Sacramento Kings
Ladies and gentleman it is wednesday night and I think its time I dust off my "whiteboard" and start analysing our forst match of the season against Roos. From all the news reports Stenglein and Bode appear to be fine (no mention of them missing training so one assumes that they are ready to go). Goody also aluded to the fact that Hudson is a real chance to get a game, it will all depend on whether or not coaching staff want to go in with 3 ruckman. I guess with McKernan playing for the Roos now, I wouldn't be surprised if Biglands is used as a key defender. Anyway, here is the side that I think will be selected and what the likely match ups are.

_F: 17. Scott Welsh _ 2. Wayne Carey _ 27. Scott Stevens
HF: _ 18. Graham Johncock _ 22. Ian Perrie _ 23. Andrew McLeod
_C: _ 33. Brent Reilly _ 32. Mark Ricciuto _ 24. Brett Burton
HB: _ 3. Kris Massie _ 16. Ken McGregor _ 9. Tyson Edwards
_B: _ 8. Nathan Bassett _ 37. Trent Hentschel _ 34. Ben Hart
1R: _ 4. Matthew Clarke _ 20. Tyson Stenglein _ 36. Simon Goodwin

INT: _ 7. Nigel Smart _ 11. Michael Doughty _ 35. Rhett Biglands _ 26. Jacob Schuback

EMG: _ 12. Robert Shirley _ 13. Ben Hudson _ 21. James Gallagher

OK, I suspect my team would be a bit controversial but Torney himself said he is unlikely to play round 1 because he is a couple of weeks behind the rest of the squad. I also suspect that Bode and Ladhams will make their way back through SANFL.

Key Match-Ups

Tyson Stenglein Vs Adam Simpson
I might be the odd one out but I rate Simpson as their best in and under onabller so accordingly I think Stenglein is a very good match up for him. In that round 21 loss last year it was Simpson who absolutely killed us in the center. As a captain, Adam will want to lead by example so Stenglein will have to be at his best to keep him under control.

Tyson Edwards Vs Brent Harvey
This is the bloke that always plays well against us. It fact 99% of the time he kills us. A very difficult player to match up on. Whether in the midfield or in defence he is a dangerman. I like the idea of Tyson Edwards playing on him. Tyson rotates between backlines and midfield. Harvey rotates from midfield to forward line so these 2 can go head to head all day long.

Ken McGregor Vs Drew Petrie
Drew is the heart and sould of Roos' forward line. Kenny matches up very well on him. I hope the coaching staff make the same mistake like they did last year when they played Bassett on him for the first half. Kenny has the height, strenght and marking ability to stop Petrie. Stop Petrie and hlf your job is done ;)

Trent Hentschel Vs Corey McKernan
This is a bit of a danger match up. It all depends on which McKernan rocks up. Trent has to be given every chance this year and it would probably be a good idea to play him on McKernan in round 1. I think he can go with him. Maybe I am wrong.

Ben Hart Vs Daniel Motlop
Thats if Motlop plays forward. If he does then Hart is a perfect match up. I have a feeling that this will be Motlops year. Last year he showed glimpses of his potential and if he builds on that this year he will be headache for a lot of teams. Good at ground level and in the air so Hart is the man to stop him.

Kris Massie Vs Leigh Harding
I am not really sure about this match up. Harding has pace to burn while Massie can be a bit slow. Maybe if this match up doesn't come good we can always turn to Smart.

The rest of the match ups really take care of themselves.

Thoughts??????

Its good to have footy back. I missed it :D

Stiffy, your side looks a good one ... though have you come around to the Birdman playing on a wing. ;)

Most of your matchups look good. To enable Edwards to run-with B Harvey I would rotate him & Goody through the midfield & backlines.

Personally would start with Biglands in ruck, given we know he is good a softening up Hale. :eek:

You are probably right in saying we need to give Trent potential 1st crack at FB at McKernan, given that he isn't really a body player. Let's see what the kid can do.

As you mentioned Massie is probably a bit slow for Harding so give him to Hart instead as he is a dangerous matchwinner. Perhaps Massie takes Motlop then,

Would be leaning towards playing Gags ahead of Dogga, as we may need the flexibility of more pace in defence.

Bring it on!! :cool:

Originally posted by topjars
If McGregor can shut down Petrie we swing the ledger out way with goalkicking forwards -Insteps Scotty Welsh for a Big game.

You forgot the matchup Carey v Archer
Crows by 10 points
Pretty sure either Colbert or Watt will play on Carey. There is doubt as to whether Archer will play given he can't even handle the ball (though I'm sure he'll be willing to play through the pain).

I'll up your Welshy is in for a big game, for he's in for a big year. Will lick 50+ goals IMO (hope I don't mozz him for an injury).

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
1. Stiffy, your side looks a good one ... though have you come around to the Birdman playing on a wing. ;)

2. Personally would start with Biglands in ruck, given we know he is good a softening up Hale. :eek:

3. As you mentioned Massie is probably a bit slow for Harding so give him to Hart instead as he is a dangerous matchwinner. Perhaps Massie takes Motlop then,

4. Would be leaning towards playing Gags ahead of Dogga, as we may need the flexibility of more pace in defence.

1. Not really but I don't see AFC changing their mind any time soon.

2. Either way I am not fussed.

3. Motlop also had lightening pace. The only other way we could go is start with Bassett on the bench. Give Smart job on Motlop and give Massie a job on Corey Jones (another one I missed)

4. Maybe but its pretty hard to ignore Dogga's recent form. I know I am going on one match only here but Dogga was much better thant Gags at Kadina. Could go either way really.

Originally posted by topjars
If McGregor can shut down Petrie we swing the ledger out way with goalkicking forwards -Insteps Scotty Welsh for a Big game.

You forgot the matchup Carey v Archer
Crows by 10 points
I think Carey will either get Colbert or quite possibly Brown.

If Archer plays, I think he will pick up Welsh.;)

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
3. Motlop also had lightening pace. The only other way we could go is start with Bassett on the bench. Give Smart job on Motlop and give Massie a job on Corey Jones (another one I missed)

4. Maybe but its pretty hard to ignore Dogga's recent form. I know I am going on one match only here but Dogga was much better thant Gags at Kadina. Could go either way really.
The fact we may need extra pace in our backline is why I'm leaning towards Gags over Dogga.

I think Carey will either get Colbert or quite possibly Brown.

If Archer plays, I think he will pick up Welsh.;)
Brown could be a surprise to pick up Roo. IMO Watt will pick up Carey if he plays FF, or Colbert if he plays CHF.

Reckon the Roos would be crazy to risk Archer this early in the season, but if he does play, I agree he'll probably pick up Welsh.

I have to say that's how I saw it while I was chatting with a Kangas mate; Massie- Jones, Hart- Harding, Smart- Motlop...and we've got enough flexibility in the side to switch things around if it's not working.

I also think you have the side pretty much as the Crows' selectors will pick it Stiffy, only one or two potential changes...wouldn't be surprised if they give Burns a game first up, as well as Bode or Gallagher. But I'd hope they'd stick to that side.

Should be a beauty and I'm just hoping we can get away with the 4 points. However I'm simply shattered that I'll be at AAMI Stadium on Sunday instead of at home in front of the big telly. The AFL....grrrr :mad: :o

Ayresy said on telly that the main 18 playing in the pre-season games would be the starting 18, and after that the 4 interchange depended on what they thought was required for back-up.

Looking at your starting 18, the only one that might not be in the same 18 as Ayresy's could be Hentschel- but you're probably right.

Biglands and Smart automatically pick themselves for 2 of the 4 spots on the pine. Any 2 of Doughty, Shirley, Hudson, Gallagher and Schuback could make up the other 2 spots.

I'd have Doughty as one if I were the selectors. The other spot would be between Shirley and Hudson depending on whether we wanted an on-baller or a tall.

Originally posted by macca23
1. Ayresy said on telly that the main 18 playing in the pre-season games would be the starting 18, and after that the 4 interchange depended on what they thought was required for back-up.

Looking at your starting 18, the only one that might not be in the same 18 as Ayresy's could be Hentschel- but you're probably right.

2. Biglands and Smart automatically pick themselves for 2 of the 4 spots on the pine. Any 2 of Doughty, Shirley, Hudson, Gallagher and Schuback could make up the other 2 spots.

3. I'd have Doughty as one if I were the selectors. The other spot would be between Shirley and Hudson depending on whether we wanted an on-baller or a tall.
1. Crickey!!!!!! Does that mean Burns is in the side:mad: . If Ayres is not playing games then shouldn't Hentschel be in the 18 as he has played full games every time he was fit?????? He only missed game against Port through injury.

2. Thats how I see it.

3. I don't think we can afford to have 2 taggers in one side. Too much of a negative tactic for my liking. I am sure I speak form most of the Crows supporters when I say Hudson would be veryy stiff if he doesn't get a game. He really has been fantastic so far and probably deserves a game more than a few others.

[BReckon the Roos would be crazy to risk Archer this early in the season, but if he does play, I agree he'll probably pick up Welsh. [/B]

Who's gonna pick up Stevens after the little gnat bounces off of Wayne again like a pin ball...HAHAHAH:D

Originally posted by macca23
Any 2 of Doughty, Shirley, Hudson, Gallagher and Schuback could make up the other 2 spots.

I'd have Doughty as one if I were the selectors. The other spot would be between Shirley and Hudson depending on whether we wanted an on-baller or a tall.
Can't see Hudson being picked as we already stacked with more tall both forward & back than normal. IMO, we will need 2 pacy options on the bench along with Biglands/Clarke & Smart. ie. 2 of Dogga, Gags & Schuey.

G'day people..

Would like to see Wells on Mcleod.. that would be fun:D Might want to watch Harris.. he had 24 possies in rd21 last year (stood up in the absence of Stevo)- the closest to that for the year was 20 against Essendon.. I'm hopeful Harris gets plenty of gametime- on the ball.

Ex SANFL boy Eddie Sansbury will be playing.. unless he comes down with some mysterious injury/illness.

If SHarvey plays- you won't have one Harvey to contend with any more.. you'll have 2:D Hopefully Shane follows in Brents footsteps and plays well against you.. the more the merrier:D

Will be a good match. Please tell me that Perrie won't play up forward? He kills us every time..

Go Roos

Originally posted by tashibatts
G'day people..

Would like to see Wells on Mcleod.. that would be fun:D Might want to watch Harris.. he had 24 possies in rd21 last year (stood up in the absence of Stevo)- the closest to that for the year was 20 against Essendon.. I'm hopeful Harris gets plenty of gametime- on the ball.

Ex SANFL boy Eddie Sansbury will be playing.. unless he comes down with some mysterious injury/illness.

If SHarvey plays- you won't have one Harvey to contend with any more.. you'll have 2:D Hopefully Shane follows in Brents footsteps and plays well against you.. the more the merrier:D

Will be a good match. Please tell me that Perrie won't play up forward? He kills us every time..

Go Roos
I must admit I am a HUGE fan of harris and he did kills us last time. Hopefully, we negate him this time around.

YES, Perrie will play forward :D

Go Crows

Personally would start with Biglands in ruck, given we know he is good a softening up Hale.

Hehehe, Porter will start in the ruck and am sure Hale will be weary as he had his nuts crunched last time he played against Adelaide. :P

My guess is that Porter will start in ruck and Hale will be eased in. He spent time up forward aswell in the pre-season so wouldn't be surprised if he went forward, particularly early.

McKernan has recovered well from his hamstring and is looking for a good start.

Archer is looking iffy, he trained again today but was still tentive with the hand, I think its more out of precaution, it will heal faster if he isn't using the hand. He may miss or might take a jab in the hand before the game. If he plays he will still play with a protective glove.

I agree that he wont line up on Carey, Watt will more than likely take him at FB and either Baird or Colbert at CHF.

Harding is probably our most dangerous forward, he is probably the only forward we have that has a real opportunity to kick a large number of goals. Kicked 1/4 in his last game in melbourne and missed alot of sitters that game, overall had a 70% coversion rate in 2003.

Petrie will take marks but he doesn't often kick alot of goals as he gets alot of the ball way outside of 50, he may go to FF and switch with McKernan, alot depends on how McKernan plays. He is an unknown quantity. At least he does not have alot of expectation on him and seems to play his best when nobody expects a great deal from him.

I don't expect Rocca to line up although he is available.

I am surprised Shirley isn't picked, he was amongst the better players in both games last year against us.

I think our sides match up well, we got a spanking in melbourne last year but that was due to very poor accuracy, 4 less scoring shots and losing by 54 points was very disappointing.

The game is going to be won or lost in the midfield I believe. If we get alot of the ball from the midfield our small forwards are deadly, if Adelaide manages to stay on top in the midfield for the bulk of the day then we will move the ball painfully slow up the ground and will not score a huge score.

Lets hope its a great game for round one.

Weather forecast is for fine and 28 on Sunday with rain coming in late at night so should be a good track to play on.

Yes BUT Perrie has improved too :D:p

I think our team has not given him enough credit, more worried about double teaming other forwards than worrying about all the forwards.

Lets hope we have learnt from our mistakes. :P

Tyson Stenglein Vs Adam Simpson

I might be the odd one out but I rate Simpson as their best in and under onabller so accordingly I think Stenglein is a very good match up for him. In that round 21 loss last year it was Simpson who absolutely killed us in the center. As a captain, Adam will want to lead by example so Stenglein will have to be at his best to keep him under control.

I love this match up. Simmo is one of the players I love to watch. He just seems to slip under the radar, you don't think he's had much of the ball by half time and you look at the stats and he's had 20 touches and set up a couple of goals. Always seems to play well against us too.

Harvey is another who always seems to cut us up, though is helped out with some of our match ups *cough* Mattner last year *cough*

Both games last year were a bit of a midfield shoot out, if that happens again this year, I'd be pretty confident of a win, especially with our obvious advantage in the ruck. I don't see any huge dangers in the back half, it's just a matter of how our forward line functions and converts their opportunities.

Originally posted by acg_204*
Both games last year were a bit of a midfield shoot out, if that happens again this year, I'd be pretty confident of a win, especially with our obvious advantage in the ruck. I don't see any huge dangers in the back half, it's just a matter of how our forward line functions and converts their opportunities.

What I find a little odd is that for a team that went wide a fair bit last year I am surprised that Adelaide only had four players in the top 100 for disposals for 2003, those being Ricciuto, McLeod, Edwards and Bickley.

We had 8, a bit of that was a little overpossing by some defenders but most of the finalists had 6 or 7 in the top 100 in disposals. Brisbane 7, Collingwood 6, Port 7, Fremantle 7, Essendon 6, Sydney 9 and West Coast 7. Generally teams with fewer than 6 struggled and some just stupidly overpossessed like the Bulldogs.

Whilst Adelaide has a great midfield do they have enough depth there and enough players supporting them or is the team too dependant on them for the vast majority of the forward drive?

I wonder if you guys feel thats a weakness or possibly even a strength.

Originally posted by Tas
What I find a little odd is that for a team that went wide a fair bit last year I am surprised that Adelaide only had four players in the top 100 for disposals for 2003, those being Ricciuto, McLeod, Edwards and Bickley.

We had 8, a bit of that was a little overpossing by some defenders but most of the finalists had 6 or 7 in the top 100 in disposals. Brisbane 7, Collingwood 6, Port 7, Fremantle 7, Essendon 6, Sydney 9 and West Coast 7. Generally teams with fewer than 6 struggled and some just stupidly overpossessed like the Bulldogs.

Whilst Adelaide has a great midfield do they have enough depth there and enough players supporting them or is the team too dependant on them for the vast majority of the forward drive?

I wonder if you guys feel thats a weakness or possibly even a strength.

I have seen a side proposed for round 1 which has Johncock, Burton, Edwards and Stenglein playing but not starting in the midfield, and it doesn't have Hudson or Bode or Ladhams or Torney or M Stevens or Shirley in the side, let alone Burns or Begley or Skipworth - all of these are moderately capable players in reserve.