Review Dees v Swans: the Good, Bad & Fugly with a plea to Pickett to return

Just saw on First Crack Petty with a diving tackle to turn the ball over on the Fritsch goal when he marked behind McCartin, defenders turned forwards are great like that coz they work both ways instinctively. Cant wait to watch the replay, probably plenty of moments like that I havent seen.

Our most enjoyable win in ages. Being at the ground, was so fun to watch us play high scoring and attacking footy against a good side, that’s what you want to see.

• JVR so exciting to watch, huge impact
  • Chandler/JJ/Rivers really strong I thought.
  • Grundy building, Clarry brilliant.
  • Just so much better with May in too, that tackle on Warner in the 4th was sex.

Great win, Swans are a floggy side! **** yeah dees!

Love seeing my boy Kade perform like I've always thought he could and prove the naysayers who wrote him off wrong. Brings a genuine smile to my face. Great to see him looking a best 22 lock after banging down the door for a couple of years in the VFL. He works so hard on the field. Real gut runner that you only see #ATG...Love it when a no name battler becomes a something and acts like he's always been something. More cocky goal celebrations please Chin. Bow at the crowd or stick the chest out ANB style. Give the fans what they want.

Hope you enjoyed the game mate. Memes aside being at the ground you can see just how much guys like Langdon run, he is the best I’ve seen at the pure running both ways side.

****ing oath, mentioned it in the game day thread. Get a real appreciation for all the unnoticed work he does that you dont see on TV. He was awesome today.

Good:
  • Roo. The quality of his game was never going to be measured in goals, but **** me how exciting is a young KPF kicking 3 on debut?
  • Also thought Judd did some nice things. Great user of the footy.
  • Best game from Riv in a while. Dropped back into the hole a few times to intercept, which takes guts.

No bad or ugly from me this week. Enjoyed it all too much.

Was actually pleasantly surprised with Van rooyen, he completed very well. If he wasn't marking he was bringing the ball to ground. Can't wait for Pickett to come back in. I honestly was expecting a pretty quiet game only based on his practice game. He just slotted in perfectly.

I think petty forward worked well as well, which also helped van rooyen. Wasn't expecting that but I did noticed Goodwin in the pregame presser mentioning we have a different plan for Sydney.

Just thought of a bad, was in the Olympic stand and that sun just wouldn't go away. Reminded me of this scene in futurama.

Youre taller than I thought you'd be at 5'6, great moustache and loved the monocle and top hat you were wearing.
I don't usually wear gumboots; I panicked a little this morning, as I was a little nervous.

Still - a wonderful time. 🥳

I did think it was a little strange when you insisted on measuring my height, though.

I don't usually wear gumboots; I panicked a little this morning, as I was a little nervous.

Still - a wonderful time. 🥳

I did think it was a little strange when you insisted on measuring my height, though.

I thought the tux with gumboots was quite a nice look. Thanks for letting me measure you with my measuring tape, it meant a lot.

Honestly though, if May and Lever worked fine being the only KPDs (with Hibberd playing tall) against Buddy, Amartey and McDonald, who are we realistically going to need a third tall for? Carlton, maybe Geelong and Collingwood?

Liked how slick our movement was out of the backline with less bigs down there, and with the way we zone, it probably doesn't matter being smaller. Lever all of a sudden learning to become a good one-on-one defender makes a huge difference

The awesome: Clarrys hand of God on Pistol Pete Ladhams, then the 50m penalty Luke Parker gave away trying to copy him :$

Clarry post-game: "We haven't really got a key forward at the moment, so until sort of Jacob starts developing his game...and Harry's down there at the moment so it's a really exciting forward line we've got."

It's often difficult to decipher what he's saying, but the shade at Brown and McDonald lol (he's not wrong though).

Very quick reaction, Petty and JVR were so much more competitive than Brown and Tmac.

I'm glad Goody and co completely torched the team and changed it up it was clear what we were doing wasn't working. JVR competed for everything the goals were an awesome bonus. Browns done. **** him off for good.

Chandler, JVR, McVee even Jordan I'll pay made huge differences to the way we played.

Petracca was ****ing terrible. Been shit all season.
Ben brown was embarrassing, I've never ever thought goody was a better coach than when he subbed him out. Out marked and not even slightly competitive. Play literally anyone else

Huge huge turn around from the first 2 games of the year, whilst I don't think that was a true 50 point win ( felt much closer all game) guys like JVR, Chandler, Spargo, Fritsch, McVee etc were all fun to watch. They played free and not stuck by our shit system we normally play with. I ****ing love that we threw the team around big time. Maybe that Brisbane smashing was the medicine we needed to actually ****ING change. Because that was not how we've played for a long time and having competitive forwards mixed with dangerous smalls made us completely different.

Sparrow continues to look heaps improved and getting Rivers further up the ground is looking great. Team selection and coaching finally made a tangible change from my eyes. Even Jordan who I hate made a difference, brought a pressure to the midfield.

Craziest part of that game was we were pretty crap for a period about halfway through the second till about the same in the 3rd when the Swans turned up their pressure and we reverted to long bombs to nothing. Maybe Gawn fixes that a little because he actually marks a couple down the line but man I haven't enjoyed watching us play anything like that for a while now.

Ben brown was embarrassing, I've never ever thought goody was a better coach than when he subbed him out. Out marked and not even slightly competitive. Play literally anyone else

I get what youre saying here but im not going that hard on him just yet, Goody said he had a sore back all week and he wasn't sure he'd even play. He gets another chance from me after looking good enough in round 1 and round 2. Once Gawn is back he could be in trouble however.

Huge huge turn around from the first 2 games of the year, whilst I don't think that was a true 50 point win ( felt much closer all game) guys like JVR, Chandler, Spargo, Fritsch, McVee etc were all fun to watch. They played free and not stuck by our s*t system we normally play with. I ****** love that we threw the team around big time. Maybe that Brisbane smashing was the medicine we needed to actually ******* change. Because that was not how we've played for a long time and having competitive forwards mixed with dangerous smalls made us completely different.
We were much more efficient scoring, 6.1 in the first quarter. After that it was pretty even, Sydney were pressing in the third but couldn't score, I think they had a patch where they kicked a few behinds in a row. Footy is a funny game they kick those goals, probably gain the lead the whole game changes. I think it was more of a case of melbourne playing well rather than Sydney being poor. We'd be lucky to get that game again against Sydney, you can tell they are a good team.

Review Dees v Swans: the Good, Bad & Fugly with a plea to Pickett to return