Oppo Camp Dangerfield's Gone (Zero tolerance to trolling) - READ THREAD LINKED IN OP BEFORE POSTING

I think Danger is a quality player and a quality person. He gave our club great service, as he was contracted to do, and he was rewarded in kind.

I wish him well.

But I don't think he's ever been a team first player and that's what has stood out to me all season, even when hearing his speech last night. I don't think he fits the culture Walshy was trying to instill and I think he knows this. He's the anti-Sloane. For that reason I think our club will ultimately be better off with him gone regardless of what we get as compensation.

Time will tell
I still think we need to get the best players we can in a trade. The team first mantra will only get us so far. IMHO.

Meaning? My OB asked me how much I drank, I said occasional, maybe two glasses once a week. He told me to keep doing what I was doing. That was 14 years ago. I was a high risk pregnancy ( being so old ). My pregnancy was perfect, birth a breeze, kid is a straight A student, good at sports and music. Didn't hurt him.
Then your OB was an idiot. It probably didn't adversely affect your pregnancy but it MIGHT have.

"The safest option for women is to abstain from drinking if they are pregnant, planning a pregnancy or breastfeeding. This is the advice from the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC)."

Up to three glasses a week is considered absolutely fine.
Can you not. It's clear Jenny was indicating that it is perfectly safe to have a drink while pregnant. And it is.

seems someone is still living in the 70's. ;)

fair enough

it can't be contingent. either its her choice or it isn't
Now you are being pedantic. Medicos say too much is dangerous to Bub - not so great for mum either. Everything in moderation. Do more than that you are being deliberately negligent.

I'm just saying what my doc told me, and what my experience was. He said it was better to have a relaxed mum than an anxious mum. And truly, it is her choice and nobody else's business unless she's throwing down a truckload every day.
Its an interesting topic really and i know way off topic.

But if the kid does come out with special needs that the parent the expects the Government to foot the bill for, is it not in the publics interest to minimise the risk?

They have promised Dangerfield certainty, so if they try and stuff us about - even early in trade week - then the story becomes pretty crap for both Danger and Geelong. They need to get the job done early and fast ... I still think a player will miraculously come and out and say he wants to go to SA - making the deal easier. Cory Gregson is one that comes to mind, and if Geelong offer him and pick 9 I reckon we take it.
That's a disastrous deal that would have Geelong laughing behind our backs…that's if they could keep a straight face in front of us!

Gregson is a tiny little forward pocket type who I wouldn't pay anymore than a 2nd rounder in this draft.

So you would be happy with a 1st and a 2nd for the second best player in the league?! Needs another 1st round pick for fairness.

we have no idea what Geelong have promised him or who drove that bus.

have Geelong promised to do everything to get him there, they appear to not be willing to break the bank for him. perhaps they haven't promised to do whatever it takes

allegedly Buddy approached sydney first
True - we don't know.

But if you flick through the options - it is the most likely scenario that they will not hang him out to dry.

seems someone is still living in the 70's. ;)
In the 70s they smoked through pregnancy, he'll they even smoked in hospitals!

Common sense prevails. Im betting most in here would have survived alcohol whilst in gestation.

That's a disastrous deal that would have Geelong laughing behind our backs…that's if they could keep a straight face in front of us!

Gregson is a tiny little forward pocket type who I wouldn't pay anymore than a 2nd rounder in this draft.

So you would be happy with a 1st and a 2nd for the second best player in the league?! Needs another 1st round pick for fairness.
He's second best now? :)

I actually think Gregson has a lot of talent, proven talent - and that is a rare commodity you need to fill your list up with.

why not leave last year then? why wait until FA to be traded?
Why not leave after his first contract? I don't know. Maybe he's a *******, maybe he wanted to give the club one more year. It's very hard to read his motivations from a distance. But I don't think he's stupid and not considered the ramifications. I also don't think he's a total cad the way some are portraying him. He just doesn't want to be in Adelaide.

I actually think he has a lot of talent, proven talent - and that is a rare commodity you need to fill your list up with.
I've stated that the whole time since his departure based on the fact he leads the CD points this year and is absolutely in his prime.

However, Fyfe would've been in the lead if not for injury…therefore he is the 2nd best player/most valuable commodity in the league right now.

True - we don't know.

But if you flick through the options - it is the most likely scenario that they will not hang him out to dry.

i'm not sure offering someone a free agency contract is a commitment beyond that. i would (genuinely) expect them to have spelt out their position and what they are prepared to do and not do.

Why not leave after his first contract? I don't know. Maybe he's a *******, maybe he wanted to give the club one more year. It's very hard to read his motivations from a distance. But I don't think he's stupid and not considered the ramifications. I also don't think he's a total cad the way some are portraying him. He just doesn't want to be in Adelaide.

I suspect Patrick just thinks everyone will lay down for Patrick. he's not stupid, but that doesn't mean he isn't blind.

I actually think Gregson has a lot of talent, proven talent - and that is a rare commodity you need to fill your list up with.

Another small forward is probably not going to get a game at Adelaide with Cameron and betts. Not really going to strengthen us.

not the greatest rebuttal to medical science I've ever come across. but but but... I'm a woman. :D
Sometimes though, they go above and beyond in their recommendations. Millions of people - billions probably- survived after their mother drank during pregnancy. Yes excessive drinking can cause foetal distress and other complications. I accept the science. I just disagree with the necessity for complete abstinence, but respect people's decision to do so.

He is now the recipient of our B&F. Not comfortable with him excepting this after he has chosen to abandon the AFC. The hardest decision of his life? No it should have been a no brainer. He made it hard by leaving.

Geelong who have done little for him in the past except to deliver cheap shots On field are now the recipient of a fully fledged superstar!

And they want him for nothing!

Personally I think it's a dog act by one whom I expected more from. As for Geelong their inability to keep Ablett was the catalyst for this deception. Yes deception. Patrick new in August he was leaving. So all those times he denied having made a decision was a lie.

Now we have to pay for Geelong's incompetence in dealing with the Ablett saga. I say bring on the trade period and make them earn their new recruit. Because so far they have done little to deserve the lucky turn of events that will deliver them one of the best players in the league. At a bargain price.

Deceitful would have been if Danger didn't tell the club in August. Deceitful would have been if Danger stopped playing good footy. If he ends up at Geelong I have no problems with his decision . But if we get 2 first round picks and trade/draft wisely, in 3 years Danger will be watching us play finals whilst Geelong bottoms out.
That is the sacrifice he is making

Oppo Camp Dangerfield's Gone (Zero tolerance to trolling) - READ THREAD LINKED IN OP BEFORE POSTING