Crows Vs Geelong

• Thread starter Thread starter Stiffy_18

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Wasn't he named on the interchange??????:confused: If he was named in the 18, then he'll play.;)

Hmmm. I honestly didn't think Ladhams would have been dropped if Welshy wasn't going to play.

Welshy may have been named on the bench cause he's only going to play a half?

Maybe it's wishful thinking but...

Here is my line up against Geelong:

F: _ 32. Mark Ricciuto _ 17. Scott Welsh _ 5. Ronnie Burns
HF: _ 9. Tyson Edwards _ 22. Ian Perrie _ 23. Andrew McLeod
C: _ 15. Jason Torney _ 20. Tyson Stenglein _ 18. Graham Johncock
HB: _ 3. Kris Massie _ 16. Ken McGregor _ 28. James Begley
B: _ 7. Nigel Smart _ 8. Nathan Bassett _ 34. Ben Hart
1R: _ 4. Matthew Clarke _ 36. Simon Goodwin _ 26. Mark Bickley

Int: _ 35. Rhett Biglands _ 10. Matthew Bode _ 11. Michael Doughty _ 39. Martin Mattner

Do you think they'll start Welshy on the ground Stiffy or might they go with Biglands at FF for most of the game with Welsh coming on for cameo roles to ease him back in after a long time out at this level.

While the side looks better on paper it really is no taller up forward and either a big has to play up at FF or we have to deliver the ball much much better to our forwards than we have been.

One thing's for certain, our forwards have to work a lot harder to hold the ball in the area than they did for the first 3 quarters against the Bullies if we want to win the game.

Originally posted by macca23
Do you think they'll start Welshy on the ground Stiffy or might they go with Biglands at FF for most of the game with Welsh coming on for cameo roles to ease him back in after a long time out at this level.
I am not sure macca. This is how I would line them up. After listening to Craigy on 5AA yesterday he sort of hinted slightly that Welshy would start. On 5AA this morning it was reported that Gallagher has withdrawn from the Norwood side and will be a traveling emergency to Geelong. Sounds like one of the boys is in doubt.:(

On 5AA this morning it was reported that Gallagher has withdrawn from the Norwood side and will be a traveling emergency to Geelong. Sounds like one of the boys is in doubt.:(

They were just talking about that on 5AA again a moment ago. They said he will be travelling to Melbourne with the side as a precautionary measure, which if you think about it is a bit of a worry.

They don't take players for joy rides so there must be at least a little bit of doubt about someone named in the 22 - and most likely a small.

They were just talking about that on 5AA again a moment ago. They said he will be travelling to Melbourne with the side as a precautionary measure, which if you think about it is a bit of a worry.

They don't take players for joy rides so there must be at least a little bit of doubt about someone named in the 22 - and most likely a small.
Bodester??????:(

Here is my line up against Geelong:

F: _ 32. Mark Ricciuto _ 17. Scott Welsh _ 5. Ronnie Burns
HF: _ 9. Tyson Edwards _ 22. Ian Perrie _ 23. Andrew McLeod
C: _ 15. Jason Torney _ 20. Tyson Stenglein _ 18. Graham Johncock
HB: _ 3. Kris Massie _ 16. Ken McGregor _ 28. James Begley
B: _ 7. Nigel Smart _ 8. Nathan Bassett _ 34. Ben Hart
1R: _ 4. Matthew Clarke _ 36. Simon Goodwin _ 26. Mark Bickley

Int: _ 35. Rhett Biglands _ 10. Matthew Bode _ 11. Michael Doughty _ 39. Martin Mattner
Think you are pretty close Stiffy. If Welsh is going to play, we may as well start him, as I'm sure he will need spells on the bench with his lack of match fitness. I would like to see Doughty start this week after what he showed last week. Perhaps in the place of Stiffy who has been a little down on form. Is Crowell playing for the Eagles today?

Actually it was a very good win when you consider that we started with no Carey, Stevens, Burton, and Stenglein and then lost Bode, Burns and the Roo with injury. Welshy and Biglands were very brave and had to play on after getting very hard knocks.

Then on top of that we had to beat 26 of the mongrels (counting that 1 cheating goal umpire)

Great effort Crows, and full of character.

Actually it was a very good win when you consider that we started with no Carey, Stevens, Burton, and Stenglein and then lost Bode, Burns and the Roo with injury. Welshy and Biglands were very brave and had to play on after getting very hard knocks.

Then on top of that we had to beat 26 of the mongrels (counting that 1 cheating goal umpire)

Great effort Crows, and full of character.
Hear hear. If we can get majority of our key players back, it would go a long way in securing a top 4 spot which just looks a bit out of our reach ATM.

I don't know if a top 4 position is out of our reach at the moment. We're only 1 game out right now but if we continue playing good footy we can easily make it into the higher reaches of the ladder (even taking into account our tough finish to the season). Of course, we can't afford 4 injuries every week!

Originally posted by ant
I don't know if a top 4 position is out of our reach at the moment. We're only 1 game out right now but if we continue playing good footy we can easily make it into the higher reaches of the ladder (even taking into account our tough finish to the season). Of course, we can't afford 4 injuries every week!

And it could be as early as next week ant.

We play the Dawks in Melbourne and Freo play Port at Footy Park.

Both South Aussie teams will be favourites to win, and if they are successful will see us in 4th spot.

Originally posted by ant
Its not out of question but you have to admit that we have to string a few wins in a row and that is highly unlikely if we keep getting injuries every bloody week.:( :mad:

Have faith Stiffy.....I don't think this week's batch of injuries is too bad mate.....Bodey hasn't been in the best of form while Burns has been in and out of the side. Both are important players and in our best 22, but Lads and Stinger are capable replacements. Hopefully Roo comes up and a few of our tall forwards return.....we're in reasonable shape I think....one week at a time and next week against the Hawks at the G gives us an opportunity to make it 3 in a row.

And we have to get some luck now surely!

Reckon the injury cycle will turn around soon & hopefully we will have a good run in the 2nd part of the year or else i can see my man Ben starting to look good for a call up,:rolleyes:

Don't you just love these types of wins though ?? the hard at it,nothing fancy, workman type efforts from all players that just build up the character of the club,

Originally posted by ant
Have faith Stiffy.....I don't think this week's batch of injuries is too bad mate.....Bodey hasn't been in the best of form while Burns has been in and out of the side. Both are important players and in our best 22, but Lads and Stinger are capable replacements. Hopefully Roo comes up and a few of our tall forwards return.....we're in reasonable shape I think....one week at a time and next week against the Hawks at the G gives us an opportunity to make it 3 in a row.

And we have to get some luck now surely!
Lets hope Biglands and Roo are OK for next week and Ladhams, Stenglein and Carey come back in. Burton could also be a chance. If we can get those players back i think we will cream Hawks and go into the seconf half of the year with 7-4 record.

As macca said if we beat Hawks and Port beats Freo, we'll be in top 4 this time next week.:D Then its a matter of keeping that spot and going for a higher placing.

It would be weird if we played port in Rd 22 and the followed up to play them in the finals the following week.:eek: ;) :) :D

Originally posted by noddy
Don't you just love these types of wins though ?? the hard at it,nothing fancy, workman type efforts from all players that just build up the character of the club,
Ah you have to. Toddays win was bigger than a lot of people realised. Carey, Stevens, Burton and Stenglein out of the side. Then we loose, Bode and Burns and Biglands, Roo and Welshy play under duress. This win is courage personified. Talking about courage, I think Torney has won me over for life. He seems to have improved from his Richmond days.

As for you big man Marsh, I am hopeing and praying that Biglands pulls up OK for next week otherwise Marsh could be back to take on the Hawks. If this turns out to be the case, I give Hawks a good chance of a victory.:( ;) :) :p

Lets hope Biglands and Roo are OK for next week and Ladhams, Stenglein and Carey come back in. Burton could also be a chance. If we can get those players back i think we will cream Hawks and go into the seconf half of the year with 7-4 record.

As macca said if we beat Hawks and Port beats Freo, we'll be in top 4 this time next week.:D Then its a matter of keeping that spot and going for a higher placing.

It would be weird if we played port in Rd 22 and the followed up to play them in the finals the following week.:eek: ;) :) :D

It would be weird but hopefully we don't play them until later in the finals. (But first let's make sure we get there ;) )

Just a quick question. Did Geelong tire?

I watched the first quarter and a few minutes of the second. Then we got visitors and probably only a total of two minutes of the rest.

It looked to me at the time that Geelong were playing a sapping type of game and didn't think they would be able to keep it up all game, but the score in the end was closer than I expected.

Originally posted by Sezza_20
What's wrong with Stenglein????

He had a bit of soreness in a quad muscle in one of his legs. They said before the game that if it were a final he would have played.

On that basis he should be back this week.

Originally posted by noddy
Reckon the injury cycle will turn around soon & hopefully we will have a good run in the 2nd part of the year or else i can see my man Ben starting to look good for a call up,:rolleyes:

Sorry noddy, your man Ben is not available. Ive nailed a netball hoop onto his forehead and he's serving duty as the goal post on a netball court in the parklands. :D

And they said he was useless!! :rolleyes:

Congratulations to the Crows on the win today. You guys played better football when it mattered most, good luck for the rest of the season.

Fair dinkum how bad were the umps today?!!!

We were CROWCIFIED!

You know it's bad when even Eddie McGuire is going into bat for us.

Geelong got 3 goals that were 100% undisputed gifts and where was the freekick for Welshy when he got nailed by that thug Milburn?

We should've won by a clear 5 or 6 goals if things were fair.

Reckon the umps are taking it upon themselves to try and restore some Vic pride?