Draft Expert Davo-27's 2022 u18 Draft Thread

What's Ginbey like in the back line? The Dogs have a surplus of attacking defenders, would love to pick up a defensive mid and/or defender with actual defensive nous.
i have not seen much of his games as a defender, just that he played there in the WAFL, i just know him as an athletic fairly tall mid who loves to win the contested footy and is surprisingly fast and clean for a big lad (189cm) and was originally a defender from the WAFL system, has played only WAFL Seniors, PSA(WA Private school footy, won best and fairest as an underager for Wesley College last year) and champs this year where he was arguably WA's best player.

The only concerning thing M Malice will be when he makes you look stupid for 15 years. I on the other hand will be just a simple bystander with a smile that comes with the knowledge that some people know and others well it isn't there fault they just don't know what they don't know!
93O5Abp.jpg

Davo, What do you think of Phoenix Foster and could he still be there for our round 3 pick(approx 51-55)?

i see him more as a late pick, has shown some forward craft in the sanfl u18's and was decent as a ruck in the champs, he is a nice mark and can kick goals at a decent rate, he was ok in the ruck for SA, but it was his aerial stuff that got people talking, as far as Hawthorn wanting a kpf/ruck i dont know if we need another developing ruck who can play forward? we have Ramsden developing, we dont need 2 developing at the same time and i think Ramsden is a better all round prospect.

Thanks mate, The way Reeves and Lynch miss games as well as Kosi losing form thought he might be considered.

4/5 under dogs won the wildcard finals round in the NAB League, now teams like GWV, Oakleigh, Geelong, Murray and Eastern are eliminated from the finals, who would have thought this would happen? especially Oakleigh with incredible depth dropping out like that?

Tas V West
Gipps V North
Dand V Cald
Sand V Bend

i was looking over my thread and thought i would put the names of all the players i like and think have a chance to be drafted, the list is 85 names and i think it covers most bases

Vic Metro: (22) Will Ashcroft, George Wardlaw, Harry Sheezel, Elijah Tsatas, Cam MacKenzie, Matthew Jefferson, Lewis Hayes, Olli Hotton, Blake Drury, Al Davey Jnr, Callum Verrell, Josh Weddle, Luke Teal, Jayden Davey, Charlie Clarke, Rye Penny, Hudson O'Keefe, Cooper Harvey, Jerome Lawrence, Jovan Petric, Kai Windsor, Yuyu Ashwin

Vic Country: (24) Aaron Cadman, Jhye Clark, Mitch Sybkowski, Bailey Humphrey, Oliver Hollands, Brayden George, Henry Hustwaite, Jacob Konstanty, Coby Burgiel, Noah Long, Cooper Vickery, Hugh Bond, Jaxon Binns, Jonti Schuback, Toby McMullin, Olivier Northam, Caleb Mitchell, Jack O'Sullivan, Ted Clohesy, James Van Es, Ben Hempel, Max Clohesy, Felix Fogarty, Brady Wright

Sth Aust: (15) Matthaes Phillipou, Isaac Keeler, Adam D'Aloia, Harry Barnett, Will Dowling, Kobe Ryan, Jake Walker, Jakob Ryan, Archie Lovelock, Harry Lemmey, Tom Scully, Jaiden Magor, Max Michaelanny, Nick Sadler, Phoenix Foster

Wst Aust: (14) Jedd Busslinger, Elijah Hewett, Reuben Ginbey, Darcy Jones, Jed Hagan, Sam Gilbey, Luke Michael, Rohan MacNeill, Ed Allan, Jackson Broadbent, Griff Julian, Harry Cole, Steely Green, Jack Cleaver

Allies: (10) Anthony Munkara, Tom McCallum, Jaspa Fletcher, Shadeau Brain, Brandon Leary, Lachlan Cowan, Jason Gillbee, Harry Rowston, Seth Campbell, Nick Madden

September Update

1. Will Ashcroft - 180cm 76kg - Sandringham (Bris F/S)
2. Harry Sheezel - 184cm 77kg - Sandringham
3. George Wardlaw - 182cm 81kg - Oakleigh
4. Elijah Tsatas - 186cm 79kg - Oakleigh
-----------------------------------------------------------Elite Tier ^
5. Aaron Cadman - 194cm 88kg - GWV
6. Jhye Clark - 181cm 77kg - Geelong
7. Mattaes Phillipou - 191cm 83kg - WWT
8. Cam MacKenzie - 187cm 80kg - Sandringham (StK NGA)
9. Jedd Busslinger - 196cm 82kg - East Perth
------------------------------------------------------------ Top Tier ^
10. Reuben Ginbey - 189cm 85kg - East Perth
11. Bailey Humphrey - 184cm 86kg - Gippsland
12. Lewis Hayes - 197cm 81kg - Eastern
13. Elijah Hewett - 186cm 82kg - Swan Districts
14. Matthew Jefferson - 194cm 76kg - Oakleigh
15. Isaac Keeler - 198cm 88kg - North Adelaide (Adel NGA)
16. Oliver Hollands - 184cm 71kg - Murray
17. Adam D'Aloia - 186cm 86kg - WWT
18. Mitch Szybkowski - 186cm 84kg - Dandenong
19. Jaspa Fletcher - 184cm 73kg - Bris A (Bris A)
20. Brayden George - 185cm 87kg - Murray
21. Anthony Munkara - 186cm 77kg - NT/West Adelaide (Ess NGA)
22. Olli Hotton - 181cm 77kg - Sandringham
23. Tom McCallum - 192cm 78kg - Tasmania
--------------------------------------------------------------- High Quality Prospects ^
24. Henry Hustwaite - 194cm 84kg - Dandenong
25. Al Davey Jnr - 181cm 74kg - Oakleigh (Ess F/S)
26. Jacob Konstanty - 176cm 70kg - Gippsland
27. Jed Hagan - 175cm 73kg - East Fremantle
28. Darcy Jones - 175cm 67kg - Swan Districts
29. Josh Weddle - 191cm 87kg - Oakleigh
30. Harry Barnett - 202cm 93kg - West Adelaide
31. Coby Burgiel - 183cm 76kg - Gippsland
32. Lachlan Cowan - 188cm 81kg - Tasmania
33. Luke Teal - 188cm 78kg - Oakleigh
34. Charlie Clarke - 182cm 75kg - Sandringham
35. Brandon Leary - 177cm - Tasmania
36. Hugh Bond - 184cm 81kg - GWV
37. Shadeau Brain - 185cm - Bris A (Bris A)
38. Will Dowling - 187cm 79kg - North Adelaide
39. Jonti Schuback - 183cm 75kg - Gippsland
40. Noah Long - 178cm 74kg - Gippsland
41. Kobe Ryan - 183cm 73kg - West Adelaide
42. Ed Allan - 194cm 82kg - Claremont
43. Callum Verrell - 187cm 79kg - Eastern
44. Blake Drury - 177cm 73kg - Oakleigh
45. Cooper Vickery - 180cm 72kg - Gippsland
46. Jake Walker - 184cm 85kg - Glenlg
47. Jaiden Magor - 185cm 79kg - South Adelaide
---------------------------------------------------------------- Quality Prospects ^

other good prospects that have good qualities: Rowston, J.Ryan, Lemmey, Scully, Hempel, Penny, J.Davey, Harvey, J.Lawrence, Petric, K.Windsor, Ashwin, M.Clohesy, T.Clohesy, Northam, O'Sullivan, Binns, Van Es, Fogarty, Wright, McMullin, C.Mitchell, Lovelock, Foster, Michaelanny, Sadler, Michael, MacNeill, Gilbey, Cleaver, Green, Julian, Cole, Campbell, Madden

Davo,

Max Gruzewski @ #27 on Cal Twomey's current phantom.
I havn'r paid attention / noticed him throughout the year.

Do you have any notes on him?

Thanks CC.

he has been a good CHB(KPD) for Oakleigh this year 192cm 84kg, could have made the Vic Metro side if they needed another tall defender, i'm surprised he made the national combine and is so high in Cal's ratings, could be a dark horse in the draft? but with Oakleigh under performing in the finals he cant showcase his talents in the finals.

Would be surprised if McCallum goes before Cowan. I have Cowan around 15-35, McCallum 40+ and Campbell 40+, Leary and Owen only a chance of rookie at best I think.
Leary was dynamic as an overager in the champs, 5 goals in 2 games and it wasnt just the number of goals, it was how dynamic/speed/skill he showed during kicking those goals, i really liked what he did and look forward to his finals series in the NAB League, i also loved McCallums counter attacking intercepting and composed game style for the Allies, i liked him for Tassie, but he lifted a level for the Allies, whereas Cowan can accumulate poss and add good run he doesnt hurt you like McCallum does imo, Campbell has been good in bursts, but didnt do enough at the champs this year to go too high unfortunately, Owen im unsure of now?

If you are basing it only on the champs I can understand, Cowan was only good in the Champs, not great. Campbell was "meh" okay. McCallum really put his name up there for a lot of people. But the champs is a small sample size, if you watched three or four random Carlton games this year, you might think Patrick Cripps is only an okay midfielder. Cowan's ability to break tackles, run and bounce, and his long kick will definitely be an attribute to hurt teams if he can make it at AFL level. Definitely wouldnt be a bad pick inside the top 20. Great pick 32 I think, but nobody is guarunteed to have a good AFL career. Not even pick 1s.

There's a player from WA named Kaleb Smith from East Fremantle who has shot up the local rankings in the last two weeks.

He's a quick line breaking defender, who takes on and evades oncoming traffic. Listed at 181cm but I'd bet that's out of date. He looks more like 187 or so.

I didn't quite pick up on him at first because he was playing PSA but he's been impossible not to notice in the last two weeks.

The word is he's getting selected. I don't know if that's true and I wouldn't have a clue at what position in the draft.

Also, EF have named him in their league squad this week so it will be interesting to see if they rush him in with Jed Hagan and Jack Cleaver already part of their senior team.

If you are basing it only on the champs I can understand, Cowan was only good in the Champs, not great. Campbell was "meh" okay. McCallum really put his name up there for a lot of people. But the champs is a small sample size, if you watched three or four random Carlton games this year, you might think Patrick Cripps is only an okay midfielder. Cowan's ability to break tackles, run and bounce, and his long kick will definitely be an attribute to hurt teams if he can make it at AFL level. Definitely wouldnt be a bad pick inside the top 20. Great pick 32 I think, but nobody is guarunteed to have a good AFL career. Not even pick 1s.
i have been talking about most of these guys for 2 years, you think the champs is the only games i am judging their talent on?, i'll go through my thoughts and memories of the last 2 years

Lachlan Cowan - i mentioned him im pretty sure before anyone here, i liked his ability to win plenty of the ball and his run out of defence and long kicking, now over the journey of watching Tassie games and Champs which are some of the best testing these players can go through, i have noticed his kicking can be a little erratic even though it looks good in form, decision making might be an issue, which is why i have him now firmly in the 2nd round and not in the 1st round which i had him in last year i believe?, having run and carry and being a long kick is 1 thing, hitting a friggen target consistently is another and i rate that highly, if he doesnt fix his being able to hit targets, then he might be a turn over merchant and i dont know a team who wants a turn over merchant in their defence(he has a good base with accumulation, speed and long kicking if he can maybe fix his "turnover merchant" kicking, it would increase his value as a hbf) which is the difference between going in the 20's and maybe early 30's and going in the teens imo from my PoV.

Tom McCallum - was good for Tasmania in terms of making good decisions and playing at a high level, but i thought that he didnt get the numbers of Cowan and i wasnt sure on his potential at that time, i was already into Cowan and Campbell early in the year, but he has stepped up and become one of my favourite Tasmanians in the draft, the composure under pressure and the quality intercepting game with his nice height and the fact he hits targets at a high rate has made me like him as a solid late 1st/2nd round option and i personally would prefer McCallum over Cowan

Brandon Leary - i had not seen much of him in the NAB League but when i looked him up he had over 2 goals a game in the NAB League 12 games 29 goals, also i think he missed his draft year so as a 19 year old he is still fresh to the scene rather than looked over, he has shown this year that he has some serious speed and great movement in the forward line with some great shots at goal, the champs really highlighted his talent for the Allies, because he and Walter who is for next year were the only real weapons up forward that they had.

Seth Campbell - another 1 i was a fan of last year when he showed some great skills and composure against QLD in a u17's game, he also started the year well with a couple of good performances in the NAB League, but has fallen off recently kicking only 15 goals in 11 games, he then didnt really perform at the champs kicking 3 goals in 3 games and looking a bit average in his forward play, he then had that huge 10 goal game in the TSL after missing the cut for the national combine, i think his last chance to push his cause to be drafted is to have a big finals series for Tasmania

i have been talking about most of these guys for 2 years, you think the champs is the only games i am judging their talent on?, i'll go through my thoughts and memories of the last 2 years

Lachlan Cowan - i mentioned him im pretty sure before anyone here, i liked his ability to win plenty of the ball and his run out of defence and long kicking, now over the journey of watching Tassie games and Champs which are some of the best testing these players can go through, i have noticed his kicking can be a little erratic even though it looks good in form, decision making might be an issue, which is why i have him now firmly in the 2nd round and not in the 1st round which i had him in last year i believe?, having run and carry and being a long kick is 1 thing, hitting a friggen target consistently is another and i rate that highly, if he doesnt fix his being able to hit targets, then he might be a turn over merchant and i dont know a team who wants a turn over merchant in their defence(he has a good base with accumulation, speed and long kicking if he can maybe fix his "turnover merchant" kicking, it would increase his value as a hbf) which is the difference between going in the 20's and maybe early 30's and going in the teens imo from my PoV.

Tom McCallum - was good for Tasmania in terms of making good decisions and playing at a high level, but i thought that he didnt get the numbers of Cowan and i wasnt sure on his potential at that time, i was already into Cowan and Campbell early in the year, but he has stepped up and become one of my favourite Tasmanians in the draft, the composure under pressure and the quality intercepting game with his nice height and the fact he hits targets at a high rate has made me like him as a solid late 1st/2nd round option and i personally would prefer McCallum over Cowan

Brandon Leary - i had not seen much of him in the NAB League but when i looked him up he had over 2 goals a game in the NAB League 12 games 29 goals, also i think he missed his draft year so as a 19 year old he is still fresh to the scene rather than looked over, he has shown this year that he has some serious speed and great movement in the forward line with some great shots at goal, the champs really highlighted his talent for the Allies, because he and Walter who is for next year were the only real weapons up forward that they had.

Seth Campbell - another 1 i was a fan of last year when he showed some great skills and composure against QLD in a u17's game, he also started the year well with a couple of good performances in the NAB League, but has fallen off recently kicking only 15 goals in 11 games, he then didnt really perform at the champs kicking 3 goals in 3 games and looking a bit average in his forward play, he then had that huge 10 goal game in the TSL after missing the cut for the national combine, i think his last chance to push his cause to be drafted is to have a big finals series for Tasmania
Davo-27
Is Josh Bennets from the Eastern
Ranges a Hawthorn NGA? I hope so.

Thanks I really appreciate you have your own thoughts and I dont really disagree with anything you said. I wasn't trying to start an argument or imply you only watched champs lol. It just seemed to me you were weighting the champs heavily which is why I replied that way. Not to suggest you only watched the champs which is the way what I posted read which was badly worded by me! :oops:

Agree, Cowan's biggest weakness is decision making! This is spot on, if he didn't have that weakness I think I would be ranking him an easy top 10. It is something that can hopefully be worked on, but no player is 100% certainty. His long kick is actually beautiful.

Campbell's previous NAB league game he was pretty much BoG before he kicked 10 in the TSL too. He already got a late call up before that game apparently on the Friday, he said it freed his mind to just play and he went out and kicked 10 lol. After that game Jeromey Webberly was fielding a bunch of calls from recruiters about him so it really put his name up there even more. Very impressive game.

I love McCallum too, he is a neat player and love that he is a tall defender who isn't afraid to run with the ball. Wouldn't be a bad pick at all around where you have him, I just like Cowan more and think he is our best prospect! I see McCallum as a later pick but with a lot of potential.

Leary's story is weird, he was only really noticed as an 18 year old playing in George Town, not through the normal Devils program but was brought in to North Launceston and played really well in his first year and was named in the TSL team of the year. He has done so well to even be on a draft radar, hope he gets taken! He is just so slight and I don't know if he has enough elite attributes to be taken in the ND, or maybe not at all, but really hope he does!

You can say I told you so when I am wrong, because I am by no means thinking I know it all, I don't know much, I just watch Tasmanian footballers because I don't really have an AFL team (yet!).

Thanks I really appreciate you have your own thoughts and I dont really disagree with anything you said. I wasn't trying to start an argument or imply you only watched champs lol. It just seemed to me you were weighting the champs heavily which is why I replied that way. Not to suggest you only watched the champs which is the way what I posted read which was badly worded by me! :oops:

Agree, Cowan's biggest weakness is decision making! This is spot on, if he didn't have that weakness I think I would be ranking him an easy top 10. It is something that can hopefully be worked on, but no player is 100% certainty. His long kick is actually beautiful.

Campbell's previous NAB league game he was pretty much BoG before he kicked 10 in the TSL too. He already got a late call up before that game apparently on the Friday, he said it freed his mind to just play and he went out and kicked 10 lol. After that game Jeromey Webberly was fielding a bunch of calls from recruiters about him so it really put his name up there even more. Very impressive game.

I love McCallum too, he is a neat player and love that he is a tall defender who isn't afraid to run with the ball. Wouldn't be a bad pick at all around where you have him, I just like Cowan more and think he is our best prospect! I see McCallum as a later pick but with a lot of potential.

Leary's story is weird, he was only really noticed as an 18 year old playing in George Town, not through the normal Devils program but was brought in to North Launceston and played really well in his first year and was named in the TSL team of the year. He has done so well to even be on a draft radar, hope he gets taken! He is just so slight and I don't know if he has enough elite attributes to be taken in the ND, or maybe not at all, but really hope he does!

You can say I told you so when I am wrong, because I am by no means thinking I know it all, I don't know much, I just watch Tasmanian footballers because I don't really have an AFL team (yet!).
I do weigh the champs performances heavily, the reason I do that is because I believe those games are the highest standard games that these players play(I even rate them above state leagues which most dont) and therefore it's the most pressure they are under, I want players to perform under duress, not shy away from it or beat up on lower standard opponents, because performing under pressure is the best way to make a call on if a player can handle the pressures of a professional environment which is the AFL and whether they can handle the expectations of fans, media, large crowds and now online social media.