Crows Vs Geelong

• Thread starter Thread starter Stiffy_18

Originally posted by topjars
Im sure Mattys carrying an injury:confused:
If they need to Op; do it now:(
I mentioned 2 weeks ago (I think) that Bodey looked injured to me. With players returning this week, we are better off resting players who have been carrying injuries (ie. Bode & Roo) & keeping the like of Gallagher/Ladhams in the side (& putting them on notice to perform).

Originally posted by DaveW
I'm not so keen on the idea of dropping Bassett. He always tries and is still our best full back. Crowell, on the other hand, is just a fill-in.
Yeah I agree.

Just on Bassett...
Superman couldnt've stopped Lynch and he did "pinch hit " a goal in the last game.

On Mattner...
He should not be dropped .....fullstop.
Ayresy has good reason to like what Mattner is developing into.
He doesnt mind going in hard, can tackle -ie 13 tackcles I seem to remember watching Mattner lay this time last year when I witnessed fisrt hand Roo and the boys carve up the Cats in a last-gasper.

Hes had some tough assignments when he should have been moved but has battled on well. He will develop into another Ben Hart type backman.

CAAAARN THE CROWS

On Mattner...
He doesnt mind going in hard, can tackle -ie 13 tackcles I seem to remember watching Mattner lay this time last year when I witnessed fisrt hand Roo and the boys carve up the Cats in a last-gasper.

Hes had some tough assignments when he should have been moved but has battled on well. He will develop into another Ben Hart type backman.
TJ, Mattner has been in shocking form & needs to get his confidence back with Sturt. If Carey, Burton, Burns & Smart return, who would you drop? Mattner is 1st on my list.

Is anyone else making the trip to Kardinia Park this weekend?
Not me, are you going Dave? If so, I hope you get the result we want to make the trip more enjoyable! :D

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Not me, are you going Dave? If so, I hope you get the result we want to make the trip more enjoyable! :D
Yep, flying there and back Sunday morning & evening. We'd better win too, because I'm going with a Geelong supporting mate. :eek:

On Mattner...

I'm halfway between your views on Mattner and Kane's, TJ.

He is as tough as old boot leather, and really does give it a fair dinkum crack.He's not a naturally smart footballer, but he will make the grade.

Having said that though, with Begley and Massie performing, they must have jumped him in the queue, and when the big guns come back, probably this week, he will be dropped until an opportunity presents itself again.

Is anyone else making the trip to Kardinia Park this weekend?

Yep, I'm travelling over Dave but a little differently to you. I' driving over on the Friday night which means I don't have to listen to the Port-Collingwood game and then driving back after the game on Sunday.

Originally posted by snakebite01
Yep, I'm travelling over Dave but a little differently to you. I' driving over on the Friday night which means I don't have to listen to the Port-Collingwood game and then driving back after the game on Sunday.
Ah ok - driving means you won't want to be having any celebratory beers afterwards? :p

*looks at profile* You're 15 and you're driving over? At what age do they award licences in SA? (In NSW you can't get your Ps til 17) Perhaps thats my jealousy showing of being 21 and still without a proper licence. :(

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Injury curse continues:(

Carey set to miss another match with knee injury, Burton in doubt with a sore hammy.:(
**** it, Perrie the only tall again.

Good news, Ronnie and Smart ready to resume.:)
Ah good, Nige and Ben get AFL get life membership together. And I can stir up the Geelong fans by screaming "ROCKIN' RONNIE!" everytime Burns gets the ball. :D

Carey set to miss another match with knee injury, Burton in doubt with a sore hammy.:(

Carey missing is a real bummer!! :( Burton's soreness too. Before training this week both were thought to be better than 50% to play

Smart and Burns are a bonus, but it still doesn't help the forward line for height.

If we are going to play the small forward line against Geelong this week, we can only hope that Ayres gets the message to play them all from the goalsquare with space ahead of them to run into or all from above the 50 metre arc to create space to run back into rather than the conventional positions we played last week.

With Carey & Burton likely to miss (along with Welsh underdone), reckon we need to play either Bassett or McGregor up forward & use either Smart or Crowell in a key defensive post. We need another tall target up forward.

Why not play Smart as a forward?!?!?!?!?!?!:confused:

Or bring back Marsh!!!!!! :p ;) :) :D

Maybe Smarty will go forward, though he was the man who kept Kingsley in check last time at the Cattery.

I agree we need one tall up forward.....we didn't execute the small forward line plan correctly last week and it was easily chopped off by the Bullies.

I'd go for either Bassett or Smart, both will provide the contest we need and take the odd grab as well. Not a fan of Kenny up forward myself.

Originally posted by ant
I'd go for either Bassett or Smart, both will provide the contest we need and take the odd grab as well. Not a fan of Kenny up forward myself.
Yep, I like the idea of Bassett up forward. Perhaps not for the whole match. Keep him close to goal though - his kicking is shaky.

Here's a stab at a possible line-up:

IN: Smart, Burns
OUT: Mattner, Crowell

F: Burns Bassett Ladhams
HF: Johncock Perrie Goodwin
C: Stenglein Bickley Edwards
HB: Begley McGregor Massie
B: Hart Smart Torney
R: Clarke Ricciuto McLeod
I: Biglands Bode Doughty Gallagher

That's not a bad side, even without our recognised tall forwards.

Anyone get the feeling Ladhams might get the arse?

Might stay in due to team balance but I get the feeling Ayresy isn't happy with him.

I would keep Crowell as I reckon we need his flexibility. Mattner is an obvious ommission & would be leaning toward Ladhams as he has got lazy. Reckon Gallagher has done more to deserve to stay in the team. Roo to play forward as he is struggling with injury. Torney back to where he was playing good footy earlier. Bode to start for once. Johnc.ock to start on the bench as a reminder that he has gone off the boil.

IN: Smart, Burns
OUT: Mattner, Ladhams

F: Burns, Bassett, Ricciuto
HF: Edwards, Perrie, Bode
C: Doughty, Goodwin, Stenglein
HB: Torney, McGregor, Begley
B: Hart, Smart, Massie
R: Clarke, Bickley, McLeod
I: Biglands, Crowell, Johnc.ock, Gallagher

Originally posted by ant
Anyone get the feeling Ladhams might get the arse?
Yeah the exclusions were a real toss up. Could be any two of Crowell, Mattner, Ladhams and Gallagher. I was thinking we could use Ladhams as a forward crumber, allowing Goodwin, Ricciuto and McLeod more time in the midfield. I guess we could keep Crowell and use him up forward, except as more of a leading forward rather than a crumber.

I would keep Crowell as I reckon we need his flexibility. Mattner is an obvious ommission & would be leaning toward Ladhams as he has got lazy. Reckon Gallagher has done more to deserve to stay in the team. Roo to play forward as he is struggling with injury. Torney back to where he was playing good footy earlier. Bode to start for once. Johnc.ock to start on the bench as a reminder that he has gone off the boil.
I think you're being harsh on Johncock. It's only its his second year so we can't expect him to be a model of consistency. I didn't think he was that bad last week. Perhaps he set too high standards of himself in the first couple of months of the season. ;)

Dave based on last week, I believe Massie, Doughty, Begley & Bode all deserve to start over Stiffy. Just my opinion. It's not like I suggested dropping him. ;)