Crows V Roos

• Thread starter Thread starter Jerome

Hell we're great coaches eh!
Crowell IN... Not with a f*cked knee ( Thanks Jerome!!)
Marsh IN...LOL

JR reckons Bass will play (on 5aa tonite)
Stevo could be doubtful K, he is carrying an injury and its only a guess, but, he may miss a couple.

Originally posted by topjars

Stevo could be doubtful K, he is carrying an injury and its only a guess, but, he may miss a couple.

While Stevo's bruised knee gets plenty of publicity, his last two games have been so poor because of back soreness, which is kept pretty quiet. Can't bend, can hardly run. A week off would do him the world of good, but they'll probably still pick him.

Personally I'd play Roo as a small CHF and give him 1 or 2 weeks off as a fit Stevo at CHF is vital to our success.

For unforced changes I would only swap Massie for Mattner. If Stevo is injured, I would try Hentschel. If Bassett doesn't come up, I think we have enough tall defenders to cover the Roos & I would bring in Crowell or possibly Doughty, depending on team balance.

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
If Bassett doesn't come up, I think we have enough tall defenders to cover the Roos & I would bring in Crowell or possibly Doughty, depending on team balance.

Gee mate you are more confident than me. Rocca (195cm), Petrie (197cm) and Morrell (191cm) are a pretty tall forward line. If Bassett doesn't come up we have to bring in another tall but it CANNOT be Schell.

OUT:
Mattner
Gallagher
Bassett (if he doesn't come up)

IN:
Massie
Doughty
Rutten (if fit if not then I would try Parker if we can promote himas far a finances go)

For unforced changes I would only swap Massie for Mattner. If Stevo is injured, I would try Hentschel. If Bassett doesn't come up, I think we have enough tall defenders to cover the Roos & I would bring in Crowell or possibly Doughty, depending on team balance.

If Hentschel was nervous in Sydney, surely he'll crap his pants in the Careydown. Perhaps it would be time to try Rutten.

Well with Stevens now confirmed as out for a few weeks and the injury list getting longer, it's time to have a look at a possible line up.

Here's mine assuming The Hound is OK to play.

B: Hart, Bassett, Smart
HB: Johnc ock, McGregor, Torney
C: Goodwin, Bode, Gallagher
HF: Edwards, Perrie, Ladhams
F: Riccuito, Carey, Burns
R: Biglands, Stenglein, McLeod
I: Clarke, Hentschel, Bickley, Massie

If Bassett doesn't get up then I assume Perrie will go down back and another kid may get a go, maybe Bock???

Originally posted by napsyd
Well with Stevens now confirmed as out for a few weeks and the injury list getting longer, it's time to have a look at a possible line up.

Here's mine assuming The Hound is OK to play.

If Bassett doesn't get up then I assume Perrie will go down back and another kid may get a go, maybe Bock???

Thats probably how I would have gone except I don't think Hentschel has quite earned his spot yet.

I watched him play last week in SANFL and he was in and out of the game. He was scoreless up to 3 quarter time and kicked 3 goals when the game was well and truely over. Bock didn't even play as well as Hentschel (who managed only 3 marks) and IMO is not quite ready for AFL.

I really have this suspicion that Schell will get the nod.:( .

Personally I would go:

IN: Massie, Doughty
OUT: Mattner, Stevens.

If AFC decide to drop Gallagher then I think Schell might come in. Although I wouldn't mind seeing Hentschel get another go out of forward pocket alongside Carey. Perrie should play CHF but we need to surround him with a lot of crumbers as his field kicking is not up to scrach and his ground level skills are virtually non existant. Burns has to start out of forward pocket.

I somehow do not see Roo effective up forward this week as Roos have a perfect match up for him in Archer. Brown will get Carey;)

from afc.com.au

SANFL Players Report - Round 5
matthew robran
afc.com.au
11:40:08 AM Tue 29 April, 2003

Daniel Schell

Daniel played at full forward, center half back and had a short stint in the ruck and finished with 10 possessions and took six marks and laid a couple of strong tackles. He presented himself well playing in the goal square and certainly looked a dangerous player when leading strongly.

Ben Rutten (West Adelaide)

A broken thumb in the first quarter signaled the end of the match for Ben who started at center half forward. He had 5 possessions before leaving the ground.

Luke Jericho (West Adelaide Reserves)

Luke continued his development playing at center half back and forward in the reserves.

Ben Marsh

Another fine game from Ben playing in the ruck as he gathered 12 possessions, took 6 marks, kicked 2 goals and had 19 hit-outs. He worked hard in defence to assist his teammates and also pushed forward to create an attacking option and was rewarded with 2 goals, while his ruckwork gave first use of the ball to his midfielders.

Jacob Schuback (West Adelaide Reserves)

Jacob played in the midfield for the first three quarters before being used as a fast leading forward in the last quarter. He started the match a bit slow, however he worked his way into the match quickly and gathered plenty of touches. His use of quick hands in tight contests was very good as was his marking.

James Begley (Sturt)

James returned from a long lay-off through injury and immediately showed that he will push for senior selection very soon. He put in an excellent first up effort gathering 20 possessions in a perfect defensive game. His ball handling was very clean and his disposal on both sides of his body was very good. He ran the game out very well and looked as if he hadn’t missed a game.

Ben Nelson (Sturt)

Ben started at center half forward before moving into the midfield. He finished the day with 14 disposals and laid 6 strong tackles.

Brent Reilly (Sturt)

An unfortunate collision resulted in Brent sustaining a broken collarbone, which will sideline him for 8 weeks. He picked up 3 kicks in the first 3 minutes before being injured.

Michael Doughty (South Adelaide)

Michael looks to be re-gaining his best form as he gathered 23 possessions and took 7 marks for the Panthers on the weekend. He certainly was a valuable contributor to his teams win. His skill level was very good as he used the ball to the team’s advantage by hitting his teammates by either hand or foot. Some good chasing saw him rewarded with several good tackles.

Nathan Bock (Eagles)

A solid game from Nathan as he lead well and was hard at the contest all game. He finished the day with 13 possessions and took five marks and even when he wasn’t finding the footy we still worked hard to create space for his fellow forwards. He showed courage in the marking contests and looked a dangerous player all game.

Trent Hentschel (Eagles)

Trent, as with Nathan Bock, worked well in the forward line gathering 17 disposals and kicking 3 goals. His work at ground level was very good and he showed his skillful ability when in possession of the ball. Use of the ball was very good.

Robert Shirley (Eagles)

An excellent four-quarter effort by Robert saw him gather 25 possessions. His pressure on the opposition was very good and when in possession of the footy his skill level was terrific. He worked hard and continually found space and was rewarded by finding plenty of the footy.

Kris Massie (Norwood)

Kris continued his fine form with Norwood as he finished the match with 22 possessions and 7 marks. He continually ran hard to create options and although not used on every occasion, he was always mindful of his teammates and tried to create space for them. A good four-quarter effort.

Rookies

Aidan Parker (South Adelaide)

Aidan was a valuable contributor all night and he finished the game with 18 possessions playing across half forward.

Jason Porplyzia (West Adelaide)

Jason played in a back pocket and finished with 8 possessions and he used all of his possessions to the team’s advantage.

Hayden Skipworth (Eagles)

A top effort from Hayden as he finished the game with 25 disposals and worked very hard over the four-quarters. Kicked 2 goals and assisted in 4 others.

THE SANFL PLAYER OF THE ROUND FOR ROUND 5 WAS WON BY JAMES BEGLEY

Injured Crows - Who's in the medical room?
afc.com.au
1:24:52 PM Mon 28 April, 2003

Player Injury Expected Return
Crowell Knee Test
Marsh Hand Test
Bassett Concussion Test
Reilly Collarbone 8 weeks
Rutten Broken thumb 5 weeks
Bratton Shoulder 1 week
Welsh Thumb ligaments 3 weeks
Burton Ankle Sprain 4 weeks

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
I wouldn't mind seeing Hentschel get another go out of forward pocket alongside Carey. Perrie should play CHF but we need to surround him with a lot of crumbers as his field kicking is not up to scrach and his ground level skills are virtually non existant. Burns has to start out of forward pocket.

/B]

Totally agree regarding the Hentschel/Perrie/Carey set up..

Hentschel and Bock were solid for the Eagles, if Bock had of kicked straighter I'd rate him a bit higher this week. Despite his lack of goals and stats I thought Trent worked pretty hard.

With Marsh and Crowell doubtful and Rutten out, Hentschel would be the tall best option, unless we add Aiden Parker to the Senior List.

I would not pick Schell. I was not impressed with him on Friday.

Our other option is Matt Smith, however his form for the Port seniors has been bad enough to be dropped to the reserves. We need in form players IMO, so I dont rate his chances.

Channel 10 have mentioned Begley and Massie as possible inclusions with Gags in danger. I'd say both of those guys are a fair chance as their AFL experience could be quite handy.

Jerome

My team would be very similar, but with Doughty in place of Hentschel.

Pinching football365's thread from the Kangaroos site:

B:Makepeace, Watt, Baird
HB:Archer, Brown, Sinclair
C:S.Motlop, Simpson, Harding
HF:Colbert, Petrie, Morell
FF:Harvey, Rocca, D.Motlop
Foll:Burton, Grant, A.Stevens
I: Wells, Porter, Rawlings, King

The Roos have plenty of tall forwards. McGregor will be a good matchup for Petrie & I think I would prefer Smart on Rocca. That would leave Bassett for Morell & Hart for Colbert. My concern is that they are likely to play 2-3 zippy forwards & we really only have Stiffy with pace. Who picks up Harvey who has carved us up so much in the past? Edwards perhaps as he is likely to spend plenty of time on the ball. Do we need another pacy backman such as Crowell, given the problems we had last week, Matera, Milne, etc Who do we use Stenglein on? Simpson perhaps? Do we run Torney with Sinclair who has been damaging for North? Lots think about.

Massie deserves to come in for Mattner. The question is whether we continue to have another taller option by picking Hentschel to replace Stevens, or whether we use Roo instead and bring in Dogga into the midfield mix.

The question is whether we continue to have another taller option by picking Hentschel to replace Stevens, or whether we use Roo instead and bring in Dogga into the midfield mix.

And your choice would be Kane??

Re: from afc.com.au

Originally posted by Jerome
Rookies

Aidan Parker (South Adelaide)

Aidan was a valuable contributor all night and he finished the game with 18 possessions playing across half forward.

Hayden Skipworth (Eagles)

A top effort from Hayden as he finished the game with 25 disposals and worked very hard over the four-quarters. Kicked 2 goals and assisted in 4 others.

Its interesting how Parker is being played up forward to add another string to his game. He played CHF a couple of weeks ago and did well kicking 3 goals in progress. He came to our club having a reputation as a specialist full back that was not comfortable further up the field. His last couple of games he's played forward and been pretty good. The more I hear about this fella the more I like him. He is really respected in WA. Hopefully he can develop into a specialist KP Player that can play at both ends of the ground.

As for Skipworth, I watched that game and he really impressed me. He used the ball well and had a bit of a purple patch when he went up forward in 2nd quarter. He has been regulary getting into Eagles best players and it wouldn't surprise one bit if he is promoted to Senior List.

From the Eagles match the kid that REALLY impressed me is Matthew Stokes. There is a bit of a Paul Medhurst about him although they don't play the same position. He is just so footy smart. His ability to get out of the congested situation is really good. He crumbs really well and he even kicked 3 goals. All this in only his 5th SANFL match. I really like this kid but unfortunately he was overlooked in the draft because of his size (173 cm). If he was a touch taller he would have been drafted. There is just something about him. He has this aura of excitement about him whenever he gets a footy.

Originally posted by macca23
And your choice would be Kane??
Undecided at this stage Macca. Colonial is a good stadium to play talls, but if Massie comes in along with Roo can play as a marking forward if required as can Goody. So I would probably lean towards playing Dogga, as we know what he is capable of. Hentschel would be more of a risk, but I reckon we do need to blood him (again) at some stage (other than on the SCG). Perhaps just not yet though.

BTW, who would you play on Brent Harvey as he always plays well against us??

He is a tough little cookie to match up on. Stenglein is not quick enough for him. Maybe play Stiffy in the middle and match him up or we could go with Edwards. I would probably go with Edwards and Hart on Harding

Have to be honest. I have no idea. He always burns against us because we just don't seem to have the appropriate match-up for him.

Edwards is a chance, but I think he has been tried before and failed.

One from left field - could a Gallagher be tried on him, as he does have the pace to match him?? Does he have the concentration levels or not??

Originally posted by macca23
Have to be honest. I have no idea. He always burns against us because we just don't seem to have the appropriate match-up for him.

Edwards is a chance, but I think he has been tried before and failed.

One from left field - could a Gallagher be tried on him, as he does have the pace to match him?? Does he have the concentration levels or not??
Interesting as no doubt Gags would have the pace. However, he isn't the most defensive player going around. However, Ayres gave Burton a run-with role (on Robert Harvey was it a few years back), so perhaps a challenge like this could be the making of him. Would want a plan B though!

Re: Re: from afc.com.au

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
From the Eagles match the kid that REALLY impressed me is Matthew Stokes. There is a bit of a Paul Medhurst about him although they don't play the same position. He is just so footy smart. His ability to get out of the congested situation is really good. He crumbs really well and he even kicked 3 goals. All this in only his 5th SANFL match. I really like this kid but unfortunately he was overlooked in the draft because of his size (173 cm). If he was a touch taller he would have been drafted. There is just something about him. He has this aura of excitement about him whenever he gets a footy.

Apologies in advance... you were stoked to see him play, eh? :) :p :D

Crows forced to ring changes without Stevens
By Chief Football Writer MICHELANGELO RUCCI
30apr03

ADELAIDE's forward structure is under reconstruction again with the loss of centre half-forward Mark Stevens for at least the next month.

Stevens, who has played under duress with a back and knee complaint all season, yesterday had arthroscopic surgery to clean up cartilage damage in his right knee.
The cartilage problem had been masked by Stevens twice jarring and bruising the knee in the past six weeks – first in the Wizard Cup grand final against Collingwood.

Two scans on his knee in the past month had failed to reveal the cartilage damage because it was masked by the deep bruising.

Stevens will certainly miss Adelaide's next two matches – against the Kangaroos at Telstra Dome on Friday night and Collingwood at home on May 10. At worst, Stevens will also miss the away clash with premier Brisbane and home stand against the Western Bulldogs.

In his absence, Adelaide has to rebuild its attack – this time around star recruit Wayne Carey, who has had his own MRI scan on a knee this week. It revealed no more than bruising and Carey yesterday declared the removal of fluid from the knee had eased the joint.

Carey, a seven-time All-Australian centre half-forward, will have to move from full forward to play at the gateway to Adelaide's attack to cover Stevens' absence. He trained in that role yesterday when the Crows revealed the full forward role is most likely to be handed to Ian Perrie.

Adelaide's alternative is to play small behind Carey with captain Mark Ricciuto at full forward.

The Crows are not expected to be savage at the selection table tonight when the match committee reacts to the 12-point derby loss to Port Adelaide.

Coach Gary Ayres is unlikely to drop his club's top-rated players who failed to make a mark in Showdown XIII, including captain Mark Ricciuto. And there are not Crows-based players in the SANFL forcing Ayres to call them up to the AFL, although Sturt full back James Begley, who beat fellow Crow Daniel Schell, may earn a place on the Adelaide bench for the first time since joining the Crows after four seasons with St Kilda.

Adelaide may not feel comfortable having just Carey and Perrie as tall options in attack. It is unlikely to repeat the transfer of half-back Ken McGregor to the forward zone.

This prompts Adelaide to think of recalling Schell or, much more likely, consider ruckman Ben Marsh, despite his hand injury.

Full back Nathan Bassett, concussed during Saturday night's game, trained yesterday and is expected to line-up against the Kangaroos.

Well there you go! Rucci's mail would seem to be Marsh as a possible inclusion.

Gulp!

Well there you go! Rucci's mail would seem to be Marsh as a possible inclusion.

Gulp!
I wouldn't be too concerned as Rucci also predicted Bickley would line up on S Burgoyne in the showdown! :o I don't believe we are that desperate yet that we need to give Marsh a run. Hentschel would be a better tall option & we have a couple of mid size players who can come in Massie & Begley.

Undecided at this stage Macca. Colonial is a good stadium to play talls, but if Massie comes in along with Roo can play as a marking forward if required as can Goody. So I would probably lean towards playing Dogga, as we know what he is capable of. Hentschel would be more of a risk, but I reckon we do need to blood him (again) at some stage (other than on the SCG). Perhaps just not yet though.

I've always thought that Docklands is a great stadium for smalls, personally. Because of the lack of breeze and the hardness of the surface, the ball seems to go further both in the air and on the ground, and so it seems a faster game than at other Victorian grounds. The teams that have been "designed" for Docklands seem to feature more running players - notably the Bulldogs and the Bombers.

Given that Hentschel is probably not ready for a 4 quarter contribution, I'd pick Dogga as someone with a good engine and a good personal record at the ground (18 touches 1 goal v WB, 22 vs Rich, 25 & 2 v Ess). Gives the option of Roo at CHF/FF.

Brent Harvey is a hard match up for most teams - quick, skilful and a great footy brain (c.f. the knockback from thhe goal line for Motlop's goal last weekend). The trick is not to starve him of possessions, but to pressure him when he gets it. Rob Shirley did a great job of this in R20 2001 - not that I'm suggesting a recall for him. I'd go for Stenglein as the first option, with John**** and Torney as the backups.

Originally posted by Jars458
Do we have a spare spot on our list to promote a rookie?

If so

Parker should get the nod with our lack of big ben being fit.

Unfortunately big ben may get a game Jars. :D

I believe we do have a space on our list. Perhaps it is time to promote the lad. He does appear to be able to slot straight in there.