10k Posts
Changes - Round 15 Vs St Kilda

Round 15 Vs St Kilda

In: Douglas, Campbell

Out: Porplyzia (injury), Doughty (suspended)

I saw the Michael Doughty / Luke Hodge incident (where he tackled his tackle) on the footy show this morning and would be very surprised if he got anything more than a reprimand, but the AFL tribunal is a fickle environment and could get as many as 2 weeks. If he does get game I would like to see Bryce Campbell given an opportunity to perform on the big stage as his form yesterday was outstanding. Unlucky for Bernie Vince but he will get another chance this year.

Richard Douglas should come into the side for the injured Jason Porplyzia and line us across the half forward line. The form of Kenny McGregor will allow Nathan Bock to move into the back 6 and line up on one of the St Kilda key position players.

Match ups

Ben Rutten on Frasier Gehrig
Scott Stevens on Brett Voss
Graham Johncock on Steven Milne
Kris Massie on Xavier Clarke
Nathan Bock on Nick Riewoldt

As Craigy mentioned, our win last night counts for nothing unless we follow it up with another win this week against the Saints. We need to show some consistency & string a few games together.

St Kilda should be desperate after a narrow loss to the Pies as their season is on the line given they are losing pace with the top-8.

This game is at the Dome in perfect conditions, so with the Saints tall forwards - Gehrig, Kossie & St Nick, IMO we need another tall backman this week, as I think all 3 will be too strong for Massie (given unlike Buddy, they are all strong in a marking contest).

In: Perrie, Douglas
Out: Porplyzia (inj), Doughty (susp)

B: Stevens, Rutten, Johncock
HB: McLeod, Bock, Massie
C: Knights, Goodwin, van Berlo
HF: Welsh, Perrie, Burton
F: Edwards, McGregor, Ricciuto
R: Hudson, Shirley, Thompson
I: Maric, Reilly, Torney, Douglas

Re: Changes - Round 15 Vs St Kilda

Round 15 Vs St Kilda

I saw the Michael Doughty / Luke Hodge incident (where he tackled his tackle) on the footy show this morning and would be very surprised if he got anything more than a reprimand, but the AFL tribunal is a fickle environment and could get as many as 2 weeks. If he does get game I would like to see Bryce Campbell given an opportunity to perform on the big stage as his form yesterday was outstanding. Unlucky for Bernie Vince but he will get another chance this year.

Richard Douglas should come into the side for the injured Jason Porplyzia and line us across the half forward line. The form of Kenny McGregor will allow Nathan Bock to move into the back 6 and line up on one of the St Kilda key position players.

Match ups

Agree with your changes but i'd like to see Stevens on Riedvwolt again and Bock on Koschitzke

Yeah agree that Justin Koschitzke might be a handful once he goes forward, he killed the West Coast playing as a floating ruckman / forward a few weeks ago that is why we really need Hudson and Maric to have some influence around the ground. If the St Kilda midfield gets on top and Michael Rix can spend time on the ball, the match ups will become a problem.

If the St Kilda midfield gets on top and Michael Rix can spend time on the ball, the match ups will become a problem.
I'm trying to recall the midfield matchups from last time we had a good win against the Saints at the Dome. I think Goodwin had a run-with role on Dal Santo & destroyed him. That would leave Shirley v Ball, though he is struggling a bit at the moment.

That is correct – Goodwin basically tagged Dal Santo out of the game.

I would put Shirley on Harvey as a tag (Still a gun and can destroy teams)
and have Van Berlo tag Luke Ball
Goodwin on Dal Santo
Knights to start on the half forward flank and Edwards and Thompson to run free

IN: Douglas
OUT: Porplyzia

Don't think Doughty will get suspended - reduction for his record + reduction for an early plea = less than a game... hopefully.

Gehrig - Rutten
Reiwoldt - Stevens
Koschitzke - Torney

Torney has played on Embley against WCE and manned up on the big oaf Campbell for periods of the Hawthorn game in the last two weeks. Obviously Koschitzke is an immense challenge but I don't think we have a better match up at the moment. I am certain that Craig won't shuffle our line up and sacrifice McGregor or Bock down back. Let the Saints worry about us instead.

IN: Douglas
OUT: Porplyzia

Don't think Doughty will get suspended - reduction for his record + reduction for an early plea = less than a game... hopefully.

Gehrig - Rutten
Reiwoldt - Stevens
Koschitzke - Torney

Torney has played on Embley against WCE and manned up on the big oaf Campbell for periods of the Hawthorn game in the last two weeks. Obviously Koschitzke is an immense challenge but I don't think we have a better match up at the moment. I am certain that Craig won't shuffle our line up and sacrifice McGregor or Bock down back. Let the Saints worry about us instead.
If it was wet/windy conditions, then we could get by without another tall. At TD where you don't have the elements to cotend with, talls come into play. Matching JT on Kossie would be suicide IMO.

Why not Massie again? Put Torney on Clarke or even McLeod.

1. Slippery/Windy conditions v good conditions make it easier for marking & easier to isolate a defender in a 1:1 contest.

2. Gehrig/Kossi/Reiwoldt are all better in a marking contest than Franklin.

So will our talls remember. McGregor and Bock plus Ricciuto and Welsh up forward will test the Saints defence. Let them sacrifice Koschitzke down back. I really hope we don't throw our structure around because of what they might do. We are above them, we play the Dome well, are coming of an excellent win and smoked St Kilda last time we played.

Riewoldt would be the weakest of the three in a marking contest imo.
I would agree.

Which matchups would we feel better going into the game with:
Rutten v Gehrig
Bock v Koschitzke
Stevens v Riewoldt

or
Rutten v Gehrig
Stevens v Koschitzke
Massie v Riewoldt

I reckon we would be too stretched on the later.

or
Rutten v Gehrig
Stevens v Koschitzke
Massie v Riewoldt

You can start wth this and if it gives you grief then you go with this

Rutten v Gehrig
Bock v Koschitzke
Stevens v Riewoldt
My reasons being I think the front 6 and the back 6 are balanced...move Bock back and it becomes unbalanced imo

Round 15 Vs St Kilda

Match ups

-rutten will give g a bath
-voss wouldnt play....and didnt stevens tear roo up last time we met so why not continue with that
-johncock will murder will with running off....milne is not quick at all and at times looks to be running on the spot
-would think that massie would get toweled by by x...but unfortunately with most indigenous players players you never know what you are going to get (apart from johncock and wirrapanda)
-maybe give bock a run with roll with kosi apart from the ruck roles

i think you are going to flog us just quietly...quite scary what happened last night against the hawks....and we were equally as scary against the pies

Would it not be a good idea to play an extra tall to account for all possibilities?
It would be lovely to have a Bassett or a Hentschel available to bring in but we can't and I don't think we have a replacement to match up on Reiwoldt/Koschitzke. I know Perrie is on his way back but I can't see him playing in defence and I dont really want him kicking anyone out of our forward line at the moment.

My reasons being I think the front 6 and the back 6 are balanced...move Bock back and it becomes unbalanced imo
IMO, we don't lose much with Perrie replacing Bock at CHF & if anything our forward line becomes better balanced as Sarge plays the lead-up role better (& we would have Kenny deep). Sarge also has a good record at the Dome.

Obvious change this week.

In: Douglas
Out: Porplyzia (inj)

Doughty will be fine with his record. If he does happen to go, then Jericho comes in.

This game is monumental for our season (I know they all are, but if we win, and Geelong defeat Collingwood and Fremantle defeat the Kangaroos) then we can be 4th by the end of Round 15 with 10% more than 5th.

Doughty will be fine with his record. If he does happen to go, then Jericho comes in.
Drummond won't be happy - Norwood need him. ;)

with most indigenous players players you never know what you are going to get (apart from johncock and wirrapanda)

Those indigenous players who are small forwards tend to be inconsistent, but that is more to do with the position than the player. Beyond that, there is no link.

McLeod & Johncock are two of our most consistent.