MRP / Trib. Dan Howe

• Thread starter Thread starter RustyHawk

the trip report should be thrown out, i just saw it and he was using his leg to support himself as he went to ground, if Fisher wasnt so under-weight he wouldnt have broken his leg, look i really like Fisher i think he is a gem for Carlton, but he is under-weight for AFL footy and it was only a matter of time before he copped an injury...

2 weeks for the punch in the jaw and the trip report thrown out i would reckon... as you can see Fisher ran into his sprawled leg, which was supporting Howe as he went to ground.

That's the way I sas it too. it is Fischer tripping over Howe's supporting leg rather than Howe performing some reflexive action to impede Fischer IMO. Any leg movement from Howe appears to be Howe trying to regain his feet. Hope they challenge any weeks from the trip if he goes for it.

2 weeks for the punch is fair. Unlucky in that he was aiming for his chest, but fair given where it landed.

Please forgive my intrusion.

Absolutely disgusting how the media are hanging Howe out to dry.

On the punch - pardon the pun, but cop it on the chin. Two weeks maximum. Cripps should be charged with simulation. As to what he simulated, that's up to you to decide. But it took him time to decide to hit the floor.

On the trip - it is playing out because of the severity of the injury not the action. Charge should be dismissed. Howe was in a contest with Fisher and an injury resulted. Last time I checked players are still allowed to contest for the ball. BTW, no point trying to attribute any fault on Fisher (e.g., he is too lightly built), he was a victim of circumstance.

On the punch - pardon the pun, but cop it on the chin. Two weeks maximum. Cripps should be charged with simulation. As to what he simulated, that's up to you to decide. But it took him time to decide to hit the floor.

On the trip - it is playing out because of the severity of the injury not the action. Charge should be dismissed. Howe was in a contest with Fisher and an injury resulted. Last time I checked players are still allowed to contest for the ball. BTW, no point trying to attribute any fault on Fisher (e.g., he is too lightly built), he was a victim of circumstance.
Sensible. That's my take too.

Did anyone see when Cripps got in an equalizer. About ten minutes later in the back pocket. Howe appealed for a free kick but the ump bounced the ball.
Howe's hit WAS the equaliser. Cripps hit him the guts first. Howe's hit was retaliation. Cripps then looked up checked a camera was on him and hit the ground like Mike Tyson had hit him in the fourth round. Abasi said earlier in this thread, not to go on about what other players have gotten away with, but in this case, why was the retaliator punished but the instigator not even looked at.

Yes, I've never been comfortable with this reasoning that because someone unfortunately has sustained a broken leg, that the trip is worse than if he hadn't. A trip's a trip, and if it is considered deliberate, then hand down a sentence, irrespective of the injury. Surely it should be the intent that matters most, not the outcome. It makes for an interesting debate. Last week we saw Selwood do the same thing, but nobody's talking about it because no injury.

Haven't paid much attention to Howe until this game. Has he always been a low, dirty player? Or was it just recently?

Have you always been a crap poster, or is just recently?

Sorry....I don’t agree with the penalty for the whack on the chin. If Taylor Walker gets 1 week for his shoulder to Zach Tuohy, then Howe gets the same.

Not excusing the action....just asking for consistency.

I only saw a brief clip of the trip so won’t comment directly, other than to say what sort of system gives a smack on the wrist if it’s a bruised shin, but upgrades it to hang you out to dry because it turns out there is a fracture.
Same action....different extreme based outcome result for something that appears to be a footballing incident..... and backed up by careless grading

We should be taking this all the way to the high court if necessary.

The system is well and truly broke

What the trip comes down to is was it an illegal action, if yes then is it fair that the result impacts the punishment?

Agree in principal with what you are saying here. But I didn’t see Howe actively swing his leg at Fisher and smash his leg one into 10 pieces, nor did I see any resultant compound fracture.

The brief clip I saw suggested a clash of legs.....hardly what I would call severe impact.

I don’t know if Howe actively threw a leg out to trip but severe seems very excessive to me. Nothing more than findinding a grading to fit the AFL House’s desired penalty

my point was they use it, it's not just a Hawks thing, we just remember when it happens to us and not someone else

If Danger had broken someones ankle he'd be getting looked at, the media might be talking about it differently but as I don't pay attention to the media that wouldn't make any difference to me

What the trip comes down to is was it an illegal action, if yes then is it fair that the result impacts the punishment?

Someone raised that if they were on the street and Dan punches him that is assault, but if he hits his head on the ground and dies then it's manslaughter

As a society we like to punish outcomes more than intent, probably because outcomes are easier to prove

Yep, not disagreeing, and I don't think I said it only happens to us. Think I said I wasn't a tin foil hat person somewhere.

This bit sums up the issue I have the best. The trouble is, in the instance of Dan Howe on Patrick Cripps and Mason Cox on Dan Howe, the MRO has thrown the outcome out the door and gone with the old 'what could have happened' instead of assessing it on what did happen.

I don't watch any football media at all any more, so like you I don't even know what the media's angle is on any of these events.

I'll reserve my judgement on the trip until we hear the arguments at the tribunal, however conveniently the outcome, being Fisher's broken leg, was used to make this severe impact. So, same bloke gets cited for two different incidents, yet is judged differently by the MRO for each. One he uses the outcome, and the other he uses the potential outcome. Screams of inconsistency.

Am not convinced Howe attempted to trip him, hence it should be thrown out. You don't get penalised for an accidental trip.
Have you only just started watching afl? The people are real but the penalties for football inciddents are all made up ;)

but you listen to what blokes that chin women say?

Nice try mate, but that's an horrific and poor attempt to make me look bad. Tell me where I said I respect/like Carey? He is no doubt a poor person, I don't respect what he has done off the field but a legend on it he'll remain.

What Howe did ON the field was poor, I don't respect that.

As a mod you're beyond inept at understanding and disexing posts. Up your game.

Agreed. I was responding to you saying "the whole way he goes about his footy". Didn't realise you were just referring to his stray hits.

Yeah I will have to say that was a poor post by me, I over exaggerated the truth. The way he goes about his footy is fine, but he needs to reign in his dumb/impulse decisions, also his decisions with ball in hand need significant improvement.

I will admit that was a poor post, in reality everyone need a Howe, but we don't need a dumb one.

Nice try mate, but that's an horrific and poor attempt to make me look bad. Tell me where I said I respect/like Carey? He is no doubt a poor person, I don't respect what he has done off the field but a legend on it he'll remain.

As a mod you're beyond inept at understanding and disexing posts. Up your game.
Yeah I'm pretty poor at disexing things.

Just pointing out you've been potting a bloke that plays for the club and punched one guy, not a very convincing punch but you'll happily pat Carey on the back for his opinion on footy when he's done some much more convincing punching on and off the field among other things

Howe retaliated to a punch with a punch, it happened to connect to a glass jaw and he dropped like a sack of shit (either on purpose to milk a free or because it was a well timed great punch or a missed timed punch that connected perfectly by mistake.)
Either way its not a negative reflection on his character, it happens every week, it just doesnt hit the sweet spot of the chin or the media agenda every week.

It should have been 1 week or a few grand fine

Not confident at all on our legal representation based on past history.

Let's see how it goes tonight.

Edit: We accept penalties way too easily. We are already at the tribunal anyway, may as well challenge the two weeks.

Second Edit: We are also already pleading guilty to a careless trip. I really think we need to hire a QC and go harder.

Just seems a flawed legal strategy. The guy is out for the season with a broken leg, how could we ask for that to be graded medium? Our best case scenario seems to be a week's suspension. <shakes head>

Not confident at all on our legal representation based on past history.

Let's see how it goes tonight.

Edit: We accept penalties way too easily. We are already at the tribunal anyway, may as well challenge the two weeks.

Second Edit: We are also already pleading guilty to a careless trip. I really think we need to hire a QC and go harder.

Just seems a flawed legal strategy. The guy is out for the season with a broken leg, how could we ask for that to be graded medium? Our best case scenario seems to be a week's suspension. <shakes head>
Yep, as soon as I saw we pleaded guilty to careless and argued medium impact I closed the tribunal feed.

We can't logically argue it wasn't severe when Fisher is out for the year with a broken leg. :rolleyes:

A shambolic and embarrassing defence.

See ya next year Dan.

Worth a shot.

If the AFL Tribunal deems it medium impact, it would see Howe escape with a fine. If it's deemed high impact, it would see Howe suspended for one week. If the initial severe grading impact remains, Howe will be suspended for a minimum of three games.

We should have argued accidental contact rather than careless for the trip.

We then also could have argued medium/high impact.

I also think we should have argued down to low impact for the Cripps punch too.

I'm not saying we would have been successful, but we should have at least tried to argue it as there are reasonable grounds.

It seems like s crazy tactic, you can't get much more severe than a broken leg. Why would you plead guilty at all? Wouldn't a better defense be that he didn't intend to trip him?

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

It seems like s crazy tactic, you can't get much more severe than a broken leg. Why would you plead guilty at all? Wouldn't a better defense be that he didn't intend to trip him?

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

"Gleeson asks the Tribunal: If a major bone being broken isn't the highest case of impact, then what is?"

We are so screwed :drunk:

Can we now get new legal counsel, please????

Probably the most balanced post in this entire thread. And it came from a Sydney supporter! :eek::p