NYPomme

West Ham, Rhinos, British Lions
Recently moved from UK to US. and have been struggling to find decent Cricket site.

I would usually rely on the UK press for my news - but limited access to the likes of Cricketer Mag., WSM, etc. here. BBC.co.uk does a job - but any ideas on other sites to try? Any suggest decent southern hemisphere ones to check out?

Originally posted by NYPomme
Recently moved from UK to US. and have been struggling to find decent Cricket site.

I would usually rely on the UK press for my news - but limited access to the likes of Cricketer Mag., WSM, etc. here. BBC.co.uk does a job - but any ideas on other sites to try? Any suggest decent southern hemisphere ones to check out?

Try this one......click this

www-aus.cricket.org

best sporting web-site on the internet. Has EVERYTHING on cricket you ever wanted. and when i mean everything, i mean that.

Originally posted by kretchy
When it comes to cricket websites nothing comes close to cricinfo.

kretchy,

I couldn't agree with you more on that one!! :)

"We'll be right back with another post in just a few moments, and I look forward to your company then!!"

Cheers!! :)
SeinDude

Originally posted by SeinDude

kretchy,

I couldn't agree with you more on that one!! :)

"We'll be right back with another post in just a few moments, and I look forward to your company then!!"

Cheers!! :)
SeinDude

What site is as good as cricinfo, I don't think the new layout of cricinfo is as good as what the old one was though.

Personally, while CricInfo is exceptional, a very underrated site is Cricket Online http://www.cricket-online.org/ , a non-profit site where cricket fans from all around the world get to have their say on the issues affecting the great game today.

Of course, my comments aren't prejudiced at all by the fact that I'm one of the contributing writers for the site. :D

Originally posted by chicken minute
Just for a bit a bit of a change I sometimes checkout ... some of the numerous Indian sites such as nextcricket.com or htcricket.com ...

These sites did not work. I think you meant
http://www.cricketnext.com/default.html
and the other one, who knows?

Originally posted by smithy
Try
www.whitepointers.net

Were you born an idiot?

Anyway, some sites:

http://www.rickeyre.com/cricket/media.php
http://www.cricketer.com/asp/homepage.asp
http://www.cybercricket.com/
http://www.howzat.net.au/
http://www.thatscricket.com/
http://www.334notout.com/
http://www.wisden.com/
http://www.dd.now.com/home/default.sps (this site had live streaming video of last year's India v Australia test series)

yep you're right. just didn't seem to work earlier.

i sent an angry email to the cricket4 website (http://www.cricket4.com/news/nr_4007.html) because of their drivel about the ICC table and how the English players and journalists don't acknowledge the table (yeah cos England are much better than 5th aren't they?) I mean on their day, they're even better than Australia aren't they? :rolleyes:

Um - what's your point? that the England team think they are better than Australia?

Never heard any test-captain say his team could NEVER beat any other side on their day - have you?

:mad:

let me guess, you're a Pom. that's right, you are.

what i have never heard is an Englishman ever except that in terms of cricket or football, they just aren't good enough, and probably never ever will be in the future. i lived there myself mate, and talk about lacking substance, you guys reckon talking yourselves up is all you need to do, forget the hard yards.

for a country that knows only two things, beer and football, you're not very good at football. and cricket? where would i start?

it's a nacho actually.

i'm the one that posted 8 websites, so at least i'm contributing idiot.

and hussain IS a sook. "Oh we don't rate the system because England are mid table!"

Give me a break. :rolleyes:

Originally posted by red+black
it's a nacho actually.

i'm the one that posted 8 websites, so at least i'm contributing idiot.

and hussain IS a sook. "Oh we don't rate the system because England are mid table!"

Give me a break. :rolleyes:

...extraordinary reaction! Poor fellow.

.:rolleyes:

Actually Red and Black - you know what...I've just read back over what you have written ...particularly this....

'for a country that knows only two things, beer and football, you're not very good at football. and cricket? where would i start?'

I really think that you ought to think a little bit harder about what you write - rather than going for the ....let me see......racist, bigotted, ignorant option as you have done here. Imagine if someone made rash generalisation about your country - how that make you feel? pretty lousy.

This is a forum for discussion about sport - the UK is known for a great deal besides 'beer and football'. If you need clarification on this perhaps you ought to spend a little more time reading up on history - and less time posting racist 'cheap shots'.

(It's also a pity you didn't get to meet many Brits when you were over there - perhaps this would have broadened your limited understanding of a) british culture (believe it or not - not completely dominated by football or beer) and b) british people).

You also ought to be ashamed of the dark part of the soul that was reponsible for this......

'i lived there myself mate, and talk about lacking substance, you guys reckon talking yourselves up is all you need to do, forget the hard yards'.

So presumably - your point is that British guys 'lack substance'....

better keep this sort of thing to yourself too.:mad: Your comments are RACIST!!!!!!

Tell you one thing I did learn in addition to 'Football and Beer' was that racial/nationalistic slurs are not on! Shame on you:mad:

it would be remiss of me not to respond. i'll concede that i went off the deep end a couple times. living in a college dorm, there really was little else but beer and football (and I don't drink, but love football). no denying that (in terms of what i was surrounded by for the majority of the time).

i will admit that to live there as a student would have to be very different to working there as a normal member of society (of which i have not done).

the bit about substance. what i mean there is that the England sports press and supporters alike over inflate the abilities of their sporting teams. that's all. just funny how hussain's comments are fair, but my reaction to it is poor. why isn't hussain's interpretation of the ICC table seen as poor sportsmanship? non-sporting matters aside, are you ever going to accept anything I say about the current and recent state of English cricket? that's right, my opinions must be wrong.

racist? bigoted? not my intention, but it probably was. ignorant? yes.

can we drop it now?

R&B - nice one mate - glad you responded!

Not really sure about the Hussain point in all honesty. If you ask me whether Hussain is right to question the authencity of Ratings - up to him. I certainly form my own opinion - rather than concern myself with the captain's - who is trying to hold down his job - comments.

Regarding the UK press - I really think that you have an opinion based on our tabloid press. I read (sorry used to read - now live in the US) the Guardian, Times, and Telegraph when in UK therefore obviously was exposed to a more 'balanced' opinion with respect to England's relative performance.

Not trying to score points here - but I would take your opinions a lot more seriously if they weren't preceded by sweeping anti-brit generalisation. Really don't think it helps to make a point.

Anyway - good on ya for replying - and yes - we can drop it. ;)