche - "lets take it one game at a time and don't get too far ahead of ourselves". The Dockers are going to improve on the road eventually and what better way than against the Crows.

Vs Sydney @ SCG

First one appears a big danger game to me. :)
Rd 7 should be easy for you blokes as they couldn't beat us last year.

Originally posted by macca23
Don't you mean the first 7 look winnable Stiffy?? :D

I would be disappointed if we didn't win the first 4 even though 2 are on the road. Port are always tough, as are the Kangaroos and the McGuires.

But they are all winnable. :)

AH they are all winable mate. Its just that some are more winable than others.:D

I would be disappointed if we don't start with 4 wins and the next 3 are probably 50/50. If we can get our best on the park I would think that we will win the next 3 as well.

I can't wait.:D :D :D :D :D :D

BTW Crows have asked AFL for permission to play Ricciuto, Bickley, Marsh, Nelson, Schell and Hentschel next week in the SANFL

Originally posted by RIPPER_46
First one appears a big danger game to me. :)
Rd 7 should be easy for you blokes as they couldn't beat us last year.

Fremantle game is a real danger IMHO for 2 reasons:

*Fremantle are set to have a good year and they are capable of making the finals. They will want to come out with all guns blazing to start the season with away win and get some confidence.

*In the last 2 years we have usually lost coming off a weeks break. Hopefully this time we come out with all guns blazing at it appears we will be close to full strength with Fremantle missing a couple of key players in Justin Longmuir and possibly Luke McPharlin. Having said that Carey, Bickley and Ricciuto are underdone.

Cheers;)

I think that Burns will be given another chance in the first round as his pre-season was very good and his game against West Coast was also good. I also think the AFC might see it as a backwards step after recruiting him at 30 years old and then playing him in the SANFL first up - I reckon he'll get another shot.

The two to be dropped in my opinion will be Mattner and Doughty as they are 2 midfielders and we already have McLeod, Edwards, Ricciuto, Goodwin, Ladhams, Bode, Stenglein, Reilly, Burton, John**** and Bickley who can all play a role in the midfield. If I was a selector I'd almost be hoping for an injury to a lesser player just to ease the pressure of selection, but not quite.

It's a great dilemma the club has got itself into.

I can't wait for round 1 now that the pre-season is over. It was good to win the Wizard Cup but it doesn't really matter to the supporters or players 6 months down the track if we're not in the Grand Final.

Just for Kenny or any other Freo supporters. Will Pavlich be ready for round 1? He had that injury a week or two back. Also has Hasleby recovered from his broken nose? What other injurie clouds have the Dockers got going into the game?

Thanks.

Haze and Pav both had good games against Hawthorn by all accounts and will be ready for Round 1. Also, J-Lo's recovery is going a lot better than expected and should be a good chance to line up against the Crows. I don't know about McPharlin. He didn't play a pre-season game and along with Parker still has a few hamstring issues.

BTW Crows have asked AFL for permission to play Ricciuto, Bickley, Marsh, Nelson, Schell and Hentschel next week in the SANFL

Stuff that. Why don't we just play an internal trial?

If they want to do something different and keep the boys focused, an internal trail would be the go IMO.

I agree, we should be aiming to be 4 zip in the first month of footy. I dont want another 0-3 or 0-5 start.

Jerome

Originally posted by RogerMellie
Haze and Pav both had good games against Hawthorn by all accounts and will be ready for Round 1. Also, J-Lo's recovery is going a lot better than expected and should be a good chance to line up against the Crows. I don't know about McPharlin. He didn't play a pre-season game and along with Parker still has a few hamstring issues.

Thanks mate. I hope Parker plays and so too McPharlin if he plays in defence not only for your sake but for ours. It will show us where our forward line is at from the pre-season but if those guys don't play, quite simply, you're f*cked. ;) :p

Originally posted by snakebite01
Thanks mate. I hope Parker plays and so too McPharlin if he plays in defence not only for your sake but for ours. It will show us where our forward line is at from the pre-season but if those guys don't play, quite simply, you're f*cked. ;) :p

Whilst not yet of the calibre of McPharlin and Parker, Bobby Haddrill and 'Neon' Dion Woods were both shining lights in defence against Port a few weeks back. Haddrill belted Chad Cornes, and Woodsy showed flair as a rebounding HB flanker, pin-pointing worm-burners onto purple chests as he bounded gazelle-like out of defence. Along with Polak, Grover, and if things get hairy Pavlich, Freo's got a serviceable, albeit inexperienced defensive unit. I'm not saying they're going to win it for the Good Guys (us), but I reckon they'll hold their own. For mine, if Pav plays in the guts, I reckon they'll go with Polak on Carey.

Originally posted by Jerome
Stuff that. Why don't we just play an internal trial?

If they want to do something different and keep the boys focused, an internal trail would be the go IMO.

I agree, we should be aiming to be 4 zip in the first month of footy. I dont want another 0-3 or 0-5 start.

Jerome

Because you need 40 players for an internal trial

They just want to play 6 or 7.

Good decision.

Originally posted by kirky
Yes, all winnable. But to use a well worn football cliche - "lets take it one game at a time and don't get too far ahead of ourselves". The Dockers are going to improve on the road eventually and what better way than against the Crows.

I agree with you kirky, "let's just take one game at a time"

we shouldn't take other clubs for granted that we will beat them willy nilly any game could go either way & just because we won a pre-season wok & looked a million $ in the process doe's not necessarily mean we will transfer that form into the season proper, Gary Ayres has said all along that he wants the players to get use to that winning feeling & to try & win every game they play in to me that is the right way to go but let's not get ahead of ourselves to far,

mind you those first 6 games do look winable,

I'd say that Croad Longmuir and McPharlin won't play, while Parker will and Waterhouse might. Pavlich and Hasleby will definitely play. I'd have Parker or Jones on Carey.

This is the third time I have posted this line-up. The other two times were on the Freo board where Kane or any other reasnoable Crows supporter is welcome to post on. :)

Round one matchups:
(I'll assume McPharlin, Parker and Waterhouse will play but Longmuir won't)

FB: Haddrill...Parker...Hayden
FF: Perrie......Carey.....Bode

HB: Grover.....Polak.......Woods
HF: Burton...Stevens....Edwards

C: Headland...Hasleby......Cook
C: Stenglein...Riccuito....Ladhams

HF: T. Longmuir...Pavlich......Waterhouse
HB: John****....McGregor.......Smart

FF: Medhurst...McPharlin...Farmer
FB: Hart............Basset......Torney

R: Simmonds....Carr..........Bell
R: Biglands....Goodwin...McLeod

I: Jones, McManus, Haines, Walker
I: Clarke, Doughty, Bickley, Reilly

I agree with Kenny that McPharlin should be played at FF. He is extremely quick off the mark (was a champion 200m and 400m sprinter) and will present a real problem with his pace and athleticism for Basset. Pavlich will need to be at CHF for us to win.

Big ask on Parker and Polak. Hopefully they can hold their own so we can keep Pavlich and McPharlin in the forward line and not have to drag them back to defense.

Our midfield has more class and experience than last years with a skills focused pre-season, the addition of Headland, the improvement of Hase and Pav floating around the middle at times.
Although it does not quite draw level with Adelaide's it does come close. Stenglein will most likely get the job on Bell, Headland or Hasleby, probably Headland or Haze. I can't think of anyone who could run with McLeod. Carr would have the fitness to keep up with him but not the pace. I think he would be better suited to run with Goodwin, who also had a great pre-season. Perhaps someone like Headland shold be matched up on McLeod and we should back (or should I say, hope) Headland to have the greater impact on the game.

I'd like to see Reilly play in round one, this kid looks impressive. Welsh won't be available by round one will he???

Originally posted by |D_J^B_J|

I'd like to see Reilly play in round one, this kid looks impressive. Welsh won't be available by round one will he???

I think Reilly is a near certainty to play against Freo. No chance for Welsh though.

Originally posted by |D_J^B_J|
How many games does he look set to miss??

He should get over his injury by round 2 or 3 but I think he might spend a couple of weeks in the SANFL to get some match fitness. Personally I don't expect him back before round 5 or 6. He will be a very vital player for us.;)

Well did anyone read the advertiser this morning? It had an article on Reilly, and its 99% sure he will be chosen come round one, after a great performance in the 'Wok Cup'.
0,1658,243242,00.jpg

ooh yep he looks pretty happy bout that one!!!!