Didak

• Thread starter Thread starter Smoooothy

After a serious knee injury players aren;t the same. They just aren't. Huddo has been good this year but his ruck work has gone backwards after his knee reco. Didak won;t be the same. Why is he on the market if he is such a good player FD? He has off field issues as well. It is laughable that you think Vince and Campbell can slot straight into Thommo's role.
Lockyer and Goodes would disagree.

Well the "majority" then. There aren't many players that go on just as they were before their knee-reco. Didak could be an exception as well but early signs aren't good. After a pre-season he might be good but I wouldn't want to go find out after we got him that his knee is no good.

Lets hang our 2nd best player for the year shall we?

Until late this year he was an absolute shoe in for the B&F and everyone was singing his praises and well and truly on the Scotty Dog Thompson bandwagon.

This bloke is one of our few hard nuts in the middle, capable of winning the hard ball + clearances + first possesions. Leads our tackles by 7 over Edwards and by 20 over 3rd placed Robert Shirley.

So in a year we're we've been pathetic out of the middle, we're jumping at the chance to punt our toughest and best midfielder by far this year.

Some of the crap I've seen posted about Thomo over the last few days has been ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS !!!

Even taking into account his clangers Saturday, he was still easily one of our best.

He'll probably come 2nd in the B&F (a strong chance of winning), and deservedly so.

If people need to feel the need to bag someone, how about not having potshots at our best/2nd best player for the year?
Nail. Hammer. Head :thumbsu:

Well the "majority" then. There aren't many players that go on just as they were before their knee-reco. Didak could be an exception as well but early signs aren't good. After a pre-season he might be good but I wouldn't want to go find out after we got him that his knee is no good.
Most players are out for a year after an ACL reco. Didak missed about 6 weeks and is playing finals football. I fail to see how early signs are anything less than stupendous for a full recovery. :confused:

Geez this is a pet peev of mine

You are not summoning a dog, you should say hear hear

On the topic, Didak will be expensive, but would be a worthwhile addition to the Crows best team.

However offering average players for an AA & Copeland trophy winner wont get the job done.

To recruit quality, you need to offer quality.
Guess that rules out your posts.

Yawn. He's a footballer not a nun. We need footballers, not nice guys who can't play. We're crying out for a small forward, but I can't see Collingwood making an acceptable deal if this was on the table. The Pies are notorious for being the worst club to trade with, as they think that all their players are worthy of the No.1 draft pick. Just ask Port about their attempts to trade with the Pies....

You're kidding? Nick Stevens is a dime a dozen midfielder who was in his mid twenties when that came up. Didak was 20 with the world at his feet. I know who I would rather have.

The Pies have never been good at the trade table because as the All Australian Team has discovered, none of our players are good enough to be wanted by others, and the guys that are important to us, aren't given the respect by opposition clubs and supporters. Also no club wants to be seen to give the Pies a "leg up" as we are clearly the most hated team going around!

Most players are out for a year after an ACL reco. Didak missed about 6 weeks and is playing finals football. I fail to see how early signs are anything less than stupendous for a full recovery. :confused:

Come on. He hasn't been himself. No where near as effective as last year, even if he has improved a bit over the weeks. He seems to have lost a yard of pace. Before he would get away from some players pretty easily. Now he doesn't seem to go past them as easy. He was never express pace but was still above average but now he is not as quick. Thats not to say that he won't recover. It might take a while to recover though if he does. Lockyer, while he has had a brilliant season this year, he struggled a bit after his knee reco. A lot of hard work has to be done after a season ending injury. Didak is still a great player though- has a very good footy brain which we need. But I would never give Thommo for him. Thommo is part of our future- a candidate for our captaincy. He is improved every year since coming home. He just needs to cut out the brain fades- I reckon with more experience he will get MUCH better. He has already improved his discipline. While Thommo for Didak is a fair enough trade we can't afford to let him go. Our future midfield would be dealt a massive blow if he was to go.

Didak is a very good player. I want him but I don't want to part with something we really need. However, to get quality you need to give quality. I'm really in two minds. If the deal is alright I would take it but If it is excessive I'd stay clear.

See you fail to understand - Thompson is not crap, he's just average. He is not a top-tier player like Didak or Kerr or Bartel or Ablett or Mitchell

Bartel - 24
Ablett Jr - 23
Mitchell - 25
Kerr - 24

Besides Kerr, the none of the others have had the seasons they've had this year and prior to this year they'd have never have been considered "top-tier". Thompson is in that age bracket and has plenty of improvement to come too.

Last year Foley was getting the ball a lot and spraying it even worse... look how well he's come along in a single pre-season. Thompson will work on that too. At least in the final quarter last week he presented for the ball. Sure he put it out on the full, but at least he put himself out there to help his side. That's more that what can be said about others in the last seconds.

Didak? Hell yes. There isn't a team that wouldn't want him.... but not at Thompson's expense.

Are you serious? I think its actually giving up too much

Look, it also comes down to our the make-up of our list. Collingwood's depth is as good as there is, what we're short on is star talent. So trading one of our best 3 players for guys who would be struggling to make the side isn't a great move, unless you're looking at it from Williamstown's perspective.

Basically, the offer would have to include one of Knights/Thomson (sp?)/Johncock/Reilly

I understand that given the year Didak has had as Adelaide supporters it might be hard to agree to any trade involving one of those players. Which is why I don't think a trade will happen. And I pray it doesn't, because his 2006 season was as good a season as anyone's produced for the club in the last decade apart from Bucks/Clement.

But it's still a bit of fun to speculate ;)

Come on. He hasn't been himself. No where near as effective as last year, even if he has improved a bit over the weeks. He seems to have lost a yard of pace. Before he would get away from some players pretty easily. Now he doesn't seem to go past them as easy. He was never express pace but was still above average but now he is not as quick. Thats not to say that he won't recover. It might take a while to recover though if he does.

Didak's never been quick, except between the ears (on the footy field, at least). His recovery from the knee has been excellent. What's really affected his form and his ability to contribute, IMO, isn't so much any lingering after-effects from the reco, but his lack of a proper preseason. That's the biggest issue he faces: when everyone else was getting the miles into their legs, he was doing rehab for his knee. If he seems slower than he has in the past, I'd suggest that's because he's fatiguing more readily, which is a direct result of not having a fitness base following a hard preseason. I don't think there's any cause for Collingwood or anyone else to worry about him making a full recovery from the ACL injury.

If didak said to collingwood that he wanted to go home I am sure they would take pick 10 for him. I have umm'd and ahh'd all day about giving away valuable first round picks, but lets face it we know we are getting quility with Didak and it 's chook lotto with a 17 year old draftee. He is only 23 and a small forward who crumbs, is a good mark and kicks goals when the pressure is on. I hope Triggy's organising a fruit basket to his front door because he is worth the effort. I wouldnt worry too much about his off feild behaviour, I am sure goody and truck rutten will throw him up against his new locker and tell him how things work at the crows.

You're kidding? Nick Stevens is a dime a dozen midfielder who was in his mid twenties when that came up. Didak was 20 with the world at his feet. I know who I would rather have.

The Pies have never been good at the trade table because as the All Australian Team has discovered, none of our players are good enough to be wanted by others, and the guys that are important to us, aren't given the respect by opposition clubs and supporters. Also no club wants to be seen to give the Pies a "leg up" as we are clearly the most hated team going around!

Yeah right, dont let the truth get in the way of a good story will ya.

N Stevens ave disp = 24/game
A Didak ave Disp = 10/game

N Stevens ave disp = 21/game
A Didak ave disp = 10/game

Stevens was a 23 yo class midfielder with attributes that your side desperately needed. Reasonable pace, great endurance, good skills and class finishing.
Didak had plenty of potential but was a 20 yo who had basically done **** all at that point.

But that isn't even the point. You wanted Stevens Port wanted Didak and Collingwood said no, fair enuff.

But your subsequent offers were obviously pretty well garbage as well or should we believe that Port let Stevens go to Carlton for nothing when you were offering value?????

Your club was obviously of the opinion that it held the upper hand, thought you could bully Port into giving in and now you squeal why other people have an impression of your club being difficult to deal with come trade time.

You make your own bed!

Yeah right, dont let the truth get in the way of a good story will ya.

N Stevens ave disp = 24/game
A Didak ave Disp = 10/game

N Stevens ave disp = 21/game
A Didak ave disp = 10/game

Stevens was a 23 yo class midfielder with attributes that your side desperately needed. Reasonable pace, great endurance, good skills and class finishing.
Didak had plenty of potential but was a 20 yo who had basically done **** all at that point.

But that isn't even the point. You wanted Stevens Port wanted Didak and Collingwood said no, fair enuff.

But your subsequent offers were obviously pretty well garbage as well or should we believe that Port let Stevens go to Carlton for nothing when you were offering value?????

Your club was obviously of the opinion that it held the upper hand, thought you could bully Port into giving in and now you squeal why other people have an impression of your club being difficult to deal with come trade time.

You make your own bed!
ah no it was ports fault, didak was easily their best young talent, port was stubborn and in the end was the only team to lose from it. You can just tell mark williams was thought he was doing ok till trade time was up and went 'oh wtf did we just do', hence tried to explain it to the members saying they didnt want to improve collingwood, when in reality they just had by giving up one of their best players.

Geez this is a pet peev of mine

You are not summoning a dog, you should say hear hear

On the topic, Didak will be expensive, but would be a worthwhile addition to the Crows best team.

However offering average players for an AA & Copeland trophy winner wont get the job done.

To recruit quality, you need to offer quality.

Hey buddy, I don't mean to be sensitive, but if you posted a reply to every bit of errant spelling and/or grammar on BigFooty you wouldn't have time for anything else. Have you been over to the Collingwood Board lately? Sheesh Kebab!

Having said that, I know how you feel to a certain extent. I run a Footy Pool at work, and for example, can't believe how many punters still spell Fremantle with two E's!! I kid you not. Freemantle!