Dan Gorringe Value?

• Thread starter Thread starter Cleric

If your gonna take a shot at least get it right. Its second hand info, not third. lol
Not so much having a shot, just frustrated. You didn't hear the conversation but you posted it as if it was fact. Anyway I am not trying to PYO so will leave there

Gorringe keen to stay at Suns.
"I'm enjoying my footy up here and I love it up here, so once my manager and the club talk we will see what happens."

The Suns are bullish Gorringe will stay and his words aren't the only reason they are confident.

As part of the club's rules on playing games in a player's home state, Gorringe could have stayed an extra night in Adelaide but instead opted to return home with the rest of the team straight after the match against Port Adelaide on Saturday night.
The first actual quotes from Dan himself regarding his contract, and not from Rucci or anyone.

Can't be that homesick if he didn't even stay the extra night in SA. ;)

Honestly, if he stays at the Gold Coast he's not the sharpest tool in the shed. How is he expecting to get games when Smith, Nicholls and Dixon are all fit and firing?

Meanwhile, he'd walk into the Crows side and he'd give our side a decent shake too.
Smith likeky won't play much at all next year. ACLs on rucks or other big men can be a very long recovery process.

We don't like using Dixon as a ruck. He is our full forward and we want to keep him there. Nicholls main ruck and Gorringe as the resting ruck.

This is even assuming that we have no injuries, which has yet to happen for us.

If he's fit he will play most games next year. From there it's his spot to lose.

Smith likeky won't play much at all next year. ACLs on rucks or other big men can be a very long recovery process.

We don't like using Dixon as a ruck. He is our full forward and we want to keep him there. Nicholls main ruck and Gorringe as the resting ruck.

This is even assuming that we have no injuries, which has yet to happen for us.

If he's fit he will play most games next year. From there it's his spot to lose.

Dixon is fantastic in the ruck, he has some mongrel about him. He suits that ruck/fwd role very well. It really depends on what type of fwd structure the Suns decide to implement next season, who we pick up in the trades period, and how guys like Smith & Nichols recover from injury. Rookie Josh Hall is also waiting in the wings with great size and a massive leap. Another pre-season with ruck guidance from Primus, and he could be pressuring selection. There's a lot of factors working against Gorringe being a regular member of the Suns 2014 starting line up. I still say if the Crows or Port offer a 3yr deal on decent $$$, Gorringe will go. It just depends on what the Suns are prepared to offer to keep him...
He would have to be traded to either SA club to get there or nominate for the pre-season draft. If he does that then GWS will surely swoop as they need rucks badly. I can't see either SA club giving up their 1st pick and their 2nd picks would be around (Crows 25 and Port 30). I certainly wouldn't be giving him up for that.
Dan is miles ahead of Josh at this stage and if we are looking at finals next year then we'll need him without Smith for much of the year.
On Saturday 22 possessions, contested marks, great long goal. I'd be surprised if he doesn't re-sign soon to be honest.

If the Suns come up with goods, then yes he will. Once again, it just depends on what the Suns are prepared to offer and what Gorro is willing to accept. Port and the Crows may also decide to put him in the too hard basket and look for an easier trade elsewhere. Guys like Hampson, Warnock and Jesse White may prove to be an easier trade and could provide a similar service.

He would have to be traded to either SA club to get there or nominate for the pre-season draft. If he does that then GWS will surely swoop as they need rucks badly. I can't see either SA club giving up their 1st pick and their 2nd picks would be around (Crows 25 and Port 30). I certainly wouldn't be giving him up for that.
Dan is miles ahead of Josh at this stage and if we are looking at finals next year then we'll need him without Smith for much of the year.
On Saturday 22 possessions, contested marks, great long goal. I'd be surprised if he doesn't re-sign soon to be honest.

The crows do not, at this stage, have any 1st or 2nd round draft picks.

The Suns still have to reduce their list size, right? You'll be taking only 3 draft picks, right?

That being the case I cannot see you doing any trades for middle of the road players.

If this is also correct I cannot see the crows being willing to part with a player that is good enough to suit your predicament.

If all of this is correct I reckon his only destination would have to be Port Adelaide, if he wants to return to SA.

The crows do not, at this stage, have any 1st or 2nd round draft picks.

The Suns still have to reduce their list size, right? You'll be taking only 3 draft picks, right?

That being the case I cannot see you doing any trades for middle of the road players.

If this is also correct I cannot see the crows being willing to part with a player that is good enough to suit your predicament.

If all of this is correct I reckon his only destination would have to be Port Adelaide, if he wants to return to SA.
Mate I forgot about the crows draft picks. Cheers

would love gorringe at Port - in one trade solve our ruck future. Lobbe is ok and Redden is near the mark but Gorringe would be the future no. 1 ruckman for another 10 years. I would offer our second pick for him - a little under his value though.

Only going on the evidence of seeing him live once and a little bit on television but Kens had a bit to do with him and the Power would have a fair idea of what his real value is ....He did pick the right game to put in is best efforts so far ...I wouldn't have a problem with Power paying what they think is worth ...if it means shuffling around the first round pick or a decent player they can work out .....they usually get trades like this right.

Honestly, if he stays at the Gold Coast he's not the sharpest tool in the shed. How is he expecting to get games when Smith, Nicholls and Dixon are all fit and firing?

Meanwhile, he'd walk into the Crows side and he'd give our side a decent shake too.

Not sure that Port are that desperate for another young Ruckman given that Lobbe has just re signed & you have Redden & Renouf waiting in the wings. You would have to part with your first pick in the draft to get him & I think that is too much given there are some potential top liners in the top 12 this year.

Adelaide could certainly use him but I'm not sure they have anything worthwhile to offer the Suns at this stage given their draft position.