David Warner

• Thread starter Thread starter Soups

If some random internet poster wants to shift his allegiance to the Poms, it's no skin off my nose.

I'll still support them.

As for Warner, I'm not fussed whether he plays in the Ashes or not.

To me, he's either someone who struggles to handle the spotlight, or has let the spotlight go to his head.

Either way, I think a break wouldn't hurt him one bit.

Available for the First Test, but banned from the tour matches beforehand. So if he gets picked or has to play because of injury the first time he'll bat in England in a First Class match is in an Ashes Test.

There are no words.

Lol, Fox Sports sticking up for one of "their" own. "Who dobbed in Davey?" - great headline.

Sounds like the incident is pretty tame though, no harm done and by the sounds of things nobody there really batted an eyelid after it happened. Just a really, really meatheaded thing to even consider doing though, given the way the team's percieved at the moment and Arthur's ultimatum.

On the other issue being discussed in this thread about supporting Australia or not, I fall in the middle. I don't want us to lose, but the squad we've picked for the Ashes is probably the most unlikeable bunch of unjustifiably arrogant silly's I can think of. Teams of ours in the past had arrogance in spades, but they actually had a reason to be. England's side isn't exactly full of likeable blokes though at the moment with Trott, Pietersen, Prior and Broad being amongst my least favourite cricketers, so it's not like I'll get much enjoyment of them making "Davey", Haddin and co. look silly all winter.

This is absolutely idiotic by CA, but I would expect nothing less after "Homework-gate"
Not only is the punishment too soft, you're only effectively punishing him from one dead rubber in the CT and then stripping him of critical warm-up fixtures. No doubt they'll **** the entire situation up by picking him for the 1st test anyway.

IMO, should have banned him until after the 2nd test, give him a chance to find some form and merit inclusion in the tour match between the 2nd and 3rd tests, and then pick him if he does indeed demand selection.

Seems incredibly incredibly stupid by CA, especially if they plan on playing him first test. Hopefully that isn't the case and it means he misses out on selection and will be forced to run drinks around for the tour. I can't see how he can possibly be picked anyway, both Rogers and Cowan seem in better form.

It has to be one of two things.

They are planning on picking him with no practice matches or form which is absurd.

They basically just dumped him for the ashes but they at least want the option of backtracking if we get beset by injuries before the opener.

In any other team you would assume option two but with our lot option one is the red hot fav.

It has to be one of two things.

They are planning on picking him with no practice matches or form which is absurd.

They basically just dumped him for the ashes but they at least want the option of backtracking if we get beset by injuries before the opener.

In any other team you would assume option two but with our lot option one is the red hot fav.

Jeez, you're fussy. Who needs warm-ups?

Just speechless. Just......nah, f**k 'em. Of all the possible outcomes, from fining him, to fining and suspending him from the rest of the Champions Trophy and fining him and sending him home......they instead fine him AND let him sit over there and twiddle his fingers until the 1st Test........with no First Class form to call on if needed.

The Labor party aren't a part of CA management are they?!

Available for the First Test, but banned from the tour matches beforehand. So if he gets picked or has to play because of injury the first time he'll bat in England in a First Class match is in an Ashes Test.

There are no words.

"We are going to get fu$%ked by the Poms anyway, so we might as well start trolling"

921643-michael-clarke-ashes.jpg

There are no words.
Massive face palm.

I personally thought a fine would suffice. However, if you're going down the track of suspension, this is as dumb as it gets.

CA are morons.

Isn't that the whole problem. Australia are to cricket what Melbourne is to footy.

I don't care - I'm now going for England. These guys are buffoons and have been for a long time.

Can't bring myself to do that... But I won't really care if we lose - more interested in how individuals do than the team.

This pathetic episode has just reinforced how much of a mess Cricket Australia is - the punishment is just nonsensical.

a better suspension would have been to suspend him from the first one or two tests, but allow him to play in the warm ups. if he's gonna play it would at least help the team if he has played in the warm ups and had some sort of acclimatisation to the conditions.

What an odd punishment.

It will be hilarious if they still pick him for the first test, but so sadly unsurprising.

While i agree this current team has more than it's fair share of flogs thats still no excuse for supporting the poms.

lets also remember it wasn't that long ago this england team were all acting like little prats having a cat fight over a twitter account of all things.

Both teams have plenty of arrogant tossers,
Exactly. It's not like this English side is flog-free. They have a fair share of arrogant flogs as well

I find it very hard to see him playing either of the first two Tests without any match practice for a couple of months. Rogers is almost guaranteed to open with Cowan I reckon.