Analysis Danger on Tim Kelly + his 2020 contract

• Thread starter Thread starter Kwality

What would be an adequate trade for Tim Kelly?

• Brad AND Steven Hill from Fremantle

Votes: 6 4.3%
  • Someone from West Coast

Votes: 11 7.8%
  • Two top-end draft picks

Votes: 88 62.4%
  • Top-end draft pick and player

Votes: 24 17.0%
  • Other (please specify) ______________

Votes: 12 8.5%

I think the answer is to set Mrs Kelly in a McDonalds franchise in Geel

Where did i read in the last 2-3 weeks ( and i definitely read it ) was it a rugby player - and part of the deal was the McDonalds franchise or something along those lines was part of the package but he knocked it back
Shane Crawford when Port were chasing him years ago.

Not sure that would help her with the 24/7 job she has looking after the twins and the care-intensive kid, but run it past her and let us know what she says. :D

A financial interest Freddie boy - the lackies -15 year old kids would do all the work

Knowing her -( well i dont ) but some of her comments shes made previously _ she would probably come out and say - look if it was a franchise in Burger King or Hungry Jacks we would definitely stay at Geelong - but we dont like McDonalds - so Tims future is at the West Coast Eagles .

A financial interest Freddie boy - the lackies -15 year old kids would do all the work

Knowing her -( well i dont ) but some of her comments shes made previously _ she would probably come out and say - look if it was a franchise in Burger King or Hungry Jacks we would definitely stay at Geelong - but we dont like McDonalds - so Tims future is at the West Coast Eagles .
You may be right with your last para.

As for the first para, funnily enough the AFL lawyers thought of that one when they did the salary cap rules; they swore that never again would any poor WAGS be left holding useless reams of Powerplay Share Certificates.;)

Explain to me how it is racist? Maybe you need to get out and about more too Fred.

Pretty simply you made an assumption about someone's fanily situation based on their heritage. That's racist.

However, we should also accept that there are often significant and real differences in the cultural expectations of our indigenous brothers towards each others support.

The part where it becomes racist is the part where you make the assumption. It's like saying that there are lots of racist white people, therefore because I'm white I must be racist. I'd be pretty upset if that was levelled at me and indigenous people would be pretty upset if you assume that if they make a bit of coin they'll have hundreds of cousins bleeding them dry for cartons of bush chook. Not a complex concept

Sorry i didnt read the posts after i just read that one. I just note how across all cultures if a sportsperson becomes wealthy in a lot of cases their family want money.

I fear this thread will go down the rabbithole ...

imo ..He will not stay in Geelong for less money than what he could get a WC. If he is going to stay or even go to Freo he will probably want more money than going to WC

Full stop no further rabbithole exploration required.

Just as a trade if we lose Kelly and gain Darcy Parish... what sort of picks should we have in hand..as I dont see Parish the equal of Kelly..yet Parish is a previous P5

I think the answer is to set Mrs Kelly in a McDonalds franchise in Geel

Where did i read in the last 2-3 weeks ( and i definitely read it ) was it a rugby player - and part of the deal was the McDonalds franchise or something along those lines was part of the package but he knocked it back
You may be right with your last para.

As for the first para, funnily enough the AFL lawyers thought of that one when they did the salary cap rules; they swore that never again would any poor WAGS be left holding useless reams of Powerplay Share Certificates.;)

If she's homesick for 'The West' why not open Victoria's first Chicken Treat franchise for her?

https://franchising.chickentreat.com.au/

imo ..He will not stay in Geelong for less money than what he could get a WC. If he is going to stay or even go to Freo he will probably want more money than going to WC

Just as a trade if we lose Kelly and gain Darcy Parish... what sort of picks should we have in hand..as I dont see Parish the equal of Kelly..yet Parish is a previous P5

But dealing with Essendon becomes a whole different kettle of fish. May need all summer to sort out a trade.

Why would you trade him for an early pick which is an unknown quantity.
At the very least he is worth 2 very early (3 to 8) picks

So we dont trade him because its not enough.. what then? How do you arrange a trade for those two picks if no other club agrees to that value ... and he is out of contract. If it is taken to the most stubborn lengths of playing chicken and he enters the draft Geelong get zero.

Personally I cant think of too many players that have been traded for 2 picks in the 3 to 8 range. Id say 2 picks in the 3-8 range would have him as one of the highest paid players in the afl.

He will end up having a trade value rel to what we are prepared to contractually pay him and what others are prepared to pay him and what they are prepared to pay for him.

Why would you trade him for an early pick which is an unknown quantity.
At the very least he is worth 2 very early (3 to 8) picks

He is but OOC will lower that value a bit. Not heaps but somewhat.

Scotty had a few words with The West
https://thewest.com.au/sport/west-c...t-coast-says-coach-chris-scott-ng-b881154642z

For those who slag the facts behind the whole issue:
“... the only reason it was entertained was that Tim wasn’t faking the fact that he wanted to leave was on compassionate grounds.

“We thought we had an obligation to explore that as much as possible without putting the club at a big disadvantage.”

Same folks reckon the Eagles put Kelly up to it ...

https://thewest.com.au/sport/west-c...t-coast-says-coach-chris-scott-ng-b881154642z

“... the only reason it was entertained was that Tim wasn’t faking the fact that he wanted to leave was on compassionate grounds.

“We thought we had an obligation to explore that as much as possible without putting the club at a big disadvantage.”

Well he looks pretty happy at the moment

I really doubt that anyone thinks the whole "gohome" situation is the total connivance of WC and lies totally at their feet of WC. Most if not all know the circumstances and understand the core of the issue. However football being football there is always more sides to it than one. Does any one think they said.. sorry Tim now you are at Geelong we are not interested?

Surely every WC supporter expect the recruitment team to be talking to any potential recruit. Wouldnt you expect them to talk to Coniglio for example and I'd expect the Geelong team to do same. With heaps of discussions maybe you get a few that go further. So obviously when someone presents as a player wanting to move , a team will make overtures .. to deny that is to deny the professionalism of a club.. and if nothing else WC is steely eye professional football club.

Where the debate is .. what was said and what was promised .. and who knows that? Really only those inside. But there is little doubt that Kelly has been left hanging a couple of times by WC.

On what CS said... preceding the faking it comment was..

TW .".Did you think WestCoast Eagles were trying to put one over you ..."
CS.. "It would have been an outstanding deal for them , an absolutelty outstanding deal.. "

So obviously he was of the opinion that WC were quite happy to help bring Kelly home..but not so much if they had to pay a fair amount.

And its here thats the debate ..if a club does talk to a player about getting them to their club surely they have to be willing to go hard to get it done.To pay overs. If you really want him you go hard. You had just won the flag... and a chance to add Kelly , I dont think it could be said that WC went hard. If they had .. then deal would have got done..if they had just gone to Future R1 instead of Future R2 he would be there now.

Perhaps they thought the deal was just getting to close to paying rate.. or perhaps things had changed. Gaff was staying and they no longer had the Gaff comp pick , and it was no longer that urgent to bring him home and into their side. I have no idea if WC tried other clubs ..to offer a player or hunted around if other clubs were willing to trade a player and an early R2 for a R1 .. but it seems from my POV that WC wanted to dance but were not really willing to pay the band.

So how does it work out at years end.. no idea.. and no idea if Freo are realistic options. I dare say .. the way Kelly got tagged against Melb and how it released Danger ..if thats transferable then that may appeal to those who watch Fyfe get tagged regularly.

I really doubt that anyone thinks the whole "gohome" situation is the total connivance of WC and lies totally at their feet of WC. Most if not all know the circumstances and understand the core of the issue. However football being football there is always more sides to it than one. Does any one think they said.. sorry Tim now you are at Geelong we are not interested?

Surely every WC supporter expect the recruitment team to be talking to any potential recruit. Wouldnt you expect them to talk to Coniglio for example and I'd expect the Geelong team to do same. With heaps of discussions maybe you get a few that go further. So obviously when someone presents as a player wanting to move , a team will make overtures .. to deny that is to deny the professionalism of a club.. and if nothing else WC is steely eye professional football club.

Where the debate is .. what was said and what was promised .. and who knows that? Really only those inside. But there is little doubt that Kelly has been left hanging a couple of times by WC.

On what CS said... preceding the faking it comment was..

TW .".Did you think WestCoast Eagles were trying to put one over you ..."
CS.. "It would have been an outstanding deal for them , an absolutelty outstanding deal.. "

So obviously he was of the opinion that WC were quite happy to help bring Kelly home..but not so much if they had to pay a fair amount.

And its here thats the debate ..if a club does talk to a player about getting them to their club surely they have to be willing to go hard to get it done.To pay overs. If you really want him you go hard. You had just won the flag... and a chance to add Kelly , I dont think it could be said that WC went hard. If they had .. then deal would have got done..if they had just gone to Future R1 instead of Future R2 he would be there now.

Perhaps they thought the deal was just getting to close to paying rate.. or perhaps things had changed. Gaff was staying and they no longer had the Gaff comp pick , and it was no longer that urgent to bring him home and into their side. I have no idea if WC tried other clubs ..to offer a player or hunted around if other clubs were willing to trade a player and an early R2 for a R1 .. but it seems from my POV that WC wanted to dance but were not really willing to pay the band.

So how does it work out at years end.. no idea.. and no idea if Freo are realistic options. I dare say .. the way Kelly got tagged against Melb and how it released Danger ..if thats transferable then that may appeal to those who watch Fyfe get tagged regularly.

Fremantle would absolutely love to have him. West Coast (unfortunately for TK) seem to be the only team in the comp that doesnt really need him.

I wonder what it would take for him to be happy to go to Freo... the way he is playing he is going to be worth SERIOUS money. He would not be the first who went somewhere on big overs to compensate for the destination clubs current status... how much did Boyd get again?

Interesting article by Caitlin in the Geelong Addy for Autism Awareness day. Sounds like one of the younger kids could be on the spectrum as well. She would definitely have her hands full, and from the sounds of it shes not having a great time with it all.
https://www.geelongadvertiser.com.a...MLRT0zZGIbZ6QUaCjUjOh6E0RAuUVRbt5Fc_-LJYa3qFs

With the greatest of respect to Caitlin i know this subject well bc i have a non walking 3yo with severe autism at home and while family help in terms of being a good sounding board to encourage you its the level of specialist early intervention support services (which you can get in any location if you have the right networks set up initially) that makes 1000x more difference in the outcomes for your family than what other family members do. That said they have my sympathy because its a hard road when your child struggles although it can be quite rewarding to see them progress.

I’m going to guess this has already been pointed out but it’s because of the racial stereotype surrounding the aboriginal culture that their extended family like to bludge off one another.
I think it is often what is and isn't racist is subjective. Your own experiences dictate how you interpret something. To be honest when I read that OP on this topic, I didn't visualize 'race'. I was thinking of how much his family has played a part in this drama. On reflection, though, it can be easily seen as racism if you are thinking about stereotypes. Not being Aussie, those stereotypes would not be the first thing I would be considering.
All that said, full confession, when I see an African-American kid get drafted into pro sports and he appears to have a 'hip-hop' or similar street style, then I would probably think he might lose it all. That is, if I bothered to think about it at all. I wouldn't think that about some white-trash that was similarly given such a golden ticket. That is racism I guess.
I have also now lived in a society where I was very much racially a small minority for nearly 30 years and have experienced both positive and negative racism. Until all the peoples of the world have interbred, mixed the genes and become a uni-racial world, then it has to be dealt with.
Back on thread topic, TK seems a strong enough character to not allow it.