Roast Dawes

If you watched the game and took noticed, you would realise we plated, all of Nate brown, wood, jolly, and after he completed gave up a marking contest Dawes as decoy forwards. Due to the fact all of the above were as dangerous as a waif with a piece of wet lettuce he ran around at will

Yep that pretty much sums it up re: Scarlett. None of our targets demanded enough attention to make him accountable.

Cloke is our main man up forward but seriously i think JA should be the man in the 50 meter line playing FF

This is why and where Dawes has the advantage currently. At the moment Anthony has not shown the ability to create space and get the ball on the long searching leads in a link up CHF fashion. Cloke does this well and it is currently the strength of Dawes. If Dawes plays Clokes role and Cloke plays deeper all of a sudden our fowardline looks straighten our mids up more and our fowardline looks better.

I think another thing when talking about the incoming ball to the fowardline that needs to be weighed up is cause and effect. There where occasions (early in the game) where Cloke presented well and got the ball quickly, made a good contest and our fowardline flowed pretty well.

If our fowards aren't presenting a good option the ball movement will always be slower, if the ball movement is slower it will always be harder to hit a foward in space. I am not blaming the fowards entirely but it is certainly at times a lack of confidence in a foward target that slows down our ball movement.

Cloke got a higher percentage of his ball on the wing then in the past couple of weeks and as we did last year we struggled to find a next option when that happened.

I think Cloke is doing a good job roaming mostly outside 50, but if he can get to a level where is able to ragdoll his man after a mark or completely slipping him while taking a contested mark and then kick running goals from just outside to inside 50 on the run. He will be unstoppable.

He's a great mark but his set shot kicking for is atrocious, a lot like Rocca

You have to give Dawes a go.He has only played a handful of games this year and overall has done well.

This is why i was screaming last year,about playing Dawes.Had he had a season under his belt no doubt he would have been much better to handle scarlett and mackie.

Also why was Scarlett left unattended ,to rebound out of the backline,and help double team players,surely the collingwood coaching staff know how scarlett plays by now.Scheeessssssssss ! Ridiculous kids stuff,and they keep making the same mistakes when we play geelong.

Fraser should have played against Blake,Fraser has towled him up in the past,can't believe Jolly and Wood let blake run loose like he did,if Ottens and blake play collingwood should play Fraser and Jolly in future encounters, for some reason Fraser seems to have the wood (ha ha)
on both blake and ottens when he gets to play gainst them.We have sorely missed Fraser against the geelong ruck combo.

I'd like to have seen Dawes, Cloke and a third marking target (ie. Anthony/Meds) given the opportunity to stretch the Geelong defence. When the other mob has Scarlett and Taylor down back, you don't want to give them the luxury of playing Lonergan on a forward and Scarlett allowed to be unaccountable.

Very Good Point and That why people where Suprised Wellingham came in for JA. McCaffer can't play that role

I think Cloke is doing a good job roaming mostly outside 50, but if he can get to a level where is able to ragdoll his man after a mark or completely slipping him while taking a contested mark and then kick running goals from just outside to inside 50 on the run. He will be unstoppable.

My mates already call him Pebs Jr :\ I think he's got a nice kick on him from 40m+ though. Same could be said with Trav.

A couple I took on Friday night pre game of Dawes
goalkicking style

878470061_FGpGL-L.jpg

878470338_M6YTR-L.jpg

It is true that Dawe's fans can get touchy, but doesn't mean they can't see his limitations. How do you see him as a CHB? Would his overhead marking be better if he had the game in front of him? He could slim down a bit if he had to!

Reid could play CHF at times and Cloke play CHB. I would like to see these big guys tossed around a bit in games where they are down, instead of leaving them to drift into error - e.g. Cloke chasing kicks up field then bombing long.

It is true that Dawe's fans can get touchy, but doesn't mean they can't see his limitations. How do you see him as a CHB? Would his overhead marking be better if he had the game in front of him? He could slim down a bit if he had to!

Reid could play CHF at times and Cloke play CHB. I would like to see these big guys tossed around a bit in games where they are down, instead of leaving them to drift into error - e.g. Cloke chasing kicks up field then bombing long.

Spot On Mate, We are Fans of Dawes but we know his weaknesses and limitations but we still think he can be better

I think his lack of pace would hurt him at CHB, Most key fowards are quicker off the mark then he is and so if he went to CHB I'd dare say you'd try and start deeper and burn him on the lead. I do think a stint at CHB could help him in an educational sense. Following around fowards who judge the ball better in match situations may just help him learn how to judge the flight of the ball better I don't know.

I have actually thought about the above a fair bit, The possibility of playing Dawes in a Leigh Brown type ruck / bit parts role. N Brown and Presti in defence and Reid up foward.

The thing is it's not going to happen we are trying to win a premiership and experimenting with structures that have got us this fair isn't likely to happen. That said I am still firmly of the belief that Reid is potentially our best foward, he has the most complete and dangerous set of attributes of all our KPP.

I think his lack of pace would hurt him at CHB, Most key fowards are quicker off the mark then he is and so if he went to CHB I'd dare say you'd try and start deeper and burn him on the lead. I do think a stint at CHB could help him in an educational sense. Following around fowards who judge the ball better in match situations may just help him learn how to judge the flight of the ball better I don't know.

I have actually thought about the above a fair bit, The possibility of playing Dawes in a Leigh Brown type ruck / bit parts role. N Brown and Presti in defence and Reid up foward.

The thing is it's not going to happen we are trying to win a premiership and experimenting with structures that have got us this fair isn't likely to happen. That said I am still firmly of the belief that Reid is potentially our best foward, he has the most complete and dangerous set of attributes of all our KPP.

Didn't Dawes play that 2nd Ruck Role a Bit late last season in the AFL?

I would have said from about mid-way in his career Anthony Rocca was a fantastic set shot for goal from all distances, and that happened once he found his routine. It'll happen with Trav as well, no doubt.

A couple I took on Friday night pre game of Dawes
goalkicking style

878470061_FGpGL-L.jpg

878470338_M6YTR-L.jpg

Interesting Photo's. In the 1st one he looks like he is leaning back but Follow through is good

Did we honestly expect Dawes to play fantastic games every week for the rest of his career? Had to contend with Scarlett on the weekend, so all in all it was a good learning curve for him. Did you see what Scarlett did to Roughead?? Or what he did to Bradshaw?? Or what he did to Fevola??

Dawes has limitations, but its all about exposure. He will have the odd bad game. In fact, 50% of his games may be bad. Until he plays 50 games, this is going to be the case.

All is fine on the Dawes-bandwagon. I know Leigh Brown is banging on the door...but let's just remember he has had 2 years in the senior team...and he couldn't string 2 good games together in this time. We know what we'll get with him...and that is 1 good game, and 2 bad ones.

Dawes may be no better in the short term...but long term there is way more potential.

Did we honestly expect Dawes to play fantastic games every week for the rest of his career? Had to contend with Scarlett on the weekend, so all in all it was a good learning curve for him. Did you see what Scarlett did to Roughead?? Or what he did to Bradshaw?? Or what he did to Fevola??

Dawes has limitations, but its all about exposure. He will have the odd bad game. In fact, 50% of his games may be bad. Until he plays 50 games, this is going to be the case.

All is fine on the Dawes-bandwagon. I know Leigh Brown is banging on the door...but let's just remember he has had 2 years in the senior team...and he couldn't string 2 good games together in this time. We know what we'll get with him...and that is 1 good game, and 2 bad ones.

Dawes may be no better in the short term...but long term there is way more potential.

You Always right Good Posts Dave. Dawes in Experince is still a Rookie at AFL Level. He had one of the best Backlines in the Comp on Friday night.

100% agree with the Dawes vs Leroy Argument

Spot On Mate, We are Fans of Dawes but we know his weaknesses and limitations but we still think he can be better

I'm glad you and a few others have this marvellous footy insight which allows you be so sure of his weaknesses and limitations so early in his career.:eek:

For mine his weakness, at the moment, is too much chocolate.:rolleyes:

Reality is he has plenty of potential and could be anything or nothing.

Too quick to judge.

Start a "roast" thread and by the end of it you're defending him from....yourself?????
Just odd and not the first time I've notice this after a loss Dave..

Comparing apples with oranges there. Dawes has barely been in the AFL system, give him time. Stop being so fickle.

exactly ..

only early days here ppl... he had 1 down game against the best backman in the league...

that will happen when u have only played a few games.. also the delivery to him was pretty poor.. he was having to reach over head at every marking contest..

get off his back and let the big boy play.. he will be a star...

exactly ..

only early days here ppl... he had 1 down game against the best backman in the league...

that will happen when u have only played a few games.. also the delivery to him was pretty poor.. he was having to reach over head at every marking contest..

get off his back and let the big boy play.. he will be a star...

Some sanity at last. Has played hardly any games against the the best backman in the league. Everyone expects too much I think. I agree with everything here bar the star part. Not saying he won't be one but has a long way to go.

Bloody post defeat hysteria!

Can't single out one individual and lump a loss squarely on their shoulders. It was the team that was beaten on the night.

Individual incidents don't cost you games either.

There's 120 minutes of 22 v 22.

and no... it wasn't the umpires either. They are human, make mistakes, sometimes our way, more often than not the other, get over it.

I still reckon Reid could make it as a KPF when gets confidence in his kicking, unless he becomes irreplaceable down back. Just turned 21 so still very young.

Though we have to make sure his Goal Kicking has Improved;)