Player Watch Darcy Fogarty - Re-Signed to End of 2031

How many goals will Darcy Fogarty kick in 2023?

When you’re a talented young player, but aren’t a natural ball finder the equation is simple, you need to get super fit.

It’s the thing holding Greenwood back and similarly Fogarty.

Fog was behind the 8-ball in this regard when he arrived and is still playing catch up.

Matt Crouch can spend his entire junior footy career racking up elite numbers despite not doing a preseason because he just finds the footy. Brads similar.

I think 2 great examples of this are Dangerfield and Ablett. 2 guys who spent their first 4-5 seasons showing elite level talent, but struggling to hit 15 touches on a regular basis. Suddenly they get serious and get fit and they’re different players.

I remember rocking up to preseason training for the 2012 season and seeing Dangerfield beating van Berlo in the 1-2km time trials. Both were well ahead of the next runners. Danger didn’t rock up to our club in great shape and wasn’t known as a massive ball winner, but managed to get himself super fit and almost doubled his possession numbers in the space of a preseason, instantly becoming an elite mid in the comp.

Not everyone can do this and I’m not saying Fog needs to be winning time trials, but he does need to get fit. He’s got a heap of talent, but natural ball winner is not one of his attributes and when that’s the case, you need to make sure you can just bust your gut to get to every contest possible and ensure you’ve still got the energy to impact it.

Having a couple of good games in the twos would be a start

The forward line in the SANFL side is a cluster**** though, which doesn't help. Himmelberg looks pretty frustrated as well at the moment - plus he isn't getting much ruck time.

Would be best for all and sundry if we could loan one of the 200cm giants out to another SANFL club.

How though? Will Walker have retired by then?

And even if he did- let's say he retired at the end of 2020... we havent invested the games to have Darcy at the experience level that he'd be ready. If we'd played him this year he'd be tracking to be on 50 games by the end of 2020- primed. Instead, the best we can hope for is what? 20?

A 20 game player isnt going to carry a forwardline.

The forward line in the SANFL side is a cluster**** though, which doesn't help. Himmelberg looks pretty frustrated as well at the moment - plus he isn't getting much ruck time.

Would be best for all and sundry if we could loan one of the 200cm giants out to another SANFL club.

I don't think he needs to kick bags, he just needs to show a bit more.

From there I'd play him against some of the lesser teams regardless of who else is available. We have to play Gold Coast, St Kilda, Western Bulldogs and Carlton in the back half of the year, all great opportunities to play him.

Reckon we missed a trick not giving him two games replacing Himmelberg when the Berg became cooked. And then we stuffed up again by leaving him out when Lynch was injured

I don't think he needs to kick bags, he just needs to show a bit more.

From there I'd play him against some of the lesser teams regardless of who else is available. We have to play Gold Coast, St Kilda, Western Bulldogs and Carlton in the back half of the year, all great opportunities to play him.

Reckon we missed a trick not giving him two games replacing Himmelberg when the Berg became cooked. And then we stuffed up again by leaving him out when Lynch was injured
They're always going to favour Berg over Fog if JJ is the one out because they want someone to take the backup ruck duties.

This whole " Hes Player X's replacement, not Player Y" argument is doing my head in.
When we finally realise you structure up to the strengths of the players on your list and discard this whole idea that we have an ideal "winning "structure whose mold the players must fit into in order to be selected, we will be much better off.
Richmond smashed us in that GF with a structure that looked nothing like ours. Isn't that proof enough?
Play your talent. Play Tex, Play Fog and modify/tailor your stale,predictable 4y.o bloody gameplan to suit.
I think you’ve missed the major point...which is.....lack of fitness standard!

Fog in the AFL has ran out of puff usually by the 3rd quarter. Would you risk playing Fog and likely to get a 17 v 18 by the 4th quarter?

Guys like Chayce and Berg are getting games not just on potential but ALSO they have a fitness base to play out an entire AFL game.

Look behind the win loss record.

We've not been particularly good at any time this year, and beat nobodies.

I genuinely don't think there's any sensible reason to project that we could beat the leagues elite teams this year.

I thought we went with Geelong and Eagles for a fair portion of each game. I’m not sure that we’re without hope against the elite. Would need to improve a bit, especially considering future games will be away and we’ve been done at home. But I don’t think that we’re devoid of a chance if things go our way.

Geelong really should have beaten us by far more, it was inaccuracy that kept us in it. Time will tell, but I'm not sold we can beat either- the exposed form says that we don't, and I've seen this movie before.

Let's talk on Sunday I suppose.

I think you’ve missed the major point...which is.....lack of fitness standard!

Fog in the AFL has ran out of puff usually by the 3rd quarter. Would you risk playing Fog and likely to get a 17 v 18 by the 4th quarter?

Guys like Chayce and Berg are getting games not just on potential but ALSO they have a fitness base to play out an entire AFL game.

No I dont think I've missed the major point whatsoever as I believe the people making the structure argument are basing it on the fact that this is how our selection panel think.
Fitness levels may well be the case in this(Fogarty) instance but do you believe we play/cut players based soley on their fitness levels? Surely ROB was fitter than Sauce last year. Surely everyone has been fitter than Tex in that same time and surely Douglas and (insert names of experienced players who fits structure here)hadn't proven themselves to be AFL match fit b4 their latest call ups? I could go on and on with examples of players being played despite "fitness".
If Fogs fitness has gone backward from last season in which got game time then I'd be asking some serious questions of our medical/fitness staff If I were Pyke.
How do players get AFL match Fitness do you think?
To my eye ROB looked cooked after 4-5 games of being monstered by bigger, stronger AFL level ruckman, but we had no choice but to persist. Nek minnit Hes miraculously gained AFL level fitness and is looking as good as any Ruck in the comp.
Now imagine if Sauce was available when he looked out of gas. Wed not see him in the ones for another 2 seasons and most likely lose him to another club.
Nah mate, we have a habbit of massively over backing in unfit, out of form, just plain shit senior players to the hilt at the cost of junior players AFL level experience and "Structure" is as much a reasoning as fitness and experience.

Geelong really should have beaten us by far more, it was inaccuracy that kept us in it. Time will tell, but I'm not sold we can beat either- the exposed form says that we don't, and I've seen this movie before.

Well that’s simply not true. We had more scoring shot than geelong at 3/4 time. In the end geelong only had 4 more scoring shots, all of them goals.
Let's talk on Sunday I suppose.

No I dont think I've missed the major point whatsoever as I believe the people making the structure argument are basing it on the fact that this is how our selection panel think.
Fitness levels may well be the case in this(Fogarty) instance but do you believe we play/cut players based soley on their fitness levels? Surely ROB was fitter than Sauce last year. Surely everyone has been fitter than Tex in that same time and surely Douglas and (insert names of experienced players who fits structure here)hadn't proven themselves to be AFL match fit b4 their latest call ups? I could go on and on with examples of players being played despite "fitness".
If Fogs fitness has gone backward from last season in which got game time then I'd be asking some serious questions of our medical/fitness staff If I were Pyke.
How do players get AFL match Fitness do you think?
To my eye ROB looked cooked after 4-5 games of being monstered by bigger, stronger AFL level ruckman, but we had no choice but to persist. Nek minnit Hes miraculously gained AFL level fitness and is looking as good as any Ruck in the comp.
Now imagine if Sauce was available when he looked out of gas. Wed not see him in the ones for another 2 seasons and most likely lose him to another club.
Nah mate, we have a habbit of massively over backing in unfit, out of form, just plain **** senior players to the hilt at the cost of junior players AFL level experience and "Structure" is as much a reasoning as fitness and experience.
I think if you go through the responses, most fans who think Fog still isn’t quite ready, is mainly because of fitness (not yet up to par). I think generally we’re all in agreement that he has the necessary tools to be in the least a very good AFL player, so he will fit into any structure in any team if fitness improves.

Regarding the comment of habit of playing unfit seniors at the expense of not trying the kids, this appears to be changing this year by the fact we’re playing Jones, Gooch and Berg whilst demoting JJ, Gibbs. Even last year, Fog also was gifted games due to the fact Tex had missed some fair chunks of games last year.

And the other side of the coin, where can we play Fog currently if Tex, JJ, Lynch are doing their job and getting us wins? Meanwhile, the smaller forwards in Gooch, Murphy, Jones are getting their 1-2 goals but can run out games better than Fog. Do we just chuck him in the midfield or defence, hoping he can do a better job than players currently doing those roles at AFL level?

Player Watch Darcy Fogarty - Re-Signed to End of 2031