Brodeywa

Rookie
Our player interviews have from all reports been completed, no official news from the club as to who has been told they will be traded or de-listed as yet (besides the retirements of Rocca, Clarke and Dyas).

I am wondering who we have decided we are keeping and who is going.

Anyone know any news on this front...

Only Marty Clarke, Anthony Rocca and Kevin Dyas (rookie) so far.

Usually clubs wait till after trade week, just in case a Chris Bryan or a Danny Stanley can be tacked onto the end of a trade.

Only Marty Clarke, Anthony Rocca and Kevin Dyas (rookie) so far.

Usually clubs wait till after trade week, just in case a Chris Bryan or a Danny Stanley can be tacked onto the end of a trade.

Do you know something about Stanley that we don't know?

i dare say stanners is a handy recruit for any vfl side, may get an afl spot with a lesser team due to this aspect

i reckon stanners is reaching the age where he could hold down a spot at afl now.. one of his last games in the vfl was amazing.. The boy is now a man same with cook..

I cant help thinking of Heath Scotland im sure we let him go at a similar age..

i reckon stanners is reaching the age where he could hold down a spot at afl now.. one of his last games in the vfl was amazing.. The boy is now a man same with cook..

Stanley was a rock in the midfield in the latter part of the VFL season. God knows the firsts need another in and under mid who can win their own ball. I hope that CFC give him one more year with a concentrated run in the seniors to let him find his confidence at a senior level.But this seems unlikely given that even at his best in the VFL MM didn't give him a run. His disposal under pressure has been suspect in the past but I think he is now using his strong body to allow himself some extra time before dishing the ball out to the quicks.

Re: Scotland requesting to be released so he could get more game time at another club. I was so pissed when Scotland wasn't given enough of a run to keep him in the fold in the early naughties. When Scotland left we had some injuries in the midfield and the effectiveness of Scotland's disposal would have come in handy. Still those were the good old bad years of 2004/5 when we saw a shite coloured streak of defeats. I remember seeing Tarrant in the centre with a ballooning sack of flesh hanging from the side of his knee. He was still recovering form the injuries he carried with the Pies when he went to Freo. Does anyone remember the knee hyperextension in the 2002 in a final against Adelaide? His chance to play in a Premiership has probably passed and Fremantle will want something big to let him go this year. Harvey said he wouldn't release Tarrant after they weathered his period of poor form and essentially saved his career by sending him down back. Cloke sounds like the CFC Tarrant mark II at the moment.

Cook might see himself traded ala Corrie.

That would be 3 gone off the senior list. I'd expect only 1 more. I don't think we'd elevate any rookie just yet when most of them have another year to run.

[FONT=Arial, sans-serif]Stanley was a rock in the midfield in the latter part of the VFL season. God knows the firsts need another in and under mid who can win their own ball. I hope that CFC give him one more year with a concentrated run in the seniors to let him find his confidence at a senior level. [/FONT][FONT=Arial, sans-serif]But this seems unlikely given that even at his best in the VFL MM didn't give him a run. His disposal under pressure has been suspect in the past but I think he is now using his strong body to allow himself some extra time before dishing the ball out to the quicks. [/FONT]

[FONT=Arial, sans-serif]Re: Scotland requesting to be released so he could get more game time at another club. I was so pissed when Scotland wasn't given enough of a run to keep him in the fold in the early naughties. When Scotland left we had some injuries in the midfield and the effectiveness of Scotland's disposal would have come in handy. Still those were the good old bad years of 2004/5 when we saw a shite coloured streak of defeats. I remember seeing Tarrant in the centre with a ballooning sack of flesh hanging from the side of his knee. He was still recovering form the injuries he carried with the Pies when he went to Freo. Does anyone remember the knee hyperextension in the 2002 in a final against Adelaide? His chance to play in a Premiership has probably passed and Fremantle will want something big to let him go this year. Harvey said he wouldn't release Tarrant after they weathered his period of poor form and essentially saved his career by sending him down back. Cloke sounds like the CFC Tarrant mark II at the moment.[/FONT]

good post mate very insightful, but have you seen my maganifine glass?

:oI'm embarrassed...

Haha, we all need to laugh at others every now and again, and hey, it's a mistake, who hasn't made one of them.

As for Heath Scotland, he left for two reasons, 1. He wanted to, and 2. Because MM no longer rated him in our best side after his disgraceful performance in the 2003 GF.

We didn't lose much in Scotland, O'bree has been a better player, and Heath Shaw wouldn't have got the opportunity to develop as much if Scotland had of stayed and played half back.

The Scotland trade was one of those win/win cases, where we got a draft pick (I think we used it on Brent Hall:o), as Carlton got an average player who has served them well, and we also got rid of a player who didnt want to play for us.

Last year, didn't we delist the guys before trade week ?
Yeah, last year we definately delisted Egan before trade week but I guess we knew that he had no currency at all.

possible delistings:
ryan cook
chris bryan
sean rusling
maybe a couple of the newer recruits.

retirements
rocca
clarke
o'bree (?)

Good to see that Matty considered the fact that Heath Scotland wanted to go. What a player wants has to be factored in when a club considers trading a player. If the player wants a new environment, then most clubs consider a trade....although situations like what happened to Ryan O'Keefe last year, do happen. You only have to watch the grand final to see the importance of commitment

And I think that they will give Rusling another year....They wouldnt have persisted with him if they didnt rate him highly.

I'd try and trade Ben Johnson and maybe even delist him after Cook and Bryan. He might have done some nice work tagging guys but I just dont think he's doing enough when the going gets tough.

I'd like to see Stanley kept.

Only if Mick is willing to give him a go. If not, let him get an opportunity elsewhere.
there wont be more chances for stanners

Just like davies and iles before him he is no good above VFL

Sounds like the "free Danny Stanley: Clearances for the People" T-Shirts might be dusted off. Did they ever get printed?

Alternately, they might end up in the Dimmey's bargain bin with Ricky Lee t-shirts.

Do you know something about Stanley that we don't know?

No. We all know he's no good.

Heath Scotland was getting more game time than Stanley is now. Scotland also had talent and wasn't just a bully for the reserves.

Strange article on the website about Marty Clarke and the chance he may not be delisted.

http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/newsfeatures/news/newsarticle/tabid/5586/newsid/85598/default.aspx

COLLINGWOOD recruiting manager Derek Hine says the Magpies remain committed to recruiting players from Ireland and he has not ruled out Marty Clarke coming back to play for the Pies.

http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/newsfeatures/news/newsarticle/tabid/5586/newsid/85598/default.aspx

Either Collingwood has had contact with Marty since, and Marty has indicated he may return, or something strange is happening here.

I thought it would have been pretty straight forward, Marty doesn't want to be in Australia, let alone commit to Collingwood, so delist him.:confused::confused:

there wont be more chances for stanners

Just like davies and iles before him he is no good above VFL

Spot on same as Cook. Worth seeking a trade for possibly might get a draft pick for or a steak knives situation. If no interest Stanley Cook & Bryan to go. Been in the system long enough and have not shown anything in the AFL.

I hope Stanley get's another gig. His second final against Casey was outstanding, capped of with an excellent goal from the boundry, and he now has the body of a man to cope with the stresses of AFL footy.

While we gave nothing away for Corrie we also got nothing in return. I doubt he has the desire to make it in the big league.

Chris Bryan is finnished at Collingwood, and will chase a gig in the NFL next year. Besides Keefe was better in the ruck and is still developing his game after giving up soccer.

Not sure about Dawes. I doubt he will be de-listed but wouldn't be surprized if he was part of a trade.

Toby Thoolen will be cut (again) i would expect.

Shaun Rusling May also get the chop.